Read why the rich get richer reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all why the rich get richer reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Social Atom: Why the Rich Get Richer, Cheaters Get Caught, and Your Neighbor Usually Looks Like You []  2020-7-29 18:52

    I read Buchanan's book, Ubiquity, and thought that book to be profound. This book is not as profound, but still includes lots of provocative ideas. Reasonably well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Social Atom: Why the Rich Get Richer, Cheaters Get Caught, and Your Neighbor Usually Looks Like You []  2020-7-29 18:52

    Amazing read. Amazing perspective. Buchanan is thoughtful in his metaphors. Grounded in an honest contrarian point of view. Struggles just a small at the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Social Atom: Why the Rich Get Richer, Cheaters Get Caught, and Your Neighbor Usually Looks Like You []  2020-7-29 18:52

    This is a amazing simple to read book looking at human dynamics from a complexity perspective. Often we need to look at underlying patterns common to all systems rather than delving more deeply into an individual's psychology or whatever. The book links the physics of the atomic structure and compares it to human dynamics. It introduces power laws, android game theory, fat tail graphs, Pareto's law, fractals, etc. It is a amazing first book to read.I was surprised by the comments at the very end about religion. From nowhere there is a discussion about religion as a various method of making sense of the globe that has resulted in mass slaughter. He quotes Sam Harris. There is no discussion of any spiritual understandings other than traditional Holling's adaptive cycle and Spiral Dynamics could have extended the theme of the book to have been more coherent and explanatory of the ideas

    0  


    Add your opinion on why the rich get richer or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Social Atom: Why the Rich Get Richer, Cheaters Get Caught, and Your Neighbor Usually Looks Like You []  2020-7-29 18:52

    I purchased this book for school as an ebook, the program never faulted and I was actually able to obtain a few chapters read. Amazing buy for the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Social Atom: Why the Rich Get Richer, Cheaters Get Caught, and Your Neighbor Usually Looks Like You []  2020-7-29 18:52

    Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Social Atom: Why the Rich Get Richer, Cheaters Get Caught, and Your Neighbor Usually Looks Like You []  2020-7-29 18:52

    It is the best and worst book of scientific observations that I have ever read and therefore I rated it an average of one and five stars. The best part relates to his theory of social behavior that responds to my lifelong quest to understand such things as coincidences, trends, crises, and luck in human behavior, if not for wealth aculation, at least to avoid negative occurrences. The patterns that effect from chaos have always intrigued me, but now I understand how natural those patterns are in relation to atoms and riverbeds. Almost every sentence and every paragraph seemed to capture my own thoughts, observations, and speculations, including some of my theories that caused me to lose mates when they thought I spoke of their private choices rather than the pattern of their e worst part of the book relates to the occasional cheap shot this "scientist" takes, exposing private prejudices totally unrelated to his otherwise perfect theory. He blasts Christianity on page 39, FOX News on page 91, tax policy on page 188, and concludes the book with a rant versus God and religion on pages 200-202. These cheap shots are both naive and misguided. While he totally dismisses the "miracles of a divine creator" and anyone who does not agree, there are far more begin minded scientists who are trying to understand how and why God made the universe and everything within it. The huge bang may not be a e book is lacking in two significant areas. It never gets into quantum theory other than using the term. It doesn't even mention the totally random mutations in genetic DNA over the millennia that have resulted in the pattern of man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Social Atom: Why the Rich Get Richer, Cheaters Get Caught, and Your Neighbor Usually Looks Like You []  2020-7-29 18:52

    In rereading parts of the book today I came across the section where he talks about investments creating wealth by multiplication. He uses the example of folding a piece of 0.1mm paper twenty-five times and, although it is still amazing, the effect isn't 20 miles as he says but just over 2 miles. That 0.1mm piece of paper doubled 25 times equals 3,355,443.2mm. I've looked at reviews in several locations and, so far, no one seems to have noticed this large error. Could be nothing more than a typo and sloppy proof-reading or it could mean something more serious. In a book that uses math and numbers to explain its theory one should not search such errors. I am now skeptical of anything the author has to say. (see page 172 hardcover edition.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Social Atom: Why the Rich Get Richer, Cheaters Get Caught, and Your Neighbor Usually Looks Like You []  2020-7-29 18:52

    I've worked in complex systems research for years and have been looking for a book like this. It's a robust, highly readable acc of some very necessary results. Tag has done a terrific job of communicating the results and framing their relevance accurately.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Social Atom: Why the Rich Get Richer, Cheaters Get Caught, and Your Neighbor Usually Looks Like You []  2020-7-29 18:52

    Really enjoyed the links between the social globe and physics. Amazing descriptions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Social Atom: Why the Rich Get Richer, Cheaters Get Caught, and Your Neighbor Usually Looks Like You []  2020-7-29 18:52

    I got this book for a class and it is one of the few books I will hold because it was a very amazing read as well as informative about social behavior.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passive Income: Why the rich are getting richer []  2020-12-23 20:6

    I have to agree with Mr. Wallman. I am half method through the book now and there are about 6 sentences repeated 60 times. Over and over and over. This could easily be a 10 page pamphlet and not a "book.". Kiyosaki is going to create a bundle of cash off this gibberish based on his previous work and a clever title to the book. There is nothing fresh to be learned here unless you wish to take the repeated references to purchase other books by his CPA, Tom Wheelright, on "Tax-Free Wealth" and Bucky Fuller's book "Grunch of Giants." There literally is an ad for The Tax-Free Wealth Book on every other page. It's embarrassing. If I could return it, I would.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passive Income: Why the rich are getting richer []  2020-12-23 20:6

    I bought the first publication "Rich Dad, Not good Dad" with the understanding that this book "Why The Rich Are Getting Richer" would add to the previous book and I swear to the heavens above that the info in this book is not worth the paper it was printed on. Please believe me this, pretend wish to be, writer spends page after page stating the same hateful, naive, arrogant comments, there is nothing - and I mean nothing - of value here. He keeps on saying the same thing on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on... I don't appreciate that my cash was wasted on this BS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passive Income: Why the rich are getting richer []  2020-12-23 20:6

    I love the method Mr. Kiyosaki writes. . . he explains complicated things so simply that a 6 year old can understand. My 3 largest takaways from this writing are1) Understand the history of cash manipulation sine 1913 when the Federal Reserve Bank and US tax department were created.2) A very easy and clear explaination of Assets and Liabilities that I can use to explain . . . Assest and Liabilities to my kids and investors.3) Getting the right education, but more importantly cultivating an attitude of appreciation, a spirit of humilty, and love of learning.A safe & profitable method to apply what we have learned is to be an apprentice or partner up with someone who has done and achieved the desired results that you wish to achieve.A unbelievable follow up book to Rich Dad Not good Dad.William TehInvestor | Author | EntrepreneurTTTrends Investments

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passive Income: Why the rich are getting richer []  2020-12-23 20:6

    Never have I seen a book place it all together in such easy and simple to understand terms. I would be sooo much better off today if I had read this forty years ago. A must read for your adolescent. Better investment than a college degree. Amazing complement to the degree you already have. Better late than never!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passive Income: Why the rich are getting richer []  2020-12-23 20:6

    This book had enough fresh info that it's worth reading - I would guesstimate it's about 25% fresh stuff.I guess I should qualify myself first - I'm a 65 male pharmacist (and my wife is a 60 year old pharmacist as well - she works at Eli Lilly). When we got married we had a negative net worth of around $50,000 (this was in 1982). I've owned several rental properties (mostly single family but some bigger items too). I've been both lucky and amazing - my most latest net worth is around 2.5 million. I did learn quite a bit from my maternal grandfather about how to run a business (he had several plus rental items - he owned the post office building, a little strip mall, a vehicle repair garage, etc.) but I still had to APPLY what he taught yoskai's books are all over the put and he needs a editor to organize his thoughts but they can be useful especially as motivation tools. Far too a lot of people know what to do but never take the first step. And then they are the others (like my wife) who are just afraid to take the risk. One of my business failures was Dinner by Design where I learned that I required to have the final say in all - I would say to those who wish to climb the net worth mountain - read all you can and tale with those who have done what you wish to do. You will search most successful people wish to give tip - in fact I have fun it quite a lot. I have 4 people I'm advising now - it's looking quite amazing for 2 of them.I liked this book but do recommend you test to search it at you local library first - no reason to pay for it unless you will refer to it from time to time.I would rate this book at a amazing solid level of 7.5 to 8.0 out of 10!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passive Income: Why the rich are getting richer []  2020-12-23 20:6

    Author claims it's Rich Dad Not good Dad for Graduates, more like a amazing RDPD review teaching the same lessons with added reinforcement, some fresh insights, and history lessons. I was able to review the whole book, nearly 300 pages in a few hours since I could complete most of the sentences and paragraphs that speaks the same notice from all his previous books/teachings. Still got a few nuggets out of it to share with others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passive Income: Why the rich are getting richer []  2020-12-23 20:6

    If you've read/listened to his other materials then SERIOUSLY...Don't waste your money...Same old stuff. This is just a compilation. It's like he literally copied sections from his other books and pasted them into this book, changed a couple words, added a couple of words, and made this book as some sort of compilation. I'm not hating on the guy, because I do like his teachings but this is just rewarmed hash. Maybe amazing for a fresh reader that hasn't read his other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passive Income: Why the rich are getting richer []  2020-12-23 20:6

    There are just a few additional tidbits in this book. Having read the original Rich dad not good dad and this book within the latest 5 days, I do not feel it was the “graduate level” teachings that it was promoted as. A amazing compliment to its counterpart, but I would have rather read a various one of Roberts books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passive Income: Why the rich are getting richer []  2020-12-23 20:6

    I was so excited about this book but ultimately allow down. The method this book is written, seems like you're waiting on a secret that never comes.. page after page he expresses the need for financial education, ok we obtain it.. what else? He gives no starting point, no recommended books other than from HIS CPA. If you've read Rich Dad Not good Dad, i really wouldnt bother with this book.. He's trying to stretch the sucess of the RDPD book and its not working. Its annoying. I think he's realized that, hint, thats why he changed from the standard purple, black and yellow covers to this fresh one. Please walk away just reread RDPD if you need to. With the housing market, buy when prices are low, sell when they are high.. BOOM.. i just saved you some money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Passive Income: Why the rich are getting richer []  2020-12-23 20:6

    I am a Kyosaki fan, but I think he is starting to lose it. This book says nothing, it just repeats that the government is bad, we need more financial education, and that PhDs are useless. If you have read his other books this one is pointless to buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Missing Link to Napoleon Hill’s Think and Grow Rich: Why Many Readers of Think and Grow Rich don’t get rich… The Secret Now Revealed! []  2021-1-7 19:41

    I really enjoyed reading this book after completing Think & Grow Rich. Like a lot of people, I felt as if something was missing from Napoleon Hill's popular book. Bedros' ebook is short and too the point and gave me a profound insight as to how to implement the principles in Think & Grow Rich.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    click this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixpence None The Richer []  2020-11-22 19:56

    Leigh Nash has a voice so sweet, I need an insulin shot. Her slightly sleepy diction beautifully paints Matt Slo's melancholy lyrics on a backdrop of his 12-string electric guitar, cello, etc. The rest of the band is tight with exceptional tone out of each instrument. Pop doesn't obtain much better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixpence None The Richer []  2020-11-22 19:56

    Lovely, flowing album by a favorite group of mine.....my concern is with the packaging and descriptive content....my CD only has 12 tracks and missing "There She Goes".....how does this happen?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixpence None The Richer []  2020-11-22 19:56

    I really can't complain - I bought the disc for a single track, and I like that track. But... I'd hoped the remainder of the melody would be in the style of the track I liked, but not so much...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixpence None The Richer []  2020-11-22 19:56

    I really like this whole album. I listened to kiss me first (from radio) and decided to check this whole album out. And it was good! Sadly, I listened to the whole album after I gave this to a mate as a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixpence None The Richer []  2020-11-22 19:56

    Their best imo. Starts soft and blissful, builds up to 'Kiss Me', follows up with 'I Can't Catch You'(their most under rated song) and ends with their amazing cover of The La's song 'There She Goes'Omg love this album! :D

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixpence None The Richer []  2020-11-22 19:56

    The Sixpence None the Richer CD is very good. It has a solid beginning, fast but smooth transitions between tracks and a amazing finish. While I cannot say that I loved it, the leader singer has an angelic voice that makes the cd a important "must have" addition to one's collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixpence None The Richer []  2020-11-22 19:56

    When the CD came to me, the case was mostly broken. Maybe something happened in shipping, but that's not that huge an problem at this point. The disc was still in plenty amazing condition to play and to add to my melody library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixpence None The Richer []  2020-11-22 19:56

    I really like a couple of songs groom this CD, the commercial radio songs, the rest is just ok, really nothing special.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixpence None The Richer []  2020-11-22 19:56

    I don't really understand all the 5- and 1-star reviews...because this album practically *screams* middle of the road. The only song that sticks out at all...other than Kiss Me, for obvious reasons...is the slightly (ever so) lively Puedo Escribir. Everything else is virtually interchangable. Nice and relaxing, but interchangable nonetheless.I don't understand all the efforts to trump up or tear down Leigh Nash, either. Her singing voice is neither absolutely gorgeous (Des'ree, Loreena McKennitt, Sophie B. Hawkins, et al) or hideous (too a lot of examples to count), just...okay, right there in the middle, like this album as a whole.A few little steps toward Heaven, and a few toward Hell, but on the whole firmly planted on Earth (i.e. 3 stars). That's Sixpence None The Richer, both this album and the band as a whole, in a nutshell.P.S. - I would like to reiterate that if you expect ANY of their other work to be anything like Kiss Me, you will be extremely disappointed (for reasons already stated).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sixpence None The Richer []  2020-11-22 19:56

    I bought this in part since a song was on "7th Heaven" and found it an enjoyable listen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rigged: How Globalization and the Rules of the Modern Economy Were Structured to Make the Rich Richer [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    So far, a amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rigged: How Globalization and the Rules of the Modern Economy Were Structured to Make the Rich Richer [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    Product and delivery were great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rigged: How Globalization and the Rules of the Modern Economy Were Structured to Make the Rich Richer [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    On one level, I’m glad that Baker makes his work freely available. Anyone can download his latest three books that I know of off the CPER website. I bought the hard copy because I hate trees so much. But on another level, the fact that he doesn’t push his work out through a traditional publisher makes it so that there’s no publicity push for his work and potential readers aren’t created aware of his work.And the thing is that Baker needs to be read. What makes Baker special is his look at globalization and trade, where what we call free trade has really been a way to endanger the jobs at people at the bottom but the people at the top have job protections. You see manufacturing going out, but we’re not importing fresh doctors to drive the price of medicine down. It’s the flip side to the coin that people think of more when they speak of the ill effects of globalization and free trade. Not only are some left behind, we pay more. And it’s all here, with nice charts and graphs. We’re entering an era of protectionist rhetoric in part because the gains from globalization have been oversold to so a lot of people. There is a method to do it right, but we’re losing that opportunity from an electoral perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rigged: How Globalization and the Rules of the Modern Economy Were Structured to Make the Rich Richer [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    This was an awesome book. Some very clever ideas on how to fix the Markets.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rigged: How Globalization and the Rules of the Modern Economy Were Structured to Make the Rich Richer [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    The Five Rules that Baker cites as being rigged are:1. Macroeconomic policies determining levels of employment and output2. Financial Regulation and the structure of the financial markets3. Patent and copyright monopolies and alternative mechanisms for financing innovation and creative work4. Pay of chief executive officers (CEOs) and corporate governance structures5. Protections for highly paid specialists such as doctors and lawyersIn #1 which contains the rigged policy on trade as free trade, Baker missed the failure to contain flows of intangible capital (IC).As EPI has stated, “ … between 2000 and 2007, growing trade deficits in manufactured goods led to the loss of 3.6 million manufacturing jobs in that period.”Trade driven by offshoring has caused a huge loss in manufacturing jobs. A change in trade policy can return a lot of manufacturing jobs to the USA and stop a lot of extra losses. However, Trump is fighting trade with a weak argument that has no legal e right legal argument recognizes that trade policy doesn’t acc for the theft of public intangible capital (IC) financed with public investments. Failed trade policy is based on a paradigm of comparative advantage but doesn’t penalize offshoring that is advantaged by the theft of public IC. Economics currently ignores the theft of public IC by a company that does offshoring where the IC is a product of public investments in national defense, federal R&D, domestic security, healthcare, education and policy currently protects the theft of a lot of types of personal IC such as patents but ignores the theft of public IC. The theft of public IC occurs when business operations at a company with jobs and factories are first established in America with public IC made as a effect of public investments in IC that obtain translated into business IC and then moved offshore with proven business capabilities (both tangible and intangible capital) consisting of knowledge, tools, technology and processes. Since 1992, IC has been a larger part of business investments as a part of GDP in America than tangible eft of public IC in offshoring creates a negative externality in economics that is related to pollution of public resources penalized in environmental regulation. Trade imbalances don’t measure the flows of IC. Measuring the flows of IC made with public investments is a prerequisite for properly governing offshoring in globalization. The fresh international activity in Integrated Reporting is changing financial reporting in business to measure both tangible capital and gulations on offshoring should require repayment of the apportioned public investments that produced the IC used for manufacturing operations at a company with a tax of at least 20% on the value of traded goods sent back to America from offshored ly, Baker should consider political tactics and messages more than he does. For example, The 2008 book - Grand Fresh Party: How Republicans Can Victory the Working Class and Save the American Dream - apparently served to support Trump beat HRC by crafting a notice that would appeal to the white working class. Of course, the notice from Trump doesn't appear to be connected to a solution to solve the issue of stagnant wages and income inequality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rigged: How Globalization and the Rules of the Modern Economy Were Structured to Make the Rich Richer [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rigged: How Globalization and the Rules of the Modern Economy Were Structured to Make the Rich Richer [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    Amazing book. Leaves no doubt how the 1% runs things for their own benefit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rigged: How Globalization and the Rules of the Modern Economy Were Structured to Make the Rich Richer [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    Very readable and sharp

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rigged: How Globalization and the Rules of the Modern Economy Were Structured to Make the Rich Richer [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    Globalization is highly famous nowadays but, depending on who writes the trad rules, it can damage an necessary segment of our population. This is event with TPP. This book is an perfect ysis of the problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rigged: How Globalization and the Rules of the Modern Economy Were Structured to Make the Rich Richer [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Made the Rich Richer--and Turned Its Back on the Middle Class []  2020-11-17 18:29

    "Winner-Take-All-Politics" is one of those rare books that can give the reader an approach-avoidance conflict. You wish to read as much of it as quick as you can because it is so interesting, and you wish to stop every 10 pages or so to process and absorb what you have s Hacker and Pierson describe it as a thirty years battle that slowly, almost imperceptibly eroded the economic and political power of the middle class. It wasn't coincidence or evolutionary change, but a deliberate, daily, stealthy grab for political and economic power that continued until one day the nation of middle class woke up to a recession that cost them their homes and livelihood while they couldn't support but message that those who caused it, the bankers on Wall Street, strutted away keeping their own homes, jobs, bonuses, and even liberty."From 1979 to 2006, the top 1 percent received 35 percent of all the income growth generated in the American economy, while the highest 1/10th of 1%...received nearly 20 percent, even after taking into acc all federal taxes and all government and employer-provided benefits." The middle class and the not good have been barely able to hold pace with income adjusted for inflation, as healthcare costs, homes and education , how did such a disparity come about?They call the change from the 1970's to the present, drift. Nixon was the latest president to pass sweeping liberal legislation. With Jimmy Carter as president and a Democratic majority in Congress, one liberal proposal after another went down to conquer and the drift continued to the right as conservatives and right wing interests began to organize. The Business Roundtable, the Chamber of Commerce began to create heavy fund-raising drives. Firms with high political stakes moved from Fresh York Town to Washington D.C. setting up offices on "K" Street. Lobbyists grew in number until they exceeded the members of Congress five fold. Perhaps the most necessary part of their success was the apathy of the American people toward politics, or the naiveté of Americans who believed that the election meant the war was over. Lobbyists worked 365 days a year, and began to chip away at unfavorable legislation the moment after it was introduced on the floor or signed by the ose who blame both parties have a point. Long the darlings of the middle class, the Democrats had to pay attention to an electorate that could raise cash versus them. Their labor base had long been destroyed to the point that unions had most of their membership now in the public rather than the personal sector. Democrat stalwarts became "Republicans for a Day" as the authors referred to Barbara Boxer, Nancy Pelosi, Chuck Schumer, and Diane Feinstein knew that voting for the middle class and versus strong interests could mean overwhelming political beral and progressive Americans were perplexed that the President's political engine seemed to be on idle after he had a majority in both houses of Congress. No one counted on the Senate's ability to throw a wrench in the works where a lot of states reel an inordinate amount of power for their interests and little populations. Increasingly arrogant and intransigent, a 60 member majority created it ideal for them to stymie anyone's agenda. Republicans voted solidly down to the latest senator, and Democrats had to scramble to obtain every Democrat. Add uncooperative Tea Partiers, moneyed interests pushing everyday, and "Republicans for a Day," and you have a middle class whose power and political muscle have dwindled to virtually nothing.Hacker and Pierson show smart argument and discussion of how the shift of power took place. They see our latest political history as a "who-done-it" detective story, and they are in find of the causes, the motives and the outcomes. They counter the argument that it was just coincidence or social Darwinism as the cars that just happened to create the rich much richer than the rest of the socio-economic classes. As the argument goes, everyone benefits from the rich becoming richer--the water level rises for everyone, but the authors prove that huge cash and corporate power have insured through legislation that they will hold getting a bigger share of the pie than everyone else--as their yachts go through the locks, they shut out the smaller boats and dinghies. While this is not in-depth, it is never boring and will reach a wider range of e authors take an apt quote from Charles Montesquieu who wrote: "An imbalance between rich and not good is the oldest and most fatal ailment of all republics."Also recommended: Free Lunch: How the Wealthiest Americans Enrich Themselves at Government Expense (and StickYou with the Bill) Deadly Spin: An Insurance Company Insider Speaks Out on How Corporate PR Is Killing Health Care and Deceiving Americans

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Made the Rich Richer--and Turned Its Back on the Middle Class []  2020-11-17 18:29

    This book offers profound insights into the American economy and the makings of a Plutocracy. The authors provide a comprehensive approach to understanding the acquiescence of American politicians in the downfall of equal economic opportunity. This is not some vague conspiracy theory aimed to discredit the political atmosphere of today, rather it is an eye-opening collection of data, which leads to a gut wrenching conclusion. If you are interested in garnering an understanding of the widening social gap in America, its causes, and solutions, this is the book for you. I highly recommend this book to all readers. Whether starting out with a limited knowledge of the economy and politics or beginning as a seasoned reader of such topics, this book is sure to please all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Made the Rich Richer--and Turned Its Back on the Middle Class []  2020-11-17 18:29

    This is a well doented explanation how the politicians have conspired, either knowingly or unknowingly, to predispose the direction of 99% of the wealth generated in this country's economy to the top .01% of the population. It makes you sick when you see how the unique interests have subverted the will of the people to do the bidding of their financial benefactors. An eye-opening treatise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Made the Rich Richer--and Turned Its Back on the Middle Class []  2020-11-17 18:29

    Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Created the Rich Richer And Turned its Back on the Middle Class by Jacob S. Hacker & Paul Pierson"Winner-Take-All Politics" is the interesting and upsetting look at how the economic gap between the super rich and the rest of us came about over the past 30 years. This insightful book info the policies that molded the economy to favor the rich. This 288-page book is composed of the following ten chapters: 1. The Winner-Take Al Economy, 2. How the Winner-Take-All Economy Was Made, 3. A Brief History of Democratic Capitalism, 4. The Unseen Revolution of the 1970s, 5. The Politics of Organized Combat, 6. The Middle Goes Missing, 7. A Tale of Two Parties, 8. Building a Bridge to the Nineteenth Century, 9. Democrats Climb Aboard, and 10. War Royale.Positives:1. A well-researched and well-written book.2. An accessible book for the masses.3. Even-handed book. The authors don't hesitate to put blame where blame is due (both parties obtain their fair share of the blame).4. The reality of a lack of intergenerational mobility.5. The reality of our broken health care system. Eye-opening stuff.6. Explains why American income inequality is the highest in the advanced industrial world.7. How the government impacts the distribution of "market income".8. Unpaid taxes and how that impacts us all.9. The concept of drift defined and how it impacts our economy.10. Interesting post Globe Battle II history.11. Unions and the middle class.12. The infuriating compensation of CEOs...and the rise of the "agent society". And even more interesting how difficult it is to even attempt to regulate it any method shape or form.13. The impact of strong unique interest groups at the expense of us all.14. Politicians and blatant conflicts of interest. Upsetting to say the least. A lot of interesting examples.15. What the Constitution truly embodies vs what we have actually become. Compelling arguments.16. Amazing thought-provoking quotes, "The debate should not be over whether government is involved in the formation of markets. It always is. The debate should be over whether it is involved in a manner conducive to a amazing society".17. A lot of political misconceptions debunked. "Nixon, not Johnson, oversaw the most rapid increase in domestic spending since the Fresh Deal". A lot of amazing examples.18. The impact of lobbyists and who they represent.19. The 1981 Economic Recovery and Tax Act (ERTA) and its impact.20. The impact of Christian conservatism.21. Interesting take on the latest history (30 years) of both major political parties.22. The deregulation movement.23. Mind-blowing facts, "More than a third of the 2001 tax cuts went to the richest 1 percent of Americans..."24. The beast that is the financial service industry. The power of their lobby.25. The transformation of the Republican party over the latest 30 years.26. The behavior of specific politicians driven by their local politics illustrated.27. Obstructionist politics as part of political tactic , how it works. Examples: tax policy, stimulus plan, climate change, and labor law reform, to name a few.28. Interesting look at President Obama's first year in office.29. The "rule of sixty" as a recipe for frozen coffee.30. The mind-blowing figures of health-care lobbying.31. Why effective governance is the key to economic security.32. Amazing suggestions on what can be done to return our democracy to the middle class.33. Links worked great!Negatives:1. Foreign trade is not as innocent as the authors portray.2. The book can be depressing at times, one comes to the realization that our government has turned into a "corporatocracy" and has become unreachable to all except the super summary, this is a very amazing book that clearly makes it case, "that the rise of winner-take all inequality has disadvantaged the vast majority of Americans, and none more so than those on the lower and middle rungs of the economic ladder". If you care about fairness and the principles of our Founding Fathers this book will certainly upset you. It's enlightening, at times infuriating and ultimately rewarding. I highly recommend it!Further suggestions: "Perfectly Legal..." by David Cay Johnston, "War on the Middle Class..." by Lou Dobbs, "Screwed: The Undeclared Battle Versus the Middle Class" by Thom Hartmann, "The Fifteen Largest Lies About the Economy" by Joshua Holland, and "The Looting of America..." by Les Leopold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Made the Rich Richer--and Turned Its Back on the Middle Class []  2020-11-17 18:29

    This book does a amazing job describing the role of politics in the decline of the United States, particularly its transformation from a capitalist to a feudal economy over the past 40 years or so, a process that is thankfully not yet complete, but which seems to be accelerating. It is telling that a lot of critics of the book focus on the assumption that all economies are either completely capitalistic and free, or totally centralized and communistic, ignoring the a lot of other possibilities, including a balance between som and a free shop as is practiced (with varying degrees of success) in European countries, or the nearly complete laissez-faire system used by the trade worldwide. This oversimplification, in my opinion, beautiful well invalidates their return to this book, however, there are a number of strengths and a few weaknesses that I'd like to emphasize. The use of the history of the current issue of unequal wealth is valuable, not merely in the success of the top tiers of society in manipulating politics to their advantage and the detriment of the country, but also the method that more left-leaning politicians and groups have abandoned economic problems and the needs of the working and middle classes in favor of their own narrow agendas. This is eye-opening stuff, and points out that the issue is more than simply a few villains at work.I would have enjoyed more discussion of the social elements behind the politics of inequality, particularly the method that American Christians from the 1980s to the show have largely abandoned economic and social injustice as problems of concern, and instead voted not only versus their own private interests, but versus Christian problems such as caring for the poor, in favor of a Republican party that seems committed to reducing them to serfdom. Instead, most conservative churches focus their attentions on (in the form of abortion, homoity, opposing women's rights, etc.), which the right-wing political class cynically exploits. Since these Christian evangelical voters are largely responsible for the success of the Republicans over the past 40 years, I don't think you can divorce the social problems from the political e book's largest weakness, however, is its failure to treat the decline of organized labor in America in any true detail. The argument is created that labor unions have grown weak because of organized attacks from the right, particularly the business community. While such attacks have certainly occurred, and have had their effect, it is equally real that American labor unions have declined largely because they themselves ceased to support workers, being consumed by a far-left confrontational ideology that meant they spent (and still spend) most of their time and energy providing excessive benefits to their leadership and an increasingly little percentage of their members, at the expense of everyone else. In order to maintain themselves in comfort, their leadership has now become a major cause of unemployment in the United States, and they have done at least as much hurt to the average American worker as selfish business interests have. The decline of organized labor is largely a self-inflicted wound, which huge businesses have taken full advantage of. Ironically, this has made a situation where unions are increasingly required in America, but such unions would have to war existing unions just as much as unfair businesses in order to support their workers, a situation that is unlikely to e reasons for this would have been a fascinating and helpful addition to this otherwise fine study, but the authors do not seem to have felt it necessary to contain them. As a result, I cannot give the book five stars, but it certainly deserves four.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Made the Rich Richer--and Turned Its Back on the Middle Class []  2020-11-17 18:29

    Haven't finished the book yet. The author, to me, is right on point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Made the Rich Richer--and Turned Its Back on the Middle Class []  2020-11-17 18:29

    I usually like to write lengthy, in depth reviews, particularly when I really like a book (and I really liked this book). Unfortunately I listened to this book in the vehicle and was unable to take my usual detailed notes so I am going to have to settle for a more succinct is book is one of the best political books I have ever read (or, in this case, listened to). The book attempts to figure out why inequality has been steadily rising in the United States since at least the mid-1970s, and why wealth has been redistributed steadily upward, especially to the top 1% or even top .01% of the income bracket. The respond is complex and has to do with greater organization on the part of business interests since the mid-1970s and a failure of organization on the part of the interests of labor and the working classes. The book makes its case with a amazing deal of data and there are a lot of very interesting facts presented along the method as well as a very interesting ysis of the nature of our political system in the United e authors argue, correctly in my opinion, that the economy cannot be separated from politics. The question about growing inequality cannot be answered if one limits one's view to the economy. The rules of the economy are determined in the political sphere. The authors also argue that the standard focus on elections in yses of our political system is misleading. Elections are, in some ways, merely a sideshow. When it comes to actual policy-making organization is what matters, and since the mid-1970s business interests have been far more successful in organizing lobbying efforts than the interests of labor and the middle classes. This means that the policies that are able to create it through the political process and actually become law have overwhelmingly been policies that favor the interests of the e authors diagnose a number of issues in our current political system. One of the most necessary has been the growing importance of obstruction. The growing use of the filibuster, for example, has created it possible for little minorities, representing very limited interests, to obstruct progressive change. This is a serious issue when one takes into consideration the notion of "drift", which is a major principle of the book. Drift occurs when the political process fails to hold up with changing economic conditions. It turns out that one of the most effective ways to block progressive change is to simply do nothing. The proponents of progressive change, therefore, often wind up needing a super majority in order to overcome obstruction, while the opponents of progressive change have a distinct advantage since it only requires a little minority to obstruct change leading to inherent e authors manage, somehow, to remain relatively optimistic about our situation despite all these obstacles to progressive change. If growing inequality is, in fact, largely a political issue then it is possible for us to do something about it. The problem, of course, is that we have to use a political system that is already heavily weighted towards business interests and the interests of the wealthy to reform the political system itself, which is ogous to lifting oneself up by one's own bootstraps. The challenges are real, but the more we know about the obstacles in our way, the better our chances for overcoming them, and this book sheds a amazing deal of light on the current obstacles to progressive change in our current political ere is far more in this book than I have been able to summarize. It is one of the few books on political science that I fully intend to read again at some point. I highly recommend this work to anyone interested in our current political and economic situation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Made the Rich Richer--and Turned Its Back on the Middle Class []  2020-11-17 18:29

    This book is an effort by two political scientist to explain how in the latest thirty years or so wealth in the U.S. has become concentrated in the hands of a smaller and smaller number of people. The fact that this has occurred is indisputable. So is the fact that the gap between the richest Americans and everybody else has grown exponentially just as the U.S. middle class is gradually disappearing. The explanation of why this has occurred offered by Hacker and Pierson is rather more ey start by noting that over the latest thirty years not only have the already rich gotten much richer, but that the U.S. National Economy has been transformed into a system that no longer serves the interests of the once broad and thriving American Middle Class that once was the backbone of that economy. In their view the system now serves the interests of a little minority of the rich and very rich (one to five per cent of the population). So their book begins by asking how and why did this occur and why over the latest thirty years?Since Hacker and Pierson are political scientists not economists, they argue that this transformation was due to political, not economic factors. Using what appears to be accurate statistical data they cite three `clues' or factors that point to what happened to the U.S. economy: 1) hyper-concentration of wealth; 2) sustained hyper-concentration; and 3) during the thirty years under study, while wealth concentrated at the very top of the income scale, the economy essentially stopped working for the middle and working classes who continually lost ground during this is economic transformation in favor of the rich they argue is not the effect of impersonal economic forces but of deliberate government actions or at times inaction (drift). Their central thesis is that mostly incremental government policies over the latest thirty years have had the ulative result of changing the U.S. economic system into a `winner take all' system heavily biased in favor of the rich and very rich. At the same time federal government policies undermined the traditionally powerful labor unions that served as a counter weight to corporations' power and systematically deregulated financial markets and executive compensation.Of course the other phenomenon that they observed is that as wealth becomes more and more concentrated, the influence of the wealthy on all aspects of the political process becomes more and more pronounced. This is evidenced by the fact that politicians ignore the bulk of their constituents in favor of the views of a little number of their wealthiest backers. They note Plutarch's comment that "An imbalance between rich and not good is the oldest and most fatal ailment of all republics." They also note that the reason the Democrats and Republicans, rhetorical differences aside, essentially help the same policies is because both are now beholden to the super wealthy. Not by conspiracy, but more or less by accident the U.S. in the 21st Century has become an oligarchy in which a very little number of very rich people control the powers of government over the increasingly disadvantaged how accurate is this acc of how the U.S. is becoming a nation of the privileged few controlling the destiny of the majority? Well they create a beautiful amazing case for it and their argument that this state affairs is due to political not economic factors is quite plausible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Made the Rich Richer--and Turned Its Back on the Middle Class []  2020-11-17 18:29

    Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Created the Rich Richer-And Turned Its Back on the Middle Class by Jacob S. Hacker & Paul Pierson, Simon and Schuster Paperbacks, 2010, 357 the majority of Americans I feel there is something seriously wrong with this country's direction and governance. I agree with a 90% plus of Americans who disapprove of Congress and its decisions and the 50% or so that have serious doubts about the administration. I have struggled for some time trying to understand what is going the 1960s I went on a retreat with the University of Southern California Medical Faculty. We took two buses to Death Valley and all I remember from the outing was that we spent the day listening to scientific papers, playing tennis and Gary Franklin's speech. We also visited Scotty's Castle. Someone on the faculty had invited Gary Franklin, a news reporter for one of the local TV stations, to give a talk. I remember three things about him. One, he talked for the entire trip to and from Death Valley. I don't think he was silent for more than two minutes. Two his family had escaped Nazi Germany when he was a teenager. So he had strong memories of how an entire country could go off the rails. And he understood that the United States could also lose its way. But third, in his formal talk, he said something I never forgot. He said, "If you gave me control of all the media for six months I could elect anyone President". This shocked me but I never forgot it. I grew up on American history, as taught in American grade and high schools. Essentially I learned that Americans wore white hats and everyone else black hats. Our national heroes were presented as some combination of comic book heroes. I firmly believed that this was the best country in the globe with the best citizens and the finest government. So what Gary Franklin said shocked me. But some part of my brain stored it. I thought about his comment a lot of times and very sadly and slowly came to believe that it was latest reading, particularly Michael Lewis, helped me to understand what went wrong with banks, investment banks, and Wall Road firms. I reviewed several of Michael Lewis's books in the January and February E-Jonah. But none of my reading helped me understand why the government allow this happen. I assumed our leaders didn't understand what was going on and/or didn't know what to do. Then I watched Bill Moyers interview with one of the authors of Winner-Take-All-Politics. I promptly ordered the book. It is an eye-opener. The writing is superb and while it is not as amusing as Lewis's work it helped me understand how and why we went off the fiscal rails. The authors approach the issue from the point of view of liberal Democrats and in the tradition of Franklin Roosevelt and Harry Truman. They firmly believe in an activist government that regulates. They have serious doubts about unrestrained and unfettered capitalism. They cite the Gilded Age and the Amazing Depression of the 1920s as evidence of capitalism run amok. On page 55 they say, "Governments do redistribute what people earn. But government policies also shape what people earn in the first place, as well as a lot of other fundamental economic decisions that consumers businesses and workers make". They use statistics to present that while the gross domestic product has increased, very small of the increase has gone to the lower classes and only a little amount to the middle class. If you compare 1979 to 2006, the poorest fifth has seen an 11% rise in income, the fourth quartile a 32% rise and the top 1% a 256% rise. Well over 40% of the gain has gone to the upper 1% of our population. They also note that more and more of the richest 1% work in "finance". The authors seem to accept the fact that capitalism does what capitalism does and that it is up to the government to regulate it and to regulate it for the benefit of the middle and lower classes. They note that Ralph Nader's movement and the Unions pressured the government for consumer and worker benefits. This organizational model was eventually adopted by the Republican Party. For a long time the Republicans got most of their funding from the rich. And he who pays the piper calls the tune. In essence, when there isn't a sense of emergency, elections are won by organization and cash and not by policy or substance. In the latest past the Republicans had the edge in both organization and money. Then the Democrats caught on. They began to go after the huge donors who also happen to be the richest 1% of our population. As a result, while the Republicans pushed directly to benefit the rich, the Democrats increasingly, mostly by drift, allowed the 1% to have lower taxes, got rid of Glass Steagall and were indirectly supportive of the increasing irresponsible fiscal behavior of borrowers, banks and Wall Street. Unions slowly shrank to only a few percent of non-governmental workers. As a effect of this and citizen ignorance and apathy there was nothing to counterbalance the increasing political power of CEOs and the richest Americans.On an optimistic note the authors say that we have had this issue before. It occurred after the American Civil Battle and with the financing of railroads. It occurred during the Gilded Age and again in the 20s. They suggest that change will require careful organization and financing. As they point out at the very beginning of the book, when Edmund Hillary climbed Everest it looked as if he did it by himself. But there was extensive planning, organization and an extended help system that created his accomplishment possible. The task for the American people is to understand the important role of government and to organize and fund change. As to the 1930s the authors note," The key conditions for the politics of renewal would not emerge until the crisis of the 1930s. But when they did, and the politics and policy of middle-class democracy were constructed, reformers were able to build on the foundation laid down by sustained organized action over the preceding decades. In those fateful years of foundation - laying a reform movement grew up state-by-state and debate by debate bringing with it changes whose full help would only become clear with time. Progressive reformers, not just in the White House but in state capitals and the newly democratized Senate - men like Robert LaFollett of Wisconsin and Robert Wagner of Fresh York - kept the Pot of reform simmering".So did TARP etc. prevent a fresh depression, which might have started fresh reform, or did it just save a few politicians and the rich? Only time will effect, and through conscious and unconscious action and drift, our major parties have made a fiscal disaster. The Democrats showed the Republicans how to use organizations to obtain elected. Ralph Nader and the unions taught them well. Then the Democrats, after several severe reverses, learned to cultivate huge money. In the end both parties turned the means into the ends. Effective government lost out to re-election and raising money. Cash buys advertising and staff and this gives you control of the media. Now the middle and lower classes have much less power and less freedom of choice. While the 1% has more power to manipulate the media and to force their agenda on the rest of us. What the 1% don't seem to understand is that if the krill and the plankton die the whales die. It is up to all of us to understand what went wrong and to start to correct it.I remember the Depression in the 30s, WWII, the Cold War, the Viet Nam police action and more latest "police actions". I remember the not good pain and fears of the Depression, WWII and The Cold War. I read enough history to know that things are more often on the brink of disaster than not but somehow we got our act together and muddled through. I hope we can do it again. Frank Kline

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winner-Take-All Politics: How Washington Made the Rich Richer--and Turned Its Back on the Middle Class []  2020-11-17 18:29

    This is an extraordinary book making the case for the age old proposition that "money talks." The contention is that concentration of wealth begats more concentration of wealth because of the ability of cash to influence and manipulate the political process. Policies are place into put that not only protect the wealthy, but create them more me reviewers remain understandably skeptical in the face of such a jarring bit of sophisticated critical Marxism that has long since gone out of fashion. But it's difficult to deny the force of the argument. After all, what's the mystery here? Absent concerted and even blatantly "sot" political policies, why would we expect any country's economy to naturally settle into some kind of benign distribution of wealth that spreads riches out evenly? It's the nature of a shop economy to make a more skewed distribution of wealth. The authors' easy point is that concentration of wealth is a dynamic process. Over time, cash will marshall the resources and techniques important to make a greater skewing of wealth. In the United States this was done via the lowering of capital gains rates, less progressivity in the tax code, and deregulation of banking and e lesson I draw from this is that a broad nationwide consensus favoring a more equal distribution of wealth and constant regulatory effort is important to redress this problem. The greater polarization of wealth over the past 40 years is undeniable, as is the ability of moneyed interests to place in put the policies important to protect and even to aggravate this polarization. Over time, the only thing to stop it is some broad-based disgust with the contrast between the super rich and a very huge permanent underclass -- and perhaps even more importantly, the fear of the middle class that it will lose its status. I'm optimisitc that this will soon occur, but the authors demonstrate how long and hard the war will be to place back some balance into the e book is powerfully written and disturbing, though it can be a chore to read at points. At times, it seems like a textbook. But stick with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    why not check here [www maryland case search]  2020-8-27 14:17
    [email protected]

    pinal county superior court case find easy case find navigate here pennsylvania judiciary case find article source case find kane county case find describes it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Latte Factor: Why You Don't Have to Be Rich to Live Rich []  2020-7-17 18:0

    I was up in the wee hours for method too a lot of nights worrying about bills and how to pay them - and then I found David Bach's simple to read and implement books over ten years ago. I read and use every book he has written, and our bank acc breathes a sigh of relief because of his simple steps. I went from paying credit cards with other credit cards (ugh!) to "Paying myself first", building a retirement account, savings accounts, and having cash to take a vacation with the family each summer. David Bach has a large heart and believes your values come first. Then he gives you the method to use your current income to live what is most necessary to you. It's not about coffee, but I have saved cash buying less coffee out, and applying the "Latte Factor" idea to eating out less, buying clothes I didn't really need, and watching my savings grow. Finding my cash leaks and understanding how cash invested grows and grows has given me calm, contented, anxiety-free nights. Thank you, David Bach!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Latte Factor: Why You Don't Have to Be Rich to Live Rich []  2020-7-17 18:0

    The necessary notice of financial choices we create has been a amazing influence for a lot of years! David has been teaching us to automate it for a lot of years and this book inspires a modern approach. So amazing to have the added value of the story telling of John David Mann to this fresh book. If I had to choose one notice from the book that most impacts it would have to be that success comes in little steps. To critics of the “latte” ogy.......you’re totally missing the message. We are the authors of our story and success is within our reach. Thank you David for a lifetime of guidance and thank you John David for the eloquence that has makes me wish to read without putting it down. Amazing team! Amazing Story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Latte Factor: Why You Don't Have to Be Rich to Live Rich []  2020-7-17 18:0

    The Latte Factor is an simple to read story which teaches you how little amounts of cash saved over time can change your life. Despite what some people think, the book does not say you must stop buying lattes. Instead, it teaches you ways you can fulfill your current dreams while also saving for your future. I have personally used some of David Bach's methods from previous books and they have worked for me. This book would be especially amazing for high school or college students, but it's never too late to begin using these methods. You are richer then you think! I only want I knew about them when I was much younger.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Latte Factor: Why You Don't Have to Be Rich to Live Rich []  2020-7-17 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book. It was an simple enjoyable read but I just hold thinking about. So a lot of books are strictly about living your life years out but this has a balance between living a life you love now as well as at retirement. I want I had this a lot of years ago so I purchased additional for my sons so hopefully it will obtain them to thinking about possibilities earlier. It’s a amazing story with a amazing notice to obtain you thinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Latte Factor: Why You Don't Have to Be Rich to Live Rich []  2020-7-17 18:0

    The Latte Factor is a parable about a young women named Zoey Daniels who is struggling to meet her life goals while living paycheck to paycheck. As she seeks to create some changes in her life, she meets people who share three life lessons. The lessons are easy but profound. Zoey is changed during her journey of discovery. I was blown away by the simplicity of the book and the strength of the message. This book is geared to young people, and I have already ordered fifteen extra copies to share with millennials who should have fun the story and can benefit from it. But I, a women in my 60’s, was so impacted by the book that I have decided to pursue a passion that I never thought I would be able to do. I highly and enthusiastically recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Latte Factor: Why You Don't Have to Be Rich to Live Rich []  2020-7-17 18:0

    This book includes info that everyone should learn. I first stumbled upon David Bach when I was in high school and read Intelligent Women Finish Rich. 10+ years later I bought the updated ver of Intelligent Couples Finish Rich. This book is an simple read which takes all of that info and more and makes it even more relatable. I'm giving this book as graduation bonuses this year because as we learn in the book, it's never too soon to invest in yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Latte Factor: Why You Don't Have to Be Rich to Live Rich []  2020-7-17 18:0

    This book has inspired me to live richer and teach others to do the same! Awesome book. Thank you David Bach

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Latte Factor: Why You Don't Have to Be Rich to Live Rich []  2020-7-17 18:0

    This is a amazing read (and a fast read too), and not your typical financial tip book - it is written as a story. Expertly done and I want I'd had this when I was starting my first job. Amazing to give to fresh graduates so they obtain started on the right path early. For people well past graduation - it is not too late. :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Latte Factor: Why You Don't Have to Be Rich to Live Rich []  2020-7-17 18:0

    This book tells the story of a New-York-City twenty-something magazine editor who learns the "secrets" of financial freedom from a wise old barista. (Spoiler: He OWNS the coffee !)So that you don't have to wade through hours of really clunky writing, here they are:#1: Save part of your paycheck in a 401K or IRA. Pay more than your minimum credit card payment every month.#2: Use automatic transfers so you don't have to think about it.#3: Go have fun as if you had lots of e latest one is what the book promises: "Why You Don't Have to Be Rich to Live Rich."Exactly how that's supposed to happen gets glossed over. We're told that the wise old barista was once an architect who felt unfulfilled until he quit his job and bummed around Europe for months, only to return to the States, obtain a business loan and begin a coffee , which became the core of his financial empire.Of course, he somehow already had enough savings to just drop everything and go to Europe. And being White and educated, he was able to obtain a little business loan. His coffee was an unmitigated success, even though according to the Little Business Administration, 30% of fresh businesses fail during the first two years of being open, 50% during the first five years and 66% during the first 10. But his somehow magically e main hero follows suit and requests six weeks off a year from her job so that she can bum around Europe. So she takes a pay chop (never mentioned) and then spends a bunch of cash (never mentioned) traveling. Her boss kindly holds her job for her. Of course, the author glosses over the fact that taking off that much time would place her below full-time employment, which would mean she loses her benefits--including the vaunted 401K. Her boss doesn't say, "Who will do your job when you're gone?" but instead agrees on the condition that the protagonist mail postcards back to the e manages this while also building a savings for retirement at $25/day and creating travel and photography funds that she contributes to every month. The wise old barista shows her how for just $25/day, she can retire as a multi-millionaire due to the "Miracle of Compound Interest." Of course, for thirty days, that's $750--Over $9K a year.Where does the cash for this come from? Not from getting a higher-paying job or even using a job offer as leverage for a raise--no, it comes from the protagonist's "Latte Factor": the fact that she spends about thirty bucks a day on lattes, new juice, and eating at her work cafeteria instead of bringing her lunch. Of course, the barista/coffee owner is fast to remind her that she doesn't actually have to quit drinking lattes; in fact, she becomes a regular at his r a book about financial freedom, the math doesn't add ong the way, we obtain introduced to a stereotypical oil baron (reformed to be into green energy now) and his drawling wife. In typical Fresh York fashion, NYCers are portrayed as the default and outsiders are comical stereotypes who only got their lives together with the support of the Fresh York barista/real estate mogul.We also obtain treated to the dramatic deathbed conversion of the main character's mother, who falls ill at a moment critical to the plot, such as it advice: Skip this book and place the cash in your 401K.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Latte Factor: Why You Don't Have to Be Rich to Live Rich []  2020-7-17 18:0

    This is such a amazing book. Simple to read and amazing to give as a gift. Related to The Alchemist, this story fallows Zoey as she comes to a point in her life where she decides if she wants to pursue cash or her dreams. It is an investment book that doesn't feel like one. The ideas are very easy but strong and you can begin at any age. Some critics might say that it is impossible to create cash using these simple, maybe even boring, ideas. The point of this story is to examine your life and see what steps you can take to create it better. What cash are you wasting that you could place towards your retirement. Are you in credit card debt? Are you thinking "how did it obtain so high so fast?" That is how investing works! This book shows you how to use compound interest for you, instead of versus you. I am giving this book to everyone I know! It makes a amazing graduation gift! I am also giving them Daivd Bachs other books including Intelligent Women Finish Rich and The Automatic Millionaire.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Doctors Don't Get Rich: How YOU Can Create Freedom with Passive Income Investing []  2020-11-18 20:35

    Dr. Tom has mastered the Rich Dad art of simplifying the investing world; his years alongside and friendship with Robert Kiyosaki have not been wasted - Bravo! I truly enjoyed the story of 'Purchasing the First copy of Rich Dad, Not good Dad' presented from both amazing authors. The logical order in which he provided the recipe for building a pipeline of wealth and included the parable of the water pipeline was truly strong and created this book flow. Amazing points on becoming educated, taxes, protection and the pitfalls you will encounter. I considered myself a seasoned investor yet was blown away; "Why Doctors Don't Obtain Rich" connected a lot of dots for me and has created me a better investor, no question. It will for you too - I highly recommend it. Amazing job, and thank you Tom!! -Gary P

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Doctors Don't Get Rich: How YOU Can Create Freedom with Passive Income Investing []  2020-11-18 20:35

    What a timely book!!!From begin to finish Dr. Burns book kept me engaged all the method through. I sure want I had this book when I was younger. The insight on investing and creating a passive stream of income was exactly what I required to hear and understand. Not only was this educational but it gave clear chop actionable things I will be implementing immediately in my own life. In addition, this book will take you through different investment tactics and begin your eyes to what's really going on on Wall Street. Shocking actually!His private stories woven throughout really created this not only an educational book but a fun read as wellI can't stress this enough, this is a must read for anyone stuck in the rat race trying to figure out a method ank you Dr. Burns for sharing an immense amount of knowledge and experiences. The globe needs this - especially now!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Doctors Don't Get Rich: How YOU Can Create Freedom with Passive Income Investing []  2020-11-18 20:35

    If you are a Doc and wish to build significant wealth why wouldn't you read a book from someone who did it and did it on a huge scale?Well written from beginning to end.Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Doctors Don't Get Rich: How YOU Can Create Freedom with Passive Income Investing []  2020-11-18 20:35

    As someone with lots of clients that are Doctors I was curious to read this book. I was blown away by how impactful this book is and how it takes complex things like investment and makes it simple. I’d say if you’re a Dr or any professional that wants to better understand how to achieve financial freedom go read this book. Dr Tom is a real expert that is living his story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Doctors Don't Get Rich: How YOU Can Create Freedom with Passive Income Investing []  2020-11-18 20:35

    I enjoyed reading this. Even though it seems like this book written for doctors based on the title, it was recommended to me by a friend. I read the book page-to-page and found Tom's tip that he gives about how to grow financially using passive income, relatable and down-to-earth. It gave me some amazing insight on how to begin and strategize and now I feel like I have an opportunity to place some of these practices together. Thank you for writing this for us laymen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Doctors Don't Get Rich: How YOU Can Create Freedom with Passive Income Investing []  2020-11-18 20:35

    I only want I had access to a book like this at the beginning of my law career. I can only photo where I would be today. If you wish to become financially educated, have fun freedom of choice and live life with purpose, passion and service, this is a must read. Following the teachings of Rich Dad Not good Dad, Rich Doctor exposes Doctors (and busy high-earning professionals) to the reality that there is more to financial life than working for a paycheck and falling into the trap of 'the more you earn, the more you spend’. Obtain out of the rat race. Work because you wish to, not because you have to. I can’t recommend this book enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Doctors Don't Get Rich: How YOU Can Create Freedom with Passive Income Investing []  2020-11-18 20:35

    Dr. Tom Burns is a amazing storyteller and was able to create a very complicated subject simple to understand for anyone. His step by step tactics to support you get financial freedom were inspiring and mind opening!Like myself, most people today feel like they are too busy to stop and think about our finances and to plan our future. Dr. Burns shows us the way… and makes it though I‘m not a doctor, I was able to immediately relate to this book and I think it will resonate with other busy specialists out there in today’s quick paced world. This book is also very timely considering the current state of the financial markets.Dr. Burns book helps you better understand how to build a future of wealth by learning how to examine such subjects as passive income, expenses, asset protection, taxes and a lot of more and how to deal with the challenges these locations sometimes bring. I’ve been investing in the stock shop and in true estate for over 20 years and this book has really opened my mind in focusing on locations that will support me truly live a life of financial freedom.If you’re a fan of ‘Rich Dad Not good Dad’…you’re going to love this book! I highly recommend this book if you’re looking for the freedom to spend more time with your family, friends, hobbies, etc. I already know a few folks that I will be sharing this book with!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Doctors Don't Get Rich: How YOU Can Create Freedom with Passive Income Investing []  2020-11-18 20:35

    I’m a recovering attorney turned entrepreneur and recently got started with true estate investing. I want I had this book early on in my career as my life would be much various now! Dr. Tom Burns shares his insightful wisdom and transforms the concepts of Rich Dad Not good Dad into practical steps one can take to live their best life on their own terms. If you're passionate about creating a strategic plan to minimize taxes, make wealth, and achieve financial freedom...this is THE BOOK for you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Doctors Don't Get Rich: How YOU Can Create Freedom with Passive Income Investing []  2020-11-18 20:35

    I have a slight advantage in that I have seen Tom’s written word in action for the past 20 years. The simplicity is mindful of the professional who wants to START today. He maps out the "Building Your Passive Income Pipeline" which is 100% attainable. The lessons he shares will give you the advantage to leverage both his victories and defeats so that you can quick track your education and execute. The education alone is worth tens of thousands of dollars and a decade of your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Doctors Don't Get Rich: How YOU Can Create Freedom with Passive Income Investing []  2020-11-18 20:35

    Obtain ready to take some notes. Love how detailed the book was. It’s more like a roadmap on how to finished strong. It breaks down the magic of money flow leverage and talks about things like balance sheets and understanding money. Android game changing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them (Rich Dad Advisors) []  2020-2-1 21:21

    I bought both begin your own and run your own corporation. Both amazing books. My only complaint is the lack of even one condensed list of specific corporate formalities. Such as #1, file articles with state, #2, write bylaws, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rich Dad Advisors: Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them []  2020-1-19 21:42

    This book was mostly fluff. If you know absolutely nothing, then go for this book as it aims to spell out the ABC's of business. I'm 1/3rd into the book and I found that it didn't fit my needs. It contains an early insight into sole partnerships and the risks of "unregistered businesses". It has none of the insight and perspective of the Rich Dad Not good Dad sically it's just someone with Rich Dad Not good Dads stamp of approval on the cover. I bought this book because I figured it may support kickstart my business. But the info contained within is for complete novices. It's not for someone who's serious about doing business right away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rich Dad Advisors: Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them []  2020-1-19 21:42

    This was very educational and helpful. The info is in depth but very simple to read and comprehend (which, I feel, is one of the largest positives of this book) by method of true globe examples and scenarios. Amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rich Dad Advisors: Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them []  2020-1-19 21:42

    This is a very helpful book for those who have assets they wish to protect and don't know anything about the LLCs or corporations. There is a lot of useful info here, but there is a lot that is not required for someone with specific goals. However, as a first stepping stone, this is great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them (Rich Dad Advisors) []  2020-2-1 21:21

    Started my own company after reading this book. I still hired an attorney. I can understand what he says and he feels that I did my homework.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them (Rich Dad Advisors) []  2020-2-1 21:21

    This was very educational and helpful. The info is in depth but very simple to read and comprehend (which, I feel, is one of the largest positives of this book) by method of true globe examples and scenarios. Amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them (Rich Dad Advisors) []  2020-2-1 21:21

    This is a very helpful book for those who have assets they wish to protect and don't know anything about the LLCs or corporations. There is a lot of useful info here, but there is a lot that is not required for someone with specific goals. However, as a first stepping stone, this is great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rich Dad Advisors: Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them []  2020-1-19 21:42

    Started my own company after reading this book. I still hired an attorney. I can understand what he says and he feels that I did my homework.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them (Rich Dad Advisors) []  2020-2-1 21:21

    Updated, straight to the point information on the importance of choosing an “entity” corporate structure for your business. Only a fraction of a FRACTION of the cost of the same quality direct tip from a business attorney. Most recommended and have purchased multiple times for mates and relatives!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them (Rich Dad Advisors) []  2020-2-1 21:21

    Amazing read for anyone fresh to the concepts and tactics of limiting liability while maximizing profits with corporate entities and similar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rich Dad Advisors: Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them []  2020-1-19 21:42

    I’ve highlighted and bookmarked so much in this book. The examples all create sense and Are practical. I even learned how to adjust my own situation for a better corporate strategy. This is GOLD! Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rich Dad Advisors: Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them []  2020-1-19 21:42

    Very informative. Highly suggest reading this before deciding on the type of entity you want/need. Much insight, and I learned method more than I thought I would, as I thoughtI knew a lot - apparently I was wrong. You won't regret buying this book, I promise! Cash well spent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them (Rich Dad Advisors) []  2020-2-1 21:21

    This book was mostly fluff. If you know absolutely nothing, then go for this book as it aims to spell out the ABC's of business. I'm 1/3rd into the book and I found that it didn't fit my needs. It contains an early insight into sole partnerships and the risks of "unregistered businesses". It has none of the insight and perspective of the Rich Dad Not good Dad sically it's just someone with Rich Dad Not good Dads stamp of approval on the cover. I bought this book because I figured it may support kickstart my business. But the info contained within is for complete novices. It's not for someone who's serious about doing business right away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them (Rich Dad Advisors) []  2020-2-1 21:21

    Includes a ton of amazing nuggets and provides enough of the differences and pros and cons of each type of entity used for protecting private assets and limiting private liability. Unless you are a legal entity expert, chances are high this book will prove to be a tremendous asset.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them (Rich Dad Advisors) []  2020-2-1 21:21

    Very informative. Highly suggest reading this before deciding on the type of entity you want/need. Much insight, and I learned method more than I thought I would, as I thoughtI knew a lot - apparently I was wrong. You won't regret buying this book, I promise! Cash well spent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rich Dad Advisors: Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them []  2020-1-19 21:42

    Includes a ton of amazing nuggets and provides enough of the differences and pros and cons of each type of entity used for protecting private assets and limiting private liability. Unless you are a legal entity expert, chances are high this book will prove to be a tremendous asset.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rich Dad Advisors: Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them []  2020-1-19 21:42

    Amazing read for anyone fresh to the concepts and tactics of limiting liability while maximizing profits with corporate entities and similar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rich Dad Advisors: Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them []  2020-1-19 21:42

    I bought both begin your own and run your own corporation. Both amazing books. My only complaint is the lack of even one condensed list of specific corporate formalities. Such as #1, file articles with state, #2, write bylaws, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rich Dad Advisors: Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them []  2020-1-19 21:42

    Updated, straight to the point information on the importance of choosing an “entity” corporate structure for your business. Only a fraction of a FRACTION of the cost of the same quality direct tip from a business attorney. Most recommended and have purchased multiple times for mates and relatives!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Start Your Own Corporation: Why the Rich Own Their Own Companies and Everyone Else Works for Them (Rich Dad Advisors) []  2020-2-1 21:21

    I’ve highlighted and bookmarked so much in this book. The examples all create sense and Are practical. I even learned how to adjust my own situation for a better corporate strategy. This is GOLD! Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Millionaire Recruiter: Get Rich with No Experience []  2020-10-26 18:55

    It's recommend to anyone with an hour or so to sure who is either just curious or who wants to actually look into recruiting. Well written and snappy, the language is real, down to earth, and simple to grasp.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Millionaire Recruiter: Get Rich with No Experience []  2020-10-26 18:55

    This book has lit my motivational fire! Signing up for the ecourse immediately! Read it cover to cover in one day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Millionaire Recruiter: Get Rich with No Experience []  2020-10-26 18:55

    Just a sales pitch for her eCourse. Want I had that 30 mins back. Would not recommend that anyone waste time with this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Millionaire Recruiter: Get Rich with No Experience []  2020-10-26 18:55

    Brianna is full of energy and excitement. She is so passionate about what she has built for herself and has taken herself even further creating a training program so she can train anyone willing and able to push into recruiting too.I for one am exciting and will be buying her program!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Millionaire Recruiter: Get Rich with No Experience []  2020-10-26 18:55

    For slightly more than I would pay for a Starbucks drink, I found the book to be an simple read, informative, and useful. I am going for the next step....I can do this! BTW, I would suggest an internet find of the author, Brianna Rooney. A successful, strong young woman who makes things happen. Inspiring....bravo!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wealth and Poverty of Nations: Why Some Are So Rich and Some So Poor: Why Some Are So Rich and Some Are So Poor []  2020-1-29 1:14

    Well, I'm almost finished... about 1 hour to go. As soon as I finish this book I'm going to immediately begin over and read it again. Just incredible! A veritable history book like no other. If the origins of differing cultures interests you this is your next book. I am exceptionally fascinated with the manner info is presented and the numerous footnotes provide another layer of insight. All stars from me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Wealth and Poverty of Nations: Why Some Are So Rich and Some So Poor: Why Some Are So Rich and Some Are So Poor []  2020-1-29 1:14

    It's a somewhat meandering read, but fascinating. Who would have thought that the invention and widespread use of eyeglasses in the West could be credited with increased productivity compared to the rest of the world? Warning -- liberals will be very unhappy with much of the ysis within, which goes far to debunk the notion that Western oppression/exploitation is the main reason for Third Globe poverty.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386