Read women who changed the world reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all women who changed the world reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women Who Changed the World [App]  2020-5-21 21:9

    (First Review On This App) This is a amazing android game for children up to 12. This teaches you a lot about popular women. Hold on making more educational apps!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women Who Changed the World [App]  2020-5-21 21:9

    This is such an inspiring project, not only for young ladies but for all ages. I introduced coding to my daughter at an early age. She has been coding now for almost 2 years and has created several video android games in Unity. She has a YouTube channel called CoderGirl. I really like what you're doing, and best of luck with your future inspirational projects!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World []  2020-1-18 20:31

    This is a collection of 52 brief biographies of women who gained note in the sciences. These mini-biographies are very brief, mostly 5 or 6 pages each, and are presented in general categories (physics, biology/environment, inventors). This format makes it simple to stop and resume later. The writing style is conversational, which can be a small jarring. The subjects, all deceased, are generally well chosen, although I do quibble about a couple and how they fit with the title (to each their own). Some of these women were nearly forgotten during their lifetimes while others are well known to this day. I found it interesting and learned things about these necessary women in history.

    0  


    Add your opinion on women who changed the world or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World []  2020-1-18 20:31

    You have probably only heard of a few of the extraordinary women highlighted in Headstrong. In just two or three pages, forging ahead despite the rules, Swaby tells how each one created the globe a better put by simply allowing no one to interfere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-30 21:51

    This book is over-rated. Each story is only three or four sentences long. I looked at the picture and thought it was the beginning of the story, but no, it is the WHOLE story.I don't think you can teach young children what is "Persisted" by these super short stories. The stories goes like this: there is a girl named XXX, some people believe they cannot do XXX, they did it anyway and succeeded. You can only search the word "persisted", but not any meanings of it in the stories.I regret the buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-30 21:51

    The first page starts off telling small girls that they will most defiantly be a victim of people treating them like they don't matter because they are a girl. This rally bugged me people treat people like they don't matter for a thousand of reasons, and I wish to raise my daughter to not even recognize that someone might be treating her that method I wish her to just be her best self regardless and know that is ok. The content of the women's history was ok. There were a few interesting facts, but it didn't go into amazing detail. My largest problem with the book is that right out the gate it makes women appear to be victims.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World []  2020-1-19 23:14

    We have been building a collection of female empowering books for our 7 year old. Amoung our favorites is this one. I even bought a copy for her 2nd grade teacher to have in the me others in our collection include:-“Women in Sports: 50 Fearless Athletes Who Played to Win”-“Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls”-“Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls 2”-“Ruth Bader Ginsburg: The Case of R.B.G. vs. Inequality”-“Why We March: Signs of Protest and Hope--Voices from the Women's March” (we marched in DC so she loved having this book)-“The Pink Hat”

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World []  2020-1-19 23:14

    Saw this book at a bookstore in an airport. It grabbed my attention because my 10-yr old niece is into science right now. (I had previously bought her Scratch coding books which she diligently works through.) But I like the format of this book because it highlights the works of women from diverse backgrounds who created significant contributions in STEM fields and showed initiative in being driven by their curiosity. This is necessary because their stories are not told or taught as intertwined as they should be - maybe most of us heard about Marie Curie? And this book has so a lot of more that can't be found in typical curriculum.I like the idea of her seeing herself in these pages and the representation gathered here can be used along with other books to support shape who she's becoming. And learning about through other naturally curious pioneers (men, women, and some children), she can hopefully see there is a common thread in humankind which means she is more than "just" any one thing. I'd this if I had a nephew as well, for the same reasons. To appreciate the things we have in common and celebrate the differences because of the chance of special contributions.On the less philosophical side, it's simply a fun book with enough illustrations and facts, to hold a young reader engaged and can begin up amazing conversations! There's not as much "wonder" these days, so finding a book that can generate it, is a amazing find!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-29 17:39

    Another unbelievable example of how picture books can highlight lesser told stories

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-29 17:39

    My 4-year old has not been interested in it yet, but it's a unbelievable book. I'll test when she's a small older.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-29 17:39

    Created a amazing bonus for my niece. Inspirational stories with attractive illustrations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World []  2020-1-19 23:14

    This is an absolutely unbelievable book! I got it as a show for a toy drive for a pre-teen girl and I am thinking of getting one for all the women and girls I know of all ages. The artwork is unbelievable and the info is presented concisely but entertainingly. It's not an encyclopedia with an extremely detailed outline of each experiment conducted by each woman, but the info is fascinating and can inspire a young mind to investigate further.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World []  2020-1-19 23:14

    I've purchased this book on several occasions to give to family and friends. The illustrations are attractive and the people that were chosen for the book are wonderful. To give a small background, I'm a developmental researcher and am interested in pursuing a PhD in history of science. I've done a lot of volunteer work trying to obtain more girls involved in STEAM and I've given this book to professors and for professors' kids. Surprisingly enough, I never thought to obtain a copy of it on my own. But my post-doc gifted this to me as a show when I graduated and it was one of the most touching bonuses that I've ever the title of my review says, this book is a unbelievable bonus to give to someone else and an equally as unbelievable bonus to receive. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in learning more about how women are and have always been involved in science or is hoping to inspire a small girl in their lives to not give up on pursuing a career in or similar to STEAM.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World []  2020-1-18 20:31

    This book should be needed for all physicists, chemists, engineers, and mathematicians, as well as beautiful much everyone. It is disturbing how a lot of women worked in obscurity and yet made ground-breaking science that has contributed to the common good. The fact that a lot of weren't even paid, struggled to attend school or educate themselves is a testament to the human spirit, the drive of scientists and the shame of those who test to suppress them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World []  2020-1-18 20:31

    Do you already know that, during the latest 100 years or so, a lot of of the most necessary breakthroughs in science were achieved or led by women? Frankly, I did not until reading this book in which Rachel Swaby provides mini-profiles of 52 truly exceptional scientists in seven fields: medicine, biology and the environment, genetics and development, physics, Earth and stars, mathematics and technology, and invention. By the way, all of them are women. When examining the list, I did recognize the names of several, notably Jane Wright, Rachel Carson, Barbara McClintock, Irene Joliot-Curie, Sally Ride, Ada Lovelace, and Hedy Lamarr.With regard to Lamarr, born Hedwig Eva Kiesler in Vienna in 1914, she was among the most famous movie stars in the 1930s through the 1950s but, as Swaby points out, she and George Antheil developed a frequency-hopping technology that was a much better method to tutorial torpedoes. "Lamarr's ideas paved the method for a myriad of technologies, including wireless money registers, bar code readers, and home control systems, to name a few. While she had a long career as a celebrated actress, Lamarr finally got the full recognition she deserved when she was awarded the Electronic Frontier Foundation's Pioneer Award in 1997. Her response: 'It's about time.'" Of course, her contributions during Globe Battle Two were classified and her key insight was not revealed until 1976 -- "thirty-five years after Lamarr patented it."Here's a representative selection, a "sampler," of biographical info among those of greatest interest to me:o Charlotte Auerbach (1899-1994) realized that, to understand a gene, she required to understand its mutation. "Just a few mustard-gas burns and some lab work later, and Auerbach was at the top of the field, the so-called mother of mutagenesis."o Anne McLaren (1927-2007) not only proved in vitro fertilization was possible, "but years later, she was also responsible for safely and ethically guiding it into the world."o Marguerite Perey was the first woman elected to the French Academy of Sciences (before Madame Curie) in recognition of her development of a fresh radioactive element, #87, that "filled an empty square in the periodic table's alkali metal group, and completed the table's locations for naturally occurring elements."o Chien-Shung Wu (1912-1997): When the results of her experiments in radioactivity to coax the K-meson into an observable state were announced, "an article in the Fresh York Post gushed, 'This little modest woman was strong enough to do what armies can never accomplish: she helped destroy a law of nature."o Ada Lovelace (1815-1852) was the daughter of Lord Byron and received what was in her time a superb education. Her research notes helped Charles Babbage to develop his "Difference Engine" and then his "Analytical Engine," providing what amounts to programming code for two of the earliest computers.o Stephanie Kwolek (1923-2014): Her preparation of the cold-spun threads (kevlar, developed in the DuPont labs) "launched a brand-new zone of research around liquid crystalline polymers."Throughout the history of science, most breakthroughs have been the effect of cross-functional, often cross-generational collaboration. The 52 scientists on whom Swaby focuses would be among the first to acknowledge the value of what they learned from others as well as the value of what their associates contributed to the given process eventual success, to reveal, for example, the complex structures of biochemical substances (Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin) or to calm the temperament of the arc light (Hertha Ayrton).Rachel Swaby urges her reader to learn about those whose research "jump-started the Environmental Protection Agency, who discovered the wrinkle-free cotton, and even those whose ingenious score has now saved generations of struggling newborns."If you are a young woman who aspires to gain an education and then pursue a career in one of the STEM disciplines or is now embarked upon that journey, I urge you to read and then re-read this book and leave the final comment in this brief commentary to one of my private heroines, Helen Keller: ""Life is either a daring adventure or nothing."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World []  2020-1-18 20:31

    I absolutely loved this book. As soon as I started reading, I could not place it down. It is one of the most informative, enjoyable, and inspiring books that I have read in a very long time! I congratule the author for such fine work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-30 21:51

    The book is definitely written for older children.. hard for littler children to comprehend. Otherwise Its an amazing idea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-30 21:51

    I sent this to my granddaughters for Christmas. The notice in this book is something I wish very much to convey to them and to every girl. Be whoever and whatever you want. Never accept anything less than "whatever you want" as an answer. You go, girl!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-29 17:39

    I LOVE this book - it's written in such a fun and interesting way, and a lot of of the stories I've never heard before. My 5 month old isn't too into it yet, but I like to read it for my pleasure. =)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World []  2020-1-18 20:31

    I learned about a lot of women I had never heard of before but I want that there were maybe less stories but with infinitely more details. In an effort to condense them all into one book the stories are very dry and sometimes not at all engaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World []  2020-1-18 20:31

    Very amazing short snippets of these wonderful women and their contributions to both science and life as a whole! I highly recommend this book. It has inspired me to research a few of the women and their work a small more in-depth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World []  2020-1-19 23:14

    I bought this for my second-grade daughter who loves science. At first glance she was turned off by the little type but a few mins later came back and wanted me to read with her. For an elementary schooler it will likely be a read together book for a while. Which is fine since we've just read a few pages and it opened up opportunities to discuss all sorts of things, about science and society, and piqued our interest to look up extra pictures and facts on the Internet. I am learning too! And it is a attractive book to keep and look at.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World []  2020-1-19 23:14

    This is a unbelievable book for all ages, highlighting women in history who discovered awesome things. this and more books like it will eventually change the (wrong) assumption that every amazing invention and discovery throughout history was done by men. Not just a book for females. Excellent for boys to present them that girls are their equals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-30 21:51

    I bought this for my 2 year old niece. It’s well illustrated and the women chosen for the stories are esteemed. Judging from the illustrations, the target audience appears to be for preschool age but prose is written for elementary school age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-30 21:51

    Read this to my neighbor for her nursery school graduation and her older sister. Each had various things they fixed on. I laughed when the older daughter spoke of Oprah as if she were an historical figure so long ago. I hope the book will grow with the girls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-29 17:39

    Shaking Things Up is an inspired book about inspiring women. Each poem and illustration is as special as its subject. Learning about these young women and their impact on the globe makes you wish to go out and shake things up yourself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World []  2020-1-18 20:31

    Sad indictment of the patriarchal nature of science, but a series of perfect vignettes extolling the virtues of amazing old stubbornness that all pioneers seem to have in abundance. Posted about it on my different social media platforms to encourage more girls to consider careers in STEM.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World []  2020-1-18 20:31

    Perfect read. For all ages. Inspiring collection of stories of women in science! Makes a amazing gift!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-30 21:51

    The illustrations are nice. The book seemed rushed. Too much info about each woman crammed into a couple pages each. The age range is not accurate. This is too long for preschool, and potentially nursery school as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    10 Women Who Changed Science and the World []  2020-1-19 22:0

    Catherine Whitlock and Rhodri Evans collaborated to write this non-fiction work, Ten Women Who Changed Science and the World. If you are looking for a page-turning read with easy ideas, this will not work for you. If, however, you are interested in finding out more about the female scientists who laid the groundwork for the medical findings of today, then you will thoroughly have fun this book. Each chapter can stand alone and the ground-breaking women are viewed through the lens of their academic contributions, but also their social choices. The women included in the book range from household names (Curie), to those you know you have heard of (Apgar, Carson), all the method to women you were not aware of before now (Elion, Leavitt). Also, their locations of study are varied, including physics, nutrition, environmentalism, chemistry, and more. This would be an perfect source of inspiration for young women interested in scientific or medial fields and could serve as a amazing source for research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    10 Women Who Changed Science and the World []  2020-1-19 22:0

    I love science. I really enjoyed reading about each of these 10 women. I unfortunately only knew about one of the women, Marie Curie, as she was my childhood hero. Each of these women battled versus social norms to strive forward in their chosen careers. Their work and discoveries continue to influence their fields of study. I agree with a previous reviewer that it would have been nice to see more pictures of these women in this book but I did do a Google find when I started reading the story of each women. Dorothy Hodgkin is my fresh hero. She was able to do extensive research despite being diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis at age 28. As someone who has autoimmune disease, I can’t support but admire her strength to continue working despite limited medical treatments available at that time. Thank you for allowing me to review an advanced copy through Netgalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World []  2020-1-19 23:14

    I loved this. Bought a second one. Read it in one sitting so it's ready to give to a young girl to hopefully inspire her! It's just single page summaries of awesome women, highlighting their achievements and their struggles, which were absurd and horrible in some cases. Women these days fighting for equal opportunity etc: yes, great, please hold going, hold fighting and I'm with you (as a minority in my field), but some of you really need to stop whining and assuming every misfortune in your lives or set back is because of your gender. And please stop looking for ways to be offended! Don't assume the implications in people's words (lumped into "microaggressions") - ask them what they meant.And for goodness sakes, think about productive discussions instead, actionable discussions! Things don't change in history solelg because of whining. what we have these days is far better than what so a lot of women faced throughout history, even rry, got distracted. Lovely book. Cute pictures (for kids). Even in my thirties this was inspirational!I just hope the parents who support read this to youngens do a amazing job.Why do I feel uncomfortable gifting this to young boys though? Must break this bias :(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World []  2020-1-19 23:14

    I read a various segment to my 4 year old daughter every night and follow up with a image of the person we just discussed on my phone along with the wiki article. She loves it and looks forward to it each and every evening before bed. She wants to be a scientist when she grows up. We need more books like this in our society so more of our small girls grow up loving math and science! Amazing pick - highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-29 17:39

    What an inspiring book for kids this is! It tells the stories of 14 young women (includes a lot of fresh names) who accomplished amazing things for the globe in either curious, caring, daring or defiant ways- done in a fun dozens of poetic formats, no less! Very readable, with just the right amount of additional information. Illustrated by 13 unbelievable illustrators (all female!). Inspires readers to ask, "In what method can I create the globe a better place?"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-29 17:39

    Very well written with wit and humor. I laughed out loud a few times but was still interested in n the characters and plot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-29 17:39

    As a mental health professional who has worked with kids for over 20 years, I have had the pleasure of reading a lot of children's books and have become passionate about a handful, knowing what a multilayered impact they can have on kids and the adults who read with them. This book is spectacular! It is timely, beautifully written and includes a strong notice to young girls and to all of us. There are nuggets of inspiration and interesting fact throughout the book from the quotes embedded in the pictures to the beautifully varied verse that brings the stories of each person to life to the various styles of each illustrator. It is understandable for kids but far from easy and profoundly affected me as I read. I highly recommend this book for all ages up through middle and even high school. If I had to choose one word to describe 'Shaking Things Up', I would say 'Inspirational'!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-29 17:39

    Gorgeous! I stocked up—great for teacher gifts, birthdays, graduation, and girl power baby showers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-29 17:39

    The illustrations are so beautiful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-30 21:51

    I love the content, but I didn’t like the style of writing. Her sentences felt like they were “run-on sentences” at times and didn’t always flow. It’s amazing that she’s able to write complex sentences, but as a teacher reading this to my class, the sentences felt very long winded and like there was too much info crammed into each sentence. If it was an adult book that’s fine, but if the target audience is children, it should be written accordingly. I think my children would obtain confused reading it on their own with this writing style and when reading it to them I had to pause and allow them digest or further explain things. It has likely received praise as there are not nearly enough books like this, but to be honest, there are better choices out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-30 21:51

    Love this book about 13 encouraging women. Some are well known women and some are fresh people we had not heard of. This book sparked fresh conversations with our 6 year old. We looked up some of the women. Jump started the use of the word persisted with our kid and ways to work through difficulties.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-30 21:51

    Very nice pro female book. Amazing can- do notice for all girls of all ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World []  2020-1-19 23:14

    Praise goes to Rachel Ignotofsky for assembling these tributes to necessary women in science. There is much that is amazing about the book and its biographies, but a lot of aspects of the design detract from its message. The fanciful caricatures become monotonous after awhile. The interesting facts sprinkled around the ‘portraits’ and in the margins are a distraction from the main articles that are difficult to read anyway owing to the little print. The science is occasionally oversimplified into serious y of the definitions in the glossary are misleading and incomplete, wrong, or introduce terms incorrectly, sometimes not otherwise defined; some seem to be partially extracted from wikipedia without a full understanding of the science. So allow the reader beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World []  2020-1-19 23:14

    I read this book in combination with Catherine Thimmesh's Girls Think of Everything, regretting that civilization has not as yet reached a point when achievements no longer need be identified as gender-specific. Be that as it may, both books provide valuable info and insights about creative thinking.Rachel Ignotofsky focuses on 50 "fearless pioneers" during a time frame that extends from Hypatia (350-370 CE-415 CE [?]) until Maryam Mirzakhani (1977-2017). Women in the United States were not permitted to vote until 1920 and access to higher education was denied -- or at least severely limited -- to women who wanted to pursue a degree in medicine or in the STEM fields: science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. Moreover, resistance to women's private growth and professional development has been even wider and deeper in most other ese are among the mini-profiles of "fearless pioneers" that are of greatest interest and value to me:o Ada Lovelace (1815-1852): Mathematician,; collaborator with Charles Babbage on first computer programo Elizabeth Blackwell (1821-1910): Physician; founder of several medical societies in U.S. and Englando Alice Ball (1892-1916): Chemist; developed a fresh treatment of leprosy victims throughout the worldo Marie Curie (1867-1934): Physicist and chemist; Nobel laureate (twice)o Barbara McClintock (1902-1992): Cytogeneticist; revised views of evolution and botany; Nobel laureateo Grace Hopper (1906-1992): Navy admiral and computer scientist; invented first compilero Rachel Carson (1907-1964): Marine biologist and conservationist; author of the Silent Springo Hedy Lamarr (1914-2000): Inventor and movie actress; developed frequency-hopping spread system (FHSS) used in smartphones, GPS, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth deviceso Katherine Johnson (1918- ): Physicist and mathematician calculated trajectories for NASA; featured in the book and film, Hidden Figureso Jane Goodall (1934- ): Primatologist, ethologist, and anthropologist; renowned for research on chimpanzeeso Valentina Tereshkova (1937- ): Engineer and Cosmonaut; first woman to travel in outer space; orbited Earth 48 times in Vostok VIo Elizabeth Blackburn (1948- ): Molecular biologist; invented telomarase (enzyme that builds telomeres); Nobel Laureateo Maye Jemison (1956- ): Astronaut, educator, and physician; first African-American woman in outer space; founder and CEO of several corporationsRachel Ignotofsky concludes, "The women in this book prove to the globe that no matter your gender, your race, or your background, anyone can achieve amazing things. Their legacy lives on. Today, women all over the globe are still risking everything to explore and explore."Let us celebrate these trailblazers so we can inspire the next generation. Together, we can pick up where they left off, and continue the find for knowledge."So go out and tackle fresh problems, search your answers, and learn everything you can to create your own discoveries!"That is her challenge to the young women who read this book but it is also a challenge to others -- parents, other family members, teachers, coaches, and clergy -- who can help their efforts. I also urge those young women to hold in mind this valuable insight from Eleanor Roosevelt: "No one can create you feel inferior without your consent."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World []  2020-1-18 20:31

    Not amazing literature but well researched and very inspiring, this book is full of powerful women who have achieved amazing things across many, a lot of fields. Follow it up with Hope Jahren's Lab Girl for a current success story. Makes me wish to work harder and longer and damned if those two things aren't making me happier!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-1-1 18:0

    A amazing book for anyone- young or older. This is a amazing first step in learning about women in history and hopefully will entice the reader to search out more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science Puzzle: Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World 500-Piece Jigsaw Puzzle & Poster []  2019-12-19 19:13

    Amazing idea!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Is for Awesome!: 23 Iconic Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-3 23:37

    I wanted to love this book, I really did! I love Eva Chen and have been following her on IG for ever. I was expecting some of her humor and sparkling personality to present up in her books but this is just awful. Some of the women have a little description of why they’re amazing but then some like Dorothy Hodgkin say: D is for Dorothy a crystallographer who won the Nobel Prize for succeeding in the impossible. And that’s it! A small additional research wouldn’t have gone amiss and neither would better writing skills. Some of the female icons have a quote printed which simply doesn’t co-relate to the blurb next to it. And my 3 year old who LOVES reading just didn’t wish to read it again. She’s read her Small People Huge Dreams books about 50 times and while a small young, still loved the Ordinary People Change the Wod series too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Is for Awesome!: 23 Iconic Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-3 23:37

    Love this book. My daughter loved seeing Juno. She recognized some of the women from the Juno Valentine book which created her smile. We also have a number of the Small People, Huge Dreams books and it delighted her to recognize some of the women in this book. The end is absolutely phenomenal. While it’s a board book, it’s amazing for all ages. There were a few women I was excited to research on my own!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Takes a Stand: 16 Fearless Activists Who Have Changed the World (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    This is an interesting collection of short biographies of women activists who created a difference in the globe in the past 100 years. The biographies are written for teens, but are interesting enough that anyone should search them informative and amazing reads. I received this book to review from Netgalley and I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Takes a Stand: 16 Fearless Activists Who Have Changed the World (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    Very informative book with stories about 16 women who not only survived adversity but went forward to support create changes in our world!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-1-1 18:0

    Really amazing book! It just provides an introduction for each lady, but it's a amazing jumping-off point if you wish to learn about some bada$$ ladies throughout history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science Puzzle: Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World 500-Piece Jigsaw Puzzle & Poster []  2019-12-19 19:13

    I have bought multiple times this puzzle for mates who love them the moment I present it to them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Is for Awesome!: 23 Iconic Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-3 23:37

    Purchased this for my granddaughter and she absolutely loved it! What an empowering and motivational book for children of all ages! Hold up the amazing work Eva! Come visit a bookstore in Wisconsin sometime!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Takes a Stand: 16 Fearless Activists Who Have Changed the World (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    Informative, engaging book about 16 girls and women who struggled for social and political justice around the world. Each chapter tells the story of one activist who passionately fought for equal rights at amazing private cost. Causes included the rights of girls and women for equal access to the same liberties as men (to vote, for birth control, for education, for safety), to stop global crony capitalism, to help worker's rights and a lot of other causes. Most of the activists dearly for their political work and were jailed, bullied, shot at and endured the deaths of family members and amazing financial hardship. While each story is informative, and at times compelling, the style of the narratives became repetitious and fell a bit flat. I was interested in the criticisms created by anti-lynching freedom warriors towards white suffragettes whose racism led them to create decisions that were damaging for the anti-lynching and civil rights cause. I would have liked to learn more about this may have created a more dynamic, complex presentation. However, in general, I was impressed by the bravery of these women and the skill of the author in showing us how activism changes the globe for all of ank you to Netgalley for allowing me to review this book for an honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-1-1 18:0

    I gave this to my small sister as a bonus for Easter, and she loves it! I think that is was beautifully done, the illustrations are just gorgeous. Excellent for those of all ages!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-1-1 18:0

    This book is even better than I first realized. Lots of stunning stories, I learned about a bunch of [email protected]#$% women I’ve never heard of before. This book is full of empowerment and inspiration and comes alongside gorgeous drawings. Would create a really amazing gift!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-1-1 18:0

    I purchased this as a birthday bonus for a friend. It's a fast, interesting read with fun illustrations. Would create a amazing hostess gift, too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-1-1 18:0

    Most easy best book of historical poor and courageous girls. The art work is amazing! All mothers should their daughters this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science Puzzle: Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World 500-Piece Jigsaw Puzzle & Poster []  2019-12-19 19:13

    Aside from the fun of just putting it together, it really encouraged her in her pursuit of science. I would also recommend it for boys, as it could have an result on their view of girls studying science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science Puzzle: Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World 500-Piece Jigsaw Puzzle & Poster []  2019-12-19 19:13

    Amazing gift

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Is for Awesome!: 23 Iconic Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-3 23:37

    Love this book so so much!! It is attractive to see so a lot of powerful women being represented in this book. I bought it for my 1 year old son and his friend, I hope it empowers them and begins to instill the notice of equality and help for girls early in their lives. It is written in a very approachable and fun way, the graphics are amazing, and it’s a board book which makes it very practical for small hands!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Is for Awesome!: 23 Iconic Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-3 23:37

    I've been following Eva Chen for a while (since the 2000s) and so glad she added another title to her resume as children's book author. I love Derek's illustrations and found out he also designed eyeglass frames which is hilarious because I owned three pairs of Derek Cardigan glasses. I've not seen a book on this subject for young readers and I help powerful female role models and I loved how Eva juggled motherhood and work to write this lovely book! Kudos to Eva and Derek! I've bought several editions of this book as bonuses for young friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Takes a Stand: 16 Fearless Activists Who Have Changed the World (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    This awesome book combines today's successes with past ones beautifully.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-1-1 18:0

    Full of attractive artwork featuring 100 rule-breaking, precedent-setting women, this delightful volume is not only the excellent coffee table accent (all the beautiful pictures!) but it's a brilliant and inspiring read to boot. The depictions are very stunning, and the write ups that accompany each illustration are jammed with useful tidbits of information. Who knew a history lesson could be so much fun?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-1-1 18:0

    I cannot express how unbelievable this book is. Attractive illustrations and awesome content. Everyone no matter your gender should own this book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-1-1 18:0

    Some books you borrow, some you and hold forever. This is a keeper. I intend to this for every baby girl baby shower I go to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science Puzzle: Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World 500-Piece Jigsaw Puzzle & Poster []  2019-12-19 19:13

    I gave this as a bonus to my Support Desk teacher (who also taught me AP Human Georgraphy as well; he also teaches AP Computer Science Principles, Engineering, and he is my school's tech coordinator). Don't think this puzzle is just for women. When he opened up the holiday wrap I wrapped it in, he was ecstatic. He is always encouraging people like females (and minorities like black & brown people; he is a black man) to go into the field of STEM because it lacks representation. His wife is also a teacher so this is a nice small thing for them to do over the holidays or whenever they have time (teachers are super busy, especially now with grading midterms). Plus, teachers like him (STEM-based teachers) love a amazing l in all, this amazing bonus for anyone, even if they don't have an interest in STEM.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science Puzzle: Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World 500-Piece Jigsaw Puzzle & Poster []  2019-12-19 19:13

    Got this as a bonus for my small niece. She loves the 'pictures' and learning about the inspirational ladies. The poster is a amazing addition for building the puzzle and we framed it after!! Will probably bonus more of these. (:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Is for Awesome!: 23 Iconic Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-3 23:37

    To say this book was a disappointment is an understatement. It actually created me quite angry. Written by a Chinese-American but basically short-changed Asians. This book is arranged by the common theme of "A is for ....," etc.. Of the 23 letters she used, only two were of of Asian descent. Even Teen Vogue did better--they found 4! : Kalpana Chawla, the first Indian-born woman in space, Helen Zia, influential journalist, Patsy Mink, the first woman of color in Congress, Yuri Kochiyama, revolutionary civil rights activist. Also, my book was warped.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Is for Awesome!: 23 Iconic Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-3 23:37

    I bought this book for my 6 yo daughter - we read together the day I bought it. We discussed all the woman in the book -the impact and change they have created to our world. This book opened her eyes to powerful women who she could look up to and search the likeness of each in e best part - hearing her re-read the book to her dolls about 10 times already!!This book should be a must in all school libraries!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girls Throughout History: 100 Remarkable Women Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-1-1 18:0

    Absolutely stunning book! I love the women chosen, we bought about 5 related books and this is definitely one of my favorites! I also follow Ann on Ig and it felt amazing supporting an artist I adore :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    She Takes a Stand: 16 Fearless Activists Who Have Changed the World (Women of Action) []  2020-1-19 20:48

    I haven't read the book but I noticed that Margaret Sanger is featured and this is disturbing. She may have been an activist for birth control but she was also a racist with a goal of eliminating blacks through abortion. She was also the founder of Planned Parenthood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Women in Science Puzzle: Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World 500-Piece Jigsaw Puzzle & Poster []  2019-12-19 19:13

    I love that this came with a poster too! The art is attractive and the puzzle and poster are both high quality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Is for Awesome!: 23 Iconic Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-3 23:37

    This was a bonus for my four year old granddaughter who likes it very much. Me too. I was inspired to place a image of myself in it with a bio so she can know a small bit more about me in my youth. In fact, in future editions, A blank page for grandparents or parents to do this would be a amazing idea. We need to recognize the popular and infamous women in the globe and in our lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Is for Awesome!: 23 Iconic Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-3 23:37

    I follow Eva Chen on IG and I think she's so true and down to earth! I was so excited to this book for my goddaughter's 1st birthday to go along with our contribution to her 529 account. Unfortunately, I had to ship it directly to SF since I live in OC, so I didn't begin the pack until the day before her birthday party. To my disappointment, the book was all beaten up! Since I didn't have any time to replace it, I embarrassingly wrapped the book up and had to tell my mate what happened. The book is so cute and sends a amazing message, but I just am so upset about the condition I received it in. Luckily, it is a baby's book, so it will likely end up looking like that so we just helped obtain it looking like that sooner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Is for Awesome!: 23 Iconic Women Who Changed the World []  2020-1-3 23:37

    I was a bit disappointed..I had read previous reviews and they indicated this book would be appropriate for even toddlers ( 3 years and up)...I found it method too mature for my granddaughter...I went ahead and mailed it up to her and will see what her mom thinks about it and whether my granddaughter will actually have fun it. It’s obviously a board book..so meant for younger kids but I just found it not to be what I was hoping for. I think maybe for a kid 7 or 8 it would be more absorbed..my 3 1/2 year old granddaughter I think would still like to have books about animals or butterflies..princesses etc..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eunice: The Kennedy Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-4-13 18:0

    EuniceThe Kennedy Who Changed The WorldEileen McNamaraMY RATING ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️PUBLISHER Simon and SchusterPUBLISHED April 3, 2018Eunice is an incredibly informative and spellbinding biography about a woman who would not be written off, not by her father, not by her family nor by anyone who stood in her MMARYWhile Joe Kennedy was grooming his sons for careers in politics, his daughters were largely invisible to him. They were not his priority. Eunice would let her brothers to have the spotlight, but she would use her name, her intelligence, her father’s and her brothers’ position to create her own mark. Her tag was advancing the rights of people across the globe with intellectual disabilities. Using her family’s charitable foundation for this purpose, she funded scientific research across the nation, and developed the Unique Olympics into a program of international prominence. She fought to empty mental institutions, and garnered a national commitment to community-based group homes, educational inclusion and job training. For four decades, she intimidated lawmakers and influenced public policy on a dozens of social justice issues. Very few lawmakers could ever say no to Eunice Kennedy. And yet, until now, small has been written about this tireless, formidable and complicated This compelling biography sheds light on the significant societal contributions created by the fifth kid of Joe and Rose Kennedy. With access to Eunice Kennedy’s private papers, family and friends, Eileen McNamara has written a intimate portrait of a woman who overcomes numerous private obstacles to accomplish tremendous social change for the intellectually challenged. This immensely satisfying acc of Eunice Kennedy will leave you both inspired and amazed. McNamara’s chapters are smartly structured and beautifully written to highlight accomplishments, but weighted with brutally honest descriptions of Eunice’s brazen, insistent and impatient personality. She was a woman who had small time for idle chatter about things she could not change. EUNICE is chocked full of memorable stories about the Kennedy family exploits and will be most appreciated by Kennedy fans and those interested in the social justice problems she pursued. Thanks to NetGalley and Simon and Schuster for an advanced reading copy of this book in exchanged for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eunice: The Kennedy Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-4-13 18:0

    very well audiobook nice narration

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eunice: The Kennedy Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-4-13 18:0

    A very serious read. Not your typical Kennedy biography. Not at all gossipy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eunice: The Kennedy Who Changed the World [Book]  2018-4-13 18:0

    Being a history buff and having met Eunice Kennedy Shriver when I volunteered for the 1995 Unique Olympics, I wanted to know more of this extraordinary nice did not disappoint - both informative and insightful.Fascinating and insightful untold stories of The Kennedys- "American Royalty." Well written, amazing compilation of news articles and personal papers. A story of a Kennedy that forged ahead despite limitations set forth by society and within her own male dominated family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ten Boys Who Changed the World (Lightkeepers) []  2020-1-16 8:0

    I could only search the boxed sets of these books at local bookstores. Amazon luckily sells them individually. They are rather short but amazing for the attention span of young boys. The stories are interesting and appropriate for maybe age 7or8 and up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ten Boys Who Changed the World (Lightkeepers) []  2020-1-16 8:0

    My boys hung on to every word of each chapter. I love the mix of characters and will soon be getting the other books in the series. Glad I found this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rivals! Frenemies Who Changed the World []  2020-4-4 18:21

    This was a fun audible book to listen to in the vehicle with the kids. We laughed and thought it was a nice romp through history. The narrator had a amazing voice, which is essential in an audible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rivals! Frenemies Who Changed the World []  2020-4-4 18:21

    Rivals!Frenemies Who Changed the WorldScott McCormickNarrators: Prentice Onayemi, Samantha Turret, Christine Hvam, Gabriel Vaughan, Josh HurleyAudible Original, May 20182 hours, 55 minutesHistorical Humor/Humorous HistoryPurchased from Audible⭐⭐⭐⭐I found the cover of this book to be totally amusing and extremely eye-catching as well as appropriate for the book. Everything on the cover relates to one of the “stories” in the book. Yes, dinosaurs and Queen Elizabeth in the same book!This book is not available in print form. The Audible ver of this book was totally enjoyable with its info and hijinks throughout. Mr. McCormick has taken enemies in history, such as Queen Elizabeth and Mary, Queen of Scotts, and told their stories to relate how the globe was changed after each exchange. The huge change from the well-detailed exchange(s) between Liz and Mary was the religion of England. Mary was Catholic. If she had won the day (and the kingdom) England would have been a Catholic country and its history would read very differently. But Liz won the day, Mary lost her head, and England remained Protestant under Elizbeth and to this day. My ver of the story is rather cut-and-dried, but the one written by Scott McCormick and performed by the five narrators is anything but that. The wit and humor entertain, while the actual history educates painlessly. It’s not that the author is laughing at history, well, not too much, but more like presenting it in a humorous light.I recommend this highly entertaining and educational Audible book for humorous historians!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rivals! Frenemies Who Changed the World []  2020-4-4 18:21

    I got this for as an Audible Original. This was okay. It's four stories about "frenemies" who changed the globe with their rivalry. The stories were kind of in a random and I didn't really understand how the latest couple changed the globe as we know it. This is more aimed at kids, so maybe children will have fun it more than I did.I listened to this on audiobook and the narration was decent. I wasn’t a large fan of all the sound effects throughout, they were beautiful jarring. The main narration was favorite story was the one about the brothers who developed Adidas and Puma shoes, I had know idea about all the history behind that! The initial story about dinosaur bones was kind of neat. I had heard everything about the rivalry between Mary Queen of Scots versus Queen Elizabeth (in the third story) before, and there wasn't much about how this changed the world. The fourth and final, story about Alexander Hamilton and Aaron Burr, was just plain boring.Overall this was okay. I enjoyed one out of the four stories about historical rivals. The whole thing is targeted more towards kids, although the descriptions obtain beautiful graphic so I would recommend for older kids. I don’t plan on reading any follow-up books in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ten Boys Who Changed the World (Lightkeepers) []  2020-1-16 8:0

    This is a amazing collection of stories about missionaries. Each story length was perfect. It took about 2 days to read each story and was interesting enough to hold my son's 8 year old attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ten Boys Who Changed the World (Lightkeepers) []  2020-1-16 8:0

    Amazing for reluctant readers. The chapters (individual stories) are short but very well written! I would recommend this for 2-5 grade boys!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rivals! Frenemies Who Changed the World []  2020-4-4 18:21

    OMG this is hilarious! The voices are so funny--there are all these asides that break up the main narration with jokes. I love the guy who yells out JOISEY! Mary Queen of Scots sounds like a valley girl, and it's great. But you'll actually learn something from this, too. Or maybe you'll learn more because it's fun to listen to. I hope there will be more of these!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rivals! Frenemies Who Changed the World []  2020-4-4 18:21

    Rivals Frenemies who Changed the Globe by Scott McCormickNarrated by Prentice Onayemi, Samantha Turret, Khristine Hvam, Gabriel Vaughan and Josh HurleyAn Audible OriginalI found this to be both interesting and entertaining. I love history and science, well, the history of science and invention. This is a collection of short stories about people in history who were both mates and competitors. The competitions often became quite violent, even deadly. They were also rather ridiculous, at least in retrospect, and pe or Marsh, the jerks (I’d use another word, but I’ll hold it pg) who discovered a lot of of America’s dinosaurs. It’s a wonder we have anything correct with the two of them inventing things just to one-up the other.Hamilton and Burr, who political rivalry was rather bizarre and truly could have been more beneficial if they’d remained friends. It’s funny how Burr is often portrayed as the poor guy when the facts are somewhat different.Queen Elizabeth and Mary Queen of Scots, oh what a bloody mess that idas and Puma, brothers battling over shoes and dividing a city as well as a is is a side of history we’ve not seen before and I found it fun and interesting. There were definitely stories that will stay with me for years to come and others I’ll wish to research further.If you like history with a small twist, check out Rivals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ten Boys Who Changed the World (Lightkeepers) []  2020-1-16 8:0

    My 11 yr old grandson that it was interesting. I thought that it would be challenging. But it's hard to pick out a book for someone else. I read it and thought that it was well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ten Boys Who Changed the World (Lightkeepers) []  2020-1-16 8:0

    I was involved with the Christmas Shoe Box in church through Samatrians Purse through Franklin Graham. Ironically one of the stories is by his Dad, Billy. Thought it would be unbelievable for a young boy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rivals! Frenemies Who Changed the World []  2020-4-4 18:21

    The best story is the story about the tennis shoes. It is the one that sticks with me the most.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rivals! Frenemies Who Changed the World []  2020-4-4 18:21

    The author does a amazing job making each story fascinating and funny, but also tries to give a fair representation of both sides. It’s definitely worth listening to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rivals! Frenemies Who Changed the World []  2020-4-4 18:21

    I got this because I was looking for a method to use an audible that my kid might also have fun on our morning commute. I love melody too, but I thought it would be fun to learn some things together. Even some days when I asked if she wanted melody instead, she has said no. She wanted to listen to the audiobook. I know it may not be the same as reading words on a page, but that makes her carsick. So thumbs up! My only task now is to educate my small one about poetic license and the comic element... that they didn’t really say “butthead” etc. But that’s no fault of the book. We love it!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ten Boys Who Changed the World (Lightkeepers) []  2020-1-16 8:0

    a amazing book to inspire my boys. love the individuals they chose to profile, especially Nicky Cruz (and therefore a mention of David Wilkerson) and of course, Billy Graham! a must-buy for Christian parents of boys!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ten Boys Who Changed the World (Lightkeepers) []  2020-1-16 8:0

    I purchased this book for my grandsons aged 8 and 11. They look forward to reading them at bedtime. These stories present them how God can use our lives for His glory.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rivals! Frenemies Who Changed the World []  2020-4-4 18:21

    My family listened to this across a boring stretch on our street trip this fall and it was an instant family hit!!!It’s a amazing mini-rendition of four rivalry tales - Cope v Marsh, Puma v. Adidas, Mary v. Elizabeth, and Burr v. Hamilton. Each story is around thirty minutes, so you don’t have to listen to the whole book at once. They’re short enough to hold everyone engaged AND just enough info is shared to hold you wanting more. My 16-year-old asked for one of the books the author recommends at the end for a Christmas bonus because she was so interested in learning more about the “Bone War.”All of us enjoyed it so much, from my 12-year-old daughter to my 83-year-old mother. My 14 year old son is still walking around and quoting some of the jokes. When someone I mentioned Fresh Jersey yesterday, they all shouted out, “Jersey!” and laughed. Anything that can bond my three teenagers AND teach them something worthwhile is a victory for e recording was amazing. When we first listened to it, I didn’t realize that it was an original recording just for audible. I cannot imagine ever reading this book. It wouldn’t be the same without the sound effects and amazing narration of the cast.I teach elementary school and I think anyone in third grade and older would love this. If you don’t like the word, “butt,” skip this book. The author uses that word in an infantile manner throughout the book, which created us laugh, but some people may not enjoy.We purchased the sequel as a Christmas bonus and can’t wait to hear it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ten Boys Who Changed the World (Lightkeepers) []  2020-1-16 8:0

    The stories are simple enough for elementary students to read. The biographies are not very long but enough insight into the life of that individual. The thing I liked best about each "biography" is at the conclusion of each story they first provide you with a unique fact that relates to the individual's story and then sums up that person's life and ties in how that person's life was used by God. In addition, at the end of all of the biographies there is a short reading comprehension quiz covering each of the individuals covered in the book. I would highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ten Boys Who Changed the World (Lightkeepers) []  2020-1-16 8:0

    Ordered this for my 9-yr-old grandson who read it completely before putting it down!! It was refreshing to see Billy Graham included among the "10 boys" even though this is not a particularly religious book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rivals! Frenemies Who Changed the World []  2020-4-4 18:21

    In Rivals! Frenemies Who Changed the World, McCormick shared the activities of men, and women, who simply did themselves in due to problems that could have been handled in a much more reasonable, adult manner. Instead, they went out of their method to destroy for politics, family and the worst- Money!The one that captured me the most was on the Adidas/Puma controversy. I never knew the owners were brothers! Then, even long after they'd died away, the attacks continued until they finally fell away from being both numbers 1 & 2 in the sneaker industry. I was wowed, to say the least, at the lengths they'd all gone too. The Hamilton/Burr thing was amazing too. And, okay, the first one on dinosaur bones was baffling as this is a rendition of happenings that took place, so some reviewers argued McCormick didn't quite relay the info as precise as they'd have liked. So What! He beautiful much nailed it all on the head, from the bits I knew. The bits I didn't, he refers you to read up on the people, to know more. It's not like he was trying to go into detail on everything he'd written- the books less than three hours long, the snobs! LOL​The narration and sound effects also created this enjoyable. Without the antics from the studio, I probably wouldn't have liked this anywhere near as much. Also, Prentice Onayemi's voice was excellent. He created the book come to life.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386