Read winners take all reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all winners take all reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    Winners Take All is a self-help book for the uber wealthy. I say this somewhat in jest, but, as Anand Giridharadas writes in his acknowledgements, his purpose for writing this book was as an “inquiry into the apparatus of justification” that permits the wealthy to victory at all costs, including extractive business practices that effect in growing inequality and environmental damage, only to position themselves as having the answers to the issues that they have contributed to creating and accelerating. While his focus is on the uber wealthy, Giridharadas tenaciously exposes a universal human deficit: We all struggle to recognize our two selves—the person we aspire to be and the person we are. What continuously came up for me as I read Winners Take All is the need people have to be seen as good, but not being able to create the private sacrifices (i.e. not winning) that true goodness is is, by far, one of the most necessary books published in the 21st century. Giridharadas articulates, with amazing storytelling, the illusion that has gripped us—particularly Americans,—allowing, if not engineering, injustice and inequality into our method of life: There are several ways to define it, including shop mindset or really materialism where cash elevates the monied by virtue of their shop aen to rule. He calls them MarketWorlders—people who apply a shop perspective to solving social issues. Winners Take All offers all of us who have ever dreamt of changing the globe to interrogate our motives, to think about who we are inviting to the table, and to understand that who we are, the experiences we’ve had, and the questions we ask or don’t ask determine the who, what, when, where and how of change. And if the only change we can imagine insists on us not losing comfort, reputation, influence, power, and so on, then we’ve already limited the change that is possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    This brilliantly written book considers what we've been through since Ronald Reagan declared that government is the issue and Margaret Thatcher that there is no such thing as society. If you, like me, have long thought that the Clinton Global Initiative crowd has been peripheral to the concentration of wealth, Giridharadas will support you to understand that they've been central to it. The author is relentless in his thesis, and the writing style is compelling throughout. Few books contribute to one's vocabulary; MarketWorld is now a useful part of mine. Oh, and if you're used to skipping the Acknowledgements section of books you've read, don't do it for this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    I'll preface this review by saying that I'm a practitioner in the zone that Giridharadas is critiquing. His central thesis, about "changing the world" through foundations and impact investing, is one that I wanted to agree with. I believe this industry is overdue for a wake-up. I think that's why I was so disappointed with this ridharadas takes an extremely simplified view toward the "change-making" industry. His examples are inflammatory and seem to prove a point, but he doesn't interrogate the underlying premises of his thesis. For instance, he tears apart the "market-based" approach to solving problems, decrying McKinsey's method of solving issues as narrow-minded. This is a valid criticism, but he fails to ask a deeper question: Why did this method of issue solving come about? What are its merits? How can we fix it?He continues to gloss over nuance throughout his book, undermining a lot of points in what should be a compelling argument. He believes wealthy donors do not deserve to be "met where they are" but misses the opportunity to ask why Darren Walker had that approach to start with. (Likely because donors won't listen to you at all if you come out the gate swinging.) He never asks the college grads why they picked McKinsey instead of the federal government, instead decrying McKinsey's influence without unpacking how it got to such a position.His needless barb toward Bill Clinton's "bro" style belies a deeper insecurity on the part of the author, which likely will resonate with readers. Much of this book is the same: An antagonistic take-down of elitism. Yes, that is valid, but it's largely an emotional argument. It lacks any failing to suggest a single solution, he perpetuates the problem. Regardless of what he says, Giridharadas is an elite who worked at McKinsey. At least the folks he profiled in his book are actually doing something.

    0  


    Add your opinion on winners take all or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    This author knows of what he speaks. He has facts and stats, to back up his claims. He should be heard and his tip should be heeded. I beseech all to begin your hearts and minds and to consider Anand's thesis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    This is a fascinating book, rich with numerous contradictions, deeply flawed, written to persuade in a polished style, and ultimately compelling and shallow at the same time. Peter Carey, the Australian novelist, wrote, "Behind every amazing fortune is a amazing crime," and Giridharadas breathes life into this axiom convincingly. A lot of of the people he identifies in the elite, liberal, globalist movement are well known, and a few I've met personally. What he describes as their sense of moral superiority is utterly correct. When a wealthy hedge fund founder whom I know flies to India with millions to give from her non-taxable family foundation, it absolutely is a heady mix of criminality and odd benevolence. But what's missing in [email protected]#$%! ysis is, ironically, the criticisms he notes to be missing in these benevolent lords and ladies of personal equity. Namely, he doesn't identify precisely the class consciousness and the internalized, intrapsychic convictions that are the motors behind their actions. Further, no class, as he knows, acts versus its own economic interests. So why should or when will the personal equity lords and ladies? Tisch, quoted in the book, said it best in respond to his question about what, "could inspire them to pursue a fairer system. She said, "Revolution, maybe." Until forces outside of their class act to strip them of their privilege, nothing much will change (or maybe it will), as he acknowledges. But that change is unlikely to come from the class itself, and why should it? The other large and obvious white elephant in the room that Giridharadas alludes to, but doesn't discover much at all is the goal of personal equity: To transfer public sector capital into personal capital. He implies this, he skirts arounds it, he knows it, but it would merit a much better book. Insofar as that transfer is not ideological, and the capital working around the clock to create it happen is agnostic politically, I would wager that it is the far, far greater threat to democracy than the smug and "benign" globalists who collude with the system in place. He writes about the benign globalists because he was or, forgive me, is still one. He is well meaning, and I mean that with full irony. In a general way, the book also applies very poorly reasoned, well written arguments to establish inaccurate points. For example, on page 178, he writes that Purdue pushed OxyContin, "on general practitioners, who tended to have the disadvantage (or advantage, depending on your viewpoint) of less training than spets such as orthopedic surgeons in treating serious pain and in detecting signs of painkiller abuse by patients." I'm sorry to say it, but that's simply untrue. Neither had much training in pain management until about five years ago, and basic care doctors are actually the ones who evaluate routinely both abuse and pain. It's a minor point, but, unfortunately, typical of the method Giridharadas builds his points: Through faulty ysis, and style that is deeply impressive, and well meaning intentions, but like the elites whom he disparages, without structural criticisms. With respect to medicine, for example, the roles of profit and reimbursement schedules would have gone a lot further in actually proving his point. Overall, the book is honestly a fine contribution to an understanding of why personal equity is controlling the debate and eroding democracy, but as a work of depth and ysis , it falls far short of books by Piketty, whom the author at the end recognizes as an inspiration. It reminds me a bit of burn's columns in the WSJ: He was the entertainment, and not a threat to the forces he criticized. Similarly, this book is likely to entertain personal equity folks; it's not in the least threatening nor substantive. That's a shame because the author clearly and very ironically held back: Acting the same as those he criticizes for holding back and colluding actively with the forces of destruction that are a synecdoche of personal capital.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    This book is a takedown of wealthy liberals who think they can do amazing and be/get rich at the same time. Boiled down, his arguments are that billionaires are evil, charity is a coverup for nefariously gained riches, and that capitalists who test to do social amazing in their businesses are insincere. The author doesn't really propose solutions, which is the largest flaw in the book, so I presume he thinks everyone should go work in government instead.Anand is piggybacking on the current zeitgeist of hating the rich. He lumps amazing and poor people all together. I agree that people in Americans should not have to rely on charity for social help in the locations our government falls short. We should have systems to ensure primary necessities for all people in our country – health care, housing, college, job opportunities. He is correct that some rich people lobby the government to maintain their favorable treatment in the tax code – and this is wrong. But a lot of rich people war for the opposite, a more just system, and a lot of would gladly pay more taxes. So when they give cash to charitable causes, they are solving a issue in the method they have power to do, which rather than being nefarious is just people doing the best they can within an imperfect system. This is not the ideal solution – as the author says, it concentrates power in the hands of people with money, but it also doesn't mean those rich people are bad. The author seems to overlook this kind of nuance again and e author is a questionable messenger for this book. He seems like someone who has spent his life promoting his own brand than a messenger of the revolution, as he would like you to believe in this book. He is satisfied to name-drop his own platinum resumé –McKinsey, Harvard, NYTimes, TED, Shaker Heights, etc. – and yet he mocks and criticizes the very people who aspire to build their careers in impressive ways. I wanted to eye roll hard when in Chapter 1 he unironically jabs at "so-called thought leaders" who give TED talks, yet in the jacket of this very same book he references he has spoken on the main scene of TED!I have very mixed feelings on this book. It's probably a net positive for the globe in spite of the author himself. The globe is simple to criticize, of which the author does a lot – and finding solutions to the world's ills is hard, so the author doesn't do a lot of that. The book doesn’t pass the critical and ytical thinking bar, but if it motivates people to war harder to level the playing field, it’s a amazing thing. He gets credit for making people uncomfortable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    As someone who has spent a lot of years seeking/securing grants from foundations, and almost 12 years working as a senior program officer at a huge community and huge personal foundation, I believe my "headline," while humorous, sums up my understanding of philanthropy and one of the major themes of Winners Take All. I share another concern well described by Anand, namely, the extremely serious abdication of public responsibility for primary human needs. In huge part, this is because the very rich, the gatekeepers they employ, and their political allies have intentionally worked to limit the viability of our public sector since the Reagan presidency. In fact, as Anand also notes, this has been done in different ways since the early part of the 20th century when the first huge foundations were made by Rockefeller and Carnegie. I believe Anand would agree with my view that the rich use philanthropy and the entire nonprofit sector as a diversion from a powerful public sector which, in these times, would be at least some form of American social democracy. If I could afford it, I would buy copies of Winners Take All for anyone who wants to understand the role of charity and philanthropy in maintaining existing power relations by limiting the power and effectiveness of a viable, democratic public sector. We must address the dominance of unaccountable, self-serving elites with democratic, public alternatives as Anand so brilliantly, courageously, and elegantly elucidates in Winners Take All.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    The author confuses anecdote with data, and his disdain for people that he labels “elite” drips from every page. While he does advocate for a few sensible things like higher taxes on the wealthy, he paints a no-win picture of anybody who has acquired wealth: if they don’t give back, they are obviously poor people, and if they do give back, it is to solve their own problems. Indeed, his very condescension about the notion of “win win” makes it clear that if the wealthy are not doing something about inequality that actually hurts them, then it’s all self serving. Yet he never once suggests how one should actually address inequality. And on just about every page he makes non-disprovable assertions about ulterior motives and goals. Very frustrating to read; I found myself disagreeing with different assertions on just about every page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    I picked up this book thinking it was about me and my friends. It's not, though. Despite the subtitle, Winners Take All is not about the entrepreneurs and investors who are involved in socially responsible businesses whose mission is to change the world. The sole exception is the author's brief excursion in the epilogue into the B Corporation movement, in which I've been involved since the beginning. And he appears not to understand what B Corps are about."Elite-led, market-friendly, winner-safe social change"In Winners Take All, author Anand Giridharadas zeroes in on growing economic inequality in America. As he notes at the outset, "When the fruits of change have fallen on the United States in latest decades, the very fortunate have basketed almost all of them." His culprit? "Elite-led, market-friendly, winner-safe social change." This is the set of beliefs held by the people who attend the Globe Economic Forum at Davos and gather at such other locations as Aspen and the Clinton Global Initiative. In reviewing this book for the Fresh York Times, Nobel Prize-winner Joseph Stieglitz described them as "an elite that, rather than pushing for systemic change, only reinforces our lopsided economic reality—all while hobnobbing on the conference circuit and trafficking in platitudes." Giridharadas calls their mindset MarketWorld."An ascendant power elite" that seeks to do amazing by doing well"MarketWorld," he explains, "is an ascendant power elite that is defined by the concurrent drives to do well and do good, to change the globe while also profiting from the status quo. It consists of enlightened businesspeople and their collaborators in the worlds of charity, academia, media government, and think tanks."Giridharadas takes on the elite consulting firms as well, citing McKinsey and its peers in the industry as among the culprits. The values they all promote are those of the marketplace; its proponents always talk about opportunities to solve problems, never about those who are responsible for creating the issues in the first place. The author distinguishes between public intellectuals (good) and thought leaders (bad). In his view, the former are primarily academics free of commercial influences. The latter have fallen for MarketWorld values, hook, line, and sinker. And that strikes me as simplistic. It would be naive to imply that major corporations haven't created inroads into e eight billionaires who own half the world's wealth are an simple targetAuthor Anand Giridharadas aims his most strong broadsides at simple targets such as the multimillionaire and billionaire leaders of the tech and financial industries. Can anyone seriously argue that Amazon, Google, Facebook, and Goldman Sachs are addressing the economic inequality that Giridharadas identifies as the central issue? No matter what their leaders say, they're clearly part of the problem, not the I write today, Jeff Bezos of Amazon can claim a net worth of $162.9 billion. Facebook's Tag Zuckerberg is "worth" $60.4 billion. The Google guys, Larry Page and Sergei Brin, weigh in at $54.1 billion and $52.7 billion, respectively. These four men are among the eight billionaires whose collective net worth is equal to all the wealth of half of the world's population. Yes, just eight billionaires. And Goldman Sachs possesses assets of nearly $1 trillion. How could anyone suggest that these people would even consider lobbying the federal government to adopt policies that would lessen economic inequality in America? Yet Giridharadas complains that they don' Take All is based on the premise that these would-be do-gooders call the shots in the American economy and dominate the political debate. The author implies that economic inequality would quickly shrink if these folks were to work for genuine social change. However, this is far from the truth. Most wealthy people in the United States are conservative Republicans who do not pretend to be change agents. And they exert far greater power and influence in American society than the Davos and Aspen set. In today's political discourse, the Heritage Foundation and its peers among Right-Wing think tanks and the institutions of the Christian Right wield far more power in setting government policy at both the federal and state levels than the "enlightened elite" Giridharadas writes ll Clinton's central role in making the issue immeasurably worseIn the author's view, it's not just clueless businessmen or Republicans who are at fault. Bill Clinton also comes in for justifiable criticism. His "Third Way" between left and right effectively reversed the Democratic Party's commitment to helping the less fortunate in our society. Remember mass incarceration? Financial deregulation? So-called welfare "reform?" Bill Clinton institutionalized the neoliberal consensus that Ronald Reagan had brought to the White House a decade previously—and the consequences were devastating, years before Donald Trump entered the political scene. On this point, Giridharadas is right on the money. (Pun intended.)Just for example, deregulation, including the repeal of Glass-Steagall, was among the root causes of the Amazing Recession that struck in 2008. Don't forget that millions lost their homes, and millions more lost their jobs, in that calamitous economic downturn. Democrat or Republican—it doesn't seem to matter. Not a single US President over the past half century has taken any significant step to address America’s growing inequality in wealth and income. Barack Obama was by far the best of them, but he also:** named as his top economic advisers a lot of of the same people whose policies in the 90s brought down the economy in the 2000s;** prevented the prosecution of the bankers who caused the crash; and**failed to question the prevailing bipartisan love affair with Corporate America.Who will lead society toward viable solutions?Here's the crux of the matter, as Giridharadas sees it: "What is at stake is whether the reform of our common life is led by governments elected by and accountable to the people, or rather by wealthy elites claiming to know our best interests." It doesn't matter how well-intentioned they might create themselves out to be. If they don't actively work to raise estate and income taxes, drive personal cash out of politics, provide universal free healthcare, and work to elect people committed to serving the majority of America's people, they're part of the problem. Nothing else they do can be a solution. And to that I say amen.What other reviewers say about the book** In his review of the book, Joseph Stieglitz notes that "Giridharadas is careful not to offend. He writes on two levels—seemingly tactful and subtle—but ultimately he presents a devastating portrait of a whole class, one easier to satirize than to reform."** Kirkus Reviews leads its commentary with this: "Give a hungry man a fish, and you obtain to pat yourself on the back—and take a tax deduction." The review concludes that Winners Take All is "A provocative critique of the kind of modern, feel-good giving that addresses symptoms and not causes."** Writing in Forbes, B Lab co-founder and managing partner Jay Coen Gilbert terms Winners Take All a "new and necessary book." Before launching into a defense of Certified B Corporations, Gilbert notes that "In provocative style and with compelling substance, Giridharadas speaks truth to power, calling elites to acc for giving so much lip service to 'changing the world,' while mostly upholding an unacceptable status quo."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World [Book]  2019-12-6 18:1

    Awareness is finally developing that these are stressful times. Anand Giridharadas’ Winners Take All is a rich excursion into the evolution of that awareness among the gentry and their different forms of generosity with philanthropy and business activism aimed at making things better without challenging their advantages. “In the summer of 2015, I stood anxiously at a podium in Aspen, Colorado, wondering what happens when you tell a roomful of rich and strong people that they are not the saviors they think they are. Four years earlier, I had been named a Henry Crown Fellow of the Aspen Institute." “That evening at the bar, some cheered me, others glared at me icily, and a private-equity man told me I was an (insulting name edited).” (p. 267)“This book offers a series of portraits of this elite-led, market-friendly, winner-safe social change.” Giridharadas makes the point the concerned elites actions are not a match for the failure that has followed the 1970’s with inequalities doented in Thomas Piketty’s masterpiece, Capital in the Twenty-First Century. “I came upon a line that brought the purpose of my own book into focus.” “Whether such extreme inequality is or is not sustainable,” Piketty writes, “depends not only on the effectiveness of the repressive apparatus but also, and perhaps primarily, on the effectiveness of the apparatus of justification.” That day I decided my book would be an inquiry into the apparatus of justification.”To tell this story he backs up into the transformation that begins with the Shop orientated actions of Ronald Reagan’s ‘Government is the Problem’ in America and Margaret Thatcher’s ‘TINA’ (There Is No Alternative) in Britain on the right, followed shortly thereafter by Bill Clinton’s Third Method and Tony Blair’s “New” Labor Party (1997-2007) on the left. That ideology is often called neoliberalism, and it is, in the framing of the anthropologist David Harvey,* “a theory of political economic practices that proposes that human well-being can best be advanced by liberating individual entrepreneurial freedoms and skills within an institutional framework characterized by powerful personal property rights, free markets, and free trade.” Where the theory goes, “deregulation, privatization, and withdrawal of the state from a lot of locations of social provision” tend to follow, Harvey writes. “While private and individual freedom in the marketplace is guaranteed, each individual is held responsible and accountable for his or her own actions and well-being. This principle extends into the realms of welfare, education, health care, and even pensions.” Then and now: The ratio between CEO compensation to average worker soars from 25:1 in 1970 to 335:1 in 2015.What followed was stagnation for the middle class, the breakdown of the banking system creating the Wall St financial crisis of 2008 and eight years of low growth and high unemployment and as Yascha Mounk notes “that each fresh generation has less faith in democracy as they see it and less faith in prevailing political structures and cries they are much more likely to vote for antisystem parties in a lot of countries around the world.”** Another take on Trump’s election?As Giridharadas’ subtitle states ‘The Elite Charade of Changing the World’ is not an answer. He does not offer solutions just a critique. The globe awaits solutions or revolutions?A amazing read for his wise assessments, the private-equity man was wrong.5 stars* A Brief History of Neoliberalism** The People vs. Democracy: Why Our Freedom Is in Danger and How to Save It.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Summary & ysis of Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World | A Guide to the Book by Anand Giridharadas []  2020-1-19 18:45

    Wow, what a revelation. What a discussion. So a lot of things I had thought are place into words and doentation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 2 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) [Book]  2018-3-18 18:1

    This book collects Problems 5-8 of Timely's Quarterly All Winners Comics from Summer 1942-Spring 1943. As the introduction notes, there was a huge shuffle of talent at Timely as a lot of talented artists and writers were called away to serve their country including the ever-talented Stan ever, the books themselves had a beautiful consistent lineup. Each book features Marvel's huge 3: Captain America, Sub-mariner, and the Human Torch, plus the Destroyer. Three of the four problems contained stories from the Whizzer, while one debuted a forgetable one-shot e stories were mostly centered on wars versus Nazis and the Japanese to a degree rarely seen in these collections. Of the 20 stories in this collection, all but two were Battle related.I'll talk about this book and review each character's performance from my favorite to least favorite:1) The Destroyer: The Destroyer is probably the most underrated golden age character and even with the other huge characters in his here. His stories stand out. Problem 5 is just amazingly well-written as the Destroyer has nearly everyone thinking he's someone else which he uses to amazing result versus the Germans. Problem 6 takes on a truly nasty supervillainous robot. In Problem 7 has the Destroyer singlehandedly thwarting a Nazi invasion of Switzerland (also features a amazing splash page intro). And then in Problem 8 he takes on Hitler. Of course, this isn't the only Hitler guest appearance in the book but the Destroyer takes on Attila the Hun and Satan to essence, the Destroyer could give amazing lessons to Batman. Marvel ought to collect all of his adventures scattered across 9 titles into one book.2) Captain America: I love Captain America and these stories work. Captain America splits his time between battling the Nazis twice and the Japanese twice in imaginative tales of battle with a bit of horror mixed in in a couple stories. The Mock Mikado Strikes" (Issue 6) is the one that stretches credulity. A descendant of a prior Emperor of Japan actually conquers California with the support of a little gang of horseback riding Japanese, though Cap takes care of that.3) Sub-mariner: Sub-mariner has stopped his prewar menacing of Americans, but he's still somewhat edgier than the other heroes in a method that works. Problem 6 is somewhat notable as the Sub-mariner spends most of the problem clothed in a suit as he works undercover for Navy Intelligence. It was somewhat annoying that had Namor choosing to sleep on a land as a major plot point in Problem 5. But it's probably a geeky point.4) The Human Torch: Overall, the Torch stories are all battle stories and typical solid ventures for one of Timely's flagship character. Nothing unique about them. What stands out is the splash in Problem 6 which was just some nice artwork.5) The Whizzer: The Whizzer appeared in 5, 7, and 8. Problem 5 was somewhat noteworthy because the Whizzer wore a cape, which really isn't a amazing accessory for a speedy superhero. The Whizzer the was the only one who fought criminals as opposed to opponent agents, only fighting the Nazis in Problem 7.6) The Black Avenger: Somewhat of a pointless character. The story was decent, but I really had a question as to why they introduced this. The Black Avenger just seemed to be an acrobatic guy in a costume with a black hood. They'd already introduced a guy in a black costume called the Black Marvel. So, not certain the point. The only thing to say for the Black Avenger is that when Spider-man: The Animated Series brought back the Black Marvel, the costume looked more like the Black Avenger'is book also has a couple other features. First, Nazi executions are dealt with and the book pretends that Hitler was guillotining people, but the truth was far worse. Also, as needed by the then-law, each book contained a text story. Two of these were by Mickey Sane who'd go on to write Mike Hammer including a delightful fantasy about a young man going to the moon in Problem 5.Overall, these are some amazing wartime comics and not to be missed for the unbelievable Destroyer stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 3 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) [Book]  2018-3-30 18:1

    not as amazing as the first 2 volumes but still worth under 20 dollars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 2 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) [Book]  2018-3-18 18:1

    The Golden Age's greatest Axis fighters, The Human Torch and Toro, Captain America and Bucky, the Sub-Mariner, the Destroyer, the Whizzer, Miss America and the 3xs are collected once again in this second volume reprinting #5-9 of THE ALL WINNERS COMICS, with scripts by Stan Lee, Carl Burgos, Jack Kirby, Joe Simon and Bill Everett with dynamic artwork from Jack Kirby, Carl Burgos, Al Avison, Joe Simon, Bill Everett, Jack Binder, Paul Gustavson, Mike Sekowsky and Bob is 264 page star-spangled- anthem is a must have for any Marvel comic fan or early comic book enthusiasts who have enjoyed vintage comic collections like @#$% Briefer's The Creature of Frankenstein or Monster Masterworks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 3 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) [Book]  2018-3-30 18:1

    this volume reprints all winners # 9-14 and you obtain alot of standard wartime comics from marvel of the day. WIth heroes like the human torch, the whizzer, destroyer and others providing the action. Every problem features unpolitically correct stories in which the axis foes are depicted as less than human. But that was wartime and overall these remain fun tales from a bygone era. the art is amazing generally if you tried to buy these vintage comic books the price would be enough for amazing downpayment on a house probably so it's a amazing thing they are putting them out in reprint form. another amazing thing is that these are not scans from old comics that look poor but really well remastered panels that look better than ever. The stories are not as complex as todays comics but these superhero tales are still amazing reads and worth checking out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 2 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) [Book]  2018-3-18 18:1

    The marvel heroes take on the axis powers in these globe battle era comics. The artoworks is restored here and you obtain a lot of amazing artists in this one. Bill everret , jack Kirby and a lot of others! The main heroes are all here , the human torch, captain America and the submariner. This is a fine addition to any comics fan library. These are printed on a lot better paper than the original comics and of course 99% of the globe couldn't afford to buy the original comics that these stories are reprinted from. AND those comics are beyond rare. So obtain this one if you wish some solid wartime action!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 2 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) [Book]  2018-3-18 18:1

    This volume is a amazing follow-up to the 1st, beginning with the classic War Problem #5 vs the Sub-Mariner. Amazing story telling and art. This volume features the amazing talents of Burgos and Everett, and others, and the Human Torch material is especially nice to see reprinted for the 1st time in over 65 years. Whoever drew the 2nd Torch story in #6 tried to follow the style of Burgos almost to a T. A must have for the fan of Timely material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 3 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) [Book]  2018-3-30 18:1

    This book collects Problems 9-14 of Timely's Quarterly comic All Winners, featuring stories with the Human Torch, Sub-Mariner, and Captain America from Summer 1943-Winter 1944/1945. The book has some more stories, but if you're looking for the best Golden Age comic books this is a collection to skip. The draft had taken a toll on Timely's writers and also the magazine had a far less engaged editor than the drafted Stan Lee.1) The Human Torch only appeared in five of the six issues, but I think his stories were probably the best. He kept mostly to battling typical battle time foes, but this was done with the gusto. The best story in the book was Sky Demons over America which has the Torch battling the Hawk, who's a superb looking villain. There's a attractive spread of a aircraft carrier early in the story.2) The Submariner probably has the largest artistic issues in the book. His head just seemed to grow more and more out of proportion as the battle went on. Still, his stories aren't half bad. A very nice tale has Sub-mariner trying to convince the Germans he's got tired of fighting for the allies (You could almost believe it with him.) In Problem #11, the Sub-mariner began to use alliterative interjections at an alarming rate (all similar to the sea.) These interjections included Sleeping Salamanders, Shriveling Shrimp, and Galloping Guppies. (All that on one page.) Overall, these aren't amazing Sub-mariner stories but again solid.3) Captain America really has an uneven quality about him. The first three stories are ho hum. Whoever was writing Cap during the battle had lost track of what created the hero so appealing so when we were only getting a plain adventure strip. Things picked up a small bit with Problem #12's "Four Trials of Justice" in which the Red Skull returns to war the Four Freedoms. Problem #13 comes closest to capturing the Simon/Kirby style with a true horror story. Problem 14 is a dumb story that's battle propaganda that depends on people throwing away puzzles when it's found out they're created in Japan.4) The Whizzer: These six-seven page stories were mostly filler. The best one of them was in Problem 13 where a angry scientist sets elaborate traps for Timely's speedster.5) The Destroyer: Without Stan Lee, this hero went downhill. The stories are dull and fairly hoe hum affairs, with a amazing moment or two thrown in. He was only in four problems and that was a e book contains some fine cover art, a few public service announcements featuring Captain America, and some bland text stories. The book has as much politically incorrect material as any other book in the era.Overall, this isn't poor but there are much better collections out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 2 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) [Book]  2018-3-18 18:1

    Perfect 1940s Adventures captures the feel of the Second Globe Battle with a lot of color, action, classic clean storytelling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Golden Age All-Winners Masterworks Vol. 3 (All-Winners Comics (1941-1946)) [Book]  2018-3-30 18:1

    I was surprised when Marvel Comics sent me a copy of the hard covered book, "All Winners #3", and amazed when I saw my name on the cover and reproduction of my early work inside. After all, I did draw for the company and Stan Lee in my younger years. Fans, you will be delighted with this book with the early work of myself and others.Oh yes, I plan to participate in the International Comic-Con in San Diego this July, and look for me in Artists Alley and bring the book and I will be delighted to sign it.With best wishes to all,Allen Bellman

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take It All Off []  2020-6-11 18:0

    Oh I just loved Marco and Addy story!! They had a connection to each other right from the start!! This story will create you laugh and just warms heart at some thing and other times just say what are you doing!! I wish give anything away but I would recommend this book to everyone and I just loved it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take It All Off []  2020-6-11 18:0

    This is the story of Marco and Addy. Marco is a self-made billionaire and Addy is a living-paycheck-to-paycheck waitress living in Florence, Italy. He's a hometown "hero" that stayed after finding success and she is a transplanted American and stayed after falling in love with the zone upon arrival years earlier. Their paths unexpectedly cross during her first night of work at a local gentlemen's club - she needs the job and he's unenthusiastically entertaining business associates. Their first meeting is humorous and sparks definitely fly and he "sees" something in her and offers her his business card and a job with his company. When he arrives at his office early the following Monday morning, Addy is there, waiting for him, to talk about the job. She takes the job and they begin working together - the attraction is definitely still there but neither is willing to act on it, for different reasons (including that she jokingly-though he didn't know it was a joke-told him she was during their first meeting at the club). The more time they spend together, the attraction grows and they finally admit to each other how they feel and finally act on it. They determine they can hold their private lives and business lives separate and continue to move on business as usual. A amazing plan but not successful - thanks to Marco's twin brother, his mother learns about Addy and insists on meeting her. It does not go well as it's well known that Italian mothers are not fan of Americans....the meeting is absolutely poor and Marco is sure their relationship is over before it barely began. Then a family emergency comes up and Addy must return to the States immediately - Marco is there for her and gets her there. But the twists and turns don't stop there.....once they arrive in Oregon, they learn some fresh news that completely floors both of them and it's not handled well (no spoilers!!) and they both believe it's over for good. Addy and Marco need to first realize their feelings for each other and wish to war for their love and their future... It's a amazing read that will not disappoint....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take It All Off []  2020-6-11 18:0

    Take it ALL off is the first book that I have read by this is is Adaline “Addy” Tidwell and Marco Ricci’s aline was fired from a waitress job in Italy while doing the right thing. Adaline doesn’t wish to leave Italy because she loves it there. So she ends up working in a strip club just to be able to pay for her to stay in Italy. She meets Marco at the strip club. He offers her a job. A true job not taking off her clothes. She takes it!I love Addy’s energy and enthusiasm with her fresh job. I also loved that she is a no holds barred kind of girl! She really turns out to be an asset to Marco with his company. She also turns out to be the kind of woman that Marco wants but can’t first it was just about and OMG yes it was that kind of good! Marco is from a traditional Italian family and if mama doesn’t like you then that someone probably won’t be joining the family anytime soon.I really enjoyed reading Take it ALL off and look forward to reading more by this author. For instance Marco has a brother and he needs his story told too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take It All Off []  2020-6-11 18:0

    I really loved Marco and Addy's story. The characters are interesting, well-developed and have chemistry. The story is interesting, well-written with a happily ever after. In addition to receiving an arc, I purchased the book for my collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take It All Off []  2020-6-11 18:0

    I’ve said it before about other books he has written, but here I am saying it again … this book, set in Italy, is one of Weston Parker’s best. I never wish to really detail the storyline in a review; you can obtain that from the book blurb. I will tell you Adeline is a intelligent and powerful heroine who goes after what she wants in life, having grown up with no help system aside from her brother, she depends only on herself. Marco is a brilliant and successful businessman who is also a mama’s boy, but not at all in a poor way. He has a twin brother who is also a amazing guy, and who encourages Marco to embrace life outside of just dy and Marco meet in a special method and their relationship is a pleasure to learn about. These two have sizzling hot chemistry, intelligent banter, and a sense of humor like every amazing relationship needs. There are a couple of huge obstacles that must be dealt with on the method to the well-earned HEA. This book has some unbelievable secondary characters. (I’m wondering what Aldo and Elena would be like together!) The author’s style is so simple to read, it’s like enjoying hazelnut Gelato on a warm summer day … Delicious, decadent, and just so amazing you can’t resist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take It All Off []  2020-6-11 18:0

    Another amazing one from the author. Really like the powerful heroine. The character is alpha but has that unbelievable tenderness when needed. I highly recommend this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take It All Off []  2020-6-11 18:0

    The story line was always saying hold reading and it deserves more than 5 stars. I enjoyed it so much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take It All Off []  2020-6-11 18:0

    Marco Ricci, thirty-four, always knew he wanted to go into business. His father gave him valuable tip at an early age by explaining the importance of learning English if business were to be his chosen path. Marco grew up and went on to build Ricci Logistics, and today he is a billionaire. Despite his large international success, Marco has maintained his corporate offices in his hometown of Florence, Italy, and has become something of a local legend. Raised to be a amazing Italian son, he maintains a close relationship with his widowed mother. Her drama keeps life interesting, but he can’t imagine life without her. Although she is fiercely independent, he and his brother are constantly in contact with her and looking out for her do, his identical twin, takes after their mother in the drama department. Although the brothers may look alike, their personalities differ. While Aldo is always looking for the next date or the next adrenaline rush, Marco can’t seem to pry himself away from his work. Regardless of their differences, the brothers remain very tight. They spend all their free time together. Both are adamant that they will not be marrying and having babies anytime soon, if at all, much to their mother’s aline Tidwell fell in love with the town of Florence when she arrived nearly five years ago, and despite her dream of travelling the world, Florence felt like home – and it remains her home for now. She loves the countryside, the architecture, and the passion of the locals. Although she misses her beloved brother Kyle back in Portland, Oregon, she is following her heart. Since her arrival, though, she has always lived paycheck to paycheck, and as such has always been at risk of running out of cash and having to give up her dream and return home. Though Kyle would do anything to help her dream, she is too independent to become a burden to him. So when Addy loses her job suddenly, she finds herself in a bind. With rent due and no time for job hunting, she has three choices: ask Kyle for a loan, return home and give up her dream, or take the job her roommate offers her. Her roommate Elena dances at an exclusive strip club. Addy refuses to strip, but finally concedes and agrees to wait tables at the club to score fast cash. She has difficulty getting through her first shift, though, when she discovers just how handsy the customers are.When Marco scores a huge deal, he offers his to celebrate by showing his fresh partners a amazing time in Florence. Although not his cup of tea, he agrees to take the group of Chinese businessmen to a strip club at the end of an evening of wining and dining, taking a seat himself in a quiet corner away from the activity. He is startled by an mad waitress that appears next to him at the bar, but is struck first by her beauty, and then by her intelligence, when they engage in a brief conversation. Going on gut instinct, he offers her a job once her learns of her ither Marco nor Addy is looking for anything serious when they give into their attraction. Neither wants marriage and children. But as they continue to have fun one another, it doesn’t matter how they define what they mean to one another. It becomes a relationship of sorts. But Marco knows that whatever he and Addy have won’t pass his mother’s scrutiny for one very easy reason: Addy isn’t Italian. And that knowledge means that the relationship will never effect in marriage. Yet love finds him and Addy even though they aren’t ready for it and have a hard time recognizing it. The couple eventually earns a attractive rco and Addy’s story is about family and following your dreams, and the culture and beauty of Florence enrich their story. It is nicely written. The plot is somewhat complex. The characters are nicely developed. It is written in first person. The POV alternates between Marco and Addy. I rate this book four stars.I received a free advance copy of this book and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take It All Off []  2020-6-11 18:0

    Perfect writing. I really enjoyed this book. Loved all the characters. Would love to read my a book about Aldo NB and Kyle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take It All Off []  2020-6-11 18:0

    This book was great! I enjoyed reading this book. Addy is in Italy working and loving the country. She gets fired from the restaurant and needs a fresh job. She meets Marco in a bar and he offers her a job. Excitement fills Addy and she excels at this job,but she also gets close to Marco ly trying not to have a relationship. Why? Because Marco knows momma wish approve of where she comes from. I did feel like the ending was a small rushed. Too much time spent on the y parts and not enough time on the relationships of the characters. Like the twin brothers, mother son relationship, and the girlfriend mother relationship. The book does have you feeling the characters' feelings and emotions. I cried. Amazing read! *** I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book. All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s. ***

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's All About Impact: The Winners of Over 100 Majors Prove It []  2020-7-12 18:46

    The concept of no lateral movement off of the golf ball has helped me create better contact. It is related to Sean foley's teaching. Recognizing the three common errors at impact is essential,information and has helped me better understand the importance of the impact position.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's All About Impact: The Winners of Over 100 Majors Prove It []  2020-7-12 18:46

    This book is written from a Golfer's perspective. It is very clever in the method it disregards so a lot of varied elements of the swings of the top players in the globe and concentrates instead on the one or two aspects of the swing that the author regards as the heartbeat of the swing, namely the orientation and positions of the body at the moment of truth (impact), the orientation of the shoulders throughout the swing and the angle of the body at the top of the om a practical point and to reinforce the foregoing, it propagates some very amazing drills to groove the swing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's All About Impact: The Winners of Over 100 Majors Prove It []  2020-7-12 18:46

    There are those who will talk poor about this book because they don't understand it. It is necessary to note that everybody swings different. All the amazing golfers each has a special swing, but they all have one thing in common. That is the secret of a excellent golf shot- the impact position. This book gives drills and instruction to obtain to that impact position. The concept isn't hard to learn. The info in the book may be overwhelming, but it is necessary to understand the concept. Because most golfers haven't felt a proper impact position, this concept will be very new. I highly recommend to absorb the info in this book. I recommend to feel the impact position. Once you obtain that feeling, everything will fall into place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's All About Impact: The Winners of Over 100 Majors Prove It []  2020-7-12 18:46

    Andrew shows amazing insight into what past champions really do in their swings. Amazing impact is a must in all amazing swings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's All About Impact: The Winners of Over 100 Majors Prove It []  2020-7-12 18:46

    It's All About Impact is a well thought out golf book. I like his golf instruction videos and I liked this well illustrated book. Practice what Andrew Rice recommends and you will hit your golf better. It support me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's All About Impact: The Winners of Over 100 Majors Prove It []  2020-7-12 18:46

    This book is solid. Easy instruction that is simple to implement. I search that refer to it often.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's All About Impact: The Winners of Over 100 Majors Prove It []  2020-7-12 18:46

    Amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's All About Impact: The Winners of Over 100 Majors Prove It []  2020-7-12 18:46

    Amazing follow-up on shipping and confirmation of delivery. Also added extra recommendations of how to use the product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's All About Impact: The Winners of Over 100 Majors Prove It []  2020-7-12 18:46

    I agree with this impact concept. The golfer still needs to swing the club.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    It's All About Impact: The Winners of Over 100 Majors Prove It []  2020-7-12 18:46

    Andrew Rice not a household name for everybody maybe but well worth a read. Read the book and improve your understanding of the android game of golf

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Never Quit []  2020-1-16 22:47

    This post "Hard to Search a Friend" album is even more mellow and more depressing. This album is a logical transition from the previous; however, I might have hoped that David Bazan would have been lifted further out of his somewhat depressed musical sound. Don't obtain me wrong I often like sad, even depressing music; however, I happened to prefer his slightly more upbeat songs on the previous album. This is no doubt still an excelent work (thus 5 stars) and should be listened to by anyone who enjoys mellow/lo-fi/indie type rock. Definately reminds me of Death Cab For Cutie, and if you slowed Pavement down about 100MPH they might even search some neat is albums genius comes completely from passion and lyricism. You know David Bazan means what he is singing, and he has written his true thoughts and feelings so plainly that you feel like a close friend. He makes himself extremely vunerable for the sake of his music.Highlights for me on this album were Easy Economics, To Protect the Family Name, and Eye on the Finish Line. Probably Winners Never Quite too, but now I've already listed half the album. If you liked Hard to Search a Mate you'll like this, but you may wish to check out his previous work first. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Never Quit []  2020-1-16 22:47

    PEDRO THE LION is critically acclaimed and often held up as an example of where folk/emo can/should be going. This rating is more of a composite of a lyrical and musical review. The melody here is amazing and as a huge fan of this style, I have fun it immensely. Lyrically, I search this album an absolutely depressing experience. Yeah, I know he is telling a story of a man's downward spiral. That is depressing by nature. But this is just a bit too much for me. Something about his lyrics disturb me to the point of not really wanting to listen to the album-and that is counterproductive. I guess I'm no longer one of those people who 'enjoys' being depressed by melody and feeling somehow smarter and wiser for the experience. No thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    פשוט לתפעול 👌🏾

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    אפליקציה נוחה לשימוש וממש מגניבה

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    אפליקצייה ממש מהירה ונוחה, משתמשת בה כל יום כמעט אין לי מושג איך הייתי מסתדרת בלעדייה.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Never Quit []  2020-1-16 22:47

    This is a terrific album. The story itself is such a cool concept, then to surround the story with amazing guitar work, and perfect drums...Mellow but meaningful. He compliments the slow songs with the quick paced tunes like Easy Economics, A Mind of Her Own, and Never Leave a Job Half Done. Altogether an awesome album. He's also a amazing guy in person, which makes listening to this album even more enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Never Quit []  2020-1-16 22:47

    I heard perdo the lion a few years ago on a bmx video,it was the song a mind of her own,I just really liked it,so after time went on my brother bought this album,not having heard anything else from pedro the lion except that one song we just hoped the other songs on the cd would be as amazing as a mind of her own,once the cd arrived,we listened to it and neither of us said a word,just listened to it a few times through,i didnt know what he was thinking but i was think..wow i couldnt believe i had never thought to buy this album sooner,i asked my brother what he thought of it and he said he really liked it,he isnt much into melody at all,but he has gotten really into pedro the lion,(as have i)and he has bought all their albums over the past year,its just cool to me to be able to listen to something various than my usual punk type is album is remarkable,its got smooth melodic reminds me of something you would listen to while taking a walk with a mate through a field on a summer afternoon,davids voice it one of the best i have heard in a long time,and his style on the guitar is slow but smooth.He tells stories,some of them are hard to understand exactly what he's talking about,but after a few times of hearing it,you begin to take his point of view on is is one of the greatest albums i have heard in a really long time,i would recomend this album and also another one of my favorite Perdro the lion albums "The Only Reason I Feel Secure"If you obtain a possibility to listen to this album,you will see some things differently,and strangly this album never seems to obtain old.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    This application is amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    אפליקציה מאד איטית

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    Smooth

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    ( ˘ ³˘)♥

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    נהדרת! קל ופשוט להזמין!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    It's very amazing app. I love it 👍👍👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    אחלה אפליקציה כשאתה במאנצ

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    קל לשימוש ומאוד אפקטיבי, הזמנתי לצורן והשליח הגיע ממש מהר, ממש ממליצה :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    Life changing app!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Take [App]  2021-1-22 21:32

    מומלץ ביותר, אפליקציה נוחה מאוד.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Never Quit []  2020-1-16 22:47

    David Bazan is a modern day master of song writing. The songs all include the hero (in this case) a drunken man who has fallen from grace but each song manages to add another dimension to the story. Bazan's deft guitar work employs repetitive guitar riffs, that actually manage to add an air of dispair to the work. His low, almost slurred words and often cryptic messages futher tip at an inebriated man. Also interesting is the fact that Bazan never uses names instead using I, you, they or gender to refer to his subjects. The somber writing, melodies and instrumentation are bare and comfortless like the man's soul. Ocasionally, Bazan's voice rises above the murky depths of depression, but very briefly. Among the standouts are the opening song "Slow and Steady Wins The Race" and "Simple economics" both lend insight into the spiritual and political side of life. Bazan conjures up strong photos throughout. Fans of Damien Jurado and 764 Character would appreciate Pedro The Lion as I do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Never Quit []  2020-1-16 22:47

    this is a amazing album, probably one of the top 20 or so from its year, but it isn't as brilliant as some of their older music. the slow and depressing songs are balanced by the faster ones nicely, but it lacks something, maybe consistency, that the previous albums had. lyrically, it is unbelievable and painful, and the instrumental portion is definitely not lacking, but (like modest mouse and 764-HERO) this album sounds a small bit too much like a studio gem and less like a basement diamond. i would still highly reccomend it, but spend your cash on the other albums by them first.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Chapel Int'l Houston [App]  2018-11-13 13:8

    I love this application and I can't wait to fully discover it. Thank you Jesus and kudos to the technical department for coming with this amazing ideal.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Never Quit []  2020-1-16 22:47

    This short album seems to be the bands most successful "concept" album. Concept in the sense that the whole album seems to be a chilling tale of a man who kills his wife. At first listen, when still getting to know the album for the musical aspect, it is very pleasant. But i specifically remember truely listening to the lyrics for the first time and having to begin the songs over to create sure i heard them correctly. This christian rock band, that is known to me by making very pleasant and mellow music, wrote some very disturing lyrics. This juxtaposition of an extemist "bad" person to present how to more or less be a "good" person, to me is genius. Or perhaps im method off base, I dunno, thats just what i got from it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Chapel Int'l Houston [App]  2018-11-13 13:8

    I am finding this really interesting..thank you Jesus for wisdom which you gave to mankind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Never Quit []  2020-1-16 22:47

    While sounding nothing like the 1983 REM, this release has very meaningful lyrics. They aren't "Nobody loves me" lyrics, because the entire album is supposed to be the globe through the eyes of someone else who is not a member of the band. Each song has a various pace, instrumentation, and style to it. Some are wonderfully slow and beautiful, while others are upbeat and ones that you can tap your feet to. The sound is so depressing for the most part, and rightfully so. The album is about a politician who cares more about winning than anything else. He ends up killing his wife to cover up what he's done and goes to jail. At the end he realizes the mistakes he's made, and is ready to give life another shot. David Bazan is basically trying to present how messed up the globe is, and how a life in politics can really screw up a person's life. He does so perfectly with some of the most attractive yet depressing songs you will ever hear. This album is a work of art.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Never Quit []  2020-1-16 22:47

    First off I have to say that this is one of the best things I've heard in 2000. Flat out brilliant, hands down. Everything is stripped down to the barest bones. The band is a trio. All the melodic lines are easy and unadorned (but with plenty of hooks) and David Bazan sings with a weary intensity without ever raising his voice. the songs themselves seethe. the album is a parable about hypocrisy and redemption, that I think somebody else has already outlined here so I won't bother. It's just amazing songwriting. David Bazan has got the uncanny ability to paint really complex emotional portraits in just a few well placed words and then frame them in exquisite yet easy music. I've listened to it nonstop all weekend. (the "when you're nothing/ but a boyfriend..." bridge in "Simple Economics" and the truly stunning murder story of the title track ("bloodstains on the carpet/ blodstains on my hands/ drag her towards the kitchen/ hide the evidence....She almost ruined everything...." just floor me) But I do have to say that I think that a bit too much is being created of the "Christian" aspect of Pedro The Lion's music. I'd really hesitate to call them a "Christian Band". Certainly David Bazan's private spiritual convictions inform his melody greatly, but it's the narrative of the songs that drive them. The aspects of guilt and redemption which are universal. I think it really does a amazing disservice to his skills marginalize him in that way. I mean, Johnny Money has some deeply felt religious convictions, but nobody would ever think to mark him as solely a Christian artist. And in the end might hold some folks who would really dig this from listening to it. ('cuz remember kids, not everyone holds the same religious beliefs)and it really needs to be listened to. I'm doing it again, right now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winners Never Quit []  2020-1-16 22:47

    David Bazan, who is now touring under his own name, has been writing creatively brilliant songs for years. However, I would strongly argue that this album is the pinnacle of his work. Though musically this is not his best, as a contextual work it is a brilliantly woven narrative that challenges human understandings of morality and, more specifically, the Christian understanding of salvation. It beckons the listener to delve deeper into every song, and each song clearly expresses the emotions of the characters within the ease be aware that understanding the narrative theme and becoming emotionally wrapped in the depth of the story itself will take more than a few listens. But I guarantee that, after giving this a chance, you will obtain past the lack of ear candy, and realize how masterfully each song is critical both musically and lyrically to this "prodigal son" like narrative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahrvo- Discover Stock Market Winners [App]  2018-4-17 13:8

    I found the Ahrvo Application to be very useful. I was consistently been able to search profitable investment ideas. The stock scoring system makes it easily to search a companies value, growth, quality or momentum characteristics. I'd recommend to anyone that lacks the time or knowledge to create profitable investments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Winners: A Horseplayer's Guide []  2020-6-10 19:7

    The book was Okay, basically he talked a lot about his experiences throughout his years as a handicapper. I guess I learned a few hints but this book was not what I expected it to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Winners: A Horseplayer's Guide []  2020-6-10 19:7

    Very amazing book for those looking for a various handicapping style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Does It: Winners & Favorites []  2020-11-14 19:36

    This a lovely book! It is written beautifully, illustrated nicely , and a most enjoyable read. Can't wait to obtain in the kitchen. Thank you so much for this delightful book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Winners: A Horseplayer's Guide []  2020-6-10 19:7

    Amazing material that is useful, and straight to the point. This book was worth the cash spent, a lot of value teachings on fundamentals that will definitely create you a champion at the track.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Winners: A Horseplayer's Guide []  2020-6-10 19:7

    If you are interested in buying any type of info to create you money, this is prerequisite reading material. The objectives described in this book can cross a lot of various investment lines, from true estate to stock markets to playing poker. I enjoyed the read and search it useful when ever I encounter someone selling me anything. I would call it the tutorial to "Buyer Beware".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Does It: Winners & Favorites []  2020-11-14 19:36

    The pictures and the recipes are excellent. I wanted simple recipes and this book provides them. Patty Roper always does an perfect job with her recipes and entertaining ideas. This book is a amazing Southern cookbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahrvo- Discover Stock Market Winners [App]  2018-4-17 13:8

    The application was beautiful successful at identifying profitable investments. I have fun the "swiping" theme and that you can customize your news feed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahrvo- Discover Stock Market Winners [App]  2018-4-17 13:8

    Must pay for service, 1 week free trial not even worth it for information you could easily obtain on Yahoo finance

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Winners: A Horseplayer's Guide []  2020-6-10 19:7

    If you wish to improve your luck at the track, this is a amazing book to begin with. Although the author claims that there is no sure method to pick em, he does explain all the deciding factors. I liked his stories (his experience and others'). If you wish to obtain serious about playing the track, it takes comparative and ytical decision-making. And this author shows you how to yze horses' track records - with lots of examples (which i liked). It's a amazing read (just for the stories alone) and you don't have to read the chapters sequentially. It's a amazing "reference" book too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Winners: A Horseplayer's Guide []  2020-6-10 19:7

    I read gambling books. This is a well known book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Does It: Winners & Favorites []  2020-11-14 19:36

    Really is simple and delicious.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahrvo- Discover Stock Market Winners [App]  2018-4-17 13:8

    Ahrvo is for serious investors who wish to search profitable investing ideas in a fraction of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Winners: A Horseplayer's Guide []  2020-6-10 19:7

    My father inlaw is a handicapper and I gave it to him as present. Dangerous with a powerful opinion but it paid off and gave it two thumbs up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Winners: A Horseplayer's Guide []  2020-6-10 19:7

    An old, dated theoretical book. Yet, a lot of lessons are timeless for a novice horseplayer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Does It: Winners & Favorites []  2020-11-14 19:36

    This is a attractive book. The recipes are unbelievable but my favorite part is the attractive photos. So a lot of amazing ideas!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Does It: Winners & Favorites []  2020-11-14 19:36

    Amazing cookbook! Every recipe I have tried was wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahrvo- Discover Stock Market Winners [App]  2018-4-17 13:8

    Amazing app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahrvo- Discover Stock Market Winners [App]  2018-4-17 13:8

    I've loved Ahrvo over the past few days. I've done dozens of meaningful research and it's amazing to have it all at my fingertips. Definitely recommended! Amazing information daily.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ahrvo- Discover Stock Market Winners [App]  2018-4-17 13:8

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Winners: A Horseplayer's Guide []  2020-6-10 19:7

    Amazing book, brought out some fresh perspective other books didn’t touch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Picking Winners: A Horseplayer's Guide []  2020-6-10 19:7

    Although the methodology outlined in the book is now available in racing publications, the insights provided by the author concerning this unbelievable android game of thoroughbred racing are still meaningful, and would benefit all levels of players, from novice to expert.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Does It: Winners & Favorites []  2020-11-14 19:36

    Super cookbook. Everythin I tried was wonderful. Amazing pics too. [email protected]#$%! were in a regular hardback and not padded cover.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Does It: Winners & Favorites []  2020-11-14 19:36

    Amazing recipes and beautiful pictures

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Does It: Winners & Favorites []  2020-11-14 19:36

    My cooking club selected this cookbook latest year and we all love it! I'm now giving it as a bonus as the recipes are simple and very family friendly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucky Winner - Real & Real Winners Everyday [App]  2020-8-1 13:29

    Doesnt pay much very boring slots always land almost the same everytime i think its like all the other called paying android games it will never pay out. I dont know why google allows lyong cheating android games on their web website

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucky Winner - Real & Real Winners Everyday [App]  2020-8-1 13:29

    I'm still exploring the app, but so far I like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucky Winner - Real & Real Winners Everyday [App]  2020-8-1 13:29

    God apps

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucky Winner - Real & Real Winners Everyday [App]  2020-8-1 13:29

    So far so amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucky Winner - Real & Real Winners Everyday [App]  2020-8-1 13:29

    Wow fun !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucky Winner - Real & Real Winners Everyday [App]  2020-8-1 13:29

    Super

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucky Winner - Real & Real Winners Everyday [App]  2020-8-1 13:29

    Love the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucky Winner - Real & Real Winners Everyday [App]  2020-8-1 13:29

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucky Winner - Real & Real Winners Everyday [App]  2020-8-1 13:29

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lucky Winner - Real & Real Winners Everyday [App]  2020-8-1 13:29

    Entertaining

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386