Read why your life matters reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all why your life matters reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Courage Matters: The Way to a Braver Life [Book]  2018-1-21 18:0

    John has brought forward a number of true life parables to help us in getting to the core of a common definition of courage. At times it might have been more useful to have fewer anecdotes and more of the blunt McCain we have come to know (and love). However, he appears to rally these thoughts in a strong conclusion and makes the book a worthy read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Courage Matters: The Way to a Braver Life [Book]  2018-1-21 18:0

    Given the current climate in DC and the White House, this is a refreshing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Courage Matters: The Way to a Braver Life [Book]  2018-1-21 18:0

    XXXXX"I think I can offer...thoughts about courage. Not because I possess such an ample supply myself. I want I did. But I have spent time in the company of heroes. I was raised by them, served with them, was taught to revere them...I know what courage looks like. I know what it can do. I know its various expressions. I think I know what it costs. And if I can't tell you how to get...courage--no one could...I can provide a few suggestions, learned by observing the example of the people I admire the most, about what one might do, how one might live, to become ready for the occasion of heroism and possibly in a difficult, dark, confused, and consequential moment, to strike...[a] 'little spark of courage.'"The above is found in this somewhat special and inspirational book by Senator John McCain, a formal naval officer, a former P.O.W., a man who has seen a lot of acts of bravery and self-sacrifice, and one of America's most admired political leaders. Co-author of this book is Tag Salter, who has co-authored other books with Cain shares stories (examples of courage necessary to him) of ordinary people who have summoned the courage and risked everything to defend the principles they believe in. Then effect is a "meditation on courage" that exemplifies Mother Teresa's timeless words that title this te that this book is not just stories! McCain yzes each story of courage and extracts from them what he considers to be the elements of courage in them. He then gives his tip and insights on courage to the roughout the book, are black and white photographs of the individuals McCain is profiling. This allows the reader to attach a face to the courageous ly, the only issue I had was that a lot of of the stories, though interesting, are somewhat long with a lot of detail. Some people might obtain frustrated by conclusion, this is a rare book with a timeless message. I leave you with this book's latest few sentences:"Don't allow the sensation of fear convince you that you're too weak to have courage. Fear is the opportunity for courage, not proof of cowardice. No one is born a coward...So be brave. The rest is easy."(first published 2004; 11 untitled chapters; main narrative 205 pages; acknowledgements)XXXXX

    0  


    Add your opinion on why your life matters or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Courage Matters: The Way to a Braver Life [Book]  2018-1-21 18:0

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Courage Matters: The Way to a Braver Life [Book]  2018-1-21 18:0

    This short book tells the tale of six or seven very courageous people with short commentary by McCain in between. The people in this book defied the odds and accomplished the impossible. Each of their stories are unique, and McCain explains how each of them present courage in various ways under various cirtances. One consistency between all of the stories in this book is that each of the heros had powerful beliefs that drove them to act in awesome ways in the face of extraordinary challenges. Courage is a hard thing to define, but I think McCain has done more than a fair job of it here, using these people's stories as e one thing I want this book told more about was McCain's own courage as a prisoner of battle in Vietnam. He really down plays his own heroism a amazing deal in this book..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Courage Matters: The Way to a Braver Life [Book]  2018-1-21 18:0

    amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Courage Matters: The Way to a Braver Life [Book]  2018-1-21 18:0

    Well-written and provocative...it was a very amazing read, and I am glad to have the insight into McCain's feelings on this topic (even if I am mad with him these days). It arrived quickly & in brand fresh condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Courage Matters: The Way to a Braver Life [Book]  2018-1-21 18:0

    I've never read anything by Senator McCain, but have been interested in his life story, and thought I would give this a shot. Frankly, I was expecting a typical politician's book, full of applause lines and self-serving anecdotes, and thin on depth.What I found was exactly the opposite. Though the book is quite short, it is quite deep and thoughtful. McCain ponders some deep issues: what is courage? how can it be taught? what's the difference between valor and courage? Between fearlesness and courage? Between courage and zealotry? I really got the impression of an author giving us his deeply considered thoughts. Bravo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Courage Matters: The Way to a Braver Life [Book]  2018-1-21 18:0

    This book is surprising in at least two ways. I thought a book by war- character on Courage John McCain would focus on his own story, his own trial in courage. I also thought it would focus on military heroes. It has it share of these and in fact opens with the story of Vietnam Battle Medal of honor Champion Roy Benavidez whose courage in rescuing wounded comrades surrounded by Vietcong involved an wonderful determination and persistence. It is notable by the method that in choosing the military heroes McCain does not focus on a Sergeant York - like character remarkable for how a lot of of the opponent he wiped out, but on someone engaged in an act of rescue of his fellow soldiers.And in fact the theme of willingness to sacrifice for others, to risk oneself to save or support others is at the heart of McCain's conception in this work. The heroes he selects the explorer John Wesley Powell, the Civil Rights leader John Lewis, Eleanor Roosevelt, the Hungarian born Israeli parachutist behind the Nazi lines who refused to give the opponent critical info despite the severest torture, Hannah Szenes, the Nobel Prize Winning Burmese civil rights activist Aung San Suu Kyi, McCain's fellow prisoners, including his cell friend Bud Day, two soldiers of the Korean Battle Pete Salter ( Father of McCain's co- author)and the native American Red Cloud- all these in acts of courage forget their own private safety and risk themselves for Cain and Salter in this book create a true effort to provide a correct definition of Courage, and to underline its put among the first of virtues. They lament the 'defining down' of the concept in American life today in which it can be considered courageous to do things like going to a fresh hairstylist or talking back to one's ey go back to the core concept of courage as involving a true placing of oneself ,physically or morally on the is book is winning in another way. McCain's modesty, recognition of his own failings and limitiations, awareness that there were others who were more courageous than himself- provide a sense of a person of broad understanding and appreciation of e feeling I had when reading this book is that McCain is a person of real and powerful character, with the right values , the values and moral vision America needs.I write this at a moment when the economic crisis is amazing and growing in America, and when Barack Obama has opened a considerable perhaps unsurmountable lead on John it appears as it is now that John McCain will not be ever my powerful impression in reading this book is : Here is a person truly qualified by experience, by values, by hero to be the President of the United States- and to truly do the best for it whatever the cost to himself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Courage Matters: The Way to a Braver Life [Book]  2018-1-21 18:0

    Too long, extremely boring and predictable

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-17 23:24

    The first half of the book is full of valuable critics, but the latest part is too much about Fresh York, not about the rest of US.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-17 23:24

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Baseball Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Book should be renamed, i have a amazing publishing company so i wrote a baseball book. A primary understanding of baseball, a amazing book if you know her, a lousy book if you wish convincing arguments on the importance of baseball. Could i do better? Honestly? Yes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Baseball Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Written by a very knowlegeable person and an obvious fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Baseball Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    While I agreed with some points and disagreed with others, the overall premise is sound. Definitely worth a read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Preservation Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-6-18 19:45

    Necessary book, very necessary subject!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-17 23:24

    Came in amazing condition!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Baseball Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Perfect book She really knows baseball.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-17 23:24

    This discussion of the built globe around us is thought-provoking but I felt it could have been better focused. In some sections I wondered just what the author was trying to say. Paul Goldberger left me with greater appreciation for the mundane: a reflection of changing times and outlooks as well as expressions of design. I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-17 23:24

    Clearly written, gets to the point while also providing illustrations to emphasize/communicate his point. Easy and effective

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-17 23:24

    perfect book, finds a balance between being intellectual and accessible, I recommend it for students of spatial/architectural design as it will support them frame there own critiques

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Baseball Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Thoughtful meditation on the improtsnce of baseball. A small repetitive--editing would have helped.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Baseball Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Perfect book . . . if you care at all about baseball (or maybe just wish to care), read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Baseball Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Baseball Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    The state of baseball today is either excellent, since revenues in the sport are at an all-time high, or on life support, since a lot of feel the android games are too long and it is losing its appeal to young people. Both arguments have their merits and this book by best-selling author Susan Jacoby offers several explanations for the latter e primary premise of the book is that Jacoby, a woman who fell in love with the android game as a kid in Chicago going to White Sox android games with her father, believes the sport has to realize that thanks to digital advances, the attention span of fans is shorter than ever. Baseball has to search ways to attract younger fans who have grown up in this age. She both criticizes and praises the android game in the attempts to do is sounds contradictory, but a reader will realize how Jacoby does this. First she explains how “baseball is a android game in which one must wait, pay attention, and wait again for startling, defining moments of action.” Thus, the distractions that younger fans have in today’s digital globe (beautifully explained by a young female fan) will mean that the “defining” moments will have to be strong to hold the attention of these is doesn’t mean she necessarily agrees with baseball’s response. Indeed, she is critical of the attempts by Commissioner Rob Manfred to speed up the android game and believes that is misguided as the length of the android games is not the real source of the lack of younger, female and African-American fans. She also pointed to readers of the Fresh York Times who wrote to the newspaper who believed that baseball’s woes could be addressed not by speeding up the android game but instead to create it more like football. Needless to say, she wasn’t totally on board with this idea e also believes that the android game doesn’t create much effort to attract fans of color and female fans. Since the android game doesn’t have the same transition from generation to generation as it did in the middle of the 20th century, she shows that other sports, especially football, are gaining these fans and baseball needs to step up its efforts to appeal to these is makes it sound like the book is negative and critical of the game, but that is not the case. Jacoby shares a lot of unbelievable stories about the android game and her adopted team, the Fresh York Mets. She sounds off about the designated hitter (hates it), baseball films (doesn’t like “Field of Dreams” or Robert Redford cast as Roy Hobbs in “The Natural”) and why fans love the android game the method they do (“…we love it precisely because it is not like life.”) Her stories, along with her suggestions for making the android game better for all fans, are compelling reading that every person interested in the android game of baseball will enjoy.A fast and simple read that will create the reader think, “Why Baseball Matters” is the type of book that not only makes a critical examination of the game, it offers unbelievable opportunities to not only attract fresh fans, but also illustrate why fans of the android game love it the method they do with a passion not easily seen in other sports.I want to thank Yale University Press for providing a copy of the book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-17 23:24

    Quick shipping. Amazing product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Preservation Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-6-18 19:45

    Extraordinary new take on what is far too often a tired field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-17 23:24

    Sensing a possible connection with some of my latest thoughts on the subject, I ordered a copy of Why Architecture Matters by Paul Goldberger. My radar was working perfectly. What I found was a gem of a book, written for those not necessarily possessing a degree in architecture yet somehow drawn to the globe of buildings, that sharply brings into focus our relationship to those buildings - and, of course, why those buildings matter.Written with a passion for the things we build to give us shelter, deeply insightful, this necessary book gives coherent shape to previously scattered thoughts I've had regarding the value architecture has for us all. I highly recommend it to any of you who wish to penetrate the veil of mystery surrounding the topic and reality of architecture and its vital relevance in our lives.Taken from my post at [...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-17 23:24

    bought it for an Architecture class, we all lost interest and stopped reading it, even the professor. Its not written by an architect, simply an architectural journalist. This doesn't mean his opinions are invalid but he was asked by Why X Matters to write this book, and it seems like he's just looking for things to say. Each chapter repeats itself for about 40 pages, when he probably could have created his point in 10 pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-17 23:24

    I had worked with Architects for years on projects and want I had been schooled on their impact much earlier. Very unbiased and easily understood for the layman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Baseball Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    This book is much like a Detroit Tigers game: starts out great, but by the middle innings turns into a true mess. I agree with everything Jacoby says here, but, then again, I fit the baseball demographic - over fifty, white, middle-class. To further nerdify things, I don't have a television, and spend more that thirty-eight mins a day reading (and just latest week I watched the entire seventh android game of the 1952 Globe Series - Yankees/Dodgers - on Youtube, two hours and fifty-nine minutes; it was great!). I think Jacoby is a amazing fan and very amazing writer, but I do think she misses an opportunity here to discuss more than fantasy baseball, a tangent she goes off on and a subject she can't seem to drop. This book is worth reading (you can skip the fantasy baseball tirade), but Tag Kingwell's Fail Better: Why Baseball Matters (Biblioasis, 2017) is a much better discussion of baseball and its importance in the greater scheme of life. Obtain it from the library or skim through it on your Kindle, riding the subway. The book is not exactly an "out" - let's score it a "fielder's choice" - she got to first base with this book, but the lead runner was forced at second. Typical Tiger offense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Baseball Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-1-19 20:36

    Don't be fooled by the title. It's not about why baseball matters, rather, all the things wrong with baseball

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Preservation Matters (Why X Matters Series) []  2020-6-18 19:45

    Very informative!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Honor Matters []  2020-1-15 21:18

    I'm a decent ways into the book now. It's written well enough and clearly enough to be very readable. I like Tamler's take on honor, I like the ideas he brings that really are counter-intuative. The examples he uses do a really unbelievable job of illustrating the points he's trying to make, while understanding and acknowledging the limits. I'll admit that I'm reading as a fan of VBW, but this book is honestly just as good, if not better than items by Pinker, Bloom, Haidt, etc. I'll be recommending it to mates just as soon as I [email protected]#$%! up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classics: Why It Matters []  2019-12-23 19:38

    Ask a question; obtain an respond – Socrates’ anyone! It was an interesting format and methodology the author used but I am not sure it was the right that as it may, I have fun this one although I am not sure I could translate it to useful info in attempting to convince others for the need to read Classic Literature. I now I have spent a amazing about of my over 70 decades reading such thing, purely for the pleasure, and I am not sure I now why and I am not sure the author has given me the reasons why I have done l in all though I though this one on interesting and recommend it even though I am not sure it will convince people who do not read the classics to do do unless they are already included to read these unbelievable writing. It is well wroth the time though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Wall Street Matters []  2020-1-22 22:17

    Very well written and simple to follow along even if you don't have a financial or economic background. Cohan does a amazing job at explaining why Wall Road is the method it is today. Enjoyed the approach to reform he takes, much more practical than common slogans of the Democratic Party. Highly recommend for those looking to learn more about the finance structures of this country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Wall Street Matters []  2020-1-22 22:17

    Very well written and informative history about Wall Street.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geography: Why It Matters []  2020-1-25 18:39

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Orwell Matters []  2020-2-6 21:47

    Christopher Hitchens gives us a comprehensive survey of Orwell's literary and journalistic output. This is especially interesting in view of Orwell's orthodox som. Sots disliked him for his anti-Stalinist views even though he risked his life and freedom fighting for the Spanish Republic versus the Fascists. He came in for criticism and slander when he tried to present how the Russian backed POUM subverted the Republican cause by undermining and then arresting their noncommunist helps to read Hitchens book in tandem with Homage to Catalonia, Orwell's acc of the Spanish Civil War. It is a stark description of the conditions at the front, and the "riots" in Barcelona. This is followed by the treachery of the e European Left turned a blind eye to the horrors of Stalinist Russia, until Orwell produced 1984, and Animal Farm. After that he was persona non grata among the orthodox Leninists and Stalinists, and misunderstood by the right wing "anti-communists". Not a amazing novelist, but an necessary one. An honest man in a maelstrom of lies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Orwell Matters []  2020-2-6 21:47

    Hitchens is that rare quantity, the genuine public intellectual who is also popular. He is famous because he is a amazing writer and he is uncompromising. This ain't an simple read, and it is best read with some knowledge of the subject: Orwell. I read Orwell in the 1950s and 1960s but it was so long ago I'd forgotten, so I read some Orwell and then reread the Hitchens book. It was better and more accessible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Race Matters []  2020-2-4 10:51

    Race matters because the races differ in average qualities important to creating and maintaining a thriving society. These are intelligence, obedience to the law, and monogamy.Everywhere es live they are accurately characterized as being less likely to be intelligent, more likely to break the law, and less likely to obtain married and to stay married to the people with whom they have cause these characteristics are durable geographically and historically, they indicate genetic causation. Intelligence is fairly stable. Crime and illegitimacy fluctuate. Nevertheless, when they are low they are lower for whites than blacks. When they are high they are higher for blacks than whites.Michael Levin points out, “In 1950 the white illegitimacy rate was 1.7%, and the black rate 16%.”In 2012 the white non Hispanic illegitimacy rate was 29.1%. The black rate was 72.3%.From 1960 to 1980 the black and white crime rates both increased. The black rate increased more. Professor Levin attributes this to the greater innate inclination of blacks toward crime, and to the fact that the civil rights movement caused the criminal justice system to extend to blacks safeguards previously granted only to whites.He points out that in 1920 a black mugger would be apprehended and quickly sentenced to a chain gang. Now punishment is less likely and less berals blame black dysfunction on white racism. Professor Levin asks: if this is true, why have black rates of crime and illegitimacy increased since 1964, when the Civil Rights Act was signed and the Battle on Poverty was inaugurated? Why has black academic performance not improved, despite much more cash spent on black public education, and expensive programs like Head Begin and No Kid Left Behind?Conservatives blame black dysfunction on the welfare system. Professor Levin tends to agree, but he thinks the true culprit is the black essor Levin gives too small attention to the reasons racial differences evolved. For an explanation of that we should turn to “A Farewell to Alms: A Brief Economic History of the World, by Gregory Clark, Troublesome Inheritance: Genes, Race and Human History,” by Nicholas Wade, “The 10,000 Year Explosion: How Civilization Accelerated Human Evolution,” by Gregory Cochran and Henry exist when governments are ineffectual or do not exist. In a tribal environment all men war in the wars. The best fighters have more than one wife and consequently more sons who inherit their violent inclinations and aptitudes. Also, in a tribal environment men are expected to avenge injustices done to them, their friends, and their relatives.A young not good ghetto black man who is shot by another young black man he knows often does not identify the shooter to the police. While he recovers in a hospital he thinks, “I know who did it. When I obtain out I will obtain back at him.“ When he gets out he kills the man who shot him. The man’s mates slay him. His mates slay them. So it goes. This is more than the culture of the underclass. It is the expression of instincts that are functional in a tribal environment.During most of history in urban civilizations criminals were killed at the stage of the crime, they died in custody, or they were executed. In some cultures they were enslaved and worked to death. The few kids they had rarely lived to adulthood. Thus crime genes were removed from the gene pool. This is why races that have practiced civilization the longest have lower crime urban civilizations men who have the intelligence to become merchants, government officials, scribes, scientists, and so on usually become prosperous. Consequently more of their kids survived and reproduced. This is why races that have practiced civilization the longest have the highest IQ averages.Why Race Matters was first published in 1997. It was republished in 2005. Since then genes have been discovered that influence intelligence and criminal behavior. If Why Race Matters is published in a fresh edition, mention should be created of these genes.Why Race Matters is written with academic prose that prevents it from being read by a huge population. Professor Levin should have written it with the assistance of a journalist.When one presents an argument that a lot of people do not wish to accept, the argument must be simple to follow. It needs to be based on assertions that most people know to be true. What Professor Levin says in Why Race Matters is said better and with fewer words in “Race, Evolution, and Behavior: A Life History Perspective,” by J. Philippe by emphasizing black stupidity, crime, and promiscuity Professor Levin gives small attention to the fact that a lot of blacks are intelligent, law abiding, and ink of a decent young black man. He probably attended a black majority public school where he was ostracized and maybe beaten up for “acting white.” Nevertheless, he did the best he could academically, stayed out of trouble, and graduated from high school. Even so, wherever he goes whites who do not know him assume that he is risky and inferior.Once I read a letter to the editor of a newspaper written by such a youth. He wrote:“When I obtain on a bus women keep their purses more tightly. Men pick up their briefcases and place them on their laps. I always have a seat to myself even though I do not smell badly. I see the fear in their eyes. it is heartbreaking.”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Race Matters []  2020-2-4 10:51

    This book is written somewhat like a scholarly journal article. The author seems to be consumed by the fear of being considered a “racist,” which he will be no matter how much he denies it because of the conclusions that he draws. Nevertheless, the book includes a amazing deal of useful information. I found nothing factually wrong in it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters []  2020-1-29 8:50

    Sensing a possible connection with some of my latest thoughts on the subject, I ordered a copy of Why Architecture Matters by Paul Goldberger. My radar was working perfectly. What I found was a gem of a book, written for those not necessarily possessing a degree in architecture yet somehow drawn to the globe of buildings, that sharply brings into focus our relationship to those buildings - and, of course, why those buildings matter.Written with a passion for the things we build to give us shelter, deeply insightful, this necessary book gives coherent shape to previously scattered thoughts I've had regarding the value architecture has for us all. I highly recommend it to any of you who wish to penetrate the veil of mystery surrounding the topic and reality of architecture and its vital relevance in our lives.Taken from my post at [...]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters []  2020-1-29 8:50

    bought it for an Architecture class, we all lost interest and stopped reading it, even the professor. Its not written by an architect, simply an architectural journalist. This doesn't mean his opinions are invalid but he was asked by Why X Matters to write this book, and it seems like he's just looking for things to say. Each chapter repeats itself for about 40 pages, when he probably could have created his point in 10 pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters []  2020-1-29 8:50

    perfect book, finds a balance between being intellectual and accessible, I recommend it for students of spatial/architectural design as it will support them frame there own critiques

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why New Orleans Matters []  2020-5-27 18:21

    It takes a love affair with the melody and the people and a Fresh York writer to tell the true truth about the attempted murder of the Crescent City. Katrina was more than the devastation. it was the complete refusal. Fresh Orleans took a lickin' and it eventually kept on tickin'. Ya can't slay magic. You can alter the sleight of hand but the magic isn't smoke. Insurance cash could NOT reinvent the other worldly grace of the city. It takes determination and blind faith.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why New Orleans Matters []  2020-5-27 18:21

    It was an simple read but didn't support me prepare for my trip. I was hoping for more history and substance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Faith Matters []  2020-12-1 20:40

    This is both a private journey and a beautiful deep exploration as to why faith in God is necessary in daily life. As I write those words I realize that the book doesn't exactly say the God is necessary in daily life. To Wolpe, God makes the most difference when life is at its worst or at its shortest. Having read lots of books on apologetics (and atheist books on why faith is stupid) I think this is the best book I've ever read overall. Wolpe explains the interaction between beliefs and a fulfilling life better than anyone. Wolpe won't support you believe, but will create you satisfied you do or want you believed if you don't.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Faith Matters []  2020-12-1 20:40

    A friend's Bible class is reading this book. I picked it up and couldn't place it down. I bought the kindle ver that oughtful, insightful, challenging and charming . . .this is a amazing book. If you are at the put in your life where you are asking what matters, this book is a companion to your thoughts. It's not a book of orthodoxy or of theology as much as a philosophical look at how your belief system will change your experience of life - and why that e author is a rabbi, my mate is a Seventh-Day Adventist, and I'm a somewhat non-denominational Christian. This book has light and relevance no matter what label your religous experience comes with. Read it with a high-lighter - there will be a lot of nuggets you wish to come back to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classics: Why It Matters []  2019-12-23 19:38

    This could have been a decent book, but the author's tone was kind of arrogant and preachy. He poses questions and then answers them -- leaving the reader as an outside observer. The questions he poses aren't ones that gosh, are all on our minds anyway so he is stating them for us. No, they might be interesting questions, but... not mine. The book would have been better if the author dispensed with the ask a question/answer it format, and instead just wrote a book on why the classics matter. If he was going for the Socratic method, it doesn't work here. The author appears to have done his research, and if you have the same questions he keeps asking throughout the book -- then okay, this might be for you. For me, I found the tone preachy -- that the author was telling me that I should have these questions, and then he haughtily answers them. I couldn't obtain into the book. Its unfortunate that his editor didn't talk him out of the format, for he could have written a book about why classics matter instead of about the question of why classics matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why New Orleans Matters []  2020-5-27 18:21

    Tom Piazza wrote a very touching book about being away from Fresh Orleans after Katrina. It is a heart felt written book. I admirehis honesty about how he missed his attractive town NOLA!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why New Orleans Matters []  2020-5-27 18:21

    I got this book for a trip to Fresh Orleans I'm taking. The travel group recommended it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Wall Street Matters []  2020-1-22 22:17

    Nice early history of Wall Street. Makes amazing points about where Wall Road is to blame and NOT to blame for the financial crisis. Recommendations are to the point but surely there must be more than adjusting the compensation system.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Wall Street Matters []  2020-1-22 22:17

    This book was a gift, so I can not add anything other than it was as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Orwell Matters []  2020-2-6 21:47

    One of our amazing “public intellectuals” of latest decades turns his critical and fearless eye on both the detractors and exploiters of George Orwell. The detractors come from the left, the exploiters from the right. To the right, Orwell was a prophet of their beloved Cold War, conveniently forgetting that he was also a winner of democratic som. To the left, he betrayed som and democracy because his dystopian novels “Animal Farm” and “1984” were such potent attacks on Soviet-style Communism that they served to propel the Cold Battle and McCarthyism. In fact, Orwell even invented the phrase ‘Cold War”. But Hitchens points out that Orwell used it as a prophetic warning of geopolitical peril to come. On another occasion, Orwell prophesied the eventual collapse of the Soviet Union due to totalitarian excess. And this is precisely the picture that Hitchens paints of Orwell: A person of extraordinary intellectual and moral honesty who also had keen insight and curiosity into human affairs. Orwell first developed a life-long aversion to colonialism and imperialism after a youthful posting to India in the early 1920s as a police lieutenant. Then he deliberately chose to live with the destitute in the slums of London to understand their predicament, despite the discomfort it brought to his upper class upbringing (he was a graduate of Eton, the most elite of English personal schools.) Orwell was very determined to become a amazing writer – to penetrate the veil of propaganda and euphemism that blinded people to injustice. He quickly became a amazing essayist but had problem writing a amazing novel. Yet he knew that fiction could reach a far greater audience, if he could only search the right model, the right formula, to display his perception and outrage. He kept trying and eventually succeeded, despite social awkwardness and repeated periods of self-doubt. So how did Orwell come to understand Stalinism long before most others? Once again he exposed himself to danger and deprivation. He volunteered to war Franco and the fascists in Spain in the late 1930s. He barely escaped death – twice, yet Hitchens downplays his heroism. Once Orwell took a bullet in the neck. Then he fled Spain just before being seized to be “purged” in a Stalinist-type present trail. Thus he experienced totalitarian terror first hand, culminating in his masterwork “1984” just before his death form tuberculosis in 1950. However I would recommend a amazing overview of Orwell’s life, such as the Wikipedia article, before this book. Hitchens’ book is not a biography and sometimes glosses over crucial elements. At other times he digs quite deeply into the politics and culture of the time in order to counter certain attacks and misrepresentations, using a high-brow literary British vocabulary, contrary to the transparency advocated by Orwell himself. [email protected]#$%!&?chens is absolutely right that “Orwell Matters”, especially today, given the Orwellian proclivities of Donald Trump.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Orwell Matters []  2020-2-6 21:47

    This book, it seems to me, is definitely not for a casual reader. Hitchens's intellect just overflows every page, and he just wore me down. His ysis constantly pulls in allusions to numerous other literary figures, and their particular rationals and perspectives, to such a degree that I often became lost as to the supposed intent of the book. Plus, his tendency to write such long involved sentences --and paragraphs for that matter-- constantly had me rereading to test and hold straight just who (and what) he was talking about at any given moment. As to the point.....(Why Orwell Matters).... the author does obtain around to the few understandings that I held in my hand as I started reading....notably: Orwell's vivid warning to the thoughtful that language and truth are inextricably intertwined, and the thoughtful person must be militant in his discipline to sort out when the devious use language to obscure the truth. But frankly, I think that this stalwart argument could have been properly presented with much, much less text from Hitchens. He seems to need to indulge his genius --and that's the appropriate word-- along with addressing the topic at hand and he burdens the arguments he's trying to place forward. Hitchens's treatment of Thomas Jefferson (subtitle: Author Of America) was considerably less labyrinthine and so much more a pleasure to read. I guess that experience was insufficient preparation for this work on Orwell. This book is not only not for the casual reader, but should be actively restricted to those truly authentic men (and women) of letters who care to indulge themselves in those type(s) of involved ysis that Hitchens traffics in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters []  2020-1-29 8:50

    Clearly written, gets to the point while also providing illustrations to emphasize/communicate his point. Easy and effective

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters []  2020-1-29 8:50

    Quick shipping. Amazing product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters []  2020-1-29 8:50

    I had worked with Architects for years on projects and want I had been schooled on their impact much earlier. Very unbiased and easily understood for the layman.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Honor Matters []  2020-1-15 21:18

    I’m not a fan of honor cultures. To be frank, I search most of them repugnant. And yet, I found Sommers’ recent book to be well researched, well reasoned and well written. He makes the case for honor without overstating his case or ignoring inconvenient truths. He explains his position clearly and without unnecessary technical jargon, without dumbing down. Sommers gave me a lot to think about, and I am very glad I read his book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Honor Matters []  2020-1-15 21:18

    Peppered with engaging stories and true globe examples, Why Honor Matters is a captivating read for philosophy junkies and lay people alike. Sommer's acc of honor has strong explanatory power, shedding light on the functions of norms in honor cultures such as inner-city gangs and professional hockey. His insistence on the importance of the victim's emotions and virtue in righting wrongs will lead you to reconsider the method we think about justice from playground bullying to capital punishment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Race Matters []  2020-2-4 10:51

    While one may not like this subject or resent the implications of Levin's insights, one cannot fault his rigorous logic and demanding research. He also gives fair weight to opposing views and takes the time to systematically show counter arguments to these views. Levin treads where angels fear to go. There was a time when scholarship was unshackled by group-think or politically correct limitations. Levin's books harken back to an era when there was greater intellectual freedom and honesty. Anyone who claims to be conversant with the subject of race must contend fairly with this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Race Matters []  2020-2-4 10:51

    Michael Levin's gives fairly thorough coverage to its subject, the variations in bell-curve IQ between huge racial groups in society. My copy by the method is the 2016 Fresh Century edition of 400-plus pages. Its 'readability' in this reviewer's opinion is medium-difficult. The print is little and the material is comprehensive. I doubt that the average reader of non-fiction is attracted by its topic and length. It is more like a graduate textbook. This is not to say that its topic is dull. Far from it. The issue with such books on the same topic is that few people wish to enter discussions or even hear about the fact that some races are 'smarter' than others (when measured on the IQ bell curve). Some would say that it smacks of racism, which is not real in my estimation. But many, probably even most people are disturbed by the ere are other books on variations of intelligence in races. Some have been written that are easier to read. One such is Daniel Seligman's (Birch Lane Press, [1992], 239 pages). It is easily handled by the general reader of non-fiction who doesn't wish such amazing detail but prefers brevity and general ere is another book that goes deeply into certain societal class differences including race, i.e. differences in IQ and the results. I refer here to the easily read and clearly understood yet scholarly book called by Charles Murray and the late Richard Herrnstein (The Free Press. [1994], 845 pgs.). It attracted a substantial readership when first published, some of it negatively critical of the chapter on race and IQ -- this, even though the authors have gone out of their method to handle their topic in a manner free of racist ideas.Race and IQ, while a topic that causes people to be uncomfortable, has serious consequences that affect U.S. society in a dozens of ways, few if any of them is reviewer if asked, would recommend to anyone who wants to learn what is about, might wish to start with Daniel Seligman's book in order to enter the topic matter easily.I am glad that I read and recommend it to anyone who wants serious info on the subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Faith Matters []  2020-12-1 20:40

    David Wolpe is a unbelievable storyteller and spiritual communicator. It doesn't matter whether you are Jewish, Christian, Muslim. This book is simply about Faith and this year has been a excellent time for me to renew my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Faith Matters []  2020-12-1 20:40

    I heard Rabbi Wolpe speak at an award ceremony for a dear friend, ordered the book before I left the building. Powerful, insightful read. Helped me so very, very much as I have so a lot of Jewish mates I dearly love, and the historical insight and scriptural views of the Jewish people has touched me over and over... what a blessing this book is, and I am forever grateful for this loving Rabbi who shares so much required insight. I gotta go read this again. It's simply WONDERFUL.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters []  2020-1-29 8:50

    This discussion of the built globe around us is thought-provoking but I felt it could have been better focused. In some sections I wondered just what the author was trying to say. Paul Goldberger left me with greater appreciation for the mundane: a reflection of changing times and outlooks as well as expressions of design. I enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters []  2020-1-29 8:50

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Wall Street Matters []  2020-1-22 22:17

    William Cohan is a magnificent author, perhaps one of my favorites, with his House of Cards on the fall of Bear Stearns being an utter masterpiece, and his frequent writing in Vanity Fair and such being compelling and mature. Furthermore, the general thesis of his fresh book, Why Wall Road Matters, is an essentially undeniable ditty of wisdom – that very few Americans would like to even comprehend a society without Wall Road – without the capital markets that we now equate with the famed Fresh York road. So I actually hate to write a negative piece on an author I adore writing a book I agree with, but I do have to say that for this Cohan fan, I would have preferred to obtain a sort of 400-page epic from Cohan on the history of Wall Street, complete with the due indictments of greed and corruption and the apologetic for her primary existence. This 150-page hack sheet felt rushed, was highly redundant (to a point where I can’t believe an editor allow it go), and lacked the gripping saga writing that Cohan has previously mastered. He gives some teasers of Wall Road history, he appropriately whacks the Elizabeth Warrens of our day into oblivion, and he generally states a thesis that really lacks a amazing counter-argument, but there is small meat on the bone, and that just left me wanting more.His primary conclusion is: Wall Road is vital, but incentives need improving. Okay. Fair enough. No pushback from anywhere. But his apparent connection with Nassim Taleb’s “skin in the game” concept lacks specificity. Though he bemoans the death of personal partnerships on Wall Street, he at least is wise enough to admit they could never, ever come back in this realm of modernity and sophistication and scale (and seems to actually miss that that is why they had to evolve in the first place). But his points are wise and heedable that the gift structure ought to be improved, with significant risk attached to those making systemic decisions. Besides one somewhat silly section about seemingly tearing apart modern limited liability laws, it is totally unclear to the reader if the civil magistrate ought to be imposing these fiery consequences on Wall Road compensation committees, or if he simply means that boards of directors ought to be better re-aligning their own internal guidelines and mandates. It would be hard to flush this out in th few miniature pages he allotted, but there is a huge subject here, and Cohan absolutely has the gravitas and intellect to lead the discussion. He just didn’t do it in this a sense, this is an odd review, because I didn’t much care for this small ditty Cohan has place out, but I almost feel like I could write a very positive review now for a 400-page book that doesn’t exist. These subjects Cohan addresses are all worthwhile, and he is a capable pen to lead the effort. This book just wasn’t it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Wall Street Matters []  2020-1-22 22:17

    A very nice and relatively objective history of Wall Street. It's a very simple and enjoyable read, and everyone will learn a few things along the way. I would definitely recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Race Matters []  2020-2-4 10:51

    Yes, race does matter! The leftists have convinced the masses that we're all the same, when nothing could be further from the truth. This mentality has been used to implement racial mixing; the fact is, multiculturalism destroys culture. Instead of keeping the races separate and celebrating our differences, the races are encouraged and even forced to mix; The sad fact is that in most cases, racial mixing has been a l ethnicities need to have locations where they are homogeneous. Of course, there should also be locations where mixing is allowed. But we all need safe havens. It seems everybody has them today except for Whites. Whites are not allowed homogeneous societies. Whether it is section 8 housing which destroyed the once-prosperous cities of Chicago or Detroit; or the importation of Middle-Easterners into White European countries, resulting in an epidemic of rape and theft today, and probably the implementation of Sharia Law is book has done much to destroy the leftist narrative that we are all the same. Hopefully more people can realize this and celebrate and preserve their uniqueness before it's too late!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Orwell Matters []  2020-2-6 21:47

    Hitchens was obviously writing to the academic crowd and not to a wider audience--I have a graduate degree but had to sit with a dictionary at hand because he uses so a lot of archaic and/or little-used words. Though I do not believe he ever got to the point of why Orwell matters (only indirectly) it was an interesting take on Orwell's life. One downside is that Hitchens was obsessed with Orwell's so-called "unexamined and philistine prejudice versus homoity" including some related remark in nearly every chapter. Why? Just because Orwell was English does automatically infer he should have either been a homo or accepting of the practice of it. How [email protected]#$%!chens know it was an unexamined prejudice? And why is a mid-twentieth century position absolutely normal for the entirety of history (up until a few years ago) considered "philistine"? Interesting take, but I am not impressed with Hitchens--especially after all the build-up about him I read from different sources.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Orwell Matters []  2020-2-6 21:47

    I think this book has done a amazing job of showing that Orwell was, in his time, as much a muckraker and contrarian [email protected]#$%!chens was in ours. As someone who doesn't share Christopher Hitchens political point-of-view, I still like his evaluation of the argument that Orwell tried to pecially in a globe where we are living with additional high levels of political correctness, we need to be reminded that George Orwell dealt with that issue. Hitchens reminds us of the tyranny of ideas, sponsored by the international left. But he also reminds us, through Orwell, that the right engages in the same semantic controls of thought. We let language control which is thought control at our own peril. That was the value of Orwell in the past and is also the value of Hitchens Christopher Hitchens, although I know you were an atheist, I prayed for you through your illness and still pray for you in death.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geography: Why It Matters []  2020-1-25 18:39

    I highly recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Honor Matters []  2020-1-15 21:18

    Tamler is the rare philosopher who can write in a clear, accessible method without sacrificing depth or rigor. This book is a real pleasure to read, and raises significant challenges to the common sense Western liberal approach to a number of issues, most importantly criminal justice. Whether or not you wind up convinced by Tamler’s defense of the value of honor, the ideas and arguments presented in this book are timely, important, and worth engaging with (whether one is an academic with professional interest in these topics, or a layperson who simply wants to learn more about honor and justice). Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why New Orleans Matters []  2020-5-27 18:21

    A amazing book for a fast look at Fresh Orleans, and future issues the town will face. The author points out issues with the city, but does not always offer a solution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classics: Why It Matters []  2019-12-23 19:38

    The first textbook I ever determined to hold was my 6th grade book on ancient history. (I still have it.) I went on to take four years of Latin and two of ancient Greek, which I believe have been quite useful, and I've never lost interest in the college (and later graduate school) I was interested in pursuing further knowledge but was advised by classicists and historians that funding was abysmal and there were no jobs, so I'd be better off following other pursuits, so I did, but I used my electives to study the ancients, not only because the history is fascinating but because the thinking of a lot of ancient scholars is still instructive e art, literature and architecture are still admired but a lot of other aspects of the cultures are neglected or impugned.I was interested to read this short book (or long essay) on why the classics matter, and I enjoyed reading it, but I don't feel the author did much to respond the question: why do ancient Greece and Rome matter any more?I didn't feel this was a waste of time, but I didn't come away any more enlightened either.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Faith Matters []  2020-12-1 20:40

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this work. There were a lot of points throughout the work that caused me to stop and wonder - all positive! What created this a amazing read was how the rabbi approached each of his points. I began with some skepticism about what I would encounter; by the third chapter, I began to appreciate the rabbi's words! My faith and how I chose to approach it did matter; how my faith influenced my actions - communications both personal and public - mattered. This was a very well-written work that everyone will enjoy; each person will search one portion of the text matches to their own individual self.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Faith Matters []  2020-12-1 20:40

    Rabbi David Wolpe has hardly reached middle age (by today's standards), yet he's experienced, struggled with, and overcome enormous challenges to his faith in God. Beginning with the catastrophic stroke that crippled his mother at the height of her awesome, well-known creativity, the cancer that invaded his pregnant wife at her most vulnerable moment, his brain tumor that was occasion for major surgery but proved non-malignant, and now his lymphoma that will never truly depart, his trust in God survives. And in that gentle, intellectual style of thinking that always carries over to his writing, he urges us to re-examine our own spiritual lapses. If it is real that "Belief is believing in God; faith is believing that God believes in you" (Andre Dubus, "A Father's Story"), Rabbi Wolpe need only look in the mirror to see why he was named the #1 pulpit rabbi in America by NEWSWEEK.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters []  2020-1-29 8:50

    Came in amazing condition!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Wall Street Matters []  2020-1-22 22:17

    Amazing explanation for the layman on what "Wall St." is, why it came into being, and what its role is today - i.e. efficiently providing the capital required by businesses both huge and small, which in turn make jobs which fuel the (domestic and global) economy and provide goods/services for consumers. Makes the point that blaming Wall St for 2008 and other ills is misplaced. However, Cohan also makes clear that that doesn't mean that some regulation isn't important - only that some of the current regulation is misguided and that we need to rethink what we wish Wall St. to be able to accomplish and what kind of regulations are thus appropriate.Easy, balanced and clear read. Am going to give this as bonus to two young women we know starting out in the (investment) banking world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Wall Street Matters []  2020-1-22 22:17

    Amazing read.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classics: Why It Matters []  2019-12-23 19:38

    I love classical education, and I love studying classical education, but I did not love this e question and respond format was not at all engaging, and I found that I often felt that I could have answered the questions posed better myself. Not the was necessarily wrong, but the answers were not thorough and honestly, I found the tone rather direct and harsh, and at times just plain l of this created finishing the book a rather tedious e author makes amazing points, but the delivery of those points was lacking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Honor Matters []  2020-1-15 21:18

    Clear thinking on the subject of honor in modern society. Something we need much more of these days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Honor Matters []  2020-1-15 21:18

    Written with humor and clarity, Tamler makes an interesting case to say the least. Don't obtain hung up on whether you agree with his argument - it is interesting, full of fun facts and stories and is definitely an enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Honor Matters []  2020-1-15 21:18

    I should say that I enjoyed reading Tamler Sommers' work on honor. It is not a very massive read and the text is clear and mainly written for a broad audience. Sommers makes certain amazing inroads using illustrations of well functioning microcosms of honor cultures, e.g. the MLB, NHL, Navy Seals, etc. That being said, I did not ultimately search his arguments persuasive about the practicality of scaling honor systems into current dignity based liberal societies. The arguments on restorative justice were probably the most persuasive of the book and could, I believe, fit into a utilitarian scheme. Regardless, I do very much recommend this simple to read work on a very interesting and special topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Orwell Matters []  2020-2-6 21:47

    George Orwell has been labeled, recruited, insulted, folded, excluded, misunderstood, and watered down. Do we REALLY know what he was trying to warn us about? And do we care today?First, we should CARE because his notice is just as necessary today was it was in the 20th Century. His outlook about nationalism, race, power, and language is something we have to listen to and UNDERSTAND.Hitchens holds nothing back. He reveals the meaning behind Orwell's writings - the good, the bad, and sometimes the ugly. Orwell was a awesome man but he was just a man and sometimes even he would say something that was not really fair.But he was willing to look truth or fact right in the face and describe to us the details, like it or not. The failure of the press to report the happenings correctly. The failure of government to see happenings in the proper light or sometimes to lie outright to protect itself and its goals.I would suggest the following books. First The Street to Wigan Pier by George_Orwell and then Homage to Catalonia. In those two books you can almost SEE the changes in his ideas about som, the press, and power slowly forming as he wrote the books. While I would also suggest NINTEEN EIGHTY-FOUR,signet classic ct311 (paperback) I would say that the novel has overshadowed some of the other amazing NONfictional works of his and I would, if I was you, test to expand on your knowledge of his ideas - as I am doing right now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Race Matters []  2020-2-4 10:51

    After the furor that arose following the publication of the Bell Curve, Charles Murray pointed out to his critics that he and Richard Herrnstein could have created a much stronger case regarding the black-white IQ gap than they did, but they restricted their ysis to only the most mainstream science on the topic. "Why Race Matters" by Michael Levin is that much stronger case. Like Herrnstein and Murray, Levin also relies on mainstream literature regarding the black-white IQ gap, but expands on it, and he covers race differences other than IQ, e.g. time preference and impulse control. Michael Levin is a philosopher by training, but his knowledge of psychometrics, math, and genetics is impressive. Levin devotes approximately the first third of the book presenting the evidence that much of the black-white IQ gap is genetic in origin. He also astutely points out that the egalitarian case for a 100% environmental origin for the black-white IQ gap relies almost entirely on finding flaws in studies that indicate genetic causation. Their argument is in result that absence of evidence (for high black intelligence) is not evidence of absence. However, in some cases absence of evidence is evidence of absence. If for example, Santa Claus exists, it is very likely that someone would have spotted him by now. That no one has, thus, should be considered evidence that Santa Claus does not exist. Likewise, Levin states "evidence for the equal intelligence of the races would presumably exist were the races in fact equal, and be prominently cited by the a lot of social scientists who passionately believe they are." That no such evidence exists locations the burden of proof on egalitarians to create the case for racial equality. The case versus racial equality presented by Levin is devastating to the egalitarian cause. In the latter part of the book, Levin discusses other subjects including values, crime, justice, and affirmative action. It is a fascinating read that would be difficult to summarize briefly. He ends the book with a fictitious address by a future president of the United States acknowledging that after ~50 years of pretending otherwise, we must finally come to accept and deal with the reality of racial differences. If you enjoyed the Bell Curve, this book is a must-read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Race Matters []  2020-2-4 10:51

    Stereotypes may represent true meaningful probabilities. Michael Levin's book seeks to -- and in my assessment does -- present how race matters because of average differences between the races. These differences are often dismissed as stereotypes. But it is only a stereotype that the sun will rise Anne Moir and David Jessel pointed out in Brain and Moir and Moir in Why Men Don't Iron, based on statistics, at the highest level, there are thirty-some boys for every girl. If you extend that to jobs in science, you should not be surprised to search mostly s it is a stereotype that boys are better at higher math and spatial problems, but that stereotype is spot on. Like Einstein, boys use their visual brain's to see the at does not mean that boys are smarter than girls? No. The same thinking applies to race, as I think Levin shows. Whites aren't by dint of a higher IQ smarter than blacks; and as the average IQ scores of whites is higher than that for blacks, the scores of Jews and Asians are even race can be said to be smarter than another because we have no accepted theory of smarts. No one knows what intelligence is beyond being a score on a try that is predictive of later school performance. Indeed, there would seem to be several kinds of intelligence. One scientist developed a try for EQ. It has been shown that women far surpass men in EQ. Is EQ more necessary than IQ? Depends on the nature of the issue at hand.Whatever, in my estimate, Levin's argument that race matters is the best I have so far encountered on the subject. Racial stereotypes -- i.e., probabilities -- may be meaningful and useful.If you are lying unable to move on the 5th floor of a burning apartment building, when the door opens and you see the silhouette of a firefighter. Would you hope that firefighter was a male? If so you may be applying a stereotype. I think most sane people would. But, hey, sanity is a fact, most of the judgments we create every day draw on stereotypes. It is only a stereotype that lions attack, kill, and eat humans. A statistical probability. Wish to thrust your arm into the lion's cage? You might do it a dozen times, even have other people do it to prove that lions are not natural e US Supreme Court in Griggs v Duke Power that, in effect, any hiring try that failed to achieve equal outcomes between the races were prima facie invalid. In effect, the court ruled that such tests are small more than Levin shows, yes, they are, but the Court based its decision on other stereotypes.Of course, not all stereotypes are made equal. Much depends on the methodology underpinning the stereotype, and it need not involve complex statistical procedures. For example, in PERT programming we have found that a seasoned engineer's estimate of probabilities for project completion times can be quite accurate.And why not? That is how our ancestors survived and prospered to make the sciences with their refined stereotypes.I think Levin's book should be mandatory reading for college introductory programs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why New Orleans Matters []  2020-5-27 18:21

    This thorough, and moving, post Katrina look at what we think is the most special town in the country is essential reading before, after or both a visit. With a look to the future, Tom Piazza also delves into the past with material that was fresh to us and we have been reading about the town for years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why New Orleans Matters []  2020-5-27 18:21

    As a pre-New Orleanian (I lived there for years) I found this book impossible to place down. Like the book "One Dead in Attic", the author knows Nola so well that his writing of the town brought tears to my eyes several times while reading. Piazza's style is mesmerizing. I found myself on the roads he described, living it with him. The description of the meal will create your mouth water, his description of the melody and culture will create you dance, and his description of the storm will create you cry. In the meantime, your heart is torn in every direction. This book created me forget about my surroundings where I could hear, smell, and feel the energy that is Fresh Orleans. Would recommend it highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Faith Matters []  2020-12-1 20:40

    Rabbi David J. Wolpe's book, Why Faith Matters, came to my attention as I prepared to teach a class on Hebrews 11. "Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see" (Hebrews 11:1). Wolpe is more philosophical and focuses on the quest for meaning. "Faith believes in the legitimacy of asking 'why'--that the very question is an animating force in life" (193). While I am interested in the question and believe that faith is a journey, the truth of faith begins with its content. Wolpe provided me with snapshots of brilliance when what I searched for was direction in faith's journey. Though we travel various paths at this point, I loved his book.Wolpe's strengths as a writer contain his ability to dialog with the reader, his keen insight into the human condition, and his brilliant ytical mind. In his prelude, for example, he tells the story of a man using his sickness to teach his kids and grandchildren how to die. He writes about his mate Isaac: "Here was a possibility to teach his greatest lesson. They would remember much about him to be sure, but they would never forget how he died" (xiv).Wolpe is a master of the anecdote. Pick a page; search a story. One I liked was the man standing before God in heaven. Wolpe writes:"Dear God...Look at all the suffering, the anguish and distress in Your world. Why don't you send help?" ... God responded: "I did send help. I sent you" (38-39).Those of us that go from point A to point B to point C can only stand and ter a brief prelude, Wolpe organizes his book into 8 chapters:1. From faith to doubt;2. Where does religion come from?3. Does religion cause violence?4. Does science disprove religion?5. What does religion really teach?6. Reading the Bible;7. Is religion amazing for you? And8. Why faith matters.His introduction is written by Pastor Rick Warren.Wolpe's brilliance comes in getting to the heart of complex matters quickly. Why do atheists test to create science into a religion? They confuse puzzles (which can be figured out) with mysteries (which are unsolvable) (11). Why does Nietzsche dislike democracy and Christianity? He is a classicist who prefers the morality of masters (classical view) over that of slaves (Christian view) (48-49).Wolpe's writing is a joy because of these a lot of insights and anecdotes.Dr. Stephen W. HiemstraCentreville, Virigina

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Faith Matters []  2020-12-1 20:40

    Rabbi Wolpe probably only succeeds in "preaching to the quire", but his approach certainly appears as a refreshing counterbalance to the "new atheism", without attempting to refute it on scientific or logical grounds. Those outside the religious communities who are nonetheless concerned with the problem of theism vs atheism, and of whom there are very many, may likely not be e author somehow dismisses a reasoned approach (although he displays some amazing reasoning in his unbelievable writing), holding that (pp.4-9) for instance Bertrand Russell couldn't reach the concerned spheres with his emphasis on logic. Unlike the author, I don't think highly of Russell's logic, but see him as confused in explaining his paradoxes. The author nevertheless says (p.188): "Sensible though my faith may be to me, or yours to you, ultimately it is unprovable. The same is real on a larger scale of the enterprise of 'proving' the existence of God." He further writes that having taught for years "all the proofs that have been given for God": "Never, in more than a decade of teaching the course, did a student come up to me after class, clap his hand to his forehead, and exclaim: 'Aha! Now I believe!'"There is a small contradiction here. If the student had been persuaded by any of the purported proofs, he should not claim belief, but knowledge. The author's contention that God is unprovable presupposes, however, that those purported proofs are wrong. Moreover, that contention is a decisive statement, itself requiring proof. And I submit that God is not unprovable. Today's arguments center around whether organisms are Darwinian "products of accident" (p.148) or whether they are "intelligently designed", and the second chance has been cogently argued by such as William Paley. One might dispute the definition of God, but a higher intelligence as responsible for life and its cirtance may not be dismissed, in view of the concept of God as the Omniscient and e reasoning given by those thinkers has not been conclusive, but the matter is susceptible to demonstration like other formerly unknown truths, exemplified by the likes of the Pythagorean theorem in geometry or Newton's laws of motion in physics, as I discussed elsewhere.Kudos, regardless, to the author for this inspiring book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classics: Why It Matters []  2019-12-23 19:38

    The above is the best line in a somewhat inchoate, rambling work that dances around the respond without ever really answering it. At times the author gives passing lip-service to a lot of PC concepts, yet even that is tentative. To me, there are three reasons why people like my self study classics: 1)In spite of what the author says, it is a gateway to the elite culture of our society (Hey, I lived near the Brooklyn Navy Yard) 2) It is perhaps the only method that you can study an entire civilization in all its aspects, and to me the most necessary of all, we learn much about ourselves as we study this civilization

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Honor Matters []  2020-1-15 21:18

    I had to resist offering a one-star, “repugnant” review.Tamler Sommers offers up a compelling defense of honor. I was struck most by the humility of such a controversial project. Sommers appears with pockets turned out and no strict definition of honor to give. However, he knows honor when he sees it and provides a lot of examples thereof. He openly acknowledges its a lot of downsides, tempers our expectations on its upsides, and presents how we may utilize it within the chaos of l told, he does this very well. The examples are drawn from literature, film, history, myth, and his own life work to persuade the reader of honor's day-to-day value. I found my opinions challenged frequently during the course of the book. In addition, I learned a lot about the sociology and anthropology of honor cultures. Above all, I found the book to be an simple read and very entertaining throughout.On the other hand, I did not search myself persuaded that honor is, on balance, a force for good. The intuition I walked away with is that honor, vengeance, etc. just do not seem to scale. The best examples of honor Sommers offers are often in microcosms: sports teams, private vengeance, and so on. The final chapters of the book, relating to restorative justice and containment of violence in larger honor cultures, work to present how values of honor could scale-out. I have no objections to the technical info he outlines, but just didn't place the book down feeling like these methods could fully overcome the obstacles that honor brings with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Honor Matters []  2020-1-15 21:18

    Tamler Sommers does a superb job of explaining the importance of honor cultures and outlining the values of maintaining them, whilst also giving a clear and precise criticism of the flaws and faults of honor. Why Honor Matters touches upon every aspect of honor that is widely understandable, from the traditions of sports values, to the brutal honor killings in extremist-religious societies. It must be stressed that Sommers does not in anyway defend atrocities, nor does he in anyway promote the abhorrently immoral acts of violence towards individuals or animals, but rather he emphasizes the values of what it means to stand up for and respect oneself, and to maintain a sense of respect towards the morals of the culture within ethically acceptable reason. One of Sommers' most difficult endeavors is perhaps the attempt to bring the idea of honor out of this barbaric and brutally-tribal stereotype. Sommers carefully suggests that honor can exist within culture and be a morally amazing and powerful influence on the society, without the need for obscene acts of immorality. It is honorable, just and respectful to defend oneself, one's loved ones and one's moral standing, within reason. But it is not honorable, disrespectful to oneself and indeed morally wrong to topic another to violent immoral acts of injustice and rhaps the most crippling problem of the book is the misunderstanding of what the author is trying to [email protected]#$%!& is fast and simple to immediately jump to conclusions upon reading just a few excerpts here and there, but that would be discrediting the work any philosopher or author has done to study an ethical ideology. It is necessary to note that I quite frankly, do not agree with all of Sommers' views on honor, but to say that the author is misinformed or perhaps encouraging violence is just plain wrong. Why Honor Matters does a clear and thorough job of explaining nearly every accessible trait of what the modern globe perceives as honor as well as emphasizing the importance of the amazing values that honor promotes, while asserting that the unethical acts of certain honor cultures must be stripped away and destroyed. All in all, while I restate that I don't agree on every point Sommers makes, this book was a delight, funny, accessible and eye-opening to read; while the idea of honor appears to be outdated, Tamler Sommers has successfully revitalized the topic with all its baggage and has given the subject a fair and critical assessment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Honor Matters []  2020-1-15 21:18

    I can honestly say I never thought I would be taking honor culture seriously. I didn’t think there were any upsides. But if we can harvest the benefits of implementing an honor structure, while taking advantage of the moral progress that’s been created to determine the content of that honor structure, I actually agree with the author that honor would probably solve a host of seemingly intractable problems. “Containment” is the largest issue, in my mind. I’m still trying to convince my wife, but I had my mind changed because of this book. I don’t mean to hold repeating myself, it’s just weird to me that I’m now thinking about honor as a serious moral paradigm for the modern, western world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Architecture Matters []  2020-1-29 8:50

    The first half of the book is full of valuable critics, but the latest part is too much about Fresh York, not about the rest of US.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Wall Street Matters []  2020-1-22 22:17

    Meh, I was with Cohan for a point here or a point there, but then he really started to rationalize poor behavior. On page 97:"It leads to most people being able to have their own credit card, or a lot of of them--an unsecured line of credit that be used to buy almost anything. It leads to most Americans being able to obtain a mortgage or buy a home, or a loan to buy a vehicle or boat, or to borrow cash to pay for a college education." (and continuing on page 98) "Before the era of financial innovation...it was not possible for an ordinary American to have a credit vehicle or a low-priced mortgage or vehicle h. Sick, sick, esn't this dude understand that our country--both as individual citizens and as an institution with a national deficit of a lot of trillions of dollars--is in an extremely perilous position, and this entity that he defends is a main cause of that? He is advocating that "Hey, Americans can buy boats with Wall Street's money!" and that's okay? Our individual citizens and our government are highly leveraged, and when the bills come due (and they will, because we do not learn from history), who will support us out then? And aren't we highly leveraged BECAUSE of the behavior that Wall Road has enabled?He doesn't obtain , I wanted to come to this book and love it, but instead, it was just okay. Yes, putting bankers' art collection on the line is a cute idea, but this requires some level of regulation (and not self-regulation, as he is basically proposing). Should Dodd-Frank go? Fine, it's complicated, but SOMETHING needs to be done to regulate, especially if bailouts are going to be an option (which, as he rightfully suggests, they shouldn't).I am tolerant of a high level of risk, and I like cheap money, but I like that risk to be MINE and not in the hands of a greedy banker. I understand that companies can grow because of Wall Street...but I also understand that Toys 'R Us and all of the rest go down because of wonky balance sheets, balance sheets made by Wall Street. Cohan opines this to be a amazing thing, and I agree, but I'm wondering why such high leverage should be an option in the first place?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Why Wall Street Matters []  2020-1-22 22:17

    No problems, would use this service again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geography: Why It Matters []  2020-1-25 18:39

    Loved this book! It's a compelling read for those who don't know what geography REALLY is, as well as those of us in the scholarly community who need to be reminded. "Geography is an academic discipline and topic of study that explores—and promotes critical thinking about—how the globe is organized, the environments and patterns that exist on the ground or that humans make in their minds, the interconnections that exist between the physical and human environment, and the nature of locations and regions." A fitting declaration in the coda that concludes the book (pp. 133–37) is that intense study of geography simply makes you a better person, more whole, enriched, curious, and caring. Who would not wish a piece of that?

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386