winging it our way southern indiana Reviews & Opinions


Submit winging it our way southern indiana review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A delightful way of cooking with southern casseroles cookbook: It is all about typical southern casserole cooking review []  2020-1-28 0:53

    A delightful method of cooking with southern casseroles cookbook: It is all about typical southern casserole cooking by Bobby FlattBook starts out with intro where they discuss the term casserole and history behind le of contents where recipes are broken up into meals.Each recipe has a title summary and a color image of the dish,Prep time and servings is st of ingredients and some have a LOT and there are a lot of misspellings/typos (160z which means 16 oz.) and 2tbsp which is 2 TBSP) sin some of the ions are included and I like how recipes are using various means to cook the ere is NO nutritional info but you should be able to substitute the ingredients for your healthier dietary needs: low sodium, low fat and low sugar products and new versus packaged or canned items.I do like that there are only a handful of recipes per category.Another format issue is the abbreviation for TB is sometimes tbs and sometimes ould be very consistent throughout the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A delightful way of cooking with southern casseroles cookbook: It is all about typical southern casserole cooking review []  2020-1-28 0:53

    I’m a Southern girl, and casseroles have always spoken to my heart. This book is amazing!! I can’t wait to test all of the recipes. The chicken soup with baked potato is so delicious and filling, it tastes like something my Nana used to cook or Sunday dinner. I was so surprised to search stews, one dish meals, and even desserts! There’s BROWNIES IN THIS BOOK!! They were excellent with ice cream on top. Even if you’re not a country Southern girl, you HAVE to test this book, every recipe I’ve tried so far has been completely perfect!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A delightful way of cooking with southern casseroles cookbook: It is all about typical southern casserole cooking review []  2020-1-28 0:53

    Has some decent recipes but some of the pictures don't match the recipes and the grammar is horrible!!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on winging it our way southern indiana or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch winging it our way southern indiana video reviews and related movies:

    See Parks and Recreation - April Ludgate's Best Moments (Supercut) on youtube.

     related image

    See Our Quartet on youtube.

     related image

    See 4 His Love Quartet on youtube.

     related image

    See Legacy Five Winter Memories on youtube.

     related image

    See Birding (In-Depth) — Outdoor Adventures | Indiana Dunes on youtube.

     related image

    See Riding into a storm on I-24 north of Eddyville, KY June 2016 on youtube.

     related image

    See Isamu Noguchi: Citizen, Spaceship Earth | Dakin Hart on youtube.

     related image

    See Flosstube Bubmie on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A delightful way of cooking with southern casseroles cookbook: It is all about typical southern casserole cooking review []  2020-1-28 0:53

    I found several I will be making.. All use easily found ingredients and are not too fussy to make.. nice dozens of recipes . .

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A delightful way of cooking with southern casseroles cookbook: It is all about typical southern casserole cooking review []  2020-1-28 0:53

    While the images of the recipes were enticing the grammer, spelling & language were horrible. An editor could support to create this a useful recipe book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A delightful way of cooking with southern casseroles cookbook: It is all about typical southern casserole cooking review []  2020-1-28 0:53

    Yes!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    A delightful way of cooking with southern casseroles cookbook: It is all about typical southern casserole cooking review []  2020-1-28 0:53

    I like the recipes in this book, especially the home sweet butterbeans. There’s even recipes that use bacon drippings and that’s always a amazing idea. But I create casseroles for convenience, and I do want that some of the meals didn’t call for so MANY ingredients. Otherwise, I love it. The brunch king casserole is my favorite. Excellent for those lazy Saturdays where breakfast doesn’t exist from sleeping in. I would’ve never thought to create a southern each and pecan casserole, but it is sweet, thick, homey, and delicious. This book is definitely worth a try

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Five-Star Trails: Louisville and Southern Indiana: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes review []  2020-1-31 1:18

    Very amazing travel info if you wish nature paths and locations to hike. Had lots of detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Five-Star Trails: Louisville and Southern Indiana: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes review []  2020-1-31 1:18

    Amazing trail descriptions; contains lots of small info that I've never seen anywhere else (where did she learn all this stuff?).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Five-Star Trails: Louisville and Southern Indiana: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes review []  2020-1-31 1:18

    Amazing book! This book leads you to very attractive locations to hike. Gives the hiker all neccessarry info and directions for a safe adventure. I would recommend this book to all hikers that wish to hike this area.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Five-Star Trails: Louisville and Southern Indiana: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes review []  2020-1-31 1:18

    A lot of hiking books, though informative and accurate, are dry and uninspiring. Askren's book, on the other hand, is a true treat. Though Askren is obviously an authority on Louisville zone hiking, there aren't a lot of guidebooks that are as entertaining as this one. She whets your appetite for exploration with her varied trail selections, and keeps your interest with saucy commentary, sprinkled with a dab of history and topped with suggested side trips. Whether you're on the trail stretching your legs or stretched out on the couch planning your next trek, Askren's book is an perfect companion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Five-Star Trails: Louisville and Southern Indiana: Your Guide to the Area's Most Beautiful Hikes review []  2020-1-31 1:18

    I've hiked around Louisville for years, and yet I somehow missed several of this area's finest trails. Well-written and carefully edited.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Little Way of Ruthie Leming: A Southern Girl, a Small Town, and the Secret of a Good Life review []  2020-3-30 19:22

    I really wanted to like this book more than I did. I've been contemplating what exactly it was I didn't like and I'm having a hard time pinpointing it. I think it was a combination of things:1) Some books you just can't place down - this wasn't one of them.2) First, the author paints his sister as a saint. Then he paints her as a jerk but can't seem to admit it. I found this very confusing...because I think the author is confused.3) This is a memoir. His sister and family are not popular in any way. The average reader doesn't know them at all. It is the author's job to create the reader care about them, care what happens to them, become emotionally invested in the story. I don't know if it was the author or not good editing, but it just didn't do it for me.4) Part of the book is supposed to be about "The secret of a amazing life." The author doesn't provide an answer. Basically, he leaves his little city because he's more of a town guy, feels guilt that he's moved, mostly because of his small-minded, judgmental family members, moves back home, you think he's settled, then has a conversation with his father where his father admits he was wrong. More confusion because I think the author is himself still confused about his e moral of the story? Who the heck knows?!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Little Way of Ruthie Leming: A Southern Girl, a Small Town, and the Secret of a Good Life review []  2020-3-30 19:22

    I lived in St. Francisville for a few years and was in the same class as Ruthie. The author gave an intimate portrayal of life in little city South USA. The challenges, the love, the dedication, the heartbreak, the unending revolving emotions which pass from generation to generation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Little Way of Ruthie Leming: A Southern Girl, a Small Town, and the Secret of a Good Life review []  2020-3-30 19:22

    This work was a slow start. I didn't search anything particularly remarkable about Ruthie Leming initially and struggled to connect with her story. However, as I turned each page I began to see what the author was doing and I began to understand his lament and finally his joy over his younger sister. I began to see that each chapter was a thread that once woven into the final work was something infinitly more attractive than I ever expected, much like Ruthie herself.If the dear reader has ever suffered from sibling rivalry, damage feelings, wonderful gut-busting love for family, or mourned the loss of community in modern day society, read this book. The author doesn't have all the answers, but he shares candidly what he has learned in living and loving through life. He shows us what is most necessary and how we can have it for ourselves. And that is strong and necessary and definitely worth reading about.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Little Way of Ruthie Leming: A Southern Girl, a Small Town, and the Secret of a Good Life review []  2020-3-30 19:22

    A study of love, life, and stability in todays globe of distance and searching. This autobiographical look at family and the benefits of community and faith and how death touches and affects one's life decisions. A thought-provoking and life altering read. Very familiar, very important reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Little Way of Ruthie Leming: A Southern Girl, a Small Town, and the Secret of a Good Life review []  2020-3-30 19:22

    I love Rod's writing and I've been looking forward to this book a amazing deal. His writing throughout his sister's illness and in the wake of her tragic death was beautiful, heartfelt, and poignant. It also created me think. When I heard he got a book deal to write this story I was thrilled, because I know the ultimate notice of this book is something that we all need to hear.I particularly love the method Rod manages to tell the tale of Ruthie's little city life in a true and honest way. It would have been simple to ignore Ruthie's flaws and pretend she was perfect. Rod manages not to do that, which is a true triumph. Instead he makes Ruthie true and he ensures we can all identify with her one method or another.I hope this book is a smashing success and I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in community, faith, and family. I promise it will create you think--and you'll be all the better for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Little Way of Ruthie Leming: A Southern Girl, a Small Town, and the Secret of a Good Life review []  2020-3-30 19:22

    Little book and a fast read. Surprising and gratifying.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Little Way of Ruthie Leming: A Southern Girl, a Small Town, and the Secret of a Good Life review []  2020-3-30 19:22

    G. K. Chesterton once wrote that: "There are two ways of getting home; and one of them is to stay there. The other is to walk round the whole globe till we come back to the same place." In The Small Method of Ruthie Leming, author Rod Dreher takes the long method home, while his sister, Ruthie, arrives by the more direct is divergence causes a rift between the siblings, one which isn't fully resolved until the book's final pages. Just as Ruthie was completing her first year leading a classroom as a teacher in their little hometown of St. Francisville, Rod was given a break: an assignment at the Washington Times. Ruthie was distressed, telling their parents: "He's method up there in the huge town where we can't support him. What if he gets sick?"Instead, it was Ruthie who got sick: she was diagnosed with lung cancer. She refused to inquire into the odds of survival; though they were overwhelmingly versus her, Ruthie remained upbeat through it all. Her little town, the one Rod had left behind to pursue his dreams, rallied around her. People came from miles away to visit Ruthie, to pray for her, to raise cash for her treatment and other family expenses. As an old mate tells Rod, "This is how it's supposed to be. This is what folks are supposed to do for each other."It would be difficult to do justice to Rod's tender treatment of his sister's war with cancer. Suffice it to say that it would take Oscar Wilde's proverbial heart of stone to read this acc and not be moved. It is always painful when poor things happen to amazing people; Ruthie's goodness is so evident that it pains us all the more. Yet despite it all--because of God, because of the method the people of St. Francisville could lean on one another--there is a strange peace, after a long journey, Rod returns; he and his wife package up their three children and move back home. He writes: "My mates and I talked a lot about the fragmentation of the modern family, about the deracinating effects of late capitalism, about mass media and the erosion of localist consciousness, about the consumerization of religions and the leviathan state and every other thing other the sun that undermines our sense of home and permanence." Yet, "The one thing none of us did was what Ruthie did: stay."The Small Method of Ruthie Leming sounds a lot of of the same notes as Charles Murray's latest book, Coming Apart. Through a largely analytical approach, Murray tells the story of little towns like St. Francisville: its best and brightest skip city for the attractions of the city. Murray emphasizes the dark side of little city American, its plight worsened by the flight of so a lot of of its residents. As Rod tells it, his city had its problems, too: "poverty... drunkenness... drugs... meanness, and conformity, and lack of professional opportunity." But there is something that Murray's statistics fail to capture. In our cities, we may bowl alone, but, in towns like St. Francisville, people come together for one y of today's books insist that the solution to the problem--whatever it is--involves ten steps, all of which are grandiose and implausible. Instead, Rod admonishes us to "seek reconciliation... and love people"; he recounts how he patched up things with the blogger Andrew Sullivan. There is something else, too. If, like Rod, we have left, we can consider making that journey back home.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Little Way of Ruthie Leming: A Southern Girl, a Small Town, and the Secret of a Good Life review []  2020-3-30 19:22

    A moving, well written memoir that will resonate with most readers. The author could not wait to grow up and leave his little city roots and head for the excitement of life in bigger cities. He married, had kids and at first seemed content visiting his parents and his only sister (and her family) three times a year. It wasn't until his sister was diagnosed with terminal lung cancer was he forced to look at how rich his sister's life was, not in monetary value but by the outpouring of love and help that came from the little city where he grew up and was so fast to leave. Throughout this gem of a book, the author is forced to discover his relationships with his family members, his relationship with God, the beauty of living in a little town, where people know you and give so much unconditional love and help and where he wants his own kids to grow up. Family dynamics and past hurts are never simple to face, but with his sister's memory guiding the way, he learns the value of being close to family, healing, faith and love with all your heart, especially when it hurts the most. A attractive story, told in a method that will stay with you long after the book ends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Little Way of Ruthie Leming: A Southern Girl, a Small Town, and the Secret of a Good Life review []  2020-3-30 19:22

    I'm a longtime reader of Rod Dreher's and was looking forward to this book, which he heavily promoted in his column. Generally, Rod and I are on the same socio-political side. (A forewarning for those family and mates of the Drehers and Lemings who might read this: You might not like my honest opinions after this point.)Overall, it's written well. Rod's feelings about his hometown, state and the characters that inhabit them bring a particularly delightful quality to his writing. I also appreciate his showing his family's unflattering side (and his family's willingness for that side to be revealed), though his blog posts about the same are not as r example, a few of his blog posts about Ruthie have a Photoshopped picture of her with a halo, which I thought was too much; I'm not sure if it was brotherly love, grief, guilt or some combination thereof that precipitated those posts. What was she? The book finds her to be a loving and beloved daughter, wife, mother, sister (a loving sister, to some degree) and mate who loved her hometown and had a easy faith. She's one of a lot of woman in that form and I didn't search her particularly remarkable in that sphere. However, to her brother and those whose lifestyle - albeit an honest lifestyle such as Rod's - clashed with her thinking, she was also narrow-minded and nasty. For me, her hero could not recover from the Christmas dinner incident, which reflected poorly on her, her husband and on Rod's parents (who showed an unsaid favoritism to their daughter, IMO) as well (and was a not good example to Ruthie's oldest kid who must have been present). Her later "holier-than-thou" comment and the discovery of how she damaged her children's relationship with their uncle sealed the , on the other side, as much as I like and usually agree with Rod in his blog, he can indeed come off as being pompous (for lack of a better word), especially when he's going on some philosophical, existential-type, over-thinking bent in a post (which are the posts I usually ignore), though I believe he's a well-meaning man who has OCD when it comes to analyzing things. As an example, think about the part when he and Hannah are in Paris when he starts blathering on about something philosophical when he and Hannah could have enjoyed a QUIET reflective moment, and Hannah shuts him up. Rather than simply explain to her children that her brother and she were very different, and to love Uncle Rod as he was (and test to ignore the items that could drive you crazy), it became apparent that Ruthie sniped about him to her kids and placed an impediment to their developing an untarnished relationship with him. How petty. There is also no doubt for me that she was jealous of Rod's hard-earned success, which any longtime readers will know, has brought him fame and threats to him and his family.If there is a positive thing about Ruthie that I want readers would take away, it was telling her kids not to be angry at God for her illness. (I'm always amazed that people obtain angry at God for poor things, yet conveniently forget to be thankful for all the amazing He gives them.) I think the late Elizabeth Edwards told her kids the same thing. We ALL die; Ruthie wasn't going to be any different. We ALL experience trials and tribulations, some, such as illness, which will lead directly to our deaths. My belief, and God grant me the strength to hold this belief should I suffer a terminal illness, is that part of our duty on this earth is to take the worst that life throws at us and accept it with grace. On this thinking, I do salute d hit a home run with the concept that we all need to belong to a community; that we all need roots; and the importance of contributing to our community, although the community in which we choose to settle does not have to be the community in which we were raised. The outpouring of love and help from the townspeople before and after Ruthie's death opened his eyes to the value of living somewhere where everyone knows everyone; it not only drove home the importance of community, but it also literally drove him back to the community to which he'd thought he would not return.Overall, it's a decent read, and it's worth it for Rod's insights on community (and some regarding family dynamics) but you might not come away with loving the person around whom the book is centered as you would expect to do, particularly if you were familiar with Rod's posts about his sister.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Little Way of Ruthie Leming: A Southern Girl, a Small Town, and the Secret of a Good Life review []  2020-3-30 19:22

    Rod Dreher is a former columnist for the Dallas Morning News. His most latest book is an extraordinary story about his sister Ruthie. Ruthie Lemming was a teacher in a little town. The author records the tragic acc of Ruthie's struggle with breast cancer. What raises this story to the level of a classic is the author's honest acc of his own renewed relationship with his entire family. The book is at its best in recounting the large impact that Ruthie had on the community by being a little city teacher. Little city life has its drawbacks, but the book does a unbelievable job of describing how the community pitched in and helped this family survive a tragic loss. It's a wonderful, moving book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No Way Out review [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Counting down the hours for some self investigation. No Method Out is directed by Roger Donaldson and adapted to screenplay by Robert Garland from the novel "The Huge Clock" written by Kenneth Fearing. It stars Kevin Costner, Gene Hackman, Sean Young, Will Patton, George Dzundza and Howard Duff. Melody is by Maurice Jarre and cinematography by John Alcott. Already filmed impressively as The Huge Clock in 1948, Fearing's ingenious source material gets a shift to a Pentagon backdrop and still comes out a winner. Putting their own spin on the central story, that of a man finding he is investigating "himself" during a murder enquiry, the makers unfurl a labyrinthine plot that keeps up the suspense quota right to the very end. In real noir style, the story is crammed with double bluffs, deceit, sex and death, with the added ingredient of politico intrigue to spice things still further. Cast are led superbly by Costner and Hackman, though Young is a bit too dull an actress to really place fire into the key femme role, and Alcott makes amazing use of the true Washington areas to bring visual authenticity to the story's setting. Jarre's score is hokey sounding and doesn't sit right with the dramatics on show, while the huge reveal at the finale is still as divisive today as it was back on the film's release, but this is still a fine example of a movie noir remake that really works for the neo-noir loving crowd. 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Way to You review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    Kandi Steiner is one of those authors that gives me all the feels when reading. I love her words. This book is various from anything else she’s written. It’s emotional, powerful, and the writing is stunning!If someone asked you ‘What makes you happy?’ right this moment, could you respond them honestly? Not some superficial answer, but real happiness. Cooper couldn’t. When Emery Reed spoke those four words to her, she couldn’t respond him. Cooper seems satisfied where she’s at, but she’s not. She craves adventure and has dreamed about getting out of Alabama to go to the northwest. When Emery offers her a ride, as strange as it may seem, she goes. It’s time to take a risk and live a little.I love street trip books! In my opinion, there aren’t enough of them! This was not your normal street trip book, however. Emery and Cooper’s journey was much different. It’s one of those books you need to read for yourself so I won’t delve into the plot of the book. Just know the romance is gorgeous, but it’s so much more than that!On the Method to You is a romance, but it’s also a story of self discovery. It’s a book about love, loss, friendship, and it wars hard subjects like mental health. Kandi wrote this subject so realistically. If you have ever struggled with severe depression, or know someone who has, you will be able to relate to Emery. Cooper is a attractive soul. She loves with all she is and she tries to be understanding and helpful (view spoiler). Their story isn’t the hearts and flowers, conventional romance. It’s special to them and it’s beautiful.Kandi Steiner. You have a method with words. I’m so glad you wrote this book. I think it’s a book that needs to be read. It’s a story that will stay with me. This book broke my heart, but also healed it in a attractive way. If you’re looking for a romance that goes deeper than the traditional romance, one that will touch your soul, create you think and create you feel, pick up On the Method to You!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Way to You review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    On the Method to You is yet another stunning work of art crafted by the talented Kandi Steiner. Going into this story, I knew it’d be an emotional journey. I knew she’d make these characters that I would so easily fall for. However, I never expected a story that would hit me as hard or as close as this one. One that would create me a slave to my e never ceases to kill me with her words. Words that aren’t simply just that—they each have so much feeling and meaning, effortlessly placed behind them. In Cooper and Emery’s story, you could feel the emotion behind each one and experience it as your own. Their story was one about two individuals with lives at a halt. Each coming from pasts constructed of pain, loss, and sadness. A choice placed in front of them: to stay or move on. My heart cracked for these two. I’d shed more tears than I expected—them stemming mostly from Emery’s most personal thoughts and words. Him and Cooper are two characters I couldn’t forget even if I tried.On the Method to You is an emotionally charged, captivating, poignant story. It was one I didn’t realize was missing from my life until I was fully consumed, inhaling, and trying to savor it, all at the same time. A story of learning. A story of opening up and letting another into your darkest of corners. And if done—even when believing you’re the least deserving—then maybe, just maybe you’ll learn to feel. To breath. To simply live again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Way to You review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    Cooper has dreams and they don’t contain staying in the trailer park while she works at the diner. She has not allow the knocks that life has dealt her obtain her down but rather she is optimistic yet determined as she saves every penny she can to fulfill her dream of attending college in Seattle.When she went into work that morning she never expected her entire life to change when Emery, a sexy diner, asks her “What Makes You Happy” and she doesn’t have an answer. She finds out he is on a street trip to Washington and when he suggests she could come with him it doesn’t take her long to take the leap.Spending their days together Cooper senses that Emery has demons and she is unable to breach the wall that he has surrounded himself with or at least that was the case until she found his journal. Although she knew it was wrong and an invasion of privacy of large proportions she is unable to stop herself from reading his inner thoughts but is she really ready for them?This book takes you on an emotional journey that does not end when you finish their story. Their romance like life is not all flowers and roses and you have amazing times and poor times but as long as you have people around you that love and help you it is worth the struggle. Their story is an experience you don’t wish to miss.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Way to You review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    Sometimes you read those books and you don't know if any review you write could do it justice. This is one of those books. It is such a various concept than a lot of stories out there. How it feels to be young and impulsive and given an opportunity to be freed from just existing. To take a journey that makes you feel alive. That's what happened to Cooper in the story, but for me by reading the story. Kandi reminds you that we all have our private scars... whether it's something you can see physically or something that you don't see about someone from the outside. You never know when that possibility will come along that can change your whole life. This was one of the stories where I felt like I was watching a film or having a really amazing dream. I could almost visualize the whole thing in front of me. The emotions from the characters wove their method into my heart and I was feeling it too. Her books just hold getting better and better for me and after reading the ones that I have, I'm not sure how that is possible. You will love Cooper and Emery.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Way to You review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    I can’t remember the latest time I read a book by an author that was fresh to me that I ended up loving with all of my heart! ON THE WAY TO YOU is hauntingly attractive in its sadness and Kandi Steiner’s exquisite writing has left an indelible tag on my heart. The characters are wonderful and their flaws which to most might create them seem imperfect only helped to further endear them to me. I am completely in awe of the beauty of this story. I felt a gamut of emotions while reading this book and I can tell you it seriously was unputdownable. Never did I feel like I was on the outside looking in. It was as if I was experiencing everything with Cooper as she traveled across the country with the attractive but broken Emery. I have found another author whose writing I have fallen madly in love with. I can’t even tell you how a lot of lines I’ve highlighted in the book and how a lot of tears have been shed while reading it. If you’re into emotional reads, this is one you simply must not pass up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Way to You review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    My first book I read by Kandi was Weightless, which I loved and has been my all time favorite. Even after A Love Letter to Whiskey and Revelry, which were also awesome books, but nothing and I mean nothing compares to On the Method to You. This book ripped me apart and had me UGLY crying in the end. It is so well written and just stole my heart. I couldn't place this book down.Kandi hit it close to home with the elephant in the room, depression. The street trip, the internal and external "demons" and the chemistry between Cooper and Emery... just AHHH!I highly recommend this book, and as usual, cannot wait for another well written, angsty novel by my all time, yes, I said it, all time favorite author!Thank you Kandi for another attractive novel!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Way to You review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    "What makes you happy?"What would you do when a hot stranger asks you this question??? Well that's exactly what happens to Cooper while she is waiting tables at a diner in Mobile, Alabama."This is life calling." She shrugged. "Are you going to just allow it ring?"Cooper makes a life altering decision and embarks on a cross country street trip with Emery. This attractive story spoke to me and I could not place it down! I HIGHLY Recommend this story it talks about life altering decisions, coping with depression, and finding happiness. It definitely is a tear jerker *just warning*, but totally worth it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Way to You review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    “You can’t just have one favorite book. That’s like me asking you to choose a favorite arm.”“My right one, of course.”I rolled my eyes. “I’m serious. I’ve read thousands of books, there’s no method I could ever pick a favorite.”Kandi Steiner has done it again...I’m officially ruined, I have no words because her words are life and she sucked it out of me then slowly trickled it back in, as it write this I’m officially unsure of how to go on from here, someone send I read this beauty it was a war of wanting to know more and never wanting it to end, for every chapter I devoured I hoped for 6 more just like it I required this to be a never ending turning of pages. I am in love with the journey of this book, every fresh discovery, every emotion it’s raw and unlike anything I’ve read before, but above all it is real.Of course there’s romance and happiness, but this journey was different, I was either in a fit of giggles, running through the tissues while internally yelling at Kandi “NO, don’t do this, please *tears*”, or simply sitting perplexed myself at some of the life questions pondered by Cooper and Emery. I’m an avid reader but the method that Kandi captures your soul and makes you feel is truly a bonus that only a select few are blessed with, I am beyond thankful she chooses to share it with us. I’ve never highlighted a book as much as this one, I seriously think I could have had the entire thing from cover to acknowledgements highlighted, my kindle thanks me for refraining. However, the entire thing is highlighted in my memory, this book is one that’s going to stay with me for the long run and I am in a book hangover that could most definitely latest forever, or at least until her next release!!“We think we know the world, but we’re only seeing a little second of its journey”I’m begging you, please take the journey of Cooper and Emery and see for yourself how awesome life is!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Way to You review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    I knew before starting this book that I was going to need to prepare myself for some emotions, and I was absolutely right. This book is my kind of book. While l love angst, sometimes I crave mellow. I was completely wrapped up in Emery and Cooper. The journey, the discovery of who they are as people, what they thought was real and what actually is. This was a story I've required for a while now and Kandi was the excellent person to deliver.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Way to You review [Book]  2017-11-17 18:0

    On the Method to You is one of those books that touches your souls and stays with you forever. The main characters go on a life changing street trip. I love how flawed and attractive the main characters are. I was originally on the fence about reading this book. I’m so thankful that I decided to read it. I went in not knowing much and had my mind blown. You need to just read it yourself so you can fall in love with this attractive story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Angel Wings For Pictures - Wings Photo Editor review [App]  2018-2-3 13:10

    Best

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wings for Photos: Angel Wings Photo Editor review [App]  2019-2-28 13:9

    I am sorry but it didnt work. i appericiate your effort and hard work you can do it hopefully you will fix it, thank you all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wings Over review [App]  2019-7-27 13:31

    Pointless to even bother downloading. I also didn't believe the reviews. If you were born in the 80s... have fun selecting your birthday.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wings Over review [App]  2019-7-27 13:31

    Design is fine, but actual purpose of application is non-functional. Existing www service acc seems to not be linked to app, which I guess is expected - the foodtechsolutions website has been poor forever. However, attempting to put an order, I can't select a zone and proceed. The zone selection is a dropdown, yet goes to a blank Maps API page, despite granting zone access. Even if I android game the find functionality, which is abysmally slow, to search my zone the order now button does nothing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wings Over review [App]  2019-7-27 13:31

    they ALWAYS mess up my order in athens georgia. Never fails. The other day i order the wings lemon pepper xtra crispy and i even called back to see what was taking the driver so long. the guy comes to the phone and says the driver is on the method now i just handed him your order. so the order gets here and i have 3 boxs 2 with soggy mild wings and one with fries. I call back and the same guy says "Well just bring back the meal i will replace it" DONT HAVE A CAR GENIUS THATS WHY I ORDERED DELIVERY

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wings Over review [App]  2019-7-27 13:31

    Application says my zone doesnt deliver to my address but they do.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Wings Over review [App]  2019-7-27 13:31

    great!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On My Way review [App]  2019-9-22 14:2

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way I Should review []  2020-1-3 23:51

    I’m one of those who came late to the Iris Dement party, but I’m glad I finally arrived! I love her voice and song is used CD looks and plays like new

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way I Should review []  2020-1-3 23:51

    "Wasteland of the Free", sadly, is more relevant than ever a lot of years after it was recorded. Happily though, it shows America still has a kind heart and a free spirit that lives on through people like Iris.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way I Should review []  2020-1-3 23:51

    Excellent condition all time favorite iris dement cd!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way I Should review []  2020-1-3 23:51

    Disc like fresh as advertised and a unbelievable effort by Iris Dement.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way I Should review []  2020-1-3 23:51

    Iris Dement is not for everyone. Her special voice carries this collection of self-written songs beautifully however and they also deliver messages which are not always pleasant.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way I Should review []  2020-1-3 23:51

    Amazing deal

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way I Should review []  2020-1-3 23:51

    Amazing Music

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way I Should review []  2020-1-3 23:51

    One of my favorite singers. Quick ship.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way I Should review []  2020-1-3 23:51

    I am a fan of Iris DeMent's melody and this CD is one of her best!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way I Should review []  2020-1-3 23:51

    Everything Iris Dement has recorded is wonderful. It comes directly from her attractive pure soul and has some sort of impossible to describe unity about it. Whether she's singing spirituals, bluegrass, "old time" music, hard-core cheatin' songs with John Prine, or the songs on The Method I Should it's amazing melody from this multi-faceted musical treasure. Some of these songs are mad and some are topical. They're all must listening for Iris fans. I can't imagine her ever singing anything that would not be enriching and musical on some level.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All The Way review []  2020-1-16 22:59

    This was a gift

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All The Way review []  2020-1-16 22:59

    Amazing price and cd

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All The Way review []  2020-1-16 22:59

    They did it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All The Way review []  2020-1-16 22:59

    Love your melody hold on singing for The Lord & I. Your melody makes my heart smile especially when no one else can place a smile on my face.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All The Way review []  2020-1-16 22:59

    I liked

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All The Way review []  2020-1-16 22:59

    Great, thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All The Way review []  2020-1-16 22:59

    I am well happy with my purchase..Keep up the amazing work Rance Allen. I am a amazing fan of ank You for amazing encouraging songs, that I can play over and over.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All The Way review []  2020-1-16 22:59

    I'm like "traditional" gospel music. While the songs were very good, they tended to sound contemporary. While I'll hold it, had I had a possibility to hear it first; I doubt I would have bought it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All The Way review []  2020-1-16 22:59

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    All The Way review []  2020-1-16 22:59

    Ilove this album and the Rance Allen Group.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    By the Way review []  2020-1-17 2:23

    This is my favorite Chili Peppers album. It's presumably their first sober album and in my opinion, peak Frusciante and Kiedis. If you watch live concert videos from this era, everyone in the band is on point. Even Anthony, who usually doesn't sound as amazing live as he does on the album (no disrespect, I love his live voice regardless), sounds wonderful and sometimes better live during this time period. It has some amazing upbeat tracks like Can't Stop, Cabron, and the Zephyr Song, but it also has a melancholy vibe on the majority of the other tracks. The lyrics are deep and it's just a very full sounding, well rounded album. There's a song for every mood. Some people complain that it has too a lot of songs on it, but it honestly left me wanting more. It has classic RHCP elements like rap, funk and their essential California rock sound with a tip of Spanish thrown in. Also, the b-sides are incredible, Out of Range is my private favorite. I know this album is 14 years old, I'm only writing this because with the release of their newest album, the Getaway, there's a lot of fresh RHCP fans who are young and don't have much knowledge of their discography. By the Method is a must-have. If you have a record player, absolutely buy the vinyl!!! It sounds wonderful on vinyl. The copy I received was in excellent condition and there were no skips or scratches or warping on the album. Sometimes [email protected]#$%! or miss buying albums on Amazon, but because this is an import from another country, the quality is higher.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    By the Way review []  2020-1-17 2:23

    My favorite Chili Pepper album of all time by far! The second I got my fresh record player, I knew I had to obtain this album! Plays great! The vinyl itself is very high quality and was very well packaged. The box it came in was completely just distorted(not the fault of the seller) but the vinyl was in a thick cardboard cover that completely saved it from the impact. The cardboard that holds the vinyls wasn’t very high quality. Usually when you obtain a record that has two discs, it has like a book style case for them. But this one didn’t which came off as cheap and not safe.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    By the Way review []  2020-1-17 2:23

    I bought this record once before and decided to return it because the disk skips during "By The Way." I was disappointed because it was one of my favorite albums and was really looking forward to adding this into my collection. I received this album again as a bonus months later and to my surprise, the record skipped again on the same song. I re-read some of the reviews and saw some people found the same issue with their copies. I'm not entirely sure what caused this glitch, but since I am 2/2 for skipping records, purchased months apart from each other, I'm left thinking this is a manufacturing problem. However, the rest of the album plays fine

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    By the Way review []  2020-1-17 2:23

    I like the album (music), but, as with a couple of other RHCP vinyls I've purchased recently, the chop on these is slightly off-center and somewhat shallow. The grooves don't keep a stylus well at all and it's very prone to skipping. Other records on my player (which is properly set up and aligned) will take much more vibration and even a solid bump before skipping, but it seems that these recent reissue RHCP albums will skip if you breathe too heavily. This is my only qualm, but I feel it's valid for a vinyl record.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    By the Way review []  2020-1-17 2:23

    I set my receiver to 2.0 stereo whenever I play vinyl, but that setting created this album sound kind of thin. It sounded good, but something just wasn't right. I then set the receiver back to 7.1 surround and it was amazing. Very vibrant, full and alive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    By the Way review []  2020-1-17 2:23

    A few days before my By the Method order from arrived I read were critics were saying that this By The Method CD was The Red Hot Chili Peppers Best ever or at least as amazing as Blood Sugar Sex Magik. And of course my first thought was No Way, that album is an all time classic. And on first listen to this fresh CD I still said no way. But I have to tell you as I continue to listen, over and over again, it gets better and better every listen and I do think it is a amazing album, almost as amazing as the aforementioned classic.Ever song is anywhere from amazing to amazing on this CD, the singing and especially the harmonies are unbelievable the CD has such an upbeat feeling and it has an experimental feeling that reminds me of the latter Beetles. The Melody is absolutely top notch, the lyrics are amazing along with the unbelievable harmonies and unbelievable playing (John and Flea are the best going today) the CD puts me in an introspective yet upbeat mood. I love the whole CD and the highlights are By The Way-a rocker, Universally breaking a Bettlesque ditty, Don't Forget Me-wonderful Guitar work, Minor Thing-very cool song, Warm Tape-anotehr rocker, I can go on and on, This CD is amazing from cover to cover. This will go down as a classic for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    By the Way review []  2020-1-17 2:23

    I am a bit disappointed in the product. The record was warped a bit making rather difficult to obtain the title from the beginning, without it tripping and starting a bit into the title. Otherwise the record quality was great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    By the Way review []  2020-1-17 2:23

    I've liked the Chili Peppers' melody ever since I hear them in a record shop for the first time some 20, 30 years ago. After some time not being aware of them, I was watching James Corden's late night Hitchhikers bit, and he had the Chili Peppers in the vehicle and were Playing By The Method (the song), and here it was I was on to them all over eat album, obtain it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    By the Way review []  2020-1-17 2:23

    When the Red Hot Chili Peppers first hit the melody scene, they were indeed a poor boy Alternative rock act. Whereas the band has retained some of those funky and rapping styles as well as some Explicit lyrics, the style on the By The Method CD is so much more melodic and even mature. This CD actually has a lot of classic rock overtones and the a lot of changes of pace really have me xteen songs on this CD and not a poor one in the lot. Heck the worst songs I would rate as amazing and a lot of of them are great. The title track is super catchy with its a lot of hooks. The rap parts are ultra cool. Can't Stop, Throw Away Your Television, and On Mercury are loaded with funky stylings and some tasty guitar and keyboard parts. Not too mention Flea's tasteful bass licks on the Tv tune. Some amazing softer more melodic tunes such as Tear, The Zephyr Song, and Dosed stand tall on this disc as well. The amazing thing about these particular tunes is that they don't sound sappy in any way. The band just explores more structure here and the harmonies and instrumentation are extremely ear me fans may dissappointed that the Chili Peppers may have softened their appeal a bit. However, these people need to realize that change is amazing otherwise bands become yesterdays news all too verdict here is to pick this CD up at once. If you wrote off the Chili Peppers in the past for being a bit too hard core, you might wish to test this one on as it has more elements for classic rock fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    By the Way review []  2020-1-17 2:23

    I have been getting back into vinyl recently, and I really have fun the sound. It's been fun to listen to some of my favorite melody in vinyl form. It's a completely various sound than mp3s.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Severed Wings (Severed Wings Book 1) review []  2020-1-18 19:52

    I really like Kelly Carrero's writing style. Her characters are multidimensional, her plots intriguing and complex, and her descriptive language is super. Very few editing mistakes (spelling or grammar errors) which is a definite pet peeve of mine. I both like and laughed at the protagonist, Lucy. She is often very melodramatic...but thankfully sees this trait in herself. The reason I'm giving this 4 instead of 5 stars is that I feel the ending was a MAJOR cliff-hanger. In her prior books, I felt like each book in a series had a discrete story to tell. This one felt more like a novella in that it sets the stage but doesn't really explain the mystery that Lucy & Marcus are facing. I'm trying to be vague so I don't spoil the storyline for others. But since this books feels more like an intro to the series, I think it should be FREE or $0.99 to introduce readers to the characters. However it is a full book - 43 chapters - not a short ver like most novellas.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Severed Wings (Severed Wings Book 1) review []  2020-1-18 19:52

    Lucy, aka Zoe, feels everyone's pain. It's so crippling that she has tried to slay herself numerous times. She's just a kid of seventeen. Her mother, if you can call her that, cares small for her. Her only concern is that she doesn't embarrass the family name. The only one who can calm the emotions bombarding her is the mysterious man in her e is sent to a rehabilitation farm, where she is needed to work. And who should appear but the man of her dreams, Marcus. Yet he's real....and he has a magnetic pull on her. He says she is the only one...that he loves her. But they just met. Or did they??? Nothing is as it seems and the only method she will figure it out is to follow Marcus. Every time she has tried to slay herself, she is saved....by this mysterious man. But why???Follow Lucy as she is introduced to the paranormal world. And she only has 50+ days to either figure it all out, or die on her eighteenth is is an interesting book with very amazing characters. I like the plot and will continue to read the next on my friends..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Severed Wings (Severed Wings Book 1) review []  2020-1-18 19:52

    The storyline for Severed Wings was a amazing one, but it was just a bit too drawn out for me with not nearly enough answers. I understand that it's the first in a series, but I didn't obtain enough true info to be vested in these characters or what happens to them next. For the first 75% of the book, I felt sorry for the heroine but still had no idea why she had the issues she was dealing with. The few answers given in the latest 25% came with more questions that just left me feeling aggravated. The author did have a amazing idea, hence my 3-star rating and hopefully book 2 will be better executed.I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Severed Wings (Severed Wings Book 1) review []  2020-1-18 19:52

    I can't imagine how Lu feels and endures all those negative emotions which leads her to committing suicide all the time - so sad!I couldn't wait to search out more - why is it happening? Who is she? I was so excited to read more!Once I started, I could not stop reading! I just wanted more and more! So addicting, it just drags you away from reality and takes you on a thrilling ride! I did not wish this novel to end! Such a quick is book reminds me of Fallen by Lauren Kate. All of you Fallen fans should definitely read Severed Wings. So good, alluring and dark!Full of emotion, mystery, romance, curses, soul collectors, soul scrapers, succubi and rfect for readers of paranormal romance.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Severed Wings (Severed Wings Book 1) review []  2020-1-18 19:52

    Book One begins with Lucy feeling everyone's "bad" emotions enough to paralyze her with the need to slay herself. She ends up going to a rehab center out in the country and ends up meeting the man of her literal dreams. Markus seems to be the only one to hold the feelings of others at bay but he stirs up the past in a method Lucy has never dreamed existed. The story ends in a cliffhanger, I cannot wait for the fresh release.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Severed Wings (Severed Wings Book 1) review []  2020-1-18 19:52

    Amazing story, are mates - mates or enemies. Could have better end, rather than cliff hanger. Story could have multiple future leads with the current most prominent ending but alternatives, leading on.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Severed Wings (Severed Wings Book 1) review []  2020-1-18 19:52

    This is a slow moving story. I am just aa clueless at the end as I was in the beginning. Not much was revealed, It does however hold you interested but I like a small more from this kind ofStory.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Severed Wings (Severed Wings Book 1) review []  2020-1-18 19:52

    This book had me very interested from the beginning. So much so that I stopped reading the series I was reading. It does ring familiar to another series I finished. I hope this one surprises me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Severed Wings (Severed Wings Book 1) review []  2020-1-18 19:52

    I liked this book. It was well written, simple to follow and interesting characters. The ending of the book created me wish to grab book two. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys stories of angels and demons.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Severed Wings (Severed Wings Book 1) review []  2020-1-18 19:52

    I really like this type of book, fated souls, lifetimes of love, supernaturals, that sort of thing. This book has all of that. The book is well edited. Looking forward to book 2

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way Up review []  2020-1-18 23:26

    When The Method Up was first released in 2005, I saw PMG play it live and gave it several listens. It was good, but I wasn't sure where it was going and how it fit into Pat's musical vocabulary. I continued to touch base with it every now and again, and I enjoyed it, but it still wasn't quite sticking with me. I have a lot of live recordings of Pat's music, and there is an early PMG present from Madison Wisconsin, where the main theme of TWU is played in a short untitled tune. When I heard this, the album began to click in my head, and every time I listen now I like it more and more. TWU is a masterful culmination of the different phases of PMG, while also likely being the swan song of the Metheny Mays collaboration. It is complex, sometimes melodic, other times experimental and progressive--remember folks, PMG was never, ever a smooth jazz band, they were, in fact, just the opposite. To the folks who said "meh" in 2005, place it on again and give it a try, and for those who loved it from the start, sit back and savor this masterpiece--it is even more relevant and remarkable today than it was back then.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way Up review []  2020-1-18 23:26

    The Method up is PMG's most ambitious album in years, maybe ever. Which is saying a lot, considering the compositional density of Letter From Home, Still Life Talking or First Circle. This release harkens back to different periods of the group's evolution, and while borrowing styles and melodic fragments from previous compositions (something classical composers have been doing for centuries,) it is by no means merely a rehashed stew of past phases, but a marvelously constructed piece that stands on its own, a synthesis of where of the group has been, infused with tips of where they're possible to absorb in one sitting, The Method Up, like any huge work, has to be listened to a number of times to appreciate the sweep of its compositional arc. Apparent on the first go round are short phrases that weave through the piece and a returning Reichian minimalism that surfaces now and again. Occasionally, tight unison hard bop lines come into focus, only to be absorbed as a fresh texture takes its put in a kaleidoscopic tapestry of sound. There are plenty of through composed sections, as meaty as anything Pat and Lyle have ever come up with, yet there's enough blowing time to satisfy hardcore jazz fans as short, this album gives a Metheny group lover everything they have come to expect from the Group, with perhaps one exception. Lyle Mays seems to play a lesser role in this project than I would've like to see. If I remember correctly, there's only one extended piano solo, although as consolation to May's fans, it is a burning one. Besides that one featured solo, there are a couple of short Lyle piano moments, but for the most part Metheny's varied guitar textures seem to dominate the foreground of the aural landscape with Mays attending to the coloristic detail in the background. Due to Metheny's predominant presence, this CD sometimes reminds me of Metheny's solo project, "Secret Story", the basic difference being this is more of a coherent whole and doesn't have added orchestral arrangements. While Lyle's playing may take a subordinate role in the proceedings, his talent for arranging and development can be felt throughout. Pat and Lyle are a amazing writing team, and over time, this album may very well rank with their best work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way Up review []  2020-1-18 23:26

    As a 30 year fan of Pat Metheny's music, I was pleasantly surprised by this recording. Ever since first hearing the contributions he created to Gary Burton's melody back in the 70's, Metheny has always strived to be innovative and original. He has grown to be one of the most recognized sounds in Jazz & he keeps growing as an artist. This recording takes his group to the next ing four distinct parts to break up the 68 min epic composition, Metheny manages to offer the listener a detailed tour through his past musical terrains while showing you fresh and various sights & sounds. Witness his edgier guitar tone and how he locks horns with Trumpeter Cuong Vu in Part Two. I love the digital circus sound at 18 mins into part two - very original to mix trumpet & harmonica versus a textured background. The constant shifting of moods & textures are brilliant. Part Three revisits the "First Circle" 1980's period of the groups' development before returing to the attractive 2005 music stated in Part Two. Lyle Mays offers some amazing linkages to transition the pieces to their next scene of development. This is very dynamic melody and you have to hear it more than once to appreciate the beauty. After my third listen,I was completely hooked. I recommend you turn up the volume to really feel the full effect. When the melody finally ends, you feel like you have traveled to a new, yet familiar place. What a amazing trip.I once read a Metheny article in Downbeat where he stated that Jazz was a dynamic & living melody that reflected the show state of the artist's life. If innovation is the real tradition of Jazz, then Pat Metheny has succeeded in painting a very colourful tapestry of his life - and I give him five stars for presenting it in such a bold and special way. This melody is emotional, moody & full of reflection. I hope you have fun the journey as much as I have. Peace!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way Up review []  2020-1-18 23:26

    It's silly to downrate something for what it isn't. Maybe it isn't "jazz" in some traditional sense, but we don't listen to melody for what it isn't.What it is: A composed and considered series of interconnected statements, spoken in the vernacular of jazz and other contemporary musics. A suite, a concerto, a "concept." A long, complex, layered, thoughtful and very controlled sequence of music and texture, rhythm and continues to reveal itself listening upon listening, and while the emotion is contained and constrained, it is most definitely there. Like a newly encountered personality, it must be explored before the feeling reveals itself. The rewards are commensurate with the is disc has not been out of my player for a week. It's melody you can immerse yourself in; it's melody you can study. You can applaud the virtuosity of the players, or admire and analyse the sophistication of the writing and e PMG has risen to a fresh level here, and elevates the listener in the process. I can't recommend this work highly enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way Up review []  2020-1-18 23:26

    I bought this when it came out. At the time I found it okay. Nothing particularly grabbing about it for me. However, as the years has passed, this album has grown immensely on me. Each play has etched it a small deeper in my consciousness, and now I consider it one of my all time favorite PMG albums and one of their best. Not in an intellectual "what a intelligent piece of melody way," but in they method that melody should - it's just so enjoyable to listen to. For orientation, my top PMG albums are: Still Life Talking, Imaginary Day and The Method Up. With that said, I've been a Metheny fan for 27 years and have nearly everything he's done, and truly have fun most of it. This is just one of his top albums in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way Up review []  2020-1-18 23:26

    I have listened to the album about 3 times now and it is growing on me. This growth follows the pattern of almost all of the group's previous albums. This album is like a profound book written by a genius of an author. You have to really place in all your senses into it for a listen and then it reveals its gems more and more with each listen. This one is definitely not for those who occasional dabble in Metheny or tout his so called more musical tunes. In some ways I feel that this album is subtly meant to filter out the "light" listeners who go in for just the "sound bites" as he mentions on the group's website. But for the initiated it is another stepping stone in a musically enriching experience that makes one listen in wonder and admire the vision of a musician who refuses to tow the commercial line. If Metheny had followed the tip of some of the negative reviewers here he would never have taken any chances and we would never have gems such as "Upramp", etc. I for one am glad that he follows his musical vision unlike so a lot of other jazz musicians who play tired cliches in so called traditional jazz, that sell well commercially, over and over again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way Up review []  2020-1-18 23:26

    I'll be as brief as possible, as words do not do service to the creative talent of this group. This is dense, rich and attractive music, and to be honest really requires several listenings to start to appreciate. There is however amazing beauty and enjoyment to be gleaned from even a casual listening of this project. Metheny and Mays stand without equal in modern Jazz music, not only because of their writing and playing skils but because of the musical communication that exists between two people that have spent this much time performing together. As a producer/performer myself, I can only say that the amount of creative time and energy spent on this project would be almost unimaginable, but for the talent, and dedication to art that this group consistently exhibits. As is the case with the best Metheny efforts (such as my favorite album of all time "Still Life Talking") this is an album that should not be missed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way Up review []  2020-1-18 23:26

    i don't know how to express in words how awesome this disc is. I've been listening to nothing else (in the car) since I got it a month ago. While the disc purports to have 4 tracks, it's essentially one long symphony. I personally don't understand how someone can compose melody like this and play it so well, but I can definitely listen to it, and it brings me joy. The richness of the composition is unparalled in Metheny/Mays history, and the title "This Method Up" seems to suggest this. It will grow on you with repeated listenings, to the point where you wonder if you'll ever be happy with anything less from any other artists. There is only one other band that reaches the peaks of excellence reached by these cats, and that is the YellowJackets. I've said it before and I'll say it again, I think Russel Ferrante, Pat Metheny, and Lyle Mays are not from this planet. Maybe they're on loan from Heaven. All I know is they take me there.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way Up review []  2020-1-18 23:26

    Upon listening to this album, I instantly fell in love with it. A wonderfully composed and arranged work by Pat Metheny Group, along with some other perfect musicians. It does have a slight reminiscence of Offramp, but like all Pat Metheny Group/Pat Metheny albums, each is special and superb, and I've never heard an album I didn't like immensely. Some favorites are PMH (the white album), American Garage, Watercolors, Offramp, Bright Size Life, Secret Story, Fresh Chautauqua, etc. PMG is still my favorite jazz trio, after seeing them for the first time at the Paolo Soleri Amphitheater in Santa Fe, Fresh Mexico back in the summer of '81, and thanks Marghreta C. and Oona B. for taking me to the PMG concert for my birthday. I've been "hooked" on the PMG ever since.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Way Up review []  2020-1-18 23:26

    I suggest giving this album a couple of playings and allow it sink in. Unlike much of Metheny's previous work, this album really doesn't have tracks - well it DOES, but they're more or less seamless - it's a 68-minute plus "work." You won't be able to pick favorite songs on this CD. All you can do is go with is is classic Metheny with some fresh twists. The addition of Gregoire Maret on harmonica for example. When I first heard of this, it seemed strange. Harmonica? It actually theny fans should be happy with this CD. For those fresh to Metheny or the Pat Metheny Group, I suggest earlier albums first. Like "Still Life (Talking)" or "Letter from Home." Then work up to "The Method Up."

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On My Way Up review []  2020-1-19 20:34

    This memoir grabbed me from page one. It has a small bit of everything - from dysfunctional relationships and families to addiction, to thrill seeking, all wrapped up in one. But the true takeaway is an examination of whether you are living an authentic life. That’s what it’s all about. And if you’re not, you can try, but you’ll never hide from the fact. And if you are, your heart soars every day. This book screams - Choose Authenticity!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On My Way Up review []  2020-1-19 20:34

    We tell stories. It’s what sets us apart from our fellow mammals. We value stories that have heroes (and heroines). If those heroines triumph over adversity whether self-inflicted or from their particular circumstances their stories become compelling. We all know the formula for success: don’t smoke, don’t drink, exercise regularly, don’t eat to excess, blah, blah, blah. How does one live this life? What does it look like? What happens when we follow the formula?This a real story told by someone who followed that formula to become an accomplished ultra runner, winning several 100 kilometer and 100 mile trail races, and she is one of two women to have climbed all of the 1,313 peaks over 12,000’ in the state of Colorado. Since the publication of this book she has gone on to complete all the peaks over 11,is same woman once weighed over 200 pounds, smoked a package of cigarettes a day, and drank to excess. This is the story of her journey from the bottom to the top. It hasn’t been a straight and simple path, but it sure makes a amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On My Way Up review []  2020-1-19 20:34

    What a remarkable recovery from different sorts of adiction and abuse Alyson shares with us. I also hike and climb the peaks of Colorado and fully understand the life-giving energy one can search there. I am so glad things have turned out as they have for her (no spoilers here, though). My only criticism of the book is that Alyson repeats more than I feel is important her recounting of her relationship with her father and her, "I can do this myself" mantra. Then again, I can understand how saying that over and over again must have been important for her survival and growth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On My Way Up review []  2020-1-19 20:34

    This book left me speechless. What a wild ride life can be, and Alyson's ride is an inspirational one. I laughed and I cried for her, and found myself connecting with her for a lot of various reasons. Her bravery not only for the attractive mountain terrain but for finding and being her real authentic self was motivational and moving. Her story says it is ok to not do what everyone wants you to do, but to search what it is that makes YOU happy. This is one I will read again!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On My Way Up review []  2020-1-19 20:34

    I found this book so inspiring I read it 3 times back to back. Alyson’s words will touch ur heart but more importantly ur soul. It’s a real story of how tragedy can lead to regrowth, forgiveness, challenging oneself and can lead to a life not is book will touch those needing inspiration or just a GREAT READ.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On My Way Up review []  2020-1-19 20:34

    A very private look at the struggles and the wonderful potential and achievements that can spawn from tragedy. Simple fun read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On My Way Up review []  2020-1-19 20:34

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On My Way Up review []  2020-1-19 20:34

    Alyson's story begins with tragedy, but as her tale unfolds, you learn how her overwhelming desire to be real to herself empowered her to overcome an accident that could have ended her mountaineering career. If you've ever struggled with self-doubt; questioned your role and your duty in this globe and to yourself; or felt like you've settled for a life that isn't 100 percent authentic; you need to read this book. It's a amazing story and an engaging read from a woman who, despite a lot of hardships, never gave up and continues to inspire a lot of with her attitude and her athletic feats.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On My Way Up review []  2020-1-19 20:34

    Three cheers for Alyson Kirk for turning her life ter years of self-destructive behavior based on flawed role models, Kirk looked in the mirror and what she saw was not a beautiful picture. Staring back at her was an obese young woman with no direction, who was addicted to smoking, alcohol, and drugs. She reached deep within to transform herself into the person she wanted to be. Ridding oneself of any one of these addictions would have been an uphill task, but to attempt all three at one time was indeed e discovered a passion that provided her with the positive feedback required to overcome her addictions: running and mountain climbing. Despite a traumatic and life-threatening accident in the mountains, she was determined to return to the active lifestyle she had metimes things that don’t slay you create you stronger – or so they say. Kirk’s book is all about that. But in the end this is a love story about an exceptional young woman who went on to search her soul friend and is now out there living her dream, running and climbing mountains with a passion that will astound e author went from being queen of the losers to being the queen of the mountains. A truly inspirational real-life story.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter