Read white man rescue reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all white man rescue reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    White Man Rescue [App]  2019-5-30 13:43

    not a poor android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion Man Rescue [App]  2019-3-19 13:32

    I love this game. Its is such a amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion Man Rescue [App]  2019-3-19 13:32

    more dumbness

    0  


    Add your opinion on white man rescue or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Old Magic Man Rescue [App]  2019-1-21 22:32

    method to simple

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest Slave Man Rescue [App]  2019-3-14 13:26

    It was very easy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rescue The Man From Factory [App]  2019-7-3 13:27

    nice very nice create lots more of these kind of themes,and hold the graphics just like this neat two of the puzzles i didn't understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rescue The Man From Factory [App]  2019-7-3 13:27

    easy👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Super Hero Man City Rescue Mission [App]  2019-5-14 21:29

    I like this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Escape Game 585 Chicken Farming Man Rescue [App]  2019-4-29 13:43

    well done yourself. 4491

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Escape Games 190 Rooster Man Rescue Game [App]  2019-4-15 13:45

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Escape Game 585 Chicken Farming Man Rescue [App]  2019-4-29 13:43

    amazing game! 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Escape Games 187 Vegetable Man Rescue Game [App]  2019-4-10 13:47

    liked a lot. 09836

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kavi Escape Game 539 Geriatric Man Rescue Game [App]  2019-3-7 13:25

    😎

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Escape Game 585 Chicken Farming Man Rescue [App]  2019-4-29 13:43

    i found the words in this puzzle to be disturbing and offensive. please quit letting small boys and girls create up these puzzles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kavi Escape Game 539 Geriatric Man Rescue Game [App]  2019-3-7 13:25

    simple

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Escape Games 190 Rooster Man Rescue Game [App]  2019-4-15 13:45

    loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Best Escape Game 585 Chicken Farming Man Rescue [App]  2019-4-29 13:43

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kavi Escape Game 539 Geriatric Man Rescue Game [App]  2019-3-7 13:25

    fun android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rescue Man: A "Snafu Snatching" Rescue Pilot's Extraordinary Journey through World War II []  2020-1-15 19:38

    I'm not really sure what this book was about but it wasn't about rescuing downed fact,there was almost ere's plenty about the history of Idaho and immigration and about pilot training during e historical inaccuracies create me wonder if the author ever actually opened a book or if he just went with whatever the internet ere are also numerous statements about aircraft and piloting that are just plain t worth reading in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rescue Man: A "Snafu Snatching" Rescue Pilot's Extraordinary Journey through World War II []  2020-1-15 19:38

    A very fast read. Early on you it is written by someone about someone else. Like the Black Cat PBY's.. Small is known of what e flying Boat as it was called is special as they come. Sadly no pilot information could be eat book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rescue Man: A "Snafu Snatching" Rescue Pilot's Extraordinary Journey through World War II []  2020-1-15 19:38

    Great, though sad, story of Bud Hayes. Never heard of him? Not surprising, but you should take the time to - he and his colleagues created up an unsung group of fliers whose job it was to rescue downed fliers during WWII. This book tells his story, as well as the story of the family who were left behind in a little city in Idaho. In a way, it's about all servicemen and their families in that war. His experiences were recreated as much as possible via access to letters he had written home. This will appeal to history buffs as well as the casual reader. All in all, a very amazing and informative read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rescue Man: A "Snafu Snatching" Rescue Pilot's Extraordinary Journey through World War II []  2020-1-15 19:38

    Unbelievable story of a real American hero, who performed his duty and sacrificed himself so others can live. Loved how this tied his humble beginnings in Idaho to his success as one of the few Troops Air Corp PBY pilots to serve in the Pacific theater. Very well written and thoroughly researched, plus the comparison to modern equipment and methods assisted the reader to better understand exactly what it meant to be the, "Rescue Man".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rescue Man: A "Snafu Snatching" Rescue Pilot's Extraordinary Journey through World War II []  2020-1-15 19:38

    The Rescue Man provides an perfect acc of wartime on a very private level. It is well-researched and well-written. In reading The Rescue Man, I frequently thought that there must be a lot of other such stories, as yet untold. In that regard, I found it to be inspirational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rescue Man: A "Snafu Snatching" Rescue Pilot's Extraordinary Journey through World War II []  2020-1-15 19:38

    This book was so very well written I felt like I was along side Bud Hayes through is flight training thru to the aborted take off that cost him his life as well as two others. Kept my interest from the first page to the latest page. My thanks to the very well researched author of this book; his painstaking research is not often displayed in WWII books. I am purchasing another copy for my 99 year old father who was a WWII veteran of the South Pacific.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rescue Man: A "Snafu Snatching" Rescue Pilot's Extraordinary Journey through World War II []  2020-1-15 19:38

    Sending an outstanding word of praise to the author for a truly Herculean reconstruction. Bud Hayes would be proud, but embarrassed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rescue Man: A "Snafu Snatching" Rescue Pilot's Extraordinary Journey through World War II []  2020-1-15 19:38

    This story was very close to home. It was very well written and holds your interest from beginning to end. We need to know more of the history of our country by reading true stories about actual events at that time. Mr. Lowenstein researches facts and writes as if he were sitting with you and telling this story Very enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rescue Man: A "Snafu Snatching" Rescue Pilot's Extraordinary Journey through World War II []  2020-1-15 19:38

    There are so a lot of stories yet to be told about our Greatest Generation. This story is inspiring and relevant now as much as ever. Young men like Bud left home and hearth and willingly place themselves in harm's method for all of us. This story and others like it should and must be told over and over. Allow us revere their sacrifices and never never forget. RIP Bud, satisfied landings and tailwinds always.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Rescue Man: A "Snafu Snatching" Rescue Pilot's Extraordinary Journey through World War II []  2020-1-15 19:38

    Very interesting acc of the small known globe of the air-sea rescue squadrons of Globe Battle two in the is book follows the path of a young man enlisting in the Troops Air Corp,completing flight training In the Catalina sea plane then proceeding to the Pacific.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rescue []  2019-12-30 19:20

    This is one of those songs where you feel like it was written just for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rescue []  2019-12-30 19:20

    I have fun everything the Lord brings through this young woman, BUT this song is/was sooooo comforting to me during a latest struggle I was having and required to know that in spite of my sin, my God loves me and wars, protects and rescues me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rescue []  2019-12-30 19:20

    awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rescue []  2019-12-30 19:20

    I love the song. Finding it, making sure I was buying what I wanted, buying it and downloading it went so efficiently that it was almost fun. Thanks, Amazon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rescue []  2019-12-30 19:20

    Heard this song from a television present and was very inspired by it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rescue []  2019-12-30 19:20

    'You are not hidden. There's never been a moment you were forgotten...'I can remember the first time I heard a snippet of Lauren Daigle's single RESCUE during a television commercial for a famous show. It drew me in with just the chorus, so of course I had to head over to Amazon to obtain it for myself.If there is one word that sums up what this song means to me it would be HOPE. She sings about no matter what you might feel or what might appear to be your circumstances that you are not alone and will not be forgotten. There will always be people in the globe that wish to be there, not just rooting for you but taking you by the hand to lead you along the way.Even when you feel as though you have nothing left there will be God's love around you and He will lead people to you. "I will rescue you" is not just something nice to say. It's a promise we can depend on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rescue []  2019-12-30 19:20

    This is a attractive song.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rescue []  2019-12-30 19:20

    All her melody is Wonderful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rescue []  2019-12-30 19:20

    Amazing song by (very blessed voice of) Lauren Daigle, so talented Christian artist. The Lord will rescue you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rescue []  2019-12-30 19:20

    Words...awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kavi Escape Game 540 White Cat Rescue Game [App]  2019-3-8 13:25

    Amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kavi Escape Game 540 White Cat Rescue Game [App]  2019-3-8 13:25

    enjoyed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kavi Escape Game 540 White Cat Rescue Game [App]  2019-3-8 13:25

    you guys ever going to create a fresh android game or just hold recycling the same one with various names?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kavi Escape Game 540 White Cat Rescue Game [App]  2019-3-8 13:25

    really enjoyed. 13699

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kavi Escape Game 540 White Cat Rescue Game [App]  2019-3-8 13:25

    👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy-White-Man (Sha-ga-na-she Wa-du-kee) []  2020-1-11 19:47

    Well written, informative but the author's racism about first nation People's created portions impossible for me to read. Some of his descriptions of the land, trees and birds were exquisite but his attitude towards the wild animals created me wish to cry, so I didn't read those parts either. All told I probably read about 2/3rds of the book and enjoyed it.Oh, I forgot to mention his attitude towards the native women. We've come a long method since then. The author died in 1968. Rest in peace, white man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy-White-Man (Sha-ga-na-she Wa-du-kee) []  2020-1-11 19:47

    This is one of the best "going into the bush" books I've ever read. I was introduced to Mr. Morenus through reading "The Hudson's Bay Company" (one of the a lot of perfect Landmark Series books) and enjoyed his writing style so I stryed looking for other books he'd written. This is probably his best known work. It's written in a very down-to-earth style and is hard to place down. There's humor, adventure, and even some poignant moments. His ignorance of all things "wilderness" had me laughing out loud at times. A very entertaining and instructive book. You'll learn a lot reading e one thing I found a small disturbing was his opinion of wolves. Maybe it was just because of when it was written (before extensive studies of wolves were done) but to refer to their instinctive hunting skills as "murder" rubbed me the wrong way. No animal murders--only man does that. Other than that little disagreement, this is a unbelievable book that I know I will read again and again

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy-White-Man (Sha-ga-na-she Wa-du-kee) []  2020-1-11 19:47

    I enjoyed the book and read however I seriously doubt why anyone would endure the hardships more than one season.. I also call into question the temperatures he said they had to go out in, a human couldn't cope very long. Several facts were either omitted or I call into question, why would anyone venture into the bush with only a fishing pole or no weapon when wolves, bears, and God knows what else lurked. I don't believe the stories he tells are fully the truth!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Horse (Workshop Series Book 3) []  2020-1-27 22:5

    This play reads like a novel, with amazing characters and sparkling dialogue. It's written with a wicked sense of humor and an abundance of style. It would be a fun play to stage, but it's also amazing source for auditions pieces and drama classes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy-White-Man (Sha-ga-na-she Wa-du-kee) []  2020-1-11 19:47

    The book is an interesting tale. However , the author has an obvious bias versus women and Indians. I will not any further work by him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy-White-Man (Sha-ga-na-she Wa-du-kee) []  2020-1-11 19:47

    Interesting and entertaining read. If you enjoyed the outdoor and nature writings of Sigurd Olson and John Rowlands you'll feel right at home with this book as it is very much like their stuff. Makes me wish to chuck it all and go live in the Canadian Wilderness. Well written story of one man's adventures while living in a small cabin on a remote island in the wilderness. Cool! By the way, if you haven't read Olson and Rowland, you should.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Horse (Workshop Series Book 3) []  2020-1-27 22:5

    Wonderful, heartfelt story. Amazing dialogue. The plot builds with precision.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy-White-Man (Sha-ga-na-she Wa-du-kee) []  2020-1-11 19:47

    The is an perfect first-person from an advertising writer who vacations every summer in northern Canada. "Why not just live here?" he thinks. He puts his plan into action, sells everything except his dog, and goes as far as the latest town. He lives in a cabin and describes the awesome beauty and challenges of the north woods. The people are fascinating characters because they, too, are surviving and thriving in the wilderness. In 1952 the inhabitants were trappers, gold prospectors, and native Indians. Unpolished people for sure, but kind and honest. The wildlife are untamed are there as meal and trapped for fur - sorry some other readers can't handle it. Amazing adventure story told by a regular guy who wanted to see if he had the stamina and willpower to succeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Horse (Workshop Series Book 3) []  2020-1-27 22:5

    Best thing I've ever had to read for a class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy-White-Man (Sha-ga-na-she Wa-du-kee) []  2020-1-11 19:47

    I can't say enough amazing things about this terrific book. Being an armchair adventurer myself, I thoroughly enjoyed reading about the Crazy-White -Man from Fresh York who gives up everything in the civilized globe to become a "bushman" in the wilderness of Canada. And he stays there in a cabin with his dog Nik for six years! The adventures of Richard Morenus is as entertaining as a page-turner of a novel. It's as though you went back in time and grew to love the pristine beauty of the wilderness along with a modern day adventurer. Too poor Mr, Morenus is no longer with us. What a storyteller ! What a story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy-White-Man (Sha-ga-na-she Wa-du-kee) []  2020-1-11 19:47

    Interesting book about a town man in 1952 who is starting to experience health issues so he cashes in what chips he has and heads to mid Canada to live a subsistence lifestyle. The trials and tribulations of such a move are articulated well.His judgement of indigenous native Americans in Canada and their partners are sexist and racist. It became somewhat tolerable considering the period of time it was written about, 1952. As a kid of that day and age what was offensive and demeaning then is much various that what is offensive and demeaning now, not that any of that commentary is dismissed, but only used to provide context. At that time how they lived was not considered a viable lifestyle bound by tradition, instead they were viewed as "savages". Fortunately, all of that type of rhetoric has gotten somewhat better even though the plight of the Native American for the most part has not. I could do however without his dissertation on the education system of the Native American, I can and will never obtain over the horrific efforts to ethnically cleanse the Native American Kid of their heritage. Then there is the knowledge of how a lot of were abused in the care of the these secular and religious institutions..It is one of those "ying and yang" things, have fun the book about a man who for health issues left the huge town to live in the wild or to view it as a commentary on the racial and sexist stereotypes of that day and age.. if the reader views this commentary on a continuum it becomes more palatable. INOW take it for what it is worth, a remnant of the cultural views of Native Americans that were predominant in mid century America.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Horse (Workshop Series Book 3) []  2020-1-27 22:5

    It was a dark and rainy night when he appeared in the saloon. Who was he? A ghost? A poet? A conjuration of two lonely and isolated strangers? Tag Leonard takes us on a journey into the poetic hearts of a recently reformed alcoholic and a recently abandoned musician who meet for the first time in the White Horse Tavern/Saloon after hours on the anniversary of the poet Dylan Thomas' death when the Man mysteriously appears.. Could it be he? The popular poet? And how will his presence affect the relationship of the two strangers in that empty bar? The dialogue is poetic, the characters sympathetic, the story romantic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy-White-Man (Sha-ga-na-she Wa-du-kee) []  2020-1-11 19:47

    Maybe its the authors age, life experience or whatever that he uses derogatory names for the indigenous first nations people. There were amazing discriptions of land and learning lessons of the Bush. He did create mates with one native living near him and did seem to wish to test to understand the cultural and you will message at the end of the chapter he did call her the wife of instead of @#$%!. What's with the squaw, buck labeling? His beating of the sled dogs with an axe handle was deplorable. He created the sled dogs to be monstrous wolf types.But that being said, this is an honest book with nothing much held back about his experience, so take it as that. And since he has passed on I'll say as one other reviewer said RIP crazy white man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy-White-Man (Sha-ga-na-she Wa-du-kee) []  2020-1-11 19:47

    A lot of people dream of getting away from civilization but few have the ability to actually carry out such a life changing endeavor. Leaving the organized chaos of crowded life in Fresh York, and a successful lifestyle, our author went about as far as possible from the trappings of”civilized society” to live unsupported in the wilderness of northern Canada, and to face the wonderful trials weather and wonderful isolation living in such a locale would entail. Facing the bitter, unforgiving darkness of a northern winter storm without any outside support and taking this on under his own admittedly misguided assumptions about his capabilities to handle such a challenge, the author gives a unbelievable acc of how he came to love, understand and survive extended, independent life in the bush. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Horse (Workshop Series Book 3) []  2020-1-27 22:5

    One of the best plays I have ever read and I have read hundreds. I highly recommend this book. And can't wait to see it on scene someday!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great Rhino Rescue: Saving the Southern White Rhinos (Sandra Markle's Science Discoveries) []  2020-2-1 5:24

    The book arrived promptly and in amazing shape. This books tells the awesome story of a man and his heroic efforts to save an endangered species, the Southern White Rhino. Both adults and kids will have fun this book and perhaps think about joining a wildlife group.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Man, White House: An Oral History of the Obama Years []  2020-1-16 15:7

    D. L> Hughley writes as funny as he delivers on ution: This book may create you long for the success of the Obama ghley is both funny and now: POIGNANT. As Joni Mitchell sang: YYou don't know what you've got till "He's" gone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again: What Really Happened to the White House Hatchet Man []  2020-1-23 19:44

    Too much politics for me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Suit: The Stig, Le Mans, The Fast Lane and Me []  2020-1-26 22:3

    The Collins book is surprisingly entertaining, as it info not only the role of the Stig, but the life of a man who came late to racing and struggled to create a career of it in a field that does not always reward the gifted, which he truly is. Collins appraises himself honestly and we learn that his tv work, film stunts, military service etc. are all pursued in aid of supporting himself while waiting for his next opportunity to race. The Top Gear sequences are very entertaining and, sometimes, laugh-out-loud funny. He goes to amazing lengths to the creativity of the staff, camera men and presenters, who did so much to make this phenomenal series. HIs struggles to achieve a put in the elite military unit he has chosen are truly epic and described in gritty detail, but again, with no self-pity. The man's relationship with his father is another welcome human touch, which will have a lot of nodding their heads in recognition of the complexities of the dealings of men in families. I enjoyed this book and recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Suit: The Stig, Le Mans, The Fast Lane and Me []  2020-1-26 22:3

    I enjoyed reading this book immensely! I am not a gear head of any kind but I do like the British Top Gear show. This book was simple to read, quick (as you might guess), and told with a lot of detailed recollection from the author. I don't know how he remembered so a lot of info from so long ago, but if they are true, he is/was a definite talent in the professional driving world. Driving is obviously Mr. Collins' passion and something he was born to do. And with the determination to match! The book covers a lot of aspects of the author's life. After a while you start to wonder if he's going to talk about his Stig days or not. But then there it is and you feel his sense of excitement about "going to work" as The Stig and all of the other "behind the scene" jobs Mr. Collins was part of. I can understand why his nearly decade-long gig as The Stig was frustrating professionally, but thank god for Ben Collins and the labor he place into that role. Those are some seriously challenging white shoes to fill. Despite the drama and court case, he is missed I'm sure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Man, White House: An Oral History of the Obama Years []  2020-1-16 15:7

    This book reminds us just how ruthless politicians can be. There were passages that were so funny that I burst out with laughter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again: What Really Happened to the White House Hatchet Man []  2020-1-23 19:44

    This is a very perfect book that has begin and challenged my life. It isworth sharing and passing around. Dorothy Schultz

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again: What Really Happened to the White House Hatchet Man []  2020-1-23 19:44

    I really enjoyed listening to this audio book! Chuck’s story is fascinating and an encouragement in my walk with Christ.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Suit: The Stig, Le Mans, The Fast Lane and Me []  2020-1-26 22:3

    I admit it... I’m a rabid fan of the “old” Top Gear, and I watch the old episodes on Prime. I live vicariously through Jezza, Captain Slowly and n, as the Stig, was uniquely placed inside the show, and shares his back-stage accounts of some of my favorite moments. He also led an interesting life away from Dunsfold, and I enjoyed learning about racing at the highest e chronology takes a bit of getting used to, as the early chapters bounce between his experiences in the Army, racing and being the one some say knows only two facts about ducks (both of them wrong). I felt his editor should have had more faith in the reader’s willingness to take the journey Ben laid out, and artificially stuck some TG/Stig stories up front as bait. But the book soon evened out, then ended too soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Suit: The Stig, Le Mans, The Fast Lane and Me []  2020-1-26 22:3

    In continuing my journey into types of books I haven’t read I decided to continue with the non-fiction. I was watching Top Gear and they mentioned Stiggy’s fresh book and how it got him fired and in problem with Top Gear so I decided I had to read it. Being a vehicle fan and a Top Gear fan why wouldn’t you? Well I am extremely satisfied with this choice and highly recommend this book. It talks about Ben Collins life and how he grew up wanting to be a race vehicle driver. After a few false starts he makes some key appearances on some race squads but always runs into an issue. Then one day he is called to an interview on a airplane runway to drive a vehicle around for a few laps and ends up taking what everyone who knows vehicles would think to be the dream job. It also talks about Ben going through the Troops in his time off the set and having to hold the secret of who he was on the show. It talks about specific episodes (all of which I have seen a few 100 times) so that was fun hearing how they really went down. It was interesting to hear how the piece together footage for the present which makes sense but I never really thought about how they did only complaint was that the book seems to jump around a small bit and is a small hard to follow, but that might have been me just being slightly distracted when I read it or something. After reading this I wish to read a lot more non-fiction stories in this zone and there are a ton. Actually each one of the TG guy’s has their own book or 3 so that might be making the short list on things to read next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Man, White House: An Oral History of the Obama Years []  2020-1-16 15:7

    I saw D. L. Hughley on the PBS Tavis Smiley present talking about this book and laughed the entire half-hour (as did Hughley and Smiley). After serving in a mid-level political position years ago, this satire captured so a lot of truths. Hughley's use of Rahm Emmanuel and his profanity is hilarious, and his portrayal of Michelle Obama as the adult in the room is very effective to set things up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Man, White House: An Oral History of the Obama Years []  2020-1-16 15:7

    It really did feel like an oral history. Some of the voices were spot on and felt authentic. Michelle Obama, Rahm Emanuel and Joe Biden in particular. Others were written a bit too over the top to fit. Hillary Clinton being the prime disappointment. there were also parts that fell a small flat. Enjoyable but not a classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Man, White House: An Oral History of the Obama Years []  2020-1-16 15:7

    I have read other books by Mr. Hughley and have enjoyed them thoroughly. I don't obtain this book. Maybe it's me but the conversations back and fourth...? Over my head.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Suit: The Stig, Le Mans, The Fast Lane and Me []  2020-1-26 22:3

    Ok, Ben Collins was the second Stig. The title comes from that. A reasonable person would take from that that the book was a look at collins time as the stig with a small bit of info about himself. That person would be correct and wrong. The book is about collins, only about fifty percent has to do with his time as the stig. Most of the book with collins' kid hood, military training, stunts for movies, and racing. Some of which is interesting. The worst part about this book is that in time and topic it is nonlinear. The book literally jumps around in time and put more than Doctor Who.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Suit: The Stig, Le Mans, The Fast Lane and Me []  2020-1-26 22:3

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. If anything, I have even more respect for Collins after reading all he went through to obtain to (and through) Top Gear. The book isn't all vehicles – there's an enjoyable section that looks into the rigors of military service (I was exhausted just reading it). But the racing sections really place the book over the top. Collins is very adept at capturing the slow-motion time dilation he must feel while he is racing at breakneck speed. The method he breaks down two second's worth of time with such detail gives the reader an idea of the wonderful pace of auto racing, and the reflexes that it takes to succeed. He also is very amazing at capturing the physicality of the sport and the cut-throat competitiveness of it. This alone makes it a book worth most as a is the Top Gear behind-the-scenes stuff. Collins gives amazing insight into the various kinds of rigors and challenges that it takes putting together a show. He gives amazing where it's due – to the behind-the-scenes people that create it all work – while still putting the three blokes in a amazing light. As much of a [email protected]#$% as the Stig was (is), it was Collins' powerful personality that shone through the suit and gave him that "attitude." Whether a fan of the present or not (is there anyone who isn't?), you'll have fun this amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again: What Really Happened to the White House Hatchet Man []  2020-1-23 19:44

    Amazing read! Mr Colson is an honest man, I think he was railroaded by Watergate, it worked out well. This book especially, along with his a lot of others, have opened my eyes. RIP Sir, and thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Suit: The Stig, Le Mans, The Fast Lane and Me []  2020-1-26 22:3

    You would not expect the utterly silent Stig to be a amazing writer, but you would be n's writing is clear and consistent. He is an perfect story teller, and has lots of amazing stories to tell. It has lots of amazing info behind Top Gear that add some amazing context to a lot of the better moments. Ben writes in excellent detail, providing just enough technicality to hold vehicle savvy readers engaged, without reading like a tech manual. While recounting very memorable races, and periods in his life outside of Top Gear, you really obtain a sense of the person, and not just a semi-sentient suit.If Ben comes to the states, he should email me. I will him a lot of beers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Suit: The Stig, Le Mans, The Fast Lane and Me []  2020-1-26 22:3

    I am a large Top Gear and now Grand Tour fan and this book provided a very engaging and often humorous look at the man that played the Stig for so a lot of n has a very natural method of writing that is simple to have fun and really draws you into the excitement of his races and experiences on and off the track.I've enjoyed this book so much that I will be getting his recent book about driving as well. A fun read and worth a look!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Man, White House: An Oral History of the Obama Years []  2020-1-16 15:7

    Hughley was on point in giving us a true look into the minds of some of the political players that will go down in history as being the ones that set the course for America in the 21st century... God support us. FOTUS was well written as the center of the storm and created the book more private and less politically charged. Hope DL will write one for Donald's first and only term.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Operation Kronstadt: The True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, The Man with a Hundred Faces []  2020-1-27 23:45

    OPERATION KRONSTADT: THE TRUE STORY OF HONOR, ESPIONAGE, AND THE RESCUE OF BRITAIN'S GREATEST SPY, THE MAN WITH A HUNDRED FACESHARRY FERGUSONTHE OVERLOOK PRESS, 2009HARDCOVER, $26.95, 384 PAGES, PHOTOGRAPHS, MAPS, APPENDICESAlthough often perfunctorily treated in Anglo-American accounts, Baltic naval operations between 1914-1922, German and Russian naval control of the Baltic Sea centered on two major objectives-the continued and uninterrupted supply of iron ore from Sweden to Germany and the steady flow of battle supplies to and from Russia to her Allies. During the early days of October, 1914, British submarines, E-1 and E-3, were dispatched to the Baltic. By the end of that month, both had created the hazardous transit to Libau in Courland, where they were to operate from. But fearing a German attack, the Russians destroyed the facilities and mined the approaches. The E-Boats then had to base off from Finland. Although a lot of sinkings in the Baltic would be attributed to the British submarines, most were in fact caused by Russian mines, which were the basic light of these earlier naval activities, the British could take the lead in intervening in the Baltic from 1918 to 1920 due to the geographic proximity of these countries and the ready availability of the Royal Navy. Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania had been fast to seek independence from Russia in 1917 but the Germans had occupied all three countries and would remain in control of these Baltic states until the Armistice ending Globe Battle I on 11 November 1918. The terms of the Armistice needed substantial German forces to remain in the Baltic as a hedge versus Bolshevik expansion until released from such duty by the late November, 1918, the Estonian National Council, which hadn't yet had time to establish a fully-functioning government, asked for British units and warships in to deter an invasion by the Red Army. In response, Britain sent munitions and ships of the Royal Navy, but no ground forces. In December, 1918, the Red Troops began to invade Estonia and Latvia with their 7th Army, aided by internal Bolshevik insurrections. The Germans re-organized their forces, the most reliable elements and volunteer being placed under the command of Major General Rudiger von der e British faced several daunting challenges. Rear Admiral Walter Cowan took charge of naval operations in January, 1919 and a full military mission arrived in Estonia under Lt. General Sir Hubert Gough in May, 1919. Gough had to help the fresh Baltic nations on their street to independence while using slender British resources to control the Germans in accordance with their treaty obligations. This meant holding back the spread of Bolshevism into Europe while thwarting the Germans in their true intentions to make a territorial enclave in the Baltic. Additionally, he had to nurture the little but growing force of White Russians under General A.P. Rodzianko that had formed in Estonia to war the all, Cowan variously commanded 238 ships in 1918, which included 2 Italian, 14 American, and 26 French ships. Understanding that he would have to neutralize the Red Baltic Sea Fleet, Cowan establsihed an advance naval base at Biorko Sound on the Finnish coast. With the Germans gone, Finland, led by its regent, General Mannerheim, cooperated with the Allies. From Biorko, Cowan duelled with the Red Fleet based at Kronstadt, a fortified island in the Bay of Petrograd that was protected by minefields.Enter Paul Dukes, a 30-year old British concert pianist from Somerset, and the only British spy in Russia. A master of disguise dubbed "The Man With A Hundred Faces," he managed to infiltrate the Bolshevik government and steal Top Secret info of crucial importance, before being chop off in Petrograd.With the government in London desperately in need of a private briefing and the documents in Dukes' possession, and with the feared Cheka or Soviet secret police closing in, a plan-seemingly suicidal-was hatched to rescue him.Enter 29-year old Lieutenant Augustus or Gus Agar who longed for the thrill of war, and his handpicked squad of seven men would board plywood coastal motorboats (CMBs)-the fastest naval vessels in existence-each armed with only two machine guns and a single torpedo-and head into the jaws of the Red Fleet surrounding the island fortress of Kronstadt-the best defended naval target in Russia at the time. Their objective: save Paul coincide and cover Agar's mission, Cowan launched aerial attacks on Kronstadt using seaplanes launched from the HMS Vindictive on the night of August 17-18, 1919. This distracted opponent gun and anti-aircraft fire while Agar's CMBs, skimmimng over the minefields (thanks to their shallow draught), slipped into Kronstadt. The CMBs launched torpedoes point-blank into several Red ships at the cost of 8 killed and 9 taken prisoner.OPERATION KRONSTADT: THE TRUE STORY OF HONOR, ESPIONAGE, AND THE RESCUE OF BRITAIN'S GREATEST SPY, THE MAN WITH A HUNDRED FACES is an exceptional read in the tradition of both Ian Fleming and Rudyard Kipling. While a lot of will think this acc is fictional, it isn't. I agree with the mistakes pointed out by reviewer Nikolai Skrynnikov but this is still a thrilling acc of the only knighted agent in the field-Paul Dukes and recipient of Britain's highest decoration-Gus Agar is an excellant and impressive acc of a covert operation during those dark days of the Russian Civil Colonel Robert A. Lynn, Florida GuardOrlando, Florida

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Operation Kronstadt: The True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, The Man with a Hundred Faces []  2020-1-27 23:45

    This is the story of one of the early secret operations of Amazing Britain's MI6 - the rescue of the "man with a hundred faces" from inside Bolshevik Russia in 1919. Paul Dukes, the only MI6 officer ever knighted for his espionage work had valuable intel on the Bolsheviks and required very much to obtain back to Britain. Gus Agar, Royal Navy, would lead a squad in quick boats versus the best defended naval target in Russia - Kronstadt. The best in nonfiction reads like a James Bond thriller

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Suit: The Stig, Le Mans, The Fast Lane and Me []  2020-1-26 22:3

    This is a amazing book if you're a Top Gear fan or a fan of racing memoirs. Collins' writes with a nice humor and his life is interesting enough to merit a book. The only problem I have is that every other chapter skipped back and forth between his time as The Stig with Top Gear and his more normal life of his childhood, being in the army, his family, and his racing and stunt driving career. This isn't enough to dislike the book, in my opinion. I have two degrees in English and I thought it was better written than a lot of other things I've read recently, but perhaps I'm biased based on how much I love Top Gear. Like I said, I enjoyed the humor of his stories and his writing "voice." I read where some people thought his voice was a bit egotistical or cocky... he's a racing driver, and from what I've seen of racing drivers, he's on the humble side, so this aspect did not bother me. If you like Top Gear, you'll probably like this book as well. It gives an interesting insight and even if you're not a fan of Collins, it's fun to play Devil's Advocate either way!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Suit: The Stig, Le Mans, The Fast Lane and Me []  2020-1-26 22:3

    Being a rabid fan of Top Gear UK and being somewhat disappointed by the reaction of the presenters to Ben wanting to move on; it was refreshing to hear his side of the story and how he never spoke ill of the present or his co-workers. Clarkson Hammond and May could learn from that. I always knew who the stig was and it never dulled my enjoyment of the show. Why create such a huge out of it?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Man, White House: An Oral History of the Obama Years []  2020-1-16 15:7

    I really thought this was an actual book to read, but it's more of a comical commentary of the Obama years thus far. I Think D. L. Hulgley really did an awesome job, but it wasn't what I was looking for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Man, White House: An Oral History of the Obama Years []  2020-1-16 15:7

    Honestly, not what I expected....the book is fine, it's kind of funny...but I was just expecting more. I have found it to be very underwhelming and after getting halfway haven't picked it back up to [email protected]#$%!.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Man, White House: An Oral History of the Obama Years []  2020-1-16 15:7

    Hughley mixes "barnyard language" with a very smart and thought-provoking commentary on Obama and his presidency. It reads as an oral transcript. Even though though the "quotes' are fictitious, I felt as though these different people would have said very related things

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Man, White House: An Oral History of the Obama Years []  2020-1-16 15:7

    A satirical spin on Barack Obama 's Washington and the Globe during his tenure as America's 1st African American President. The accomplishments, pitfalls and barriers he encountered told with a sense of humorous perspective ; the old adage, "The same things that makes you laugh, can create you cry" is quite apropos to this writing. a really page turner WELL CRAFTED, WELL DONE!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Operation Kronstadt: The True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, The Man with a Hundred Faces []  2020-1-27 23:45

    I'll begin by saying that it is a fascinating read. Yet it is rife with all sort of gratuitous mistakes and naivete. The plot revolves around (1) a story of Paul Dukes, British agent in Petrograd in 1919 and (2) operations of little British torpedo boat force in the same zone and the popular raid of Kronstadt. So here goes:- the adversaries of British boats ("Petropavlovsk" and "Andrei Pervozvanny") are consistently called battlecruisers. "Andrei" was a slow pre-dreadnought (not a dreadnought, as claimed) -- very far from battlecruiser. "Petropavlovsk" was a dreadnought (instead of pre-dreadnought, as suggested by Ferguson), by far more strong of the two. Another capital ship, "Oleg" was not an armoured cruiser (this name was reserved for bigger and more heavily protected ships).- there are more than a few passages like this: "With less than 10 days to go before the onset of the White Nights (the plans were in jeopardy)". There is no such thing as "onset of White Nights", contrary to what Fodor's travel tutorial may think. It's beautiful darn White in the end of May, not much various from the middle of June.- Krasnaya Gorka fort was not manned by "Ingrians", but by a regular Russian garrison. One can easily see how Sarin (a commandant of Terioki) babbled about Ingrians and how that babble was transferred into Gus Agar's diary, but this does not create it any more real (so much for valiant Ingrians holding out versus Bolshevik onslaught, etc.).- purported results of Kronstadt raid: "Petropavlovsk, Andrei Pervozvanni and Pamiat' Azova were all either sank or badly damaged". The truth is that Petropavlovsk was unscathed. Actually, the torpedo track reaching out to Petropavlovsk in the map makes no sense - the ship was beautiful much screened by Andrei. Andrei itself took one hit (not two), Pamiat' Azova was sunk with one torpedo (not two). These inaccuracies would have been excusable if the book were published in 1925, but by now there is no sliver of doubt about the actual outcome of the attack. And there is much more to be found in the gaffe department. Generally, the book is full of over-dramatization - storms and squalls near Kronstadt (there cannot be any storm worthy of this name in this little body of water), horsemen dashing through Finnish pine forests (in close proximity to ersburg and naval bases, there have always been amazing streets there), ever so formidable forts (manned by thoroughly degraded fighting force which lacked 90% of commanding officers) etc. etc. The book is written in a jovial, good-ol'-British-lad kind of style. I am used to seeing much more elegant and polished writing coming from British historians. Well, all this being said, it is a fascinating read - it is the story itself which makes it difficult to place down the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Operation Kronstadt: The True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, The Man with a Hundred Faces []  2020-1-27 23:45

    Entertaining story. Given the happenings and the time since they occurred....it's a fun read, but I wouldn't use this as a reference concerning the actual happenings as they happened. In no method do I disparage the men involved, their courage is not in doubt. I just felt like I was reading a screen play.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Operation Kronstadt: The True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, The Man with a Hundred Faces []  2020-1-27 23:45

    It's an interesting book. The context is...odd.We start with the necessity of getting a British spy out of Revolutionary Russia, Petrograd, to be e scheme involves a couple of fast, little torpedo boats, of the kind described in Faulkner's "Turnabout".They were to be based in Finland, then neutral, run up the Gulf of Riga, past the fortresses guarding the naval approaches to Petrograd and obtain the guy. In high summer when there is small night for om the beginning, Ferguson tells us, the Brit intel agency/agencies are full of the incompetence, backbiting, private jealousy, turf wars, treachery (against your own people), and all the other things we thought John LeCarre created up. And it started at least as far back as...the time of Operation Kronstadt. To add to the fun, Ferguson is a former MI6 officer. Who tells us the put never got better. Or maybe that's what they wish you to thinkUnder a picture of him on the book jacket, we explore he was also an undercover investigator for the National Investigation Service. Maybe it's a picture of some other e heroes of the story are the Navy guys led by Gus Agar who take the torpedo boats to Finland, search facilities for them, and prepare for the extraction, running couriers in the meantime and sinking a Bolshevik cruiser despite orders not to. And Paul Dukes, a spy of inhuman nerve and such skill that he has networks into Moscow and into the Party itself.Of course, both heroes are thwarted at practically every turn by the intel guys involved in the ings heat up in the Gulf, with the Bolshy navy shelling one of the fortresses which seems to have risen up versus the Revolution and taken up with the Whites. So the Brits send a half dozen more torpedo boats and tell the guys to sink the Bolshevik heavies in Petrograd harbor. Also keeping their presence secret, or something, so they can obtain the spy of the tragic aspects of this case is that of all the wonderful intel Dukes and his networks sacrificed so much for, none of it was of any visible use. There was nothing the Brits were going to do with it. The Whites were not a competitor with the Reds for a fresh Russia. Their view was that the Tsar and Tsardom required to be restored. Among other things, independence for the Baltic republics was a non-starter. They actively sabotaged efforts to support them because they didn't wish the Brit volunteers to obtain the credit, nor did they wish things to be any various than they had been in, say, 1910. There was not likely to be much sympathy among the long-suffering Russian people for the goal. Given this, the Brits, a sea power, were never in a position to swing much weight on the Eurasian land mass, over a front (loosely speaking) that reached from the Arctic Circle to the Caspian and included tens of millions of people going in different e book is an interesting read. Ferguson alternates from the efforts of Dukes, the spy, to those of Agar, the naval officer. If you ever wanted to be a spy, the adventures of Dukes and his cohorts, and the horrifying deaths of some of them, willl cure you immediately. Dukes, it should go without saying, was one of those brlliant amateurs the Brits throw up so frequently. He was a concert pianist with an unhappy childhood who had been refused enlistment due to a medical condition. Ferguson tips that his guilt at avoiding the immense sacrifice of WW I may have been one of his motivations. His attempts to obtain a pre-war career going in Russia had given him some contacts and language skills which created the whole thing ar's story reminds us that professional officers do more than lead gallantly into battle. They overcome obstacles of all kinds, from maintenance to personnel, to supplies, to uncertain is is an interesting book because, among other things, it gives us a look at the uncertain and disorganized times immediately following WW I. Most history goes from Armistice Day to the Jazz Age. Not so. The Brits, for example, did not declare battle on the Bolsheviks. They merely said they were in a state of battle with the Red. Which is why--why was that, anyway?--they wanted Agar to take his plywood fleet past the fortresses and sink some tens of thousands of dozens of Red massive combat e actual end of the whole thing didn't seem to have been thought 's an interesting book about a disturbing time.And the fun is that LeCarre seems to have been right.Unless that's what they wish you to think.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Operation Kronstadt: The True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, The Man with a Hundred Faces []  2020-1-27 23:45

    This was an interesting book with a lot of facts attached to it. Amazing read for those who like reading this kind of stories

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Operation Kronstadt: The True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, The Man with a Hundred Faces []  2020-1-27 23:45

    This is the story of the only spy to ever be knighted and his rescue by some common soldiers that step up to the classic plate, "above & beyond the call of duty". the spy consistently has to face classic dilemas that face all uncover operatives such as putting his life in the hands of suspicious characters or simply walk away and never obtain in. He literally has no experience or training! He is basically dropped into the Russian revolution of 1917 with just a few contacts that may be double or blown. He soon learns the first rule pronto: maintain your cover. He also must maintain a quick learning curve... or die. He learns that it is often the most risky and least trustworthy contacts that have the best information. He unfortunately, also learns, the Popeye Effect: "Iams what Iams" - hooked on the adrenalin high of having his life in constant danger. Fortunately, a must for his do or die existence. Soon the untrained undercover officier becomes the consumate professional. He knows the greatest dangers as he moves in & out of the deadly under currents of revolutionary zeal, from papers that are updated frequently w/new stamps to unexpected face to face encounters that spell certain capture. Eventually the suspicion of one Russian for another turns into a feature of Russain life. Sadly it continues to this day. MI6 is a bungling organization. He walks a high-wire, with them continually shaking it or cutting off! For example, MI6 should have supplied him w/money, but whenever they failed he had a stark choice of abandonig his hard-won agents or taking high risks/he never abandoned his agents/always taking the high-adrenalin road. The rescue mission of this daring spy story is its equal in high on adventure and suspense. Gus wins the Victoria Cross as a effect of it. In the end both Duke/spy and Gus/rescuer wish nothing to due with the incompetent double-dealing spy agency. A trend that has not changed for MI6/CIA/FBI/FSB/KGB/you name it. A GREAT story told very well about those times, times that sadly never really changed: the waste & inefficiency in the system is its bone and marrow.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Operation Kronstadt: The True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, The Man with a Hundred Faces []  2020-1-27 23:45

    Nice story about the early days of the Bolshevik Revolution, the Red Terror, and the meddling of outside powers in the Revolution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Operation Kronstadt: The True Story of Honor, Espionage, and the Rescue of Britain's Greatest Spy, The Man with a Hundred Faces []  2020-1-27 23:45

    This is an exciting story about a little-known era of history -- Western military intervention in Russia after the end of Globe Battle I. It seems strange now to read about attacks on Russian installations from British bases in Finland. The author covers the naval combat better than the espionage inside Russia, whose operations and successes are somewhat opaque. As is so frequently the case in modern famous histories, some of the dialogues and private thoughts seem at least partially invented. Nonetheless, this is a amazing read. It would have been even better if the maps had been placed at the front of the book instead of after the appendices and bibliography. I did not explore the maps until after I finished reading the text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit: A Jewish Family's Exodus from Old Cairo to the New World (P.S.) []  2020-1-30 21:25

    The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit is one of the best books I've ever vividly evokes a unbelievable time in Egypt when Jews, Copts and Muslims identified as Egyptians first and co-existed harmoniously and e book also documents the driving forces behind the large-scale exodus of Jews from Egypt after the establishment of Israel and the subsequent hardships they endured as immigrants in strange and foreign lands.I was born in Egypt - as Lucette (the author) was - though I'm Coptic, not Jewish. Lucette's book revived the Egypt of my youth and the unbelievable shared experiences of a society that's sadly long gone - and the painful adjustment period that we all experienced as fresh immigrants to the US in the 60s and 70s.I'm so thankful that Lucette wrote this book and was very saddened that she passed away recently. I'd like to imagine that she and Leon and the unbelievable community of Egyptians (Jews, Copts and Muslims) are re-united in a heavenly ver of Malaka Nazli road somewhere....Ragouna Masr!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit: A Jewish Family's Exodus from Old Cairo to the New World (P.S.) []  2020-1-30 21:25

    Carefully written and thoroughly researched as well as engaging. A sad tale of riches to rags and not back again. Her father lived according to the respected method as if he was the patriarch in Jewish Aleppo. Instead he lives and loves in Cairo until the oppression by Nasser forces the father to leave. Bensonhurst Brooklyn is no substitute for elegant 1940s Cairo. Her father's method of life is left behind and the family struggles in the Goldine Medina - where roads are paved with gold. Not. The family is fractured and the traditional structure and values crumble.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit: A Jewish Family's Exodus from Old Cairo to the New World (P.S.) []  2020-1-30 21:25

    One of the best books I have ever read. Thoroughly enjoyable! Highly recommend it! It's a fascinating story of her Egyptian Jewish family's exodus from Egypt, and other Egyptian Jews, after Egypt ceased to be a British colony and gained its independence in 1952. The book is interesting on so a lot of levels. Historically, it describes what Cairo was like in the 1940's and 50's, what it was like during Globe Battle 2, and briefly touches on why and how Hitler and Mussolini lost the battlefront of North Africa to the Allied forces. It also has thoughtful, keen observations on cultural distinctives of the East and the West, and through the story you obtain a picture of the cultural adjustments that immigrants from the East face and create when they move to the West. It also paints a picture of what it is like to be parent from the East, raising children in the West, and what it's like to be a kid in the West, growing up with parents who are immigrants from the East. My Egyptian mates will particularly like it, but also, like Fiddler on the Roof, the story has a broad appeal beyond its immediate context, and a lot of can relate to is so eloquently written, that reading paragraph after paragraph, is like listening to a beautifully composed piece of music. If you love a amazing book you'll love this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit: A Jewish Family's Exodus from Old Cairo to the New World (P.S.) []  2020-1-30 21:25

    Although Lagnado's private story has necessary historic and political implications, the author doesn't put the injustice perpetrated on the Egyptian Jews in the center, but as the backdrop of what she wants to tell us, a portrait of her father.Hers is a poem of love and admiration for her father. Cleverly told in an unassuming, almost nonchalant way, it immerses you in her globe as a participant. Perhaps its largest literary merit is that as you navigate through her story, you cannot remain impassive, indifferent or neutral, she makes you a member of her rticularly to some of us, familiar with the tragedy of exile or the struggle with adaption, this book breathes sincerity.But back to Mrs. Lagnado's main subject: her father. The author is not blind to her father's weaknesses, an impressive and mysterious man, respected and trusted by Egyptians and foreigners alike, a boulevardier anchored by ancient Aleppo traditions that -untold, but implied- neglects the needs of his gnado doesn't test to draw a excellent picture. Moreover, a sense of guilt is vaguely revealed towards the end, where very small remains of The Captain, as her father was known back in Cairo.Hard to go beyond this description without spoiling the story. Although the author teaches us in the process the meaning of being a refugee, I'm confident that anyone with a filial relationship will search this book fascinating, regardless of the circumstances.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit: A Jewish Family's Exodus from Old Cairo to the New World (P.S.) []  2020-1-30 21:25

    Perfect description of middle class class life in Cairo, Egypt, prior to, and after the revolution which ousted the King and replaced him with a Military Junta, that eventually turned on the middle class and especially the Jews. This is the story of a Jewish family, and especially the rather flamboyant father, who, while fervently religious, identifies as an Egyptian (speaking excellent Arabic), and has all the trappings of Egyptian middle class culture. Then the revolution occurs (1952). Not much changes until the Suez battle with Israel (and England and France, 1956). The Jews of Egypt are forced to emigrate in droves (though never physically threatened). The book follows the family's heart wrenching departure, then their tribulations as they seek asylum in the US. Finally as they settle in Fresh York, the book vividly describes the culture shock experienced by the older generation and the far easier adaptation of the teenagers. The author, who is the youngest kid of this family, writes with sensitivity and an simple to read style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit: A Jewish Family's Exodus from Old Cairo to the New World (P.S.) []  2020-1-30 21:25

    The book gave me an insider's view of immigration and its challenges for families. I didn't know much about Cairo pre Nasser, and I really enjoyed getting this perspective on the area. The family forced to immigrate was wealthy and lived a life of privilege in Egypt, but more importantly, the reader gets a glimpse of how it is to live with close family ties and ancient traditions as well. Their rough transition to America was not necessarily their much lower standard of living but the loss of family (nuclear and extended) and the traditions that bind them to a larger community. When I read about or hear about this zone on the news, I can picture more than battle and terrorists; I can see families and culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit: A Jewish Family's Exodus from Old Cairo to the New World (P.S.) []  2020-1-30 21:25

    I loved this book! I can relate so well to the close relationship the author had with her father. I was the youngest in my family and the only daughter. I was also a daddy's girl. I learned a lot historically, never realizing that Egypt had a huge Jewish population and that Cairo was such a vibrantly modern city. Her grandmothers were a joy to read about. My grandparents came here from Italy and loved to cook for the family like hers did. It was heartbreaking that the family had to leave their homeland as well off financially people and to come to America and struggle for the rest of their lives. At least the kids did well as adults. I couldn't place this book down..it's well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit: A Jewish Family's Exodus from Old Cairo to the New World (P.S.) []  2020-1-30 21:25

    Important. Interesting. Well told. First we learn that the "man in the White Sharkskin suit" takes his Aleppo Syrian Jewish tradition tocosmopolitan Cairo which he adopted as his dream town. Life there with his family is good. His ways of life are tolerated. Secondly welearnt how hard it was to obtain to the United States, when after globe Battle ll Jews were undesirable in Egypt. It was an almost year long, arduous and degrading process till he and his family received the immigration permits in Paris. Then: the Welcome in the NEW Globe was limited and short lived. Like the majority of immigrants with no support from already adapted families, the gentleman from Cairo sought refuge in a Jewish neighborhood where he could search the meal he was used to, even the ground floor apartment and the temple required according to his Aleppo Jewish many, he and his wife remained immigrants while his sons and worse his oldest daughter moved out. Lesson: only the second generations merge,and like the youngest daughter, who told us this fascinating story of many, but, in this case ,highly individual story, e became an American. But going back to Cairo, where she wanted to revisit the dream town of her beloved father, she did not search it. It had changed.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386