Read will there be any stars reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all will there be any stars reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Will Be There [App]  2019-1-27 13:21

    This application is well made, it really raises the bar in SEC of SDA

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Blood []  2020-1-25 21:34

    I am so satisfied to see that after latest season's mess up with the season pass option not available for s5 of The Flash, we got it back. Since s1 I have bought the season pass for this amazing present and was able to do it again. I got my trailer to begin off. And I can't wait until early Wednesday morning every week to obtain each fresh episode of the season. Especially with the gorgeous, talented Sendhil Ramamurthy (from the NBC original superhero show, Heroes) playing the villain, Blood work and Crisis On Infinite Earths (all the amazing teasing we got on social media from everyone that's going to on the crossover) 🙌🏿👏🏿👏🏿👏🏿👏🏿😍😊❤❤❤❤I am so excited for season 6. And since Crisis on Infinite Earths premieres around December, that's going to be a nice birthday show to myself.. The season 6 premieres October 8 for those who watch it on tv/cw. I can't wait until October 9th (when you obtain the 1st episode of s6 in your video library).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Blood []  2020-1-25 21:34

    Amazing present if you like superheroes that is Barry Allen the Flash

    0  


    Add your opinion on will there be any stars or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Time []  2020-1-16 0:45

    Poul Anderson has done several other time travel novels (another one I highly recommend is "The Corridors of Time"). This one, though, is my all time favorite. The main hero has the ability to move himself through time, and is one of a little number throughout the ages who have the same ability. As he comes of age, finds others like himself, and learns what this ability really means - it's a amazing tale, told by the master.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Time []  2020-1-16 0:45

    Poul was such an amazing story teller. These stories are a amazing example of his craft. Anyone that enjoys sci-fi with a twist of noir.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Time []  2020-1-16 0:45

    This is one of my favorite books. It's one of the few I can reread about every year, and have fun as much as when I first read it. Poul Anderson was one of the science fiction genre's brightest stars, able to write sword and sorcery fantasy and hard science fiction with equal facility. This story is one of his ose familiar with Anderson's work will recognize that this book ties in (however peripherally) with some of his other stories, about a post apocalyptic future where a Fresh Zealand/Micronesian amalgam culture known as the Maurai come to dominate the globe after a nuclear holocaust, and having been less hard hit by the catastrophe, are left powerful enough to impose their vision of a less industrialized, more ecologically balanced ideal on the rest of the world. This story concerns a group of time travellers (whose ability is inate, and due to a genetic mutation, rather than any external time machine), led by a charismatic, but bigoted and ruthless 19th century American, whose aim is to break the Maurai domination, and re-establish industrial e book tells the story of a bright, thoughtful, 20th century American who at first joins this group, then rebels versus the ruthlessness countenanced by the group's leader. (But despite this, the book is clearly not some politically correct paean to eco-nazism, and the Maurai philosophy is represented thoughtfully as a method which does embody some genuine good, but which also became rigid, dogmatic, and even repressive -- in fact this is one of the best aspects of the story: neither side is wholly right or wholly wrong, but are each representative of amazing ideas and poor mingled together. This is highly realistic, as two sides in any conflict almost always have their valid points as well as their indefensible wrongs.) In addition to the adventure of the main character's battle versus his erstwhile comrades, there is a twofold romance story (understated, but well written), an engaging acc of the protagonist's activities in the late 12th/early 13th century Byzantine Empire, and an interesting philosophical speculation about the nature of time tavel and fixed destiny vs is book is now out of print, but pick up a used copy if you can. As I said, Anderson was one of the giants of the science fiction genre. There is no author writing today who is his equal. This is a amazing small story by a master of the field, and is simply entertaining in its own right as well, and well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Time []  2020-1-16 0:45

    The lack of continuity in this book is staggering! There is nothing tying the three distinct storylines together. If the author had stopped after the first story it would have been much better. Wow! I just lost all that time reading a rambling, disjointed incomprehensible book! Do not recommend wasting your time unless you have fun esoterica.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Time []  2020-1-16 0:45

    You don't even have to be a sci-fi fan to have fun Anderson's work. The writing is simply superb. Engaging and evocative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Blood []  2020-1-25 21:34

    Are you kidding me ? $40 to watch the Flash.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Blood []  2020-1-25 21:34

    They need to bring back the feel of the first season. It’s been a trainwreck ever since then, getting worse each year. The characters aren’t worthy of any respect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Blood []  2020-1-25 21:34

    This trailer is to give the audience a taste of the first story arc leading up to Crisis on infant earths. With who the villen is for the first story arc..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Time []  2020-1-16 0:45

    There Will be Time by Poul Anderson is a Hugo nominated tale of time travel. From his time as an infant, a young man learns he has the ability to move through time. He learns that there are others with this ability and eventually joins up with a group only to sour on the arrangements as he realizes unsavory aspects of both the unethical and immoral actions of some members as well as the long term plans of the ringleader. As such, he collects his own band to conquer his adversary. In the end, his future is in the stars.Time travel is presented as an inherent physical property in a mutant sort of method without further explanation. Time travel paradox is ignored as older versions travel back in time to school their younger selves. Much of the tale is similar as a series of stories told to a gradually aging physician who is a bit of father figure from the main character's proto-time period.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Time []  2020-1-16 0:45

    This story lives within most of the "rules" of time travel fiction while adding some very special twists. A traveler can go back in time to teach his younger self how to with this special talent. When a traveler leaves his time, he can spend lots of time in the past while returning only a short time later to his time.; However he ages at normal time in the past. However a traveler cannot change the past and cannot have huge enough actions to leave a tag in the past. These "rules" lay the foundation of the most interesting e author also incorporates elements of his other novel Orion Shall Rise into the story as a future the travelers uncover. That future is also the topic of 2 short stories included in this book. They provide a nice to this purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Time []  2020-1-16 0:45

    The title story itself is a mildly engaging combination of time travel and social commentary, albeit with a few hitches. In this story, time travel is an ability possessed only by a select few (favored by the gene pool), who do it simply by willing themselves to move in time, much the method that an ordinary human would will movement in the three physical dimensions. This story device does let readers to focus on the method in which the characters use time travel rather than bogging them down in some make-believe technology. However, the author’s ground rules for avoiding paradox and limiting the ability to travel aren’t well thought-out and have a few problems. One example is the method in which a traveler can be held in the show by being physically connected to something too heavy for the traveler to time-shift. Another example is the traveler’s ability to make an troops of “selves”. A third is the method that the author invents to avoid paradox. None of these seemed to keep water even in this make-believe universe. Once the reader ignores that, it starts to become a huge helping of social/ecological commentary, and from about its midpoint, starts to bog down a e title story's villains and heroes and so black and white that the story almost becomes a cliche in this respect. It soon becomes clear that the villains are despicable racist marauders that cleverly hide their real nature from fresh recruits while “easing them in” to eventually accepting the rightness of the organization's method of thinking. Strangely, our character is the very first recruit from across centuries of time that actually has a conscience and is inherently bothered by what he sees. He also seems to be the only recruit from a modern technological civilization, and the only one with an analytical and questioning e amazing guys are from a socially diverse society of (by force of circumstances) environmentalists. In the title story, the amazing guys can really do no wrong, and it seems beautiful clear that none of the poor guys are interested in redeem themselves. So the title story goes down that well-worn meme of one "all-wise" (just ask them!) utopian and benign despotic society attempting to impose its values on the is becomes clearer after reading the short stories, which are set in the near-future of the title story. The short stories do not involve time travel, but I thought they were both better than the title story, and alone are worth the I for the entire novel. The amazing guys aren’t so amazing and the poor guys aren’t that bad, and the amazing guys eventually commit one or two acts that some readers may search questionable. The stories (especially "Windmill") pose questions to the thoughtful reader rather than presenting the reader with a painting of the method the author thinks society ought to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Time []  2020-1-16 0:45

    This is a amazing story! I would give the story 4 stars, but I was bogged down, by some of the writing - awkward phrasing, some stilted writing. The ending, though, was worth the wait - very satisfying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Blood []  2020-1-25 21:34

    This season of the flash leads the squad up to crisis on infinite earth's. But before it happens Barry is prepping the squad to face things without him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Blood []  2020-1-25 21:34

    Loved season 1-3. 4 started getting a small sketched but not bad. Season 5 created me question whether or not to continue but was amazing enough I decided to test season 6. Season 6... it’s not terrible, but it’s CERTAINLY NOT AS GOOD AS PREVIOUS SEASONS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Blood []  2020-1-25 21:34

    Watching the season on CW application but the trailer looked decent lol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Blood []  2020-1-25 21:34

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Blood []  2020-1-25 21:34

    Full of craps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Time []  2020-1-16 0:45

    This is amazing time travel novel. It is a bit dated now but it holds up well. Some readers will be place out by the in your face racism of the main villain. The stories are amazing too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be Times []  2020-7-24 19:17

    This is very short, chop also inspiring. Thank you Kristen. Have so enjoyed watching her shows.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be A Light []  2020-1-22 2:26

    I got this because I heard a song from it on Melody Choice TV Channel that was just awesome. I did have fun that song, but for me, I guess this just isn't my style of music. I'm sure someone else will be blessed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be A Light []  2020-1-22 2:26

    This album is amazing! I am a fan of Ben Harper now. It is simple to hear his faith through the songs on this album. Amazing choice with the Blind Boys!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be A Light []  2020-1-22 2:26

    Amazing album with amazing message. You will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be A Light []  2020-1-22 2:26

    Everything you are expected from Ben Harper !Bless this artist ! He is a genius !The Blind Boys was a discovery and I loved it :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be A Light []  2020-1-22 2:26

    Take me to church!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be A Light []  2020-1-22 2:26

    Blown away, just totally blown away. A GREAT CD. Soulful, yet with an edge to it. I see why this won a Grammy for best gospel album. It should have won album of the year. "Well, well, well" is an amazing track and they do a cover of "Satisfied Mind" that is beyond awesome! Anyone that can take a Johnny Money song and do this with it, well hey, praise the Lord then! If you like anything about Ben Harper - Buy this now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be A Light []  2020-1-22 2:26

    Beautiful good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be A Light []  2020-1-22 2:26

    This is the excellent melody to listen to on a Sunday morning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be A Light []  2020-1-22 2:26

    my third copy hold giving them to friends

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be A Light []  2020-1-22 2:26

    Amazing vocals and harmony. Powerful religious blues theme, and very powerful. "Well, Well, Well" will knock you out of your seat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be No Miracles Here: A Memoir []  2020-1-30 19:49

    While I liked it and found there were a lot of profound and moving passages, I search it a small bit disingenuous. It seems that he sort of just falls into these positively life changing situations. He sort of just ends up at Yale, Yale! He sort of just ends up a Rhodes Scholar candidate. These are circumstances that people carefully craft their entire childhoods and young adulthood to be able to access and still fail. Yet Casey seems to sort of meander into them, unwillingly even. You need to know the right people, do the right things, play the android game better than anyone else you know, move through life without a single misstep - unless you're this guy, if you're him it just happens to you, with or without your active participation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be No Miracles Here: A Memoir []  2020-1-30 19:49

    Not the easiest book to read, I wanted to have fun it more. The primary story is interrupted with different rants that create it difficult, I found myself skipping pages to obtain back to the gist of the story. I [email protected]#$%! had been told in a more straight forward manner and the end leaves one wondering what does this guy do for a living. I assume he now makes his as an author. It was hard to tell who he worked for, why he left and what occupation he is engaged in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be No Miracles Here: A Memoir []  2020-1-30 19:49

    I really looked forward to this book bc I too grew up in Dallas as an obnoxious Southern Baptist.. However after seeing the author on pBS he didn't come across as enthusiastic and/or caring about his audience. In a lot of regards he was a "turn-off" but I still wanted to read his book bc of our mutual locales.He strikes me as a v earnest and benevolent child who had a pure heart as a kid and teenager. But after watching him on PBS and reading other profiles on him as an adult, he now appears to me as ANGRY, and 100% intent on shoving his homosexuality down your throat. God knows, I have several intimate mates who are LGBT including my son's godfather and another one who is a personal, intimate friend. For the most part, I wish to help Casey Gerald's journey and affirm his struggles, but again, he comes off as mad and y Gerald probably needs to work through more of his private issue, particularly the spiritual and (ironically both are built upon the same principles of "losing you life to search yourself" ) but Casey obviously doesn't possess the maturity and insight to realize best recommendation for readers is to hold an eye on Gerald as he ages and matures. Hopefully he will become more comfortable and wise as a Christian ( as there are millions in the USA who are comfortable w both). Reader, Rrcognize this first book as a primer, and only that, and wait for another book he writes in 20 yrs to be a gang buster.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be No Miracles Here: A Memoir []  2020-1-30 19:49

    This is a terrific memoir. I couldn't wait to obtain it after I read a couple reviews about it. I enjoyed the author's video of his class day speech at his graduate school and thought this work would support me learn about his perspective. It's searing, witty, sharp and does not allow anyone off the hook. My heart damage for this brilliant man as I read his story while at the same time I my breath was taken away by his writing and his fight. The author faced demons within and without with courage. I work with memoir writers and study under memoirist David Payne (BAREFOOT TO AVALON) and appreciate how hard it writing such a memoir is. This is a painful, poignant work. I will hold my eyes begin for Mr. Gerald's work. He is a amazing bonus to the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be No Miracles Here: A Memoir []  2020-1-30 19:49

    Gerald's story is well-written, eloquent at times, with spots of humor that is not glib or cute. He has a amazing sense of paradox and irony. At times he tells his story straight-forwardly and objectively; at times he is emotional and even self-pitying. But it is not offensive or off-putting when he does indulge in regrets and self-guilt. At times his sense of put in this globe feels tragic, at times hopeful. Ultimately, even with humor that sometimes created me chuckle, I have the sense that his story is, so far, tragic. He leaves hope, though, although that latest line is something that for a lot of years I cautioned my students not to do--promise. Anton Chekhov said, "Discard your beginnings and endings. That is when you are most tempted to lie." Gerald's latest sentence immediately called that tip to ill, for the most part, I admire him: his determination, his honesty, his humor, his achievement. Of those achievements, he tells with a paradoxical and justified sense of accomplishment and pride: Yale and Harvard, after all. Yet, at the same time, he deprecates his own achievements with something akin to self-disgust. I'm sorry for that. He is entitled to give himself for those accomplishments.When he discusses his relationships with people, both somewhat successful and failed, he is very hard on himself. He takes on responsibility for his admitted betrayal of at least two close mates who depended on his integrity and support, putting the goal ahead of friendship. He leaves the incidents with what he deems a failure in his humanity and does not tell the reader to what extent his project succeeded. His self-assessment is sometimes brutal, sometimes despairing, sometimes self-congratulatory, effectively tempered with that skillful tone, irony, and EVER: with all this honesty, self-loathing, and regret, he describes two unforgivable actions--in my opinion--for which he expresses no regret whatsoever. Admittedly both these sins are committed as a youth. Still, the stark single-sentence revelation of these ugly acts appalled me, and lowered my opinion of him as a person (He remains an perfect writer, in my ere is not one sentence, not one thought of regret for burning a mouse alive, and setting two fish to war to the death, merely for his own enjoyment. These monsters were not "just a mouse--just a fish" They were living monsters who endured cruel deaths at his hands. Yes, he was just a kid who had a tough growing-up--was mad etc etc. No. The acts were deplorable. What is most disgusting to me is the utter lack of feeling, conscience, or regret displayed for these acts. I cannot forgive him as a human being for these failures. He could have left the incidents out; I don't know why he did not, if he could not explain why he included them or how they affected his opinion of self. Perhaps he wanted to be judged on these acts. But such little sentences among the a lot of memories and observations of human nature and his own nature. Sentences without any reflection at all. So, I am left impressed with the man's writing and his perfect accomplishments, and deeply disturbed by his failures, some self-admitted, as a compassionate and responsible human being.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be No Miracles Here: A Memoir []  2020-1-30 19:49

    Casey Gerald, the author of this magical mystical tour, is a Yale grad, football star and business maven who was raised in poverty. In his 30s, he is still defining himself by a standard that contains equal parts angst, irony and glimmers of y’s father was a football star back in the day when black college players were a rarity. He was also absent for much of his son’s adolescence, reappearing as a reformed addict whose redemption was sufficient to earn him a role as an evangelical preacher. Casey’s mother also disappeared, her reasons never fully defined and her reemergence in his life fraught with misunderstanding. A sister was an example and a mainstay for the young man grappling with huge issues. The family lived in public housing in a black section of Dallas, yet Casey somehow got the impression that being black in the US was a positive. It wasn’t until his college years that he began to understand that being black might mean having “so small in our bank accounts, so small meal on our tables, so few books in our classrooms…”In a series of remarkable coincidences, the boy who played football in the projects was drafted to play football for Yale, where he found out that he could write. By that time, he also had realized that he was gay, giving him yet another barrier to push back at. In the later scene of his college career, he became a campus leader of his African American cohort and was a finalist for a Rhodes scholarship. Free from the restraints of education for a while, he drifted, but got back into the swim with an MBA from Harvard; helped found MBAs Across America, aimed at helping people in the hinterlands create it as entrepreneurs; and then took a sabbatical from everything else to write this hugely fascinating y’s professors at Yale were certainly correct: the man can write. His stream-of-consciousness tell-all style captures the reader from the opening segment in which he explains the book’s title (no spoilers here). He can create almost any topic simultaneously painfully hilarious and wistfully sad, as so much of his life has encompassed that paradox. He confesses that when asked, as part of his interview for a Rhodes scholarship, what book he had most recently read, at that point he had never actually completely read any single book, though he did delve into such diverse tomes as BLACK LIKE ME and JAMES AND THE GIANT PEACH. In speaking of his highly dysfunctional family, Casey depicts their interactions as something like “a blaxploitation Fellini movie.” Yet his spiritual side is quietly evident at times. There is one family member, a cherished niece, who he refuses to sully with his sorrow or his sarcasm, because “I like that baby.”This is a life in progress, one senses, rather than a mere memoir. The reader undoubtedly will feel that, as much as Casey Gerald can and will retreat into his mental globe again and again, he is also destined and determined to do amazing things and take justifiable pride in their ed by Barbara Bamberger Scott

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be No Miracles Here: A Memoir []  2020-1-30 19:49

    I can’t remember when I’ve been so gripped by a memoir. Excellent for Kindle/Audible. The author’s narration is wonderful. Straight from the heart. It’s as if Holden Caulfield spread his wings to soar. Casey Gerald. You will fall in love with him. Poignant and nuanced. A measured anger. Heart and soul the size of a box car. Destined to be a classic. Casey Gerald is the ultimate of out and proud. And what a writer! He may not wish to be poster boy for the American Dream but one thing for sure: ‘queer’, disadvantaged, American youth swept into the vortex of intersectionality have a major a rock to steer a course by. Buy it for every young person you know. They will be your mate for life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be No Miracles Here: A Memoir []  2020-1-30 19:49

    Casey Gerald is a spectacularly creative writer with an necessary story to share. His fascinating background is the basis for a strong and thought-provoking work. Surprising gripping prose and deeply relevant storytelling in 2018 America.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be No Miracles Here: A Memoir []  2020-1-30 19:49

    He is young, not his fault, and given his talent, there's bound to be fine writing from his pen through the years What his recent endeavors involve, I do not quite understand. Even though, for me, the book faded in the end, I did have fun it and look forward to more of his work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Will Be No Miracles Here: A Memoir []  2020-1-30 19:49

    Although the author disowns his false self at the end, the book is written from that perspective: arrogant,self centered, boastful, and lacking in insight. While I can understand what created him so inauthentic, I didnt have fun reading the resultespecially his pronouncements about god, the world, and others. Heard him pontificating on All Things Considered and thought either the memoir would be awesome or terrible. How do you do well at Yale without ever reading a book?A amazing lesson on how being labeled from the beginnng as Unique in a cruel and racist globe can destroy the self and lead to a life of faking it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Will There Be Good News?: A Novel (Jackson Brodie Book 3) []  2020-1-28 22:13

    I have just finished this novel and thought it was a lovely gem of storytelling, complex and rich in plot and character. Some reader/reviewers here have complained about the coincidences in the book, saying they were unlikely and implausible. I disagree and think that life is, indeed, full of such coincidences and strange occurrences and associations; the "six degrees of separation" is one famous example. There are coincidences in this book but they do not seem false or contrived; they just seem to create for a puzzle, a maze, complexity that is related to "real life." It is a novel, however, and not a "true crime" or non-fiction work; the author has license and liberty to tell a story and reveal characters, and Atkinson does both with amazing skill and talent. I loved the characters for their rich lives of delicate fragility and tough complexity. Like a lot of - and unlike the author, as one learns in the interview that is printed in the back of the paperback copy that she did with Nancy Pearl - I like Jackson Brodie, but I really liked the character, Reggie Chase - a sixteen year old girl, an orphan and a tough, delicate "lost soul" who reminded me of some of my favorite characters in favorite novels (Scout, Frankie Adams, et al.) Louise Monroe, is an interesting character, but a very annoying one, to me anyway, and I was troubled by the method she treated her husband - and yet it's her hero and I'm just there to read and fall into the story. This is top-notch writing, a very engaging and interesting story, and a complex mystery, in that order. The writing is lovely and more sophisticated than most "mysteries", although this novel is more than an example of that genre. Amazing enjoyable fall into amazing story and characters. I would give it as a bonus and read it again - there's some praise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Will There Be Good News?: A Novel (Jackson Brodie Book 3) []  2020-1-28 22:13

    Again, the author, as she is wont in this series, in a series of coincidences connects the past with the show and several seemingly disparate lives. Few know that Dr. Jo Hunter, in a marginal marriage at best but with a attractive small boy, narrowly escaped a murder spree thirty years ago. The perpetrator of that heinous crime is soon to be released. She employs a intelligent teenage girl Reggie, but from a totally broken home, to support around her house. Ex detective Jackson Brodie’s trip to Edinburgh on a train ends abruptly in a wreck killing fifteen. In Edinburgh is Det Louise Monroe, whom Brodie still recalls fondly from a previous ddenly, multiple happenings occur: Dr Hunter has apparently disappeared, the assassin has avoided his parole officer, and the train wreck has nearly killed Brodie. The author constantly rotates among these events, slowly revealing the different connections. Reggie and Det Monroe play central roles in uncovering the realities of it all, in so far as they e book moves fairly slowly, constantly engaging in digressions that, while often interesting, do slow the pace. Brodie is actually a minor player, but does search himself as a victim of a scam. Overall, the book is a bit murky – nothing is clear cut.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Will There Be Good News?: A Novel (Jackson Brodie Book 3) []  2020-1-28 22:13

    Well, #3 finished. I'm on a roll....I love Jackson Brodie. This one started a bit slow for me, but never fear, ACTION BEGINS. All of Kate Atkinson's characters are real.Kate knows how to write....wow!!!! What a writer, and thank goodness for Word Wise, I've looked up quite a few.I'm ready to #4, can t wait to begin. Like I said I love Jackson Brodie. Okay, Louise, obtain on with it all ready.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Will There Be Good News?: A Novel (Jackson Brodie Book 3) []  2020-1-28 22:13

    I mistakenly thought I'd previously read, and enjoyed, a Jackson Brodie book. Wrong on both counts. This was my first exposure to him, and to the author. This just did not do it for me. Usually I'm fine with the multiple characters with multiple story lines that initially don't seem to connect, so that wasn't the problem. Too a lot of of the characters were sad-sacks or eeyores. Their respective story lines were sloooooooow, and really didn't evolve or develop even after pages and pages and chapters and chapters. I finally gave up without finishing, which I don't do lightly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Will There Be Good News?: A Novel (Jackson Brodie Book 3) []  2020-1-28 22:13

    Kate Atkinson's novels are hard to review, her plots are so outrageous and rife with coincidences, her characters so dogged by misfortune, her prose so bizarrely witty. I'm in a delirium of literary gluttony, going from one Jackson Brodie novel to the next. This one is as awesome as the first one, Case Histories, and the second, One Amazing odie is brought down low in this book by his tendency to be in the wrong put at the wrong time, his poor judgment about women, and his hearted inability to resist a plea for help. He can't obtain over being a cop (Protect and Serve!) even though he's a ere's an astonishing stage of carnage in this book, and a satisfying stage of poor guys getting their just deserts. And Atkinson gives us some unbelievable characters, as always, besides the irresistible xteen-year-old Reggie is a Dickensian orphan, a excellent mother's help, a determined scholar and a threat to anyone who threatens those she loves. Detective Inspector Louise Monroe is a amazing cop and reluctant wife in a state of constant irritation. She reflects, "I have no idea how to love another human being, unless it's by tearing them to pieces and eating them." Atkinson's characters tend to victory our affection by revealing themselves at their worst. They are completely authentic and perversely ere's no sense telling anything about the plot of this book. It would interfere with the shock value of events. Suffice it to say, it contains gory murders, fatal accidents, ominous disappearances and the occasional satisfied outcome. I'm anxiously waiting for the next Brodie novel to arrive in the mail: Started Early, Took My Dog.I'd suggest starting this series at the beginning. Lucky you, if you have these novels still to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Will There Be Good News?: A Novel (Jackson Brodie Book 3) []  2020-1-28 22:13

    First, Kate Atkinson is a terrific novelist. And her Jackson Brodie series employs her trickster sensibility that locations this series set in Scotland above the usual package of brooding detectives and flayed victims found in most books of this genre, particularly those set in Northern Europe. For one, although Brodie is divorced and has a daughter (why do all these detectives have daughters?) he is not an alcoholic and he is unabashedly nice. And the plotting of each of the books in this series involves the convergence of possibility happenings and random characters, which is not so much magical realism as magical coincidence. I've read four in the series so far but just chose this one to review. It applies to all of them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Will There Be Good News?: A Novel (Jackson Brodie Book 3) []  2020-1-28 22:13

    This was my favorite of the four books in the Jackson Brodie saga, although they are all great!! I somehow read them in the wrong the first time around and missed this one completely, then went back and read them all again in order, and loved them just as much the second time around. I also recommended Case Histories to my book club, and several people are now reading through the series. Although there are references in the later books to characters from the previous stories, it's not a issue as each book stands alone very e characters in all of the books are all very well developed, and the story lines are fascinating with their twists and turns and random connections. I like the method that then endings seem real to life and do not always give compete resolution, but do not leave us hanging. A amazing read and highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Will There Be Good News?: A Novel (Jackson Brodie Book 3) []  2020-1-28 22:13

    I was hoping this book would be a return to form after a not good second outing for Jackson Brodie. The first book - Case Histories- had some true effort behind it and I thought was an perfect book in the Hilary Mantel vein. The second seemed to be phoned in and this one is not much different. Above all the plot is reliant almost entirely on deus ex machina to move it forwards. Beautiful much everything seems to be coincidence stemming from a train accident that has nothing to do with the characters other than let the writer an simple method to throw them all together. I had the feeling that the book was just what was in the author's head that day. None of the happenings seemed motivated by a story similar theme and much of the action was not believable. The opening is good. Unlike installment 2 it follows the crime/mystery/police procedural format and begins with powerful initial sequence; unfortunately the powerful beginning never becomes a coherent story. it just flops around getting weaker towards a highly unsatisfactory conclusion. One has the feeling that the author is not really comfortable with the genre. Although the writing can be very powerful - nice insights into how people think and act, it's all off the cuff and extraneous to the core narrative.A minor concern is a lot of grammatical errors which were distracting "nauseous" alot instead of nauseated, wrong tense (was instead of were in the conditional) and occasionally the wrong person. Also, the Kindle edition repeated the latest page in each of the latest three chapters and appears to have omitted the correct pages.A talented writer but this outing required a lot more plot outline to be built into it and perhaps less digression on characters or facts that play no role whatsoever in the underlying story. The character is not active at all but is always acted upon

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Will There Be Good News?: A Novel (Jackson Brodie Book 3) []  2020-1-28 22:13

    This is the third of the Brodie novels, in which he -- and Kate Atkinson -- are in amazing form. A fast scan of the reviews shows that this positive view is not universal. These books are certainly mysteries, and they certainly involve the police, but they are a long method from your standard police procedural. Like life, they depend on coincidence and convergence, and tell several stories at once. The characters are rich and fully developed; indeed, they take over the narrative at times. For me, this is one of the amazing charms of the series, and this novel has particularly powerful and sympathetic characters (as well as some who are not so much). I am reading the series slowly, both to stretch it out, and because each novel is so rich.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Will There Be Good News?: A Novel (Jackson Brodie Book 3) []  2020-1-28 22:13

    Several years ago when I worked in the entertainment industry, I learned never to trust one of those mark lines that you see on the cover of a book. I’m referring to something like:“An amazing read! I couldn’t place it down!” - John GrishamUsually you see this on books by authors who aren’t household names. I discovered that 99% of these were fake. I had authors tell me themselves that they never read these books that were hyped with their name splattered over the front cover. It was all a publishing ploy to more books.Well, this book was a bit different. This author (who has only been widely known in some circles for only the latest couple of years) was highly touted by none other than Stephen King. King has even gone out of his method in several interviews to praise this author and much of her work. After reading this, my first book by her, I’m not surprised that Stephen King holds her in such high regard. She is amazing. Her prose is very related to King’s. She has a method of hooking the reader in - regardless of the topic, and proceeds to be very clever and witty, and manages to emulate an occasional guffaw from the reader even the overall atmosphere of the book might be a bit this case, it’s a lot more than a “bit” gloomy. This book is very gloomy (hence the title). Yet most of the ugliness has happened in these characters’ past as opposed to the show situation as we’re reading about them. This book focuses on four key individuals living somewhere in Scotland. Their lives may have crossed each others’ path in a little way, but as a reader, you’re unaware of this until well into the book. At first, it seems as though you’re reading four various stories rolled into one ese people in these various stories have had beautiful rough experiences during their lives. I couldn’t hold up with all of the poor items that happened to these pour souls - from kidnapping to cancer, deadbeat dads to delinquent kids. It’s all here. Yet Atkinson somehow keeps the mood lighter than one would expect and, more importantly, interesting enough to where you really can’t wait to search out what happens ’s a bit unnecessary to describe the actual plot of this book. Yes, we do eventually search out there is actually a plot, but it’s not the story in and of itself that’s done so well, but rather the dialog and the intricacies of the characters and how they all interact with one another (think of a Robert Altman film such as “Nashville” or “Gosford Park”). I wouldn’t mind reading another book that features a lot of of these same people featured in this book(I think one of them actually does appear in several pieces by the author), but she simply does a magnificent job at telling a tale, that I’m betting I would easily have fun more, if not all of her though, as I mentioned, her style is very related to Stephen Kings’, hold in mind that I’m referring to style of her actual prose. There are some things that King does that a lot of (including me) search hard to stomach some time. Things such as his “disgusting” factor, and his belief that every person on the entire planet uses about 200 four-letter words in every five min conversation. So, fortunately, things such as that are not show within these pages.Happiness is discovering an amazing fresh author. Thank you, Ms. Atkinson, for your brilliant book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Could There BE Any More Trivia?: A quiz book about 'Friends' []  2020-2-6 19:37

    A fun book looking back @ my favorite TV show. Just when you think you know everything about your favorite show, fresh interesting facts pop up in the quizzes. I do search myself going thru these Friend's quiz book quick so let's obtain crackin' at making more!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Could There BE Any More Trivia?: A quiz book about 'Friends' []  2020-2-6 19:37

    For those of us that have fun the TV present Friends, often we search ourselves at a lost for coming up with things we don't know in regards to the show. For those that are newer to wanting to try their knowledge some trivia books and contests can seem daunting.Enter this rst and foremost, it is really well written. The organization is easy and clean with questions divided into chapters and the answers near the back of the book. The quizzes are there for all difficulty levels. As a beautiful huge fan I found myself feeling cocky as I breezed through some of the early easier chapters. Near the end I was almost becoming distraught thinking that I had to take my Mates fan card away because I couldn't immediately come up with an cond, as a self-published book, I applaud the writing, editing, and pacing. There aren't any typos or incorrect information. Its really a cool thing to see people taking their passion and working on it and presenting it for others to enjoy.I say obtain this trivia book and [email protected]#$%! either in your carry-on luggage, near the bathroom, or wherever you'll pick it up and give it some of your time. If anything the sheer amount of questions, quotes, and lead-ins will hopefully spark your memory of the present and you'll search yourself laughing about a specific sequence or joke or one-liner time and time again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Could There BE Any More Trivia?: A quiz book about 'Friends' []  2020-2-6 19:37

    Just like all the other quiz books, not correct answers to the questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Could There BE Any More Trivia?: A quiz book about 'Friends' []  2020-2-6 19:37

    As someone who claims to be able to search a Mates reference for virtually every scenario, now I wonder if I even know this show!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Could There BE Any More Trivia?: A quiz book about 'Friends' []  2020-2-6 19:37

    Bought this for my daughter who is a ”Friends” fanatic.... she loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Could There BE Any More Trivia?: A quiz book about 'Friends' []  2020-2-6 19:37

    Amazing trivia!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Life [App]  2020-5-14 21:42

    I had problems with the older ver not displaying the graphics properly on my phone. I allow the developers know and within days they came up with this modernize that now works perfectly on my phone. Android game play is excellent for playing anytime you wish to chill out and relax.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Life [App]  2020-5-14 21:42

    When playing on my HD android device smartphone the further you drag the piece the farther away from your finger it drifts. I can only imagine this is a bug.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Life [App]  2020-5-14 21:42

    I'm always trying to create my trees beautiful while trying to hold my flowers healthy, lol. Seriously amazing game. I love everything about it from the melody to the sounds to the birds and the butterflies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Light []  2020-1-29 8:56

    Sweet & easy telling of the creation of the earth from Genesis. Simple to understand for younger children. The are is attractive in traditional Nancy Tillman style. I love that an photo of God or His hand is hidden in every page. My children had fun searching for the picture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Light []  2020-1-29 8:56

    I read to my baby girl every day for hours during her colicky crying sessions. This book is one of my favorites. I love the creation story, but what really makes this book awesome is the attractive illustrations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Rock []  2020-1-23 2:53

    Title song and a Whole Lotta Rosie and a few other songs created the album one of my favorite

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Cello []  2020-6-12 19:5

    These two guys are great! A must see and listen to. The melody on most of their songs just comes from them and sometimes a drummer also. On some of their cd's they play with various orchestras also. If you look them up on you tube you can see what amazing performers they are. They are amazing to watch!! They are from Croatia but speak fluent English and appreciate American rock along with classical stuff. Yes they play rock on their cellos!! A.C.D.C.'s Thunderstruck is amazing! Elton John even had them play with him! I didn't even like cello melody much until we saw Yo Yo Ma. These two take cello playing to a whole various level than Yo Yo Ma! No offense Mr. Ma.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Cello []  2020-6-12 19:5

    "Perfect" musicians; with a "Whole Lotta Love"!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There You'll Be []  2020-7-26 22:49

    Love this song.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Rock []  2020-1-23 2:53

    I have nearly eveything AC/DC recorded on CD, Tape and Vinyl. I know that Back In Black is considered their best album. Personally my favorites are Allow There Be Rock and Powerage. Being a guitar player with a Les Paul and Marshall half stack I love the sound of Angus' guitar on both of these CD's. The overall sound is raw and dirty. No commercial feel as some of their other albums have. Being a die hard AC/DC fan I still like their commercial sounding albums such as The Razors Edge. But give me that dirty raw guitar any day. Some people say if you have one AC/DC album you have them all since their sound has been beautiful much the same over the years. I disagree. They do deliver that amazing hard rock sound all the time but each album has amazing individual songs that stand out on their own. The rock, guts and rhythm's that hold coming out of this band is never ending. That is why AC/DC has been going powerful for over 40 years now. Their fresh album Rock or Bust sounds like a champion all the method through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Rock []  2020-1-23 2:53

    AC/DC didn't have any idea that one day, they would hit it huge & bands would be covering their music. My hidden gem song on this album would be "Dog Eat Dog" it got that nice punch to it & hearing it live just makes you wish to jump up & down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There You'll Be []  2020-7-26 22:49

    Actually used it as a brother and sister song.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Light []  2020-1-29 8:56

    I love all of Nancy Tillman's books, and I am a large supporter of Desmond Tutu, so this book had been on my wishlist since it first went public. I was not disappointed. Some people were upset that the words are not directly from the Bible, however, then it would not be the words of Desmond Tutu. This is a book that he wrote to explain creation, and it is beautiful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Cello []  2020-6-12 19:5

    As a 'cellist myself, who even owns one of those funky black carbon fiber 'cellos, I really like the impact 2Cellos has had on the melody world. My spouse and I have even been to one of their live concerts. This album and Celloverse are my two favorite. This album really does a nice job with some original melody and familiar covers. As always I love what these guys do and how they have introduced modern melody with classical instruments and created it accessible to so a lot of musical tastes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Cello []  2020-6-12 19:5

    After having the privilege of seeing these guys in concert in Greenville South Carolina I had to obtain their CD it is awesome if you haven't ever heard of these guys check them out they are so worth it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Light []  2020-1-29 8:56

    Nice book, amazing letters from the authors but it wasn't long enough, nor did it give enough detail about the creation story. I realize it is a children's book but I just think you can and should have more substance, especially for something as attractive as the story of creation, kids can hang in for a longer story and I just think there was too much left out...I was left thinking that I couldn't believe that it had ended when there was so much left to tell...but what is there, is very well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Light []  2020-1-29 8:56

    I love Nancy Tillman---her books are moving, emotional and poetic. Allow There Be Light is no exception. I was wondering how I would introduce creation to my toddler and when I found this book, I had my answer. I love the illustrations and the text. This is a attractive book and I have already given it as a gift. Recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Rock []  2020-1-23 2:53

    I can remember when I was a teenager & me and my mates discovered these outrageous rockers from Australia !! My mates older brother turned us on to the import album "T.N.T." & "74 Jailbreak" and needless to say we were hooked anxiously awaiting the next album. To our delight they just kept getting better!! Instead of T.N.T. we got the American ver titled " High Voltage" & then came "Dirty Deeds done dirt cheap" "Let there be Rock" just blew us away every song Rocked & " Allow there be Rock" was the sound track to every house party, field party & resonated from every muscle vehicle cruising the strip in 1977!!! The next two album's continued to knock our socks off & then we heard the news Bon Scott had died !!! We were crushed seemingly out of nowhere came this steamroller of a hard rock band that just kept getting better & better & just as suddenly as they appeared the lead singer passed away leaving us with "Highway to Hell" in 1979. Then in 1980 the impossible happened AC/DC released "Back in Black" & continued to blow our socks off again!!! "Let There be Rock" was the mid method point for the Bon Scott era of AC/DC & a amazing rock & roll anthem. This album is also the most private "Bon Scott" AC/DC album containing to song penned about Bon's sexcapades with "Go Down" & " Whole lotta Rosie". In all of AC/DC's work over the years you would be hard pressed to search a poor album or weak album but you will not search it in the Bon Scott era of AC/DC if you can search it at all!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Rock []  2020-1-23 2:53

    Even if it is short, some of their best work is on this album. Allow There Be Rock, Poor Boy Boogie, Whole Lotta Rosie, ect. songs that are easily in their top 20 greatest songs of all time. Worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Rock []  2020-1-23 2:53

    I love everything AC/DC and this came on time as stated by seller. Brand fresh still in the protective wrap. I would again from them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Cello []  2020-6-12 19:5

    When I reviewed their debut album, I compared it to a swarm of frenetic wasps. This album continues with that theme, although the wasps appear in only some of the tracks. The rest, in my opinion only, sound like precludes to much bigger sound, which never materializes. There's small variation in the themes: what starts quietly proceeds and ends the same way. What starts with wasps ends with wasps. The cello is a dynamic and strong instrument, but here it might as well have a single string...plink, plink, plink, with nary a chord to be heard. The melody is timid and one-dimensional, and yet these dull interpretations are of much bigger, more vibrant compositions. Needless to say, this is my second and final of this duo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There You'll Be []  2020-7-26 22:49

    I bought this song to use at my daughter's wedding for our mother/daughter dance and it won't play. I'm very upset!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Light []  2020-1-29 8:56

    This is the sweetest book. And it is beautifully decorated. It should be a classic that's on the shelf of every child. I bought it to read to my 6 yr old but it could be read to a much younger kid and I don't think you could obtain too old for it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Light []  2020-1-29 8:56

    Truly LOVE these books!And my grandchildren have fun reading over and over again!Fast, efficient delivery! Thank you!Great quality product!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Light []  2020-1-29 8:56

    This book is absolutely gorgeous! As a South African living in the US, I really wanted to search a amazing selection of books relating to South Africa for my 6 year old daughter. This book does not disappoint! A++

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Life [App]  2020-5-14 21:42

    Clever, but repetative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Life [App]  2020-5-14 21:42

    Relaxing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Life [App]  2020-5-14 21:42

    Im digging it works amazing alot of fun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Rock []  2020-1-23 2:53

    Solid ROCK ! The guitar tones on this album are the method rock should sound . Angus said it still is his favorite tone .on a recording ever. In my top 3 fave albums . Overdose is worth the alone ...first minute of that chop is a thing of wonder ..zero dead air on this album ...a must have if you wish to peel the paint off your neighbors house !!One of Rocks Greatest recordings ...get it !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Rock []  2020-1-23 2:53

    a lot of people say back in black is ac/dcs best work, but i disagree, ,,one listen to allow there be rock and youll be playing air guitar in no time, ,, this is REAL rock n roll,nuff said

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Cello []  2020-6-12 19:5

    I thought that I was ordering a CD, not a streaming.... I don't do streaming, so it was I threw away. I love the 2 Cellos, so, I'm not saying anything versus them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Cello []  2020-6-12 19:5

    Sadly, this CD didn't live up to the talents of these two men. I love their work but not this time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Cello []  2020-6-12 19:5

    This is such an awesome CD with powerful, attractive music. I love 2cellos and am so satisfied with my purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There You'll Be []  2020-7-26 22:49

    I used this song in a tribute to our 16 year old golden retriever when she passed away. Angel was an awesome dog, powerful and kind and loved by all. She was with my husband and me through amazing times and some really poor times and I owe so much to her. So the words to this song are absolutely the excellent notice to her - and of course, the melody is beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There You'll Be []  2020-7-26 22:49

    Amazing 👍.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There You'll Be []  2020-7-26 22:49

    Have several of her CDs and downloads. Used this in my sister's birthday video montage with Flipagram...and loved it in the film Pearl Harbor

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There You'll Be []  2020-7-26 22:49

    Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! She is an awesome talent and very nice to look at. Unbelievable voice.Ranks right up there with Groban, Celine, Streisand for technical talent. Can't go wrong with anything she records.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Light []  2020-1-29 8:56

    I love Nancy Tillman books and this one is no exception. Beautifully written and illustrated story of the beginning of life. We gave this to our kids on Easter and enjoyed reading it to them all that morning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Light []  2020-1-29 8:56

    I pre-ordered this book hoping it wouldn't turn out to be some strange ver of the Biblical story of creation. It's sweet and lyrical but not to the extent of becoming cloying, at least to me. The illustrations are, as always with Nancy Tillman, a joy. The book basically follows the sequence of the creation story from Genesis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Rock []  2020-1-23 2:53

    Shock and Awe – it's a clichéd phrase I know in this wide-bottomed business we call reviewing. But the truth is easy – small will prepare you (or any listener for that matter) for the sheer sonic assault of 1977's "Let There Be Rock" – AC/DC's angriest and loudest album – a platter that strips reinforced paint off walls from a hundred paces and then urinates on the ragged results...There had already been indications of their Rock greatness in the first two British released LPs – "High Voltage" and "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap" – fabulous hooky riffs like "It's A Long Method To The Top (If You Wanna Rock 'n' Roll)" and "Problem Child" – both recorded in 1975 and 1976. But 1977 saw them produce a studio beast to rival Deep Purple or Humble Pie at their 'live' barnstorming best – a not inconsiderable feat - and in a year when Rock was supposed to be dead or busy dying in a ditch somewhere...First the Production values went through the roof. Amped-up and jacked-up to 13 on a scale of 10 – AC/DC were essentially live in the studio and in possession of a lethal combo of fresh power riffs. Out went the 9 or 10 songs – in came 8. They were lengthier but they were also more convincing and undeniably brilliant. To this day Australia's finest play half of the album in every present (fans would probably feel cheated if they didn't). And the title track "Let There Be Rock" has of course turned into something of a 20-minute live marathon for Angus Young – their guitarist and core of the band – a crowd-pleasing solo fest of scorched-earth wildness that few who see it ever forget (it has me grinning from ear to ear just thinking about it). Which brings us to this messed-about CD reissue and its rejiggered track list that requires some eggsplanation (as Mister Ayers would say). Here is the 'Crabsody In Blue'...UK released May 2003 - "Let There Be Rock" by AC/DC on Epic/Albert Productions 510761 2 (Barcode 5099751076124) is an 8-Track CD variant of the 1977 American LP and plays out as follows (41:01 minutes):1. Go Down2. Dog Eat Dog3. Allow There Be Rock4. Poor Boy Boogie5. Issue Kid [Side 2]6. Overdose7. Hell Ain't A Poor Put To Be8. Whole Lotta RosieTracks 1 to 9 are their fourth studio album (3rd in the UK) "Let There Be Rock" - released March 1977 in Australia on Albert Productions APLP.022 - June 1977 in the USA on Atco SD 36-151 and October 1977 in the UK on Atlantic K was:BON SCOTT – VocalsANGUS YOUNG – Lead GuitarMALCOLM YOUNG – Rhythm GuitarMARK EVANS - BassPHIL RUDD – DrumsSome explanation is required about the CD Reissue and its track-list - that for a lot of fans outside of America is not how they bought the original vinyl LP. Both the Australian and British LPs had various tracks and placements on Side 2. The Australian LP was the first problem in March 1977 (its various black and white guitar-photo artwork is on the latest page of the booklet) while the British LP arrived latest in October 1977 with the US artwork of June 1977. However both the OZ and UK LPs had a Side 2 that ran as "Overdose", "Crabsody In Blue", "Hell Ain't A Poor Put To Be" and "Whole Lotta Rosie".But as this CD is a US release it follows the American Track List/Artwork – so as you can see above for Side 2 it uses "Problem Child" as Track 1 (originally on their "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap" LP from 1976) with "Overdose" as Track 2 instead of "Crabsody In Blue". If you wish the absent "Crabsody In Blue" track in to configure the OZ and UK LPs - it's available on the "Backtracks: Studio Rarities" 2CD/1DVD Box Set of Remasters from November 2009 (another AC/DC release worth seeking out).So what do you obtain here? This Epic CD 8-track reissue has what they call 'ConnecteD Technology' which allows you to access online content via your computer but I'm buggered if I've ever bothered. The card digipak is the same for all of these reissues - very tasty and tactile. There’s a picture CD to the right and a 16-page booklet housed on the left in a pocket pouch. It's crammed full of colour images behind the text, press reviews (good and bad), a ticket to the 24 Oct 1977 present at Manchester’s Free Trade Hall, buttons, scene passes and Angus, Bon and the Gang in different manic live poses (MURRAY ENGLEHEART does the superb liner notes). There are more images of the band on the inner gatefold and beneath the see-through CD tray. The GEORGE MARINO Remaster (done in the USA) is from 'original master tapes' and sounds HUGE - rocking like the beast that it e albums that followed - "Powerage" in 1978 and "Highway To Hell" in 1979 - sported a crisp clean radio-friendly sound from Vanda/Young ("Highway To Hell" care of Mutt Lange) – not here my amazing friends. With amps humming and a spoken count-in - the sheer volume at the beginning of the very unsubtle "Go Down" is like a mission statement. Within seconds you obtain the biblical reference – a large riff threatens to level your living room - the Aussies are indeed here to ROCK and those with nervous dispositions should run for the Exit sign. I cannot overstate the sheer force of this track and the riff it has – a large mother of an opener as Bon once again makes "Ruby Lips" popular for services above and below the call of duty. "Dog Eat Dog" (eat cat too) does the same and legend has it that midway through the recording of the epic "Let There Be Rock" - Angus’ amplifier literally went on fire from the heat - yet Producer George Vanda told him to continue – which the mighty imp did. Wow! Now there's a story you wish to tell your kids. "...Did you bleed daddy for this track? Well son..there I was making Rock history...when all of a sudden..." And Side 1 ends on the ballsy AC/DC Blues-Rock of "Bad Boy Boogie" – four sucker-punches in a row and a Side of Rock Classics most bands would nobble a close relative to achieve.Whilst "Problem Child" is utterly brilliant – a short sharp kick in the kangaroo pouch – its Production values differ wildly to the other Jan/Feb 1977 recordings – so it feels automatically out of place. Others may disagree. The slow Blues of "Crabsody In Blue" - a track about appointments and ointments and critters nibbling at Bon's favourite appendage - is typically funny items from the brill Scotsman and so un-PC as to be cherishable. And again it followed perfectly after "Overdose" – a grimy and grubby slow starter that builds into the most creature riff you have ever heard as Bon sings his salacious tale of innocence corrupted (it's all booze and cigarettes now – her fault apparently). And at this point we have to talk of Angus' guitar playing – solo after solo exploding with a ferocity that makes Led Zeppelin-in-full-flow seem like a weedy school prefect with a Ukulele (and that takes some doing). And then the LP gives us two heavy slices of primal Rock – "Hell Ain't A Poor Put To Be" and the amazing "Whole Lotta Rosie". Even now that solo in the middle of "Whole Lotta Rosie" is beyond description – a kick in the chest by a mule with serious mommy issues.Unbelievably - March 2017 will see the album's 40th Anniversary. And in absolute present-day truth – if Metallica produced even three songs in 2017 as amazing as the original eight on "Let There Be Rock" – the Net would melt, ice caps would obtain up and do a Scottish jig and Donald Trump would gain a conscience (well maybe two of those things). AC/DC did it 40 years ago man. Step aside pretenders - best Rock Band on the planet bar ock and Awe indeed...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Let There Be Rock []  2020-1-23 2:53

    A classic from a classic, if you're into ac/dc well you don't wish to miss this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There You'll Be []  2020-7-26 22:49

    This song is the unbelievable song to all that have lost someone in there lives.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    mavga score card reviews wii fit fitness journal reviews marble teal yellow multi color pattern texture background vinyl decal sticker skin by moonlight printing for wii u pro controller reviews skin for guitar hero iii controller compatible with wii reviews vaporwave japanese sunset design vinyl decal sticker skin by egeek amz for nintendo switch dock reviews on fire hot burn burning flame vinyl decal sticker skin by moonlight4225 for wiimote wii controller reviews gold shiny gold metallic vinyl decal sticker skin by moonlight printing for wiimote wii controller reviews doyo white wii guitar wireless hero and rock band guitar controller with strap for hero and rock band games reviews 2 pack built in motion plus wii remote controller compatible with all nintendo wii games reviews pink dream skin for nintendo wii console reviews ostent soft silicon cover case skin pouch compatible for nintendo wii remote nunchuk controller color orange reviews rocketfish component cable for nintendo wii reviews wii component video cable reviews wii nunchuk cord free wireless adaptor reviews wii u gamepad charger ac power supply adapter charger cable for nintendo wii u gamepad remote controller reviews walsent children kids cute cotton face cover bandanas with eye shield reusable face bandanas mouth face outdoor protective reviews bxzhiri love heart necklace charm pendant with crystals healing gemstone jewelry gifts for women and girls reviews skylanders trap team trap crystal tech hand reviews official wii speak microphone reviews mortal kombat armageddon reviews

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386