Read wish i was there reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all wish i was there reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    I feel I know Susie Kelly, although we have never met. We have much in common. We are roughly the same age, both battle babies; we seem to have the same attitude to animals and to food; we both live in France; we have both undertaken epic walks and written books about that. We have corresponded and discovered a lot of coincidences between our lives. We even seem to have both place our houses on the shop at the same time.But a lot of others who have read Susie's books will also feel they know her. This is the tag of an exceptional writer - Susie draws you into her globe and you experience the adventure with the case of "I Want I Could Say I Was Sorry" this means that we suffer, as Susie clearly did so often during her early life and also while dredging up the painful memories to place them on paper. Susie's writing is so evocative that once again we are with her, having to decide between parents at the age of seven and at zero mins notice; finding that the chosen parent sends her away from the chosen country to a dreadful school run by nasty nuns; being told that she will now be going back to Kenya and, oh, by the way, Daddy is now remarried and has even had another child; being plunged into a household run by a neurotic and volatile stepmother and a father who is distant because he presumably does not wish to rock the boat. And don't mention the mother!As an adult, Susie plunges into another situation with which I am very familiar - she marries into an Italian family. I have not done that, but one of my daughters has, and Susie's experiences as a non-Italian daughter-in-law were very recognisable and not to be recommended.I could go on with more about Susie's relationships with her mother, her father and her stepmother, how all those ended and the traumas involved. But I have said enough and do not wish to tell you the whole story before you read it. All I will say is Obtain This Book. There are not as a lot of laughs in it as there are in other Susie Kelly books, but I guarantee it will create you cry. Whether or not you have experienced anything related you will come out in sympathy. If you have not, you will thank your lucky stars that your childhood and early adult years were not like this. There are of course satisfied times but the miracle is that Susie has survived to become the person she is and to entertain and inform us in that unbelievable method she has.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    This is a book about the life of the author( an autobiography). I don't usually go for autobiographies, this one was okay. It takes put in Kenya, England and other places. This is the most saddest book I've ever read!!! For her to be growing up with such horrible people, her kid hood was very depressing!! I can say that this author is a very amazing writer and I recommend it, you won't obtain bored!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Oh dear! Such a disappointment! This is an adolescent whine about all the things she didn't have - not a thing about any one else. A whine about her family, about her bike, about how far she had to go to ride her horse, about her marriage, about England, about .. you name it. Not any recognition of what was going on around her; what was going on in her family; what were the choices she actually had. So sad; she missed the point.

    0  


    Add your opinion on wish i was there or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    I created a vow when I turned 70 that I would not review a book unless I could give it 5 stars. There are too a lot of amazing books to waste time on the poor ones. Well, I'm breaking that vow here because I think this book is important. It is an emotional journey that tips that it's going to be a cross-cultural one. The emotional journey is painful and beautifully delineated. The kid Susie is mistreated by her father and her step-mother, and her true mother abandons her early on. No one in either side of her family tells the truth to her, probably not to anyone. Whatever seems right to her is wrong to her parents or to someone, and she grows up full of self-doubt. She finds solace in the help of a lot of amazing people in her life, who recognize that she is being mistreated and test to help. She also finds solace, as a lot of young girls do, in the love of horses. Alas, even that love is used as a threat to create her "behave." She is often left to wonder what she did wrong that brought such a violent response. As a young woman, seeking to escape her home, she marries poorly, and as a young mother is left alone to solve issues that even had her father helped her were enormous. She finds her lost mother, briefly, and that is a happiness. When her father dies suddenly, she is devastated. But he chop her off without explanation (again) before his death, so she is once more left wondering. Owing to that ellipsis, the . . . , the title seems ironic - "I want I could say - but I can't because I'm not." But actually, at the end, she is still self-doubting. The title is really more: "I want I could say I'm sorry, but they died before I could." As the story is told, she has nothing on earth to apologize to the cross-cultural promise: It is a book about Africa that is not. Susie is a white kid in white Africa, and never knows a black person except as a servant, never attempts to know one. Given her upbringing and struggles, that drop-out is understandable, but it really should have been addressed. Today, you can't in conscience write a book about Africa that leaves out the black experience (oh, she mentions Mau-Mau briefly, and gives the nod to Kenyatta, but this is just scene dressing). Just as you can't write about 17th Century America and leave out Native Americans. Or write about a Deep South that is nothing but a round of julep parties. This story could have taken put as easily in Dorset as in Kenya. For this and for the back-pedalling at the end, I was disappointed in this book. You may say, as I often do, that you can't trash a work because of what it isn't. But this book tips at things it does not deliver. The writing is beautiful, and what there is of self-questioning is interesting. But alas, the promises dribble away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Like other amazing books I have read, this one stayed with me for a long time. I have read a few of her other books before this one, and I search myself wondering how knowing more about her childhood would have affected my perception of her and her adult adventures in France. I ordered this book because I enjoyed her other books and I like reading about other people's lives that are so various from my own. This book was darker but this woman is definitely very powerful and a survivor. My heart went out to Susie Kelly and I search myself wanting very much to meet her and have a conversation - perhaps because the book left me wanting more. (and I would tell her not to be so hard on herself)/ I would have liked some more info about her mother and her father but given the (lack of) communication in her family, perhaps she doesn't have more to write. I would definitely recommend this but agree with another reviewer that while it may begin a small slow at the beginning, it definitely picks up when the family moves to Kenya. I couldn't wait to search out how this book ended. I hope she writes a transition from her life in Kenya to where she is today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Susie Kelly's books have a true charm about them. Unlike some of her other writings, this book is not a cookbook, but rather a sort of autobiography covering her life from age about 8 to roughly into her 20's. As an autobiography, I found it interesting, especially since it takes put partly in Kenya, partly in Europe and partly in England. The societal contrasts of these three cultures create interesting reading, even as revealed by a not yet mature young girl. Although she does not explicitly emphasize her rebellious nature, still, it is clear she lived life with her own very independent private style, sometimes triumphing over adversity, other times burdened by it, and other times victimized by it. She makes no apologies, indeed, seems to almost unaware that some of her unhappy misfortunes were the consequences of her own (poor) choices. I have four daughters (not to mention six sons), and I can see Suzie as one of my own daughters, who was independent as a young girl, and after suffering some hard life knocks, finally matured at about age 30 ... and has been a responsible and "solid citizen" ever since. I sense in Suzie's writings a spirit kindred to my daughter's: a sort of rebellious (but not using that word herself) nature, developing a late maturity into a solid member of society. In that sense, this book is an unfinished work ... and, Suzie, I encourage you to write a sequel describing your life's next chapter.Did the book keep my interest? Well, I started it about 10 AM and did not place it down until I read the latest page at about 6:30 PM the same day! I gave the book 4 stars because it is an unfinished story. Suzie, I encourage you to write the next volume companion to this one, perhaps covering the next twenty years?I gave this book only 4 stars because it is an unfunished work,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    I have such mixed feelings about this memoir. The stories of growing up in a Kenya that was moving from colonial rule to independence were fascinating and quite related to my experiences living in Nairobi as a teenager in the early 1960s. But whereas my family was loving and supportive, the author recounts a family that was trapped in a cold. rigid, non-communicative set of norms. She then marries into an Italian family that does not accept her. Both were downright mean. The East Africa stories were enjoyable, frequently funny, and well written. I just felt so sad reading of the dysfunctional families that I ended up both drawn to the book and wanting to place it down depending on the section I was vertheless, it is well written. You can't un-ring the bell and she can't take back her life. So if you can tolerate the meanness, you will may search this interesting and educational about various times, locations and societal norms.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Yes, wondering what others who gave this book a poor review thought they were buying. It is not an simple read, by any means, but is intriguing. I'm not sure the life was as poor as the author makes it sound in places. It is not about Africa, folks; it's about Susie Kelly's youth and it is well-written. You cannot deny that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    Another amazing read from Susie Kelly! I have several of the authors books and have thoroughly enjoyed them. I Want I Could Say I'm Sorry gives you a look into Susie's early life in the UK and Kenya. After being asked to create a life changing decision at the young age of 9, she is unwillingly sent back to the UK to live with her father's parents and then into a Catholic boarding school. The story takes you on into Susie's adult life as she enters into marriage. Not the best of cirtances to say the least. It seems that she can never catch a break. The author tells the story without needing sympathy for herself and her cirtances. It's a beautifully written memoir. I have gone right into reading the sequel- Safari Ants, Baggy Pants And Elephants: A Kenyan Odyssey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry [Book]  2018-3-18 18:0

    It's hard to believe the Susie Kelly described in this book is the same Susie Kelly who lived and wrote Swallows and Robins. I liked that one and bought this to know more about her. I learned too much as she created one wrong life choice after another. She'll a amazing writer and obviously a survivor but this period in her life is a trip I'm sorry I took - almost to sad to describe. Maybe I'll test one more???

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down []  2020-9-15 20:11

    If you only buy one R.L.Burnside disc then buy Burnside on Burnside to hear his genuine sound. Overall this is a amazing performance by Mr Burnside and the sound quality is beautiful darn good, however there are a lot of additional "enhancements" tossed in along the method that can be annoying if you allow them obtain to you. Fortunately those can be tuned out by those of us with selective hearing. So if you are a Burnside fan as I am then buy this enjoyable disc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down []  2020-9-15 20:11

    This is now my number 2 R. L. Burnside album--number 1 is still " Come on In ." This one has some amazing songs, including especially "Got Messed Up" and "My Eyes Hold Me in Trouble." Every Burnside fan needs this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down []  2020-9-15 20:11

    This RL Burnside recording is an all-time classic. Old School blues with Fresh School studio techniques: ripping, haunting, and hypnotic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down []  2020-9-15 20:11

    But I like the mixture of blues, hip-hop, and electronica. I like straight blues, too. I think these mixes did, and will continue, to introduce RL Burnside's melody to a fresh generation of listeners. To me, that is a amazing thing. I am fortunate to have a close mate who is deeply into the blues who introduced me to RL several years before this recording. When I listen to this it makes me feel like dancing, not my usual response to the blues. That can't be a poor thing. I say have fun it for what it is and listen to the older recordings, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down []  2020-9-15 20:11

    If you love R L, you will love this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down []  2020-9-15 20:11

    Product was exactly what we wanted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down []  2020-9-15 20:11

    This is one of the few R. L. Burnside albums that comes anywhere close to his live performances in the 90s. Whether it be Proud Larry's in Oxford, Jazz Fest Blues tent, or Turret Records on Decatur St., R. L. delivered a raw, almost gnawing passion whether refering to women, whiskey or fighting. This is the best of the Fat Possum caravan that came out of North Mississippi Hill Country 20 or so years ago. Burn Burnside Burn!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down []  2020-9-15 20:11

    its a small too polished, more like late bb king than burnsides older stuff. The packaging and art is great. The record not scratched, just not my favorite album of his

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down []  2020-9-15 20:11

    If you have the blues, or nothing but the lo-down dirty blues will do.. This is where to look. Something hit me poor just recently, and I knewmI required to hear the voice of a man who sings and plays what he really knows.His short chat about loosing his father, brothers and uncle.. Stunning and real. He is a true man who knows blues too e title song is one of my favorites so far, as I test to obtain a few more cd's, if not all with this voice and what a classic slide, and pickin -guitar.We were lucky to have him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down []  2020-9-15 20:11

    This is an album as blue, as dark, as beaten down as they obtain - few blues recordings are darker. Masterful use of voice, backup musicians and electronics work together perfectly to build the dark blues ... with an occasional number like "My Eyes Hold Me in Trouble" to move into lighter Delta blues. Cuts such as "Hard Time Killing Floor" - speaking of multiple murders within a short time frame - set the context and tone for Burnside's private connection to the spite the judicial use of electronic instruments, this is traditional blues at its best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Was There: Lost Temple of the Aztecs []  2020-11-23 19:24

    I'm an adult, but I found this book very helpful in the study about the Aztecs. The illustrations really support to bring the period to life. It covers some mature subjects though, like human sacrifice that I hope won't disturb children reading this book. A amazing overview about the conquest of Mexico.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Was There: Lost Temple of the Aztecs []  2020-11-23 19:24

    Tanaka attempts to portray Cortez's invasion of Mexico from the persective of the Aztecs. Illustrations are vivid and there is lots of info and meal for discussion in these pages. Minor discrepancies exist, but overall an perfect book to support balance the Western view of history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Was There: Lost Temple of the Aztecs []  2020-11-23 19:24

    This was a more balanced look at how the Spanish conquered the Aztecs and gives amazing info about the Aztec culture and their view of the Spanish invaders. More importantly the book explains how the Aztecs fought back versus the Spanish slow rolling invasion, which is not usually talked about in elementary and middle school social studies/world history classes. Amazing book to obtain a high level overview for 9 to 13 year old kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    So There I Was...Tales from the Flight Line []  2019-12-24 20:17

    Blaine tells about his military career from begin to finish in a humorous and simple going way. The stories are down to earth and you can see the passion this man has for the Canadian Armed Forces, aircraft maintenance, and his fellow mechanics. I spent 38 years in USAF aircraft maintenance and it was surprising to me as to how much of his story I could personally relate to, and the similarities of the two air forces. I see now that we are more alike than not. I was also surprised at the amount of detail that he could recall from his begin in 1981. I started in 1980 and would be hard-pressed to place together a pamphlet on my primary training experience. Mr. McMillan also adds 35 pages of ysis of the current state of the Canadian Armed Forces with recommendations. Again it was surprising to me as to how a lot of of those stuff are related to what the USAF is facing l in all, it was an enjoyable read with experiences that any military aircraft maintainer will be able to relate to and I thoroughly enjoyed the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Was There: Lost Temple of the Aztecs []  2020-11-23 19:24

    I have it for my dougter of 10 years old and she just love it, We read it togheter and the book looks like new.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Was There: Lost Temple of the Aztecs []  2020-11-23 19:24

    If you ever wanted to know what happened when the Aztecs were invaded by Cortez's band of thugs - uhm, I mean "explorers," then Shelley Tanaka's book is the one to read. This book is designed for older kids and teens and gives a fascinating overview of the Aztecs, how their leader Moctezuma was so easily fooled by the offers of goodwill by Cortez, and how Cortez and his men slaughtered the town of Tenochtitlan and eventually built upon it another colony in the Spanish e illustrations by Greg Ruhl are very well maintained, drawn realistically and do not have a cartoon look - nearly photographic!I also enjoyed the flavor of the book. The blood sacrifices that occured at the time were not watered down - we obtain to see where the hearts were thrown! And fresh images of the archeologic digs in Mexico Town were also fascinating and is book is part of the "I Was There" series, five titles illustrated by Greg Rhul.- The Buried Town of Pompeii- In The Time of Knights- Lost Temple of the Aztecs- Secrets of the Mummies- First on the Moon

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry: Stunning Memoir of a 1950s Childhood in Kenya []  2020-11-6 18:35

    Like other amazing books I have read, this one stayed with me for a long time. I have read a few of her other books before this one, and I search myself wondering how knowing more about her childhood would have affected my perception of her and her adult adventures in France. I ordered this book because I enjoyed her other books and I like reading about other people's lives that are so various from my own. This book was darker but this woman is definitely very powerful and a survivor. My heart went out to Susie Kelly and I search myself wanting very much to meet her and have a conversation - perhaps because the book left me wanting more. (and I would tell her not to be so hard on herself)/ I would have liked some more info about her mother and her father but given the (lack of) communication in her family, perhaps she doesn't have more to write. I would definitely recommend this but agree with another reviewer that while it may begin a small slow at the beginning, it definitely picks up when the family moves to Kenya. I couldn't wait to search out how this book ended. I hope she writes a transition from her life in Kenya to where she is today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry: Stunning Memoir of a 1950s Childhood in Kenya []  2020-11-6 18:35

    Another amazing read from Susie Kelly! I have several of the authors books and have thoroughly enjoyed them. I Want I Could Say I'm Sorry gives you a look into Susie's early life in the UK and Kenya. After being asked to create a life changing decision at the young age of 9, she is unwillingly sent back to the UK to live with her father's parents and then into a Catholic boarding school. The story takes you on into Susie's adult life as she enters into marriage. Not the best of cirtances to say the least. It seems that she can never catch a break. The author tells the story without needing sympathy for herself and her cirtances. It's a beautifully written memoir. I have gone right into reading the sequel- Safari Ants, Baggy Pants And Elephants: A Kenyan Odyssey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry: Stunning Memoir of a 1950s Childhood in Kenya []  2020-11-6 18:35

    I feel I know Susie Kelly, although we have never met. We have much in common. We are roughly the same age, both battle babies; we seem to have the same attitude to animals and to food; we both live in France; we have both undertaken epic walks and written books about that. We have corresponded and discovered a lot of coincidences between our lives. We even seem to have both place our houses on the shop at the same time.But a lot of others who have read Susie's books will also feel they know her. This is the tag of an exceptional writer - Susie draws you into her globe and you experience the adventure with the case of "I Want I Could Say I Was Sorry" this means that we suffer, as Susie clearly did so often during her early life and also while dredging up the painful memories to place them on paper. Susie's writing is so evocative that once again we are with her, having to decide between parents at the age of seven and at zero mins notice; finding that the chosen parent sends her away from the chosen country to a dreadful school run by nasty nuns; being told that she will now be going back to Kenya and, oh, by the way, Daddy is now remarried and has even had another child; being plunged into a household run by a neurotic and volatile stepmother and a father who is distant because he presumably does not wish to rock the boat. And don't mention the mother!As an adult, Susie plunges into another situation with which I am very familiar - she marries into an Italian family. I have not done that, but one of my daughters has, and Susie's experiences as a non-Italian daughter-in-law were very recognisable and not to be recommended.I could go on with more about Susie's relationships with her mother, her father and her stepmother, how all those ended and the traumas involved. But I have said enough and do not wish to tell you the whole story before you read it. All I will say is Obtain This Book. There are not as a lot of laughs in it as there are in other Susie Kelly books, but I guarantee it will create you cry. Whether or not you have experienced anything related you will come out in sympathy. If you have not, you will thank your lucky stars that your childhood and early adult years were not like this. There are of course satisfied times but the miracle is that Susie has survived to become the person she is and to entertain and inform us in that unbelievable method she has.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry: Stunning Memoir of a 1950s Childhood in Kenya []  2020-11-6 18:35

    Susie Kelly's books have a true charm about them. Unlike some of her other writings, this book is not a cookbook, but rather a sort of autobiography covering her life from age about 8 to roughly into her 20's. As an autobiography, I found it interesting, especially since it takes put partly in Kenya, partly in Europe and partly in England. The societal contrasts of these three cultures create interesting reading, even as revealed by a not yet mature young girl. Although she does not explicitly emphasize her rebellious nature, still, it is clear she lived life with her own very independent private style, sometimes triumphing over adversity, other times burdened by it, and other times victimized by it. She makes no apologies, indeed, seems to almost unaware that some of her unhappy misfortunes were the consequences of her own (poor) choices. I have four daughters (not to mention six sons), and I can see Suzie as one of my own daughters, who was independent as a young girl, and after suffering some hard life knocks, finally matured at about age 30 ... and has been a responsible and "solid citizen" ever since. I sense in Suzie's writings a spirit kindred to my daughter's: a sort of rebellious (but not using that word herself) nature, developing a late maturity into a solid member of society. In that sense, this book is an unfinished work ... and, Suzie, I encourage you to write a sequel describing your life's next chapter.Did the book keep my interest? Well, I started it about 10 AM and did not place it down until I read the latest page at about 6:30 PM the same day! I gave the book 4 stars because it is an unfinished story. Suzie, I encourage you to write the next volume companion to this one, perhaps covering the next twenty years?I gave this book only 4 stars because it is an unfunished work,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry: Stunning Memoir of a 1950s Childhood in Kenya []  2020-11-6 18:35

    I don't know w when I exactly fell in love with Africa. I was able to go on an Africian Safari for an extended Tim.e in2008, by then, I was in love with that attractive country and always will be. This book was sad from the start, with a kid being forced to create decisions about things she did not l through the book one hopes things will obtain better for her,but it seems that all she does is run into hard brick walls that have no give!As far as wishing she could say she was sorry, she did not do anything but attempt to hold a family together. She had a very difficult life Her Nan was one of the best parts of her life. She truly loved her kids and did the very best she could for them. I am sure they love their mommy It sounds like she finally met a man who was amazing to her a amazing husband and a amazing father to her children. I hope that she can now have fun her life. Perhaps someday when she gets to heaven she will have her apologies waiting for her she did a splendid job

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry: Stunning Memoir of a 1950s Childhood in Kenya []  2020-11-6 18:35

    Oh dear! Such a disappointment! This is an adolescent whine about all the things she didn't have - not a thing about any one else. A whine about her family, about her bike, about how far she had to go to ride her horse, about her marriage, about England, about .. you name it. Not any recognition of what was going on around her; what was going on in her family; what were the choices she actually had. So sad; she missed the point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry: Stunning Memoir of a 1950s Childhood in Kenya []  2020-11-6 18:35

    What a rollercoaster ride this memoir of Susie Kelly’s is. I started reading it because the first chapters appeared at the end of Safari Ants, Baggy Pants and Elephants and I got hooked straight away, so I bought is is the story of a lot of a post WWII dysfunctional family in Africa. It is sad, but riveting. It tells of Susie Kelly’s life growing up as the victim of a broken marriage and the misfit in her father’s second family in the context of a conventional colonial society. Having lived in South Africa myself for 20 years, I know a lot of people with related backgrounds and family e richness of the book is that it is largely set in Kenya and Susie’s love for the country and its people shines through. I didn’t grow up in Africa, but I want I had. Despite the a lot of problems, inequalities and injustices of African colonial life, it was a unbelievable put to be a child. The freedom, the space, the outdoor life, all these were meal for a child’s ded to that, kids often forged deep and lasting relationships with their family servants and these are the most precious of the stories Susie had to tell as she continued to love and value her Kenyan servants in a lot of respects, the memoir is a mystery too. Why was she the misfit? Why did her stepmother hate her? What was the truth she was never allowed to hear? Conventions, manners, pride, what was and wasn’t done were all there to repress discussion and begin dialogue, so feelings exploded without explanation. Not good Susie lived with constant tension and the questions it raised.I read this in a day and loved it for the Africa it took me to; the sense of place, the warmth of so a lot of people in Susie’s life, the entertaining stories about her school years, some of which had me crying with laughter. I also felt her sadness in being unable to solve the mystery; at being unable to talk to her family because there were so a lot of taboos. The contrast between the love she received from others and the cold silence of her family underscored the together, this book is a private and honest window onto a globe and life that has now mostly disappeared and I recommend it highly. Wonderful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry: Stunning Memoir of a 1950s Childhood in Kenya []  2020-11-6 18:35

    A touchingly honest autobiography about growing up in a time when the globe was in amazing transition. The clashing of cultures of countries, and families and eras. Beautifully written giving a view of post battle England and late and post colonial Kenya. I felt that I was there with the author and daughter myself longing to visit, even though I know that the globe has yet changed, several times over, since the time she lived in Kenya. My heart broke for this brave and optimistic small girl, who, in spite of all of the negativity and rejection in her life, found and cherished people and their acts of kindness and love that were equal parts of her life, rather than reject them as irrelevant compared to the pain. I salute the author and her courage to examine her heart rather than sit still with simplistic answers, to search her truth. Bravo for a story so well worth reading and savoring!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry: Stunning Memoir of a 1950s Childhood in Kenya []  2020-11-6 18:35

    This is a unbelievable story of a young girl brought from an England suffering from meal shortages to attractive Kenya not long after WWII. Brought with satisfied parents from the gray roads of England to a colourful vibrant colony where meal was suddenly tasty and plentiful and life was simple with servants, Susie's life was went from idyllic to perplexing all too quickly. You will laugh through your tears and cry through your chuckles. Filled with loving characters from Nan, to Cinderella, to loving Colonists who share their home with a sad small girl, this book shares a happy/sad story far removed from most of our lives (unless we had the luck to move from England to AFrica). I highly recommend this as a carthatic read that you won't be able to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish I Could Say I Was Sorry: Stunning Memoir of a 1950s Childhood in Kenya []  2020-11-6 18:35

    I loved this very well written memoir of a life spent in Kenya and England. The author draws you into her world, and makes it almost impossible to place the book down. Ms. Kelly is a real survivor, very honest, and with no sniveling. Anyone who has lived through step-parents can relate to this memoir. I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish []  2020-1-20 1:42

    I love Amazon Cloud! it plays well on my Samsung G3 phone and on my PC. Its so simple to search and purchase songs or albums.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish []  2020-1-20 1:42

    Love the song

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish []  2020-1-20 1:42

    I feel in love with this song when it first came out. And I love it even more now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish []  2020-1-20 1:42

    As an R and B fan we need more melody like this.I am just a huge fan of this song

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish []  2020-1-20 1:42

    Arrived on time, and was what I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish []  2020-1-20 1:42

    I love this song. It means a lot to me. Buy it you will have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish []  2020-1-20 1:42

    love love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First There Was Silence []  2020-1-22 19:24

    Then you'll have fun this book. I've often found the style of verbal interaction in foreign movies to seem stilted, abrupt and, at times random in thought. Anyway, this book hit me that method too. However, if you obtain past that, the storyline is intriguing and the characters are interesting. That kept me reading and I was glad I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First There Was Silence []  2020-1-22 19:24

    I enjoyed this book. I got lost at times with some of the characters. Either i got them mixed up in my mind or in the text. Overall a amazing job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Grandma Was There []  2020-4-2 18:41

    I love to see a children's book available to speak to those children whose sole caregiver is their grandparent, or other parent that is not their biological parent. There are all various kinds of families, this book touches on one that is becoming more and more the norm. It is touching and vibrant and reaches the heart and soul. It makes a excellent bonus for any caregiver... Don't miss this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Was Jesus []  2020-9-23 21:12

    amazing song . Really like the artists .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Was Jesus []  2020-9-23 21:12

    Awesome !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    & Then There Was You []  2020-11-7 18:26

    A long book, but very interesting. I'm looking forward to part 2 cause Brittany is as crazy as Satan himself. I hope Nasir and Sevyn can create their relationship work. Linnea's Daddy is so conniving, I hope Bryson understand s that she was underage when her Dad created her have that abortion and forgive her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    & Then There Was You []  2020-11-7 18:26

    OMGGGGG.... from begin to finish this was a roller coaster ride!!! Not good small Sevyn didn't know what she gotten herself into with that threesome!!! Nasir done fell for the girl next door and Brittlynn [email protected]#$% allow her right in!! Now everything is all messed up!!Then we have Brycen love sick ass but not with his girlfriend Kendra but with his ex Linnea. Kendra just getting verbally abused and clueless!Looking forward to the next installment! Hope you write quick Tay!Fyi, I'm a fresh reader from this Author... I will check out her catalog while I patiently wait. 😃

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    & Then There Was You []  2020-11-7 18:26

    Nothing like a woman scorned! Brittlynn decided nobody was gonna have Nasir if she couldn't have him. Sevyn deserved everything she received from Nasir and more. There's no question that he genuinely loves her. Brycen has no reason to be upset with Linnea since her dad has told about the abortion because he told her that he didn't wish to hear anything else from the past and they were moving forward. Both couples have a lot to work through to have a satisfied future. Can't wait to read part two.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish []  2020-1-20 1:42

    Amazing song for men experiencing heart break!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish []  2020-1-20 1:42

    Carl Thomas rocked it with this one. He said what we were thinking as we sit back and watch that shorty go thru tough times but theres nothing we can do about it except be there to soften the fall

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I Wish []  2020-1-20 1:42

    Like!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First There Was Silence []  2020-1-22 19:24

    Unbelievable story. Once I started reading, I couldn't stop. The main characters were very relatable and the ways in which they reacted felt real to life for the most part.Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First There Was Silence []  2020-1-22 19:24

    I loved this book.I didn't wish to place it down and couldn't wait to obtain back to it.I recommend this book to everyone it was that good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Grandma Was There []  2020-4-2 18:41

    This book is very touching. Even though I wasn't raised by my grandma, she was a very necessary example of unconditional love and endless service. I think in the globe today, where more and more kids are being raised in whole or in part by people other than their biological mom and dad, it is necessary for them to realize that there are other children out there like them. I recommend this book to anyone who was ever loved by a grandma :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Then There Was Bass []  2020-2-2 22:25

    The only reason to purchase this album would be for Dana Harris' remake of As We Lay. That song is a masterpiece and the music is undeniable. Beat is greatness and bass is on point. There are a few other songs worth listening to like My Baby Daddy and I Wish To Ball, but there's only one classic on here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Was Jesus []  2020-9-23 21:12

    Love this song.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    & Then There Was You []  2020-11-7 18:26

    How you just gonna end it like that. My feelings are damage and I need more! Please tell part 2 to "come quick, Craig's in trouble!"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    & Then There Was You []  2020-11-7 18:26

    I love Ms. Tay’a writing style cause she keeps it real! ...this is some story with drama to the tenth power, but very intriguing. Didn’t realize it would be a cleft, but I’m hanging with it and routing for everyone to obtain their hea. Loved the characters! I hope the villains obtain what’s coming to them. Hurry with part 2!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Then There Was Bass []  2020-2-2 22:25

    Came in and it took so long,but was Fresh I thought it would take a lot less time to obtain the CD .thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Grandma Was There []  2020-4-2 18:41

    This book is so sweet! My children love reading along! I think it is the excellent bonus for grandmas that support out with the grandkids! And don't they all!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First There Was Silence []  2020-1-22 19:24

    The story just rambled on,difficult to follow. I skipped four or five chapters before I could finish reading it. I really didn't like the story

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Was Jesus []  2020-9-23 21:12

    What a unbelievable song. I play it over and over again. Even though they don’t mention Dolly I love her voice and together they have created one unbelievable song

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Was Jesus []  2020-9-23 21:12

    Nightshift!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    & Then There Was You []  2020-11-7 18:26

    Omg this book was 🔥. Once I started reading I couldn’t place it down. Tay monae never disappoints. I was so not ready for it to end. I just love sevyn and Nasir. Their storyline just proves that real love has no time limit. I’m rooting for linnea and brycen but with that secret she been holding I’m not sure if they can reconcile. I also knew deep down it was something going on in deasia relationship and I hope it comes to the light before it’s to late. If you haven’t downloaded this book yet you are missing out!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First There Was Silence []  2020-1-22 19:24

    This book could have been written in one chapter if you left out all the boring stuff. As an avid reader I don't like to quit reading a book before the end and this one the end was a challenge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First There Was Silence []  2020-1-22 19:24

    Enjoyed the story and suspense.Will love reading more books u have ep up the amazing ep the stories coming!! Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Then There Was Bass []  2020-2-2 22:25

    Must have cd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Grandma Was There []  2020-4-2 18:41

    This book is so sweet. With so a lot of books about all the amazing moms and dads out there, its nice to know that grandparents are finally getting recognized for all the love and care they give their grand kids!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Was Jesus []  2020-9-23 21:12

    Amazing song featuring the one and only Dolly Parton!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Was Jesus []  2020-9-23 21:12

    Attractive song

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    & Then There Was You []  2020-11-7 18:26

    I thought this was a standalone but it’s not. I love the book so far. Amazing hero development, everything flowed well. I just hope the next part doesn’t have the standard drama of the couples going back and forth in the book. Amazing start, just don’t wish the drawn out breaking up and getting back together drama. I hope both couples talk and thug it out. Sevyn and Nasir are meant to be in my book. Looking forward to buying the rest of the series if it goes well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    & Then There Was You []  2020-11-7 18:26

    You did not disappoint with this book! You got these couples going through it! I love Nasir and Sevyn together because I think they both bring out the best in each other. However, I don’t agree with how Nasir handled the situation with Britlynn and I can’t really fault her for feeling how she feels. That Cliffhanger with Brycen and Linnea’s father was something else. I’m curious to see how Brycen is going to react to that news. I do wish Brycen and Linnea to end up together but I do feel poor for Kendra because all she wants is for Brycen to love like she loves him. I’m impatiently waiting for part 2!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First There Was Silence []  2020-1-22 19:24

    I don't think I will read another psychomystery again unless I really know the author. It was painful to suffer through the feelings everyone went through losing babies, getting babies back, the story's characters went through. I finished the book after a lot of days to see if I could. Not at all relaxing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First There Was Silence []  2020-1-22 19:24

    The opening was intriguing but from then on it was too a lot of chases and escape. Plus, the author really must believe the Wiesbaden police and hospital systems are truly inadequate. I read to the end as I had to search out about not good Lotta.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First There Was Silence []  2020-1-22 19:24

    This is the first time reading a book by this author. A very amazing read. The book had a lot of suspense. I would recommend this book to everyone to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Then There Was Bass []  2020-2-2 22:25

    Worth the purchase if you're looking for something to ride too, but don't expect anything unique about this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    My Grandma Was There []  2020-4-2 18:41

    What a unbelievable small book! I highly recommend this small book to any grandmother that's closely involved with their grandchildren lives. I can't wait to read it to my grandchildren.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    There Was Jesus []  2020-9-23 21:12

    Inspiring!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    & Then There Was You []  2020-11-7 18:26

    This book had me from page one lol. I wasn’t sure where this was going to go after the threesome and I wasn’t expecting that ending. I can’t wait for book 2!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    & Then There Was You []  2020-11-7 18:26

    After reading the sneak peak I couldn’t wait for November 1st to obtain this. Seyvn seems really sweet and focused. She’s a catch for anyone so it’s no surprise that Nasir wants her. Brittlyn is going to be a issue and so is Jeremy eventually. Linnia and her predicament quickly took over the book as she and Brycen attempted to reconnect. Like a train wreck waiting to happen I waited for the bomb to be dropped and man was it explosive. I can’t wait to see what happens in the continuation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small: A true story that I sometimes wish was just a novel []  2020-10-17 18:12

    Eva Napier tells a heart-rending, almost unbelievable, story of loneliness, confusion, terror, and ultimately hope. Written in free verse, the narrative poignantly describes a attractive small girl wrestling with Reactive Attachment Disorder and the mother who refuses to give up on her. The story is short, only 100 pages, but the haunting and vivid photos will linger long after readers finish the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small: A true story that I sometimes wish was just a novel []  2020-10-17 18:12

    Please read this story! My wife and I adopted a young boy. We have learned, quickly, how even a little kid holds history that may and will never be unpacked, yet its impact sears through a home that wants to love and care, and call the small one family. This story is incomparable to ours in depth and seriousness, to be place lightly. I was gripped with this true life story within seconds and could merely relate to the threat that an outside kid may bring to the family bonds of care and nurture as they steal away the center of attention. I held tears for the child, for the mother, as one could relate to the struggle to love, protect the child, preserve the family, and preserve self sanity and retain reactions. Thank you for sharing your painful and wonderful journey. What a shame that so few will listen, and fewer are trained to understand and chisel toward the salvation of a child, yet alone the turmoil caused to the parents and home. I am eager to hear more. How are you, the family, and the kid today? Are there improvements in our systems, awareness? What can we do to help? Are there resources? I would eagerly read a sequel, even if it expands into more technical matters. I was taken away by the story format. It kept it raw, raking the heart in desperation. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small: A true story that I sometimes wish was just a novel []  2020-10-17 18:12

    I read this in one night. The story is very compelling and heartbreaking. I was interested in the subject, because I have heard several of these sad adoption stories. Eva Napier is obviously writing from the heart and you feel her hope and every setback. I want there was a follow up book to know the progress of this family. If she has been interviewed on tv I'd love to know where so I can see the interview.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small: A true story that I sometimes wish was just a novel []  2020-10-17 18:12

    Once I started reading this book, I couldn't place it down until I finished the latest page. Written in a style that offers something of a stream of consciousness, the author captures moments of life with breathtaking, heartbreaking clarity. I ached for her in her moments (and hours and days and years) of struggle as she tried to figure out how to love and teach a broken small girl who so desperately required her. This book will offer validation and hope to others who are also seeking to move forward with hope as they work to build relationships with kids dealing with RAD. Highly recommend. So beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small: A true story that I sometimes wish was just a novel []  2020-10-17 18:12

    I am grateful for this story as it gave me a better understanding of the real struggles of a mother with a kid who had reactive attachment disorder. Even though I do not know anyone with this disorder, it opened my eyes to the damages orphanages can cause, the pain in trying to love those children, and the need for hope and a community to hold trying. I recommend this quick read to all. It is well written and heart moving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small: A true story that I sometimes wish was just a novel []  2020-10-17 18:12

    This story was very related to our adoption from Russia, except we were matched with kids before we went to visit. Our son was also Sergei. Our daughter was Vika (Viktoria). Our daughter was 2 years old, the size of a 4 month old at 15pounds & 27”. She was friendly with everyone. A Chinese woman picked her up when I was holding our son. Then she began to walk out the door! Our daughter just waved! I was screaming and crying! Then came the first grader screaming and crying. She still couldn’t speak well. I had to pin her. I had to do safety holds. I cried. Our son learned to slide under his bed so he wasn’t ankfully, our daughter’s issues were from the inability to speak clearly, childhood apraxia of speech (cas) and fetal alcohol syndrome (FAS), the most severe form of fetal alcohol spectrum disorder. Our daughter still believes in fantasy as a teen. I pray Ani has continued to test to live a amazing life. I know many, a lot of families who live like this. Not all adopted children obtain RAD. Most answer very well to love and stability. My heart is still thumping in my chest from reading this. I know how true it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small: A true story that I sometimes wish was just a novel []  2020-10-17 18:12

    How very sad 😢 it almost seems impossible to know issues begin at such a young age. My daughter is a school teacher for unique needs kids 6 out of the ten have autism. It takes unique people to work with these kids and I can not imagine taking on a life journey with my kid having this sort of disorder. My prayers go out to you and your family for what you have endured and continue enduring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small: A true story that I sometimes wish was just a novel []  2020-10-17 18:12

    This was an awesome quick, insightful read. I knew about attachment disorder and difficulties associated with adopting children from Eastern Europe but had limited knowledge as to the scope of it and what it looked like on a day to day basis. Truly, this book should be read by all parents considering adoption. It should be read by anyone diagnosed with attachment disorder. It should be read by teachers and social workers. It is a hard read it that you ache for both the kid and the family but it grabs your emotions in a method that your brain will never forget. It also gives hope. Hope that is not easily obtained, that doesn't gloss over the time and depth of this problem but hope. When dealing with attachment disorder, hope and validation is so needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small: A true story that I sometimes wish was just a novel []  2020-10-17 18:12

    The description said nothing about it being written in poetry style. What a waste of my money. I hate poetry and couldn't create myself read it. I feel totally frustrated. If I had known it was poetry I would have spent my cash on something else from my want list instead. I only have a small bit to spend on books each month and test to create it count. This goes on my list to be deleted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Small: A true story that I sometimes wish was just a novel []  2020-10-17 18:12

    This was nothing like I expected. I thought I was getting a book (novel). Although very interesting and informative, not my book of choice. How I want the parents of these types of kids much love for their pain and sorrows. I had no idea this type of condition existed. God bless all in these children's lives and those that love them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once There Was a Mountain… []  2020-9-14 18:59

    Once There Was A Mountain by Orna Gadish is not only a delightful read but also an inspiring one. Through rhyming sentences it tells you a story of determination and the sweet taste of win that it finally fetches you. This book will instil the behavioural trait of perseverance in young readers and will motivate them to hold on going despite of difficulties. Above all this teaches everyone to have faith in themselves and their capabilities. The language is lucid and helps kids easily flow through the pages and cultivate the habit of reading. Will recommend it to all young readers and adults who are still young at heart like me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once There Was a Mountain… []  2020-9-14 18:59

    I love books like this one that work on so a lot of levels. In my initial read-through of "Once There Was a Mountain," I read like I was reading to a child, and I found both the rhyme and the story to be comforting. When I reread the book I saw it quite differently; a tale for adults about the need to persevere and not let fear to delay the difficult tasks that may show amazing reward. Gadish has done a unbelievable job of melding the globe of kids with that of adults ~ Perhaps a reminder that we all have a kid living within us, no matter our chronological age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Once There Was a Mountain… []  2020-9-14 18:59

    Orna Gadish has done it again, with this short, inspiring and gently motivating tale! I can imagine parents reading it to their kids and discussing how they feel and what it means--about persevering, achieving one's dreams and more! Simplicity and profundity! Just delightful!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If There Was a Way []  2020-9-21 20:7

    The used cd was in amazing shape. I’m very pleased!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If There Was a Way []  2020-9-21 20:7

    Love me some Dwight and so glad I ordered this CD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Flag Was Still There []  2020-11-25 19:42

    Amazing details, amazing story, character central for sure. Life changing experiences and amazing post tour story as well. Thx Clay

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Marnie Was There (DVD) []  2020-10-3 19:47

    This is a movie for anyone who loves an emotional tale. The closest I can suggest as an ogy is the 1990 movie "Ghost" (Demi Moore, Patrick Swayze). Definitely not a movie directed towards kids (in fact, I suspect kids under 10 won't really "get it"). (Not that it's inappropriate for younger kids - they simply won't really "get it.")With over 245 other reviews before mine, I'll test to add a fresh dimension. To whit, this emotional tale is on the same level as the 1939 movie ver of "The Wizard of Oz", and is similarly best appreciated after multiple viewings. My first viewing of this movie was using the English language feature (just so I could become familiar with the storyline). My second viewing was using the Japanese-language dialog, with English subtitles. (This allow me appreciate the nuances of the original work via voice inflections and the like.) My third viewing was to focus on, and appreciate, the masterful animation. After that, it was viewing again (and once again) just to immerse myself in the wonder of it all, and to become immersed in the storytelling, and the presentation. Every viewing is sheer pleasure.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386