wildwood dancing Reviews & Opinions


Submit wildwood dancing review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildwood Dancing review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    I first read Wildwood Dancing in 2009 and have it countless times since then; it was the first book I ever read by Juliet Marillier. Originally, I bought the book simply because it had a beautiful cover; it sat on my bookshelf collecting dust for a long time, until I found myself bed-ridden after having my wisdom teeth surgically removed and with very small to occupy myself with. At first, I was reluctant to read Wildwood Dancing because back then I wasn't a large fan of the fantasy genre. I was instantly assuaged by Marillier's practical and realistic approach to fantasy. The setting of Romania is also fascinating, and Marillier gives the reader a taste of Romanian folklore, culture, and geography. That is one thing I love about this author: she is well-researched and is curious about locations of the globe that other YA authors haven't widely e Plot: Wildwood Dancing is a retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses fairy-tale. The main character, Jenica, is responsible for looking out for her four sisters while their father is away from the castle for health reasons. Jena struggles to maintain control with her domineering cousin, Cezar, attempting to seize control. Cezar is deeply troubled by the loss of his elder brother, Costin, who is believed to have been taken by the folk that dwell in the mysterious forest. Cezar is determined to hunt down and slay all of the folk of the Wildwood to avenge his brother's death. This is problematic for Jenica and her sisters because they have visited the realm of the Other Kingdom for years, since they were children, and have come to regard the Wildwood folk as an extension of their family.What I love about this book: First of all, Marillier understands that a heroine can be powerful without wielding a sword and marching off to war. Her female characters are powerful of heart and conviction. Jenica is powerful in that she would do anything to protect her family, sometimes to a fault. She is flawed like a human being, and throughout the story she learns how to overcome these faults. Second, I love the location, descriptions, and atmosphere. The fairy-tale monsters and festivities of the Other Kingdom are imagined in a method that makes your heart ache for it to be real. The atmosphere is soft, romantic, ethereal, and somewhat mysterious. Third, I love the love stories, plain and simple. There are two love stories in Wildwood Dancing; they are tell a various kind of story, and I think Marillier did a amazing job of balancing the two out. One is eloquent and somber, whereas the other sweet and light-heated. The first love story is apparent from the beginning and remains rather constant throughout the book, whereas the latter is revealed toward the end.SPOILERS...I have to say in defense of Tatiana and Sorrow... Even though I don't agree with Tati giving up on life and becoming so consumed by her love for Sorrow, I think it was realistic for her hero to react the method she did because that was just the sort of person she was, whether you disagree with her actions or not. Personally, I don't think she had an simple choice to create and if you go on to read Cybele's Secret, you'll search that she is continuing to seek a solution for her predicament. Juliet Marillier has even mentioned in interviews that Tati's story has a few loose ends that need to be tired up in the third installment of the Wildwood trilogy (even though I wonder if she will actually ever obtain around to writing it.) Also, I thought Tati's and Sorrow's romance was a small more satisfying than Jena and Costi's because their love story is developed throughout the course of the entire book, whereas Jena and Costi don't become a thing until the latest possible moment.END SPOILERS...Anyway, Wildwood Dancing, for me, is the type of book that is worth staying up all night to finish (which I did, versus the influence of some beautiful massive medications...) My first time reading, there were parts that caught me so off guard that I literally screamed. Wildwood Dancing will certainly not collect dust on my bookshelf, and I recommend it to anyone, young and old, looking for a dreamy romantic fairy-tale. And I would also rec commend reading other books by Juliet Marillier, especially Daughter of the Forest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildwood Dancing review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    A retelling of The Twelve Dancing Princesses and The Frog Prince, the story is set in Transylvania and told from the perspective of Jena, the second eldest sister out of five, all of whom visit the fairy realm through a secret passageway in their bedroom.When their ill father leaves Jena and her sisters for the winter, Jena is left in charge of the holding. However, though capable and independent, Jena and her sisters run into problem when their cousin attempts to take over the household's affairs in their father's absence. On top of that, the eldest sister Tati falls deeply in love with a man of the fairy realm in the midst of a brewing battle between humans and always Juliet Marillier's prose is lovely and atmospheric, and the plot and setting were very unique. I'm impressed at how Juliet Marillier can weave so a lot of various fairy tales and folklore into one story. The witch of the wood reminded of Baba Yaga, albeit much less antagonistic and without the house on chicken legs. The fairy realm and the cool, immortal fae that inhabit it had a distinct Sevenwaters feel. And the frog, well, while you may not expect it, the revelation of Gogu's past isn't much as a surprise in hindsight.But while these various elements were enjoyable, I found the plot unclear and the resolution of conflicts very deus ex machina. Jena, despite her effort to control the situation, is not the main mover of the story. From dealing with her infuriatingly sexist cousin Cezar to trying to pull her sister out of heartsickness, Jena is pulled from one situation to the next by the whims of others. She talks about independence and justice, but she does not seem capable of enacting her beliefs.A common theme in Juliet Marillier's book, at least the three I've read, is that a strain of feminist independence is always contrasted versus masculine dominance. Not surprising, since such political and societal inequalities were ingrained in a lot of historical societies. In Wildwood Dancing, however, this gender inequality isn't a part of society, as it may have been, but is rather starkly illustrated only by Cezar's overbearing and infuriating masculinity. Cezar was a amazing villain in how he slowly exerted his control over the household, but if that's the case, I would like a powerful protagonist who can war it. Jena seemed too weak to be his foil. She passively allowed such encroachment, which created me skip a few chapters ahead to avoid the domestic so, most of the problems in this story were resolved by outside forces, particularly Cezar's encroachment on Jena's holdings and Tati's heartsickness. This just seemed to happen after a period of time, and all Jena had to do was wait and watch.Overall, a decent read and worth it, though I did not have fun this book as much as her other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildwood Dancing review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    This is, for sure, created for younger readers but it is a amazing book for young adults as well as adult readers. A fast read without the added detail or more adult themes. It is actually very delightful and the magic Juliet Marillier creates is still found on every page. As usual, you'll have a lot of emotions rolling through you as you read; which is why I absolutely love everything this author puts out.I actually own the hard copy but it is in a box somewhere in America and I'm overseas. I required something to read to take away the stress of every day life for a while and this book (and the book that follows) did just that.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on wildwood dancing or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch wildwood dancing video reviews and related movies:

    See Wildwood Dancing Book Trailer [fan made] on youtube.

     related image

    See My New Favourite Author on youtube.

     related image

    See 'Wildwood Dancing' by Juliet Marillier | Book Review on youtube.

     related image

    See Wildwood Dancing | Spoiler free on youtube.

     related image

    See The Dancing Outlaw Jesco White dancing to Wildwood Flower on youtube.

     related image

    See Morey's Piers Water Parks Wildwood, NJ #moreyspiers on youtube.

     related image

    See WILDWOOD DANCING, by Julliet Marillier on youtube.

     related image

    See Wildwood Dancing (2012) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildwood Dancing review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    In Wildwood Dancing, Juliet Marillier takes the Grimms' fairy tale of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, subtracts the father/king figure and a few princesses, adds personalities and several plot threads, stirs it up with a healthy dash of magic and drama, and serves up a truly unbelievable fairy tale that kids and adults will thoroughly na and her four sisters live in Transylvania with their loving but ill merchant father and two kind servants. As the sisters wait for their father to journey abroad possibly never to return again, they take solace in their eventful trips to the Otherworld every Full Moon to dance their shoes to scraps and their bodies halfway to exhaustion. They've traveled to Dancing Glade for years together, but soon choices must be made... Jena tries with all her might to hold the sisters together, watching while one falls into a star-crossed love affair with an other-kin, and the others crack under the pressure of growing up in a globe without their father, who may soon be replaced by their tyrant of a cousin, Cezar. Cezar and Jena share a dark past that binds them together, a small too close for comfort. Will he succeed in taking away all that Jena holds dear to her and her beloved sisters? Will they have to give up their forays from this into the Otherworld, and possibly send both to their doom?This terrific small bargain book(!) has been an absolute delight to read. The five sisters are real, distinct personalities (yay feminist fairy tales!), the plot threads that weave in and out of each other throughout the story are involving, and the villains are truly terrible! I was up a few late nights pouring through the pages, relishing Marillier's lyrical prose describing the Otherworld and its kith and kin, and the enchanting story of Jena's ups and downs in dark, mysterious Transylvania. Fantasy-lovers and other readers of all shapes and sizes, don't hesitate on this one, even if you don't particularly consider yourself an enthusiast... because a couple chapters in, you will most definitely become one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildwood Dancing review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    This is such a charming story, for both young folk and adult alike. Taking the well-known fairy tales of THE FROG PRINCE and THE TWELVE DANCING PRINCESSES, author Juliet Marilier puts her own spin on them by setting this novel in the Roumanian forest. A lighter tale than her Sevenwaters Trilogy, nevertheless her characters do not have an simple time. This coming-of-age tale reflects the heartbreak and excitement as the five sisters start to go their separate ways as they search their life partners. Both Tatiana and Jenica (the two eldest) search theirs in unlikely e only complaint I had about this novel was that some of the dialogue seemed too modern. This was especially so when Jenica was standing up for her family. For some reason the phrase "I'm not prepared to..." really jarred. I just want that the language could have sounded older and less cliched. Four stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildwood Dancing review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    My daughter and I were drawn to this book due to the artwork initially. Since reading it, Juliet Marillier has quickly become my favorite author. I have since purchased all of her works. This particular copy is to replace my daughter's copy which she loaned to a mate while in college. I highly recommend this book to lovers of Harry Potter, LOTR , Narnia and Jane Austin fans. This particular storywas intended for teen readers but it is a amazing building block to Juliet Marilier's continued works.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildwood Dancing review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    Predictable but okay. The antagonist is simple to hate (and, oh, did I hate him) and the main protagonist (Jena, sister #2) was likable enough; she had sense & used it more often than not, at least. Tati (sister #1) was incredibly annoying to me, though. Really?! Literally wasting away over some guy you barely know and yet swoon & sigh over constantly? Ech. Tati was like a runaway "character" from Twilight. She just couldn't LIVE without her man! Not really something I wish my daughter getting into... But, overall, the story was okay enough that I'll give it to my daughter to read (as long as she doesn't exhibit an appalling lack of sense, herself).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildwood Dancing review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier is by far one of my favorite stories of all time. As an avid reader, what most would consider a bibliophile, I have found that Wildwood Dancing is by far one of the most magical and enthralling pieces of literature in my rather extensive collection (which has grown considerable since the advent of the kindle!.Wildwood Dancing is a complete package; memorable characters, amazing challenges, romance, fairy queens, mysterious night people, a magical talking toad named Gogu, and all manner of mysterious and magical beings. Wildwood Dancing is a complete escape from our modern e best part about Wildwood Dancing is the feeling that you are actually transported to the wild-lands of Piscul Dracului right alongside Jena and her sisters. You tiptoe each night through an magical portal into the Other Kingdom and dance all night away in a the magical glade. Feasting on all the delicacies Fairy and her queen have to offer. You feel for each hero but especially for the family as a their struggles, triumphs, and as they grow, love and war for their method of life. Juliet Marillier is truly an artist.If you like novels such as The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe or The Hobbit, Wildwood Dancing falls into the same cannon, so to speak. It is appropriate for a wide range of audiences and can be appreciated by both adults and children.I could go on and into further detail, listing the a lot of more unbelievable characters and magnificent plot, but alas I cannot do the book justice.Pick it up and read it, you wont regret it...or be able to place it down!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildwood Dancing review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    I absolutely adored this book. Ah! I loved it! I didn't at first, because it took me almost two weeks to read the first 100 pages, making me search it a small boring. But oh, I was e strongest theme in this book is love. I usually have a hard time with these books, because it never seems to me to be proper love. It's always too passionate or too lax. Wildwood Dancing mixed them together and made a love so attractive and believable, that it created my heart cry out for it. Add in some magic dances, a pig-headed cousin (that I wanted to slay throughout the entire book, honestly), and a frog, and you've got something is is certainly a book you wish in your own library.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wildwood Dancing review []  2020-1-14 19:23

    In Wildwood Dancing, Jena and her 4 sisters, all living in a Transylvanian castle called Piscul Dracului, search a portal in their bedroom that takes them, at every full moon, to the Other Kingdom, where they dance and play android games with fairies, gnomes, and other magical creatures. Their time there is filled with magic and wonder, although also fraught with danger. This imaginative story is a delight. I actually saved the latest 15 pages to read the next day so I could savor the denouement. Creative author Juliet Marillier has authored highly recommended fantasies for adults. Wildwood Dancing, inspired by the fairytale The Twelve Dancing Princesses, is her first novel for young adults.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah) review []  2020-1-19 0:5

    My girl mate (now my wife) and I drove to Detroit from Toledo to search a amazing disco,Toledo had none. It was 1978 and there was none better than Uncle Sam's on Telegraph Road. They played a lot of Chic tunes, but Dance, Dance, Dance was very popular, especially this ver (the LP version), that I immediately purchased at Peaches Records and Tapes. The floor was lit with rhythmic lighting as were the walls. Those were the days!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah) review []  2020-1-19 0:5

    Another gem of a song from the 70s. Obtain your bell bottoms on and your platform shoes and dance, dance, dance!!!! If playing it in the car, crank the volume UP!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah) review []  2020-1-19 0:5

    Brings back old memories of the 70's when it's all about dancing and disco. I'm glad I found it to have fun this type of melody again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah) review []  2020-1-19 0:5

    You know how you feel about long songs. You love them, but your wife is like - "how long with this song"?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah) review []  2020-1-19 0:5

    Might sound @#$% Clark-ish but it has a amazing beat for working out at the gym. Sound is awesome, would not have thought digital would sound this good. Oh, the days of Disco. Song makes you wish to DANCE DANCE DANCE.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah) review []  2020-1-19 0:5

    OK, hate me, but ya gotta have disco in your play lists if your gonna listen to this era. Can't support it, this melody did exist and you can't deny it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah) review []  2020-1-19 0:5

    Goofed on this one too!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah) review []  2020-1-19 0:5

    Dance, Dance, Dance A Self Discibed Tune At Its Best

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah) review []  2020-1-19 0:5

    The best of CHIC is the album of the 70s, at least 5 amazing tracks. This album takes me back

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance, Girl, Dance review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    A really fun movie that I found in my Maureen O'Hara TCM 4-pack that I highly recommend if you have fun movies from that era. I like the two movies I've seen so far from Arzner, who was one of the earliest and most successful of female directors and I believe the first openly lesbian one--the other work I've seen of hers is the amazing pre-Code look at alcoholism, 'Merrily We Go to Hell'. This is amazing if you either like musicals from the era, are a Maureen O'Hara or Lucille Ball enthusiast (holy, she was unbelievably a knockout in her early filmic days!) or are simply curious about the works of early female and/or lesbian directors. Arzner--at least in the two movies I have seen from her thus far--showed she truly deserved to be successful in the industry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance Dance 2048 review [App]  2019-5-9 13:42

    Doesn't work the android game won't begin I don't know method dosent say anything 😑😑😑😑

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance My Children Dance review []  2020-1-17 0:46

    Unbelievable music.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance My Children Dance review []  2020-1-17 0:46

    I bought this as a cassette at a library book sale in 1991 and have cherished this melody ever since. I was so excited when I found out that it was available on CD since my tape copy gave out a long time ago. This melody is simply unbelievable and like the reviewer above, I have no idea what is being said but I know that it's beautiful. With no disrespect to another reviewer, I cannot stand Kenny G.'s music, I really hate it!! So I see very small resemblance between Samite and Kenny G.! But to each their own. The necessary thing is to buy this melody and fall in love with it like the rest of us!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dance My Children Dance review []  2020-1-17 0:46

    Happy, soothing, uplifting, makes you wish to dance. Fresh, genuine, charming and unpretentious. I take it with me on otherwise annoying business trips, listen to it in town traffic, while doing errands, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cybele's Secret (Wildwood Dancing Series Book 2) review []  2020-1-18 19:44

    There’s a lot to like here but I think reading with a modern perspective it feels very clear that this is a book set in a non-western fantasy globe written through a white/western lens. Which felt off putting and a small problematic. Paula is very analytical and clinical which created it hard to be invested in her story. The romance/partnership between Paula and Stoyan is sweet but not quite enough to create that thread compelling. I really liked Wildwood Dancing when I read it nine years ago but I was so underwhelmed by this one that I actually wonder if I’d feel the same upon re-reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cybele's Secret (Wildwood Dancing Series Book 2) review []  2020-1-18 19:44

    I didn't realize that this is actually a sequel to "Wildwood Dancing". However, although there is some mention to happenings and characters from Wildwood Dancing, this book stands up well on its own, and I enjoyed it even though I hadn't read Wildwood Dancing.I didn't really like Cybelle's Secret at first. It lacked the feeling of magic and strangeness that I have always loved about Marrilier's other works. I struggled to really become engrossed in the plot, and I didn't search the characters as interesting as I had hoped. Some of the characters I even found predictable and ever, I thought this book really began to shine by about the halfway point, and I was glad I hadn't given up on it sooner. By about the halfway point, the story becomes a lot more conflict driven and the tone and atmosphere really captures that feeling of magic and strangeness that I have come to expect from Marrilier's work.Having since read Wildwood Dancing, I would recommend this, but would warn readers that it is somewhat inferior to Wildwood Dancing. Wildwood held me entranced from the beginning. This took longer for me to warm to, and was not quite so memorable. It was a fun read though, and one I'd definitely recommend to Marillier fans. Older readers should not be deterred by its recommended age group. I am 33 years old and enjoyed this book a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cybele's Secret (Wildwood Dancing Series Book 2) review []  2020-1-18 19:44

    The sequel to WILDWOOD DANCING, this novel is in a very various key. While WILDWOOD concerned the retelling of a couple of fairy tales, CYBELE'S SECRET was more like a complex puzzle that the protagonist, Paula had to solve. Although there were supernatural elements show in both novels, in CYBELE'S SECRET, that aspect seemed to be much more contained, while the focus was on a murder mystery/detective type of story, this time set in Turkey. (One amazing thing about being a novelist is the excuse to visit a lot of exotic and lovely places).I enjoyed getting to know Paula, one of the younger sisters in WILDWOOD DANCING, and I enjoyed her adventures in Istanboul. I did think that the end was not as well resolved as it could have been. The shocking discovery concerning the scholarly Irene was not set up well, and hit the reader like a two by four out of the blue. And I wasn't convinced that Paula's choice of life partner was going to bring her much satisfaction. But aside from these qualms, this novel is a charming and engrossing read for both adolescents and adults alike. Four stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cybele's Secret (Wildwood Dancing Series Book 2) review []  2020-1-18 19:44

    I picked up Cybele's Secret, and I read. And read. And read.If I had any subconscious fears that Cybele's Secret would not live up to Wildwood Dancing, I was happily mistaken. Although this companion novel is set in a completely various part of the world, following the story of a completely various sister with a completely various personality, this story has equal heart, wisdom, and t six years after Wildwood Dancing, Cybele's Secret tells the story of Paula, know as the scholarly sister in the family, as she sets out on a journey that takes her from her home in Transylvania to the far off and intriguing culture of Istanbul. If able to get the highly mysterious ancient artifact known as Cybele's Gift, Paula's entire family will be set for life, and her dream of becoming a trader of books and manuscripts, despite being a young woman in the early 1500s, might become a reality. When it becomes clear that familiar magical forces are at work, Paula sets out on a quest to help them in the hope of ensuring her family's fortune and her own rong female leads and love triangles are cliches that crop up so often I am embarrassed to admit they are tending to peeve me a bit these days, but Juliet Marillier knows how to write both with the depth and purpose that makes me remember the power behind those two themes, the oomph that inspires such repetition.I think one of the largest strengths of the writing is its subtlety. You never feel like the themes are punching you in the face, yelling for your attention as if you never would have noticed without such harassment. As in true life, realization dawns slowly, naturally, and with the pure delight of discovery. As Paula's eyes open, we see and learn alongside her. And what she sees is amazing.A well written romance is attractive and triumphant. It reminds us that real love requires sacrifices and selflessness but gives us a globe greater than we could have ever imagined. Amazing romances counteract the messages of the crappy romances and give us hope if we haven't found it or remind us of how blessed we are if we have found needless to say, I highly recommend Cybele's Secret, of course after you've finished Wildwood Dancing. If I have done a not good job making the books sound incredible, just take a closer look at their covers! Kinuko Y. Craft's stunning artwork is not only breathtakingly gorgeous, but the detail is mindboggling. After finishing the books, I can't stop peeking over at them and noticing more little and yet brilliantly accurate details. I have never seen a set of covers that seemed more like an author's excellent dream. I would love to hang these on my walls.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cybele's Secret (Wildwood Dancing Series Book 2) review []  2020-1-18 19:44

    Although a lot of people are indignant about this book, I actually enjoyed it. It was a unbelievable sequel to β€œWildwood Dancing”. There characters are memorable and lovable in their own ways, there is plenty of mystery as to the involvement of the other kingdom and the acquisition of what our characters seek, and a unbelievable descriptions of the sights and sounds.I felt as if I had been transported to another globe as I followed the main hero to the shop and to the scholar’s house. It was a lovely book, and a unbelievable story. Although I could place it down every once in a while, I always found myself drifting back. I wanted to know what happened next, but at the same time I didn't wish the story to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cybele's Secret (Wildwood Dancing Series Book 2) review []  2020-1-18 19:44

    If you need a back and forth, detailed comparative analysis, stop right here. I am an unconditional admirer of Juliet Marillier. I can't support feeling drawn into the rich tapestry of attractive detail she weaves her stories from. Her characters and the happenings they search themselves in, always touch the mythic and they are as real and meaningful as you want them to bele's Secret is an perfect example of the skill of Juliet Marillier. It could not have been more various an adventure than the first of the series Wildwood Dancing. In all of her series, I search the stories to be like special facets of one whole land. Characters begin themselves to you naturally, at a pace that draws one in. I savor my time reading a book by this author, and usually I read the book twice. You may like a more skeptical approach to your folk and fantasy reading, but what is not to like about the fey worlds of Magic, demanding devotion and risky loyalties? All her stories are filled with riveting situations that she takes her time in the telling of. I ended Cybele's Secret, satisfied, wishing it could go on a small ere's a lot that's special to enjoy, in Cybele's Secret, too, including Paula's challenge as a woman in the Muslim environment of Constantinople, the mysterious cult of Cybele and her bonus of goddess power, and the well-drawn in words, environment of old Istanbul. It's another amazing book by an author who comes up with amazing ones in series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cybele's Secret (Wildwood Dancing Series Book 2) review []  2020-1-18 19:44

    I was not impressed with Cybele's Secret. I couldn't actually read it through cover to cover (it was that uninspiring) so I read most of it, then skipped to the latest two chapters. Honestly, for what it's worth, I LOVE Juliet Marillier. However, this book does not in any method give a clear indication of the real depth and richness of her talents as an author. I didn't like the method Paula turned out, even though I liked her hero well enough in Wildwood Dancing- which was FANTASTIC by the way. It was my first introduction to this author, and it was the reason I started to read her other work in the first place. Thus, I was doubly disappointed by this particular story. The characters are glaringly obvious in all their actions, the plot is strange and convoluted, with a distinct departure in style from her previous works. The only parts of the story that I enjoyed were the parts that referenced Wildwood Dancing- with one exception. It might be a bit of a "SPOILER" so be warned: I did not like Tati's involvement in the story. That said, I enjoyed seeing the other sisters married and growing up, and would have loved a small more detail on their lives after the happenings of the first book.I suppose Cybele's Secret fell short because it was just so chop and dry- a bit like the Harry Potter Epilogue. Everything seemed to just be exactly as one might expect having read the previous book. And Paula is unfortunately snotty, obnoxious at times, and wholly annoying as a hero throughout. If I hear one more word about a "woman's intelligence" or "what women should/shouldn't do" I really will scream.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cybele's Secret (Wildwood Dancing Series Book 2) review []  2020-1-18 19:44

    It's hard to describe this book in a method that truly does it justice. The backdrop for the story steals the present from almost the first page, with vivid descriptions of the sights and sounds of Istanbul and the customs of the city. Characters felt natural and real, and with a scholarly, insightful lady like Paula at the helm of the reader's perspective, rest assured that the journey is delightful. The story itself struck just the right balance of charm, whit, action and complexity, while maintaining the characters in their elements. Somehow, I managed to miss that this was actually a sequel to 'Wildwood Dancing' which I had not read, but I had no problem keeping up with the characters and the plot. The story itself felt self-contained, with all of the back story explained briefly and adequately so that a reader like me didn't obtain lost. It is simply a attractive story, told in the rich imagination and voice of Juliet Marillier. If you are a fan of historical fiction, with a small magic sprinkled in for additional flavor, please don't miss this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cybele's Secret (Wildwood Dancing Series Book 2) review []  2020-1-18 19:44

    This book is a follow up to Wildwood Dancing by the same author. It is not as lightly written and quick paced as it's predecessor so if you are expecting the magic or the previous novel to be replicated you will be disappointed. ON the other hand, Ms. Marillier is an exceptionally amazing storyteller and this book does not e studious Paula from Wildwood Dancing accompanies her father on a business trip and becomes involved in a quest for a mysterious artifact and an unusual love triangle in the East. The novel is obviously a bridge between the first in this series and, hopefully, the novel that will follow and resolve the fate of Tati, one of the main characters from Wildwood Dancing that also appears in this always, the author delivers an interesting and very readable story that any reader who enjoys this genre will appreciate.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Cybele's Secret (Wildwood Dancing Series Book 2) review []  2020-1-18 19:44

    The first and only one of Marillier's books that I can say did not thrill me. It was by no means a 'bad' book. It just didn't have the same depth and profundity that I so have fun in her other works. It was all right, and I would not recommend that anyone stay away from it, but it's not a book that I'd highly recommend. I had hoped that Paula -- being a scholar -- would resonate with me, but I found her hard to connect with. Her choices and motivations were foreign to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    THEY ADDED VIDEOS TO THIS APP, UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE!!! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Some dance videos isn't fully completed like, Electro Shuffle, it seems to don't have the end part right before it starts again, I know this dance is tricky πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I like all the dances but seems like I don't really like the suit or character πŸ€” not sure why, but I see that the hero looks bigger than those normal characters πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€” Amazing job with updating the application tho! Have fun your day/night!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Amazing application but some falts

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Pls add videos to this dances

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    I thought it would present the dance all it shows is one screen and the pic of the dance it only makes the song I do not recommend this app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Cool loved it sweet makes me wanna dance all night longπŸ˜‚

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Finally someone comes up with fortnite dance moves πŸ’ƒ

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Amazing work I like listening to the music!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    It needs a modernize because there's the hootenanny and the wiggle and a lot of more emotes to go and there's none of it on this application please modernize thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    I love this app, it let's me listen and dance to all my favorite Fortnite emote songs!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    This application let's you listen to the emote but doesn't actually allow you see it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Please add a option to save your favorite fortnite emotes to your notice notification or your phone ring tone please

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    I would rate 5 if you could see the moves and my favourite is take the l

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Can u guys add more dances

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    I like dancing a lot so I love the android game and plus all the dances are Funny

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Good. I think it should allow u see the emote and u need to modernize it to all the newer emotes

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Option to set as notice and ringtones

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    I hate this

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    It is ok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    I like it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Cool and fumny

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    It cool

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    I love fortnite

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Book old

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    What is this thing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    It sucks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Sick

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Ok

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    GET IT YOUR CAN TURN ON A DANCE AND LISTEN TO IT IF YOU GET OF THE APP!! Holy moly that madeno sense BUT STILL GET IT PLS At least for me πŸ˜€

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Finally I can watch all my favorite emotes on the go

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    It doesn't even present people how to do the emotes, I do not recommend this app

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    TAKE THE L This application is dope u should totally download it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    I love it a lot you af to Dances

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    This sounds exactly like the thing of fortnite

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Its okay but it gives me a fresh emote.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    You have a old amots

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    IS THE BEST !!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    I love fortnight

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    Hahaha ys horΓ±

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Dances from Fortnite (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-4-22 13:0

    I love it πŸ˜€πŸ˜πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FORTNITE DANCE (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-5-29 21:0

    it sucks you beter give us the true android game

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FORTNITE DANCE (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-5-29 21:0

    I saw this no YouTube and it's cool

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FORTNITE DANCE (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-5-29 21:0

    Perfect Amazing Job

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FORTNITE DANCE (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-5-29 21:0

    This is whant I dream for

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FORTNITE DANCE (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-5-29 21:0

    So awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FORTNITE DANCE (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-5-29 21:0

    It is my favorite android game in the whole world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FORTNITE DANCE (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-5-29 21:0

    That's awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    FORTNITE DANCE (Dance Emotes) review [App]  2018-5-29 21:0

    It cool

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    I would give five stars but when it's getting to the end of the second club, the price of the clubbers are so high that it gets a small tedious saving for them, but it's still an REALLY amazing game, I adore the concept and it's so well done. I love reading about the clubbers personalities. You can tell a lot of love and care went into the game. Amazing job!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    I love the graphics! The descriptions for characters are so funny and awesome. I also love the dance moves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    i live this game, just i [email protected]#$%! woukdnt close it after an add

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    beautiful cute time waster I really have fun it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    tappity tap tap tap. love the small people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    addicting

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    love it!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    I'm enjoying it so far. really love the jazz music. Really gives me comfort listening to it. The android game itself is fun so loving it all so far

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    I love the melody time passing if u don't like tapping I don't recomend but if u love melody I will give a 5 star rating I love this application so much

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    it's a fun method to just waste time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    amazing art affects but it is bit slow

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    Fun time waster. Ads aren't poor

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    Love it, hope they can add more too!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    amazing game, maybe add decorations for upgrade?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    Interesting concept. I can't wait to obtain more clubs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    its beautiful damn fun

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mad For Dance - Taptap Dance review [App]  2019-2-23 13:49

    really do have fun this one.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter