Read words were originally magic reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all words were originally magic reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Magic []  2020-4-8 18:36

    This book really surprised me. I knew I’d love it because of the magic. But this book is about so much more than magic. I found the focus to be on friendship, family, falling in love, being insecure, and trying to figure out who you are and where you fit in.I have to begin with a quote from the beginning of the book. I knew right away that I would have fun it."I didn’t mean to slay Josh ally, I didn’t. It’s just that I was nervous, and condoms are more complicated that I was expecting, and one thing led to another there’s blood everywhere and he’s dead."Alexis decided to lose her virginity after prom to Josh Harper, a boy she didn’t even like. Something went wrong with her magic, his exploded, and he died. She immediately gets her mates to help. The group decides to test to perform a spell they’ve never done before to test to bring Josh back to life. It didn’t go is group of mates all have magic. They don’t exactly understand why or how it all works, but each one has a specialty. It bonded them and they are like sisters. Except for the crushes. Iris is the brains of the group. Her magic is various and she’s the one who takes notes and studies the magic.When things go wrong with the magic, everyone needs to take body parts and dispose of them. The blood is cleaned up by the spell, but Josh is in pieces. Something is really off with the spell though. As they begin burying parts, Josh’s heart starts beating. Slowly at first and then more as parts are buried, destroyed, or eaten by animals. They all have to use their magic to support the disposal. Iris feels things first. But then each of them starts to lose something from themselves. Magic needs balance. Their hope is that after the parts are gone, maybe the heart will bring Josh back. The police are around and one girl at school is very ere is a lot of stress on everyone, but not just because of Josh. They’re almost done with senior year and they’re not all going to be together. Alexis is in love with Roya, but is afraid to tell her. We see a lot of insecurity from Alexis. She’s afraid her mates don’t love her the method she is. She’s afraid of what will happen in college. She’s afraid that’s she’s never amazing enough. Her dads adopted her and then her small brother later on (they aren’t blood similar siblings). I love the blended families in the book. There is a ton of diversity. Not just the ity, but race, religion, blended families, e bonds of friendship were just awesome in this book and I love that it was such a huge focus. It can be hard to form those bonds, especially with a larger group. They had wars and issues, but nothing would ever come between them. They came first. Always. I loved Alexis’s family which is the one we saw the most focus on. Her dads were so kind and supportive.We have to wait until to the end to see if Josh comes back to life or not. We have to wait and see how things change, but we watch some growth from each character. Overall, I just really enjoyed this book. It’s a small more mature with the blood and , but the children are all seniors and almost done with high school.I gave this book 4 1/2 stars, rounded up to 5. Thank you to the publisher for e-mailing me a netgalley link for download. Quote taken from arc and may change before publication.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Magic []  2020-4-8 18:36

    When We Were Magic is a book I want I'd had as a teenager - the best parts of it are the depictions of the friendships between the six main characters, and learning about their depths and foibles and the love between each other. If I have a issue with this book, it's that I don't feel like they should have gotten off as easily as they did - and because I know they're powerful enough that they could have handled e premise of When We Were Magic is that Alexis, a high school senior, accidentally kills the boy she's about to sleep with on prom night. What follows is her and her five best friends, all of whom have literal magic powers, as they test to fix something that can't be fixed. The book shows how their friendship bonds are tested, where they stretch, how they grow, and what the unquestioning help of their friendship looks like. None of them are perfect. All of them are wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Magic []  2020-4-8 18:36

    A mostly slow-moving story about a group of mates in their senior year at high school, and the changes and stresses their relationships go through after a tragic happening involving magic. As I said in the summary, it is sweet and funny, scary and tense, and also just a *bit* fey -- just a *little* disconnected from true reality. I found myself involved with the characters, at times *very* much so.

    0  


    Add your opinion on words were originally magic or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Magic []  2020-4-8 18:36

    Well, this book certain started off with a bang.Well, near bang.Well, a boy’s genitals were exploded by … technically?This book had a lot of things I loved (not the genital explosion. Should I stop saying genitals? I’m going to.) like queer teens, teen witches, wild and unknown magic, the best ride or die team you could ever hope to see. There’s a death and Alexis and her BFFs have to race to hide the body parts before the city and the police figure out what ’s got all the things I loved, but I didn’t really love it enough. We’re introduced to SIX people right off the bat (not including Dead Boy) and we’re expected to remember each and every one of them and their particular magic. It got true confusing, true fast. If we were slowly introduced to them instead of all at once, I may have been able to better understand them all. But as it stands, I can’t even tell you all their names right now because they all just obtain jumbled in my head.I also feel like we don’t really spend that much time understanding the globe and the tension Gailey is attempting to nurture. Why are these girls magic? Where did that magic come from? Who else is magic? What does it mean when the cop who gets assigned to the high school to question everyone keeps lingering her eyes on Alexis? We don’t really obtain answers to a lot of items and it’s tends to feel like we end up getting snippets and vignettes of the characters burying each body part before it all comes to a convenient close.BUT. There are loads of amazing things, as always. Gailey is a master of queer rep and Alexis has two dads, at least three of the girls are openly queer, one is heavily suggested to be nonbinary/genderfluid (it’s never stated explicitly on the page, but the characters do have a conversation about them wanting to move to the Huge Town and chop their hair and go by various pronouns). Alexis ends up coming out to her mates as bi (Heck. Yeah. On screen biity) and there’s so much queer rep my cup overfloweth and thank you Sarah Gailey, you’re the Reagent of Queer in my life, bless you.I loved the squad’s connection, how they used their magic in small ways, how each time they buried a body part, they lost something vital to themselves. It was massive and I loved it. Their friendships were stellar and really the greatest part of this l in all, a amazing book, a amazing tale of friendship and queerness, but left me wanting for more. I feel like that’s a usual thing for me and Gailey’s books–I just wish so much more, I wish to bury myself in 600 pages of their writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Magic []  2020-4-8 18:36

    In theory, Alexis knows that she can rely on her mates for anything. I mean they’ve all been keeping their magic a secret for years. Putting that theory to the test, when that same magic results in one dead body, Alexis truly knows who her best mates are: they’re the ones that support her hide the Alexis, Iris, Paulie, Maryan, Marcelina, and Roya struggle with everything they still don’t know about their magic as well as the consequences of trying to right the wrong their magic wrought, they’ll learn that the best possibility they have of getting out of this mess, is together.When I first read the premise for Sarah Gailey’s When We Were Magic I immediately thought that it sounded like an amazing contrast to their book Magic for Liars which released latest year. While it’s not officially, I do like the idea that this time around Sarah Gailey is writing from the perspective of the magical students, in this case specifically from Alexis’s point of view. At different points I got major The Craft meets Heathers with some Huge Small Lies thrown in vibes.And I just absolutely love how magic is such a metaphor for almost everything. Here it works in a literal sense in that they all have magical abilities, but it’s also the idea of this part of yourself that doesn’t fit into what is considered “normal”. Something that you feel you have to hide, but then you search other people who are like you, who also have magic. And it’s about this wonderful, unbreakable, unshakeable bond that forms. This love that is kind of universal idea of figuring out where you fit – who you are and who you wish to be – also plays out over the most tumultuous time in a lot of a teenager’s life: when they’re getting ready to leave home on their own and begin adulting. For Alexis this means, hopefully, finally telling Roya how she feels about exis was an interesting choice for narrator, I think, because she kind of starts out very unassuming. And I mean that she can clearly see her mates and their abilities, but she doesn’t see herself clearly, she doubts herself a lot. She doesn’t believe that Roya can have the same feelings for her, she doesn’t believe her magic shines as bright as everyone else’s. So besides showing readers this amazing group of young women supporting and being there for one another, we obtain to see Alexis begin to fully realize how much power she holds in the weight of her decisions whether amazing or bad.Honestly, I really wanted more time spent with the girls and their magic. I loved the method it manifests differently with each girl. They all have a general ability, but also something that is their powerful suit. Because there’s still so much about their magic that they don’t know, I often felt like the exploration aspect of their abilities gets overshadowed by what they already know they are capable of in trying to rewrite the wrong so, a huge drawback for me is the fact that I didn’t think the ratio of conflict to consequences was even. And when we’re talking about the loss of life, for me, the counter-action should be a beautiful close equivalent, and I didn’t feel that punch as much as I think I should have.Overall, I’ve really been taken in by the magic that Sarah Gailey has created. Offering a very true look at high school life, with unbelievable and varied representation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Magic []  2020-4-8 18:36

    When We Were Magic tells a magical tale of independence, sisterhood, and growth among 5 female witches in high school. With a first line that will hook you, a first chapter that will blow your mind (literally), and a a magic system that is so unique. The MC Alexis goes through a devastating event, and a journey to set things right while also dealing with life as a high school senior who is secretly in love with one of her best friends. This standalone novel flows so nicely that I read it completely in one sitting, barely noticing time going by. A full five stars from me, and so far one of my favorite reads of the year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Magic []  2020-4-8 18:36

    Sarah Gailey is a rockstar in publishing these days, with no less than four fresh books published within a span of less than two years. In their latest, they dip their toes into the young adult pool, giving us a story with a tip of magic that mostly focuses on teen friendships, romance and family relationships. Although this story might be a small too teen angsty for some adult readers, I found its a lot of messages about body positivity, diversity and identity excellent for teens who are looking for stories with diverse representation. And the magic is a bonus!High school senior Alexis, along with her five best friends, is able to do magic, a secret that bonds the girls together as they navigate the ups and downs of high school and family life. Alexis is attending a prom afterparty and scheming to lose her virginity with lacrosse star Josh Harper when something horrific happens: her magic unexpectedly goes very wrong, and Josh winds up dead. Calling on her five besties for help—Iris, Roya, Maryam, Marcelina and Paulie—Alexis and her mates test to solve the issue with more magic, but that makes things even worse. Now the girls are stuck with Josh’s dismembered body parts and they must figure out how to obtain rid of them before the police begin asking questions.I know that’s a very short story recap, but that’s really all you need to know. When We Were Magic is actually very light on plot and focuses mainly on the relationships among the six mates and their respective families. At first I was a small disappointed with that focus, but I have to admit Gailey did a amazing job of pulling me into the drama—which I tried to resist!—and I grew to care about these girls as if they were my own friends.And boy, if you are looking for a diverse read, well you have found it. This book is chock full of diversity. Maryam is Muslim, and Roya is Afghani and biracial (I think). Marcelina is not only Filipina, but she’s also described as “plump” and is completely comfortable with her body. Alexis and her brother are both adopted and have two dads, and Alexis, Roya and Paulie are all queer. The story is told from Alexis’s point of view, and she calls herself “ordinary” and compares herself to her attractive friends. She’s clearly struggling a bit with her body photo but it felt true to me, because I know lots of teens aren’t satisfied with the method they look.But what really stood out for me was the method all six girls lifted each other up and stuck together through thick and thin. There are so a lot of teen positive messages in this book. Alexis, who has technically murdered someone, knows she has to take responsibility for her act, even though it happened by mistake, and she even tries to talk her mates out of getting involved, so they don’t have to suffer the consequences. I also enjoyed the emotional moments when the girls are trying to cope with eventually splitting up as senior year comes to a close, that inevitable time when mates are forced apart. Having recently experienced the emotional trauma of high schoolers going off to college, I have to admit I teared up a bit!However, if you’re one of those readers who wants concrete info about where the magic comes from or how it works, you might be disappointed. Gailey’s characters have magical abilities that just are, no explanations given. It’s also not clear how a lot of people out there have magic, since the story is tightly focused on the six main characters. Although near the end, we search a seventh teen also has abilities, but she’s been scared and hasn’t told anyone, up until now. I did love the various types of magic the girls each had: Alexis can communicate with animals, Marcelina can talk to trees and plants and create them grow, Maryam has an affinity with colors, Roya has healing magic and flowers burst into bloom around her whenever she’s happy, etc. Even though I loved these magical abilities, they felt sort of all over the put to me, with no true connecting tissue.I also had lots of questions about why certain things happened. Why did Josh’s body disappear and then reappear in pieces? Why did the girls begin losing things (like memories or freckles) when the body parts were destroyed? Why did Alexis’ magic suddenly turn “bad”? And what the heck was that stage in the woods where six dead hawks fell out of the sky? If you’re OK with going with the flow and can obtain past these unanswered questions, you’ll be fine. But you might struggle in parts like I did, if you’re a reader who needs their magic systems to have rules.But despite those negatives, I am recommending this, especially to younger readers who are looking for diverse stories about friendship with a bit of romance. This isn’t my favorite Sarah Gailey book, but it was the right book to read latest week when the globe was falling apart, a lighter read that left me entertained and smiling at the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Magic []  2020-4-8 18:36

    I love this book. It's hard to write magic in a post-Hogwarts world, and Gailey nails it. Magic here is powerful, personal, and it has a cost. It supports the arcs of the vivid characters, but does not replace them. There are no cheap shots and no deus ex machina, but there's a pervasive air of wonder and possibility.And of course there's an awesome (LGBTQ) love story.If you've read Gailey's Magic for Liars, this book is almost the opposite. That's a book where magic doesn't really matter; this is a book where it matters a lot. They're both amazing reads, and I am amazed at strong they both are.Oh, it's beautiful funny, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Magic []  2020-4-8 18:36

    This is fantasy at its best: weird and normal and human and alien and wonderfully ere's something about the transition from high school to whatever lies beyond that makes it compelling even as an adult reader. Maybe it's because no matter how old we obtain or how much we grow up there's still something holding us back and something calling us forward. That tension was never as clearly delineated as at that time, for so a lot of of rah Gailey has written a marvelous book, and I hope y'all read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When We Were Magic []  2020-4-8 18:36

    This book was very unique, and definitely one not to miss. While it had its magical globe that was at the heart of the story, it was more than just that. It was a story about friendship, first loves, family, the high school world, and so much ere were lessons in it that were sad but true. For example, parents knowing that they have to teach their young daughters to be aware of overly mate older males. It’s sad, but I can recognize it from things I want I’d been warned about in my past, because as I look back now, I can see times when that is what I should have known. I remember feeling the creepiness of the situations, but not having been warned, and feeling that I required to be nice, because as far as I knew, they were just being nice to ere’s a lot of various examples of characters assuming how the another hero was feeling or what they were going to do, and it being wrong. Something again that I know I assume, and probably I should not, because so often I’m wrong, or probably would search out I was wrong if I ever e group of girls who were mates were also all so different, yet each had their own personality and quirks that were what led them to be such a excellent combination of , I will warn you, the opening scene, the horrible thing that happens that keeps our characters on the edge and trying to figure things out throughout the book was beautiful crazy, beautiful wild, and out there. And while I’m sad that it only ended up getting resolved the method it did, because it was an innocent person really that didn’t deserve how it all went down, I obtain why it went that way. How unlike a Hollywood ending, this was true enough to create the characters have to live with something poor whether it was meant to happen or not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Nice android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    I love it so much

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Gosh, so Me Episodes 1-2 Cute, and Polite Aw... cute game! Thank you Babybus this is excellent for my cute! Winking Face.......So anks a bunch for making this app!It teaches him to be polite and his manners . Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    I like it😁😂😂😂😃 it is so chop

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Fun Factory 8 I like it I love it because nobody likes the android games that I that's when they're going they better not to the gate and say oh oh oh oh oh oh I don't like this android game so don't please don't delete me I don't care that's what they obtain so I like it everybody should obtain the like

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    This android game is not Downloading faster

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Thanks for this android game very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Perfect Teaches kids how to behave properly in public but all ur android games are the best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Nice😎👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood android game lovely android game I love you baby bus panda 🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼🐼👩💬Cool💫 👚👏💥 👖 👠👠 🎩 😁 👕👍Great! 👖 👍✨✨✨ 🎉😊👏😁👏😃🎉 Congratulations! 👍✨✨✨ 🎉😊👏😁👏😃🎉 Congratulations! 👍✨✨✨ 🎉😊👏😁👏😃🎉 Congratulations!🍀 ☀ 🍀🍀 🍀🍀🍀 🎁 Have a nice weekend! 🍀 ☀

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    SAMRAT Sanjeev

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    😇😇😇😇😇

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Sroy We like to say sroyyhea

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Wow It teaches my brother to be amazing he is cleaning my cloths

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    The magic word polite I love it it's amazing to children

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    We can do the magic I like the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    amazing and nice android game to teach your children's how to behave

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Android game ini sangat baguus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    It's ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    It's just amazing for kids😍😘

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Loved it Sometimes that I'm bored I play this android game :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-D :-P

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    So cuttttteeeeee I loveeeè all the baby bus android games no need to give any poor comment okkkk

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    I love you daddy please search the attached file is scanned photo in PDF format

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Actually when I play baby bus talking one actually it's not working why?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    meneneske sare android game download kiye hai

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    i don't like the monkey

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Ii liked it a small bit

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Sweet!😘😙😚

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    I totaly loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Worst android game ever Crashing on my lenovo vibe k5 note device Not useful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    LOVE IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE IT AND IT IS SOOOOOO CUTE LIKE MY LITTLE BABY SISTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Thanks My small brother is learning so much thank you so much i cant thank you enough you are so nice my small brother never talk but this android game created him talk thank you so much

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Aku benci internet sekejap sekejap ada sekejap sekejap tak de 😠😠😠

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    For an older version...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    I love all apps from baby bus and this needs 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Love, love, love! Definitely recommend this to parents for their children. Amazing learning tools for children!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    Boring! This android game is for baby's. DON'T obtain this application so boring so boring so BORING!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magic Words - Polite Baby [App]  2019-3-22 13:41

    This android game is so much amazing for girls 🌷 ☺ 🌹 🌸 🌺 🍀 💐 😇 ❤ 🐣 🐚 🐌

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words Were All We Had: Becoming Biliterate Against the Odds (Language and Literacy Series) []  2020-7-7 18:28

    Arrived before I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words Were All We Had: Becoming Biliterate Against the Odds (Language and Literacy Series) []  2020-7-7 18:28

    An perfect book that really makes you think about language and racism. Loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words Were All We Had: Becoming Biliterate Against the Odds (Language and Literacy Series) []  2020-7-7 18:28

    I read the book, "Words were all we had" and I enjoyed it immensely. Most of the authors are about my age and lived some of the same experiences I had growing up bilingual. It is a very authentic description of what it's like to maintain a heritage language in a country that does not appreciate foreign languages. I especially appreciated the section at the end of the book where Reyes compares middle-class and Latino parents' preschool literacy practices. She compares related literacy practices so succinctly. I plan on sharing this section of the book with all of our teachers at the elementary school where I teach. I'm hoping it will support our teachers understand that latino parents are more related than various from middle-class parents regarding literacy practices. Thanks again for providing me with this opportunity to support bridge the gap between teachers who believe in latino parents and those that believe that latino parents do not care about education.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words Were All We Had: Becoming Biliterate Against the Odds (Language and Literacy Series) []  2020-7-7 18:28

    I bought this book for a book study and was very disappointed. It is not very academic, but more affective in its purpose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words Were All We Had: Becoming Biliterate Against the Odds (Language and Literacy Series) []  2020-7-7 18:28

    Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Words Were All We Had: Becoming Biliterate Against the Odds (Language and Literacy Series) []  2020-7-7 18:28

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Irishman: Originally published as I Heard You Paint Houses []  2020-1-24 20:48

    My review includes spoilers about this non-fiction title. BEWARE.I read this book for two reasons: The first is because I'm always drawn to mafia-related tales, especially real ones, and secondly, since Martin Scorsese is turning it into a Netflix movie with Robert De Niro, Joe Pesci, and Al Pacino all starring in the three main e story of Frank Sheeran is an interesting, dark, and sometimes brutal thing. This man killed everything from Nazis to gangsters, and in huge quantities. The book starts with a riveting chapter that sets Frank up the night before Jimmy Hoffa is killed. It had me thinking that Frank knew who did it, but had nothing to do with the actual murder, and boy was I e book cuts away from Hoffa's murder, and takes us into Frank's childhood, and then into his 411 days of combat service during Globe Battle II. The days Frank learned how to carry out the order to murder without hesitation, and the days where Frank learned how to outlive everyone around him. I found Frank's tour of duty to be some of the most thought-provoking stuff, but I can understand why it was hard for him to discuss, especially since he was in combat for longer than the majority of humans ever in ere's a lot of Teamsters Union talk, and while some of it would boil down to violence, it was mostly just a bunch of names being thrown around, and elections of local unions being discussed. These parts of the book are probably the least interesting, but Frank Sheeran loved The Teamsters, and was a proud member. It was probably the thing he was most proud of in his entire life.Hoffa's trials versus Bobby Kennedy take up a huge portion of the book, but Frank didn't have much of a perspective other than repeating some of Jimmy Hoffa's quotes from that time. It's a shame we'll never obtain to read a fresh book with interviews from Jimmy on this subject. His rivalry with Bobby Kennedy was an epic American tale in ings started to obtain truly griping around the time Jimmy Hoffa went to "school", as Frank Sheeran referred to prison. Hoffa's hatred for being inside, and how he lost his grip on The Teamsters, which eventually led to him losing his grip on reality setup the climax, as Frank finally returned to his story from the begin of the book. Frank created it to Detroit the day Jimmy Hoffa was killed...I think I was pulling for Frank more before I knew about him being in on Jimmy Hoffa's death, despite knowing he'd killed tons of other people. Something about killing the man he claims to have respected so much, and been such close mates with, makes it hard to relate to the man. You always hear things about the mafia sending your closest mate to whack you, and in Frank's ver of the Hoffa hit, that's how it went ank mentioned Giants' Stadium, which was a put you'd always hear rumored to be Hoffa's burial ground when you grew up a Giants fan. He squashed that rumor, like a few others over the years, but the info of Jimmy Hoffa's latest moments were a lot less extravagant. There's items to be taken away from those moments, but "I Heard You Paint Houses" really left an impression on me concerning Russell hear a lot of old gangster names thrown around over the years, but I don't think I've ever had a conversation with a person that involved them dropping Russell Buffalino's name. According to the book, he was the closest living representation of Vito Corleone from "The Godfather", and Russell had final say on "The Godfather" film's script all the method back in the 70's. Another tidbit from this book about Godfather, Al Martino, who plays Johnny Fontane in the film, was actually the basis for the character, and not Frank Sinatra. Not only that, but Francis Ford Coppola didn't wish Al Martino for the role, but Russell Buffalino created some calls, and it was ank Sheeran went out by starving himself to death in a nursing home. Robert De Niro is going to be playing him in the movie, and while I hear there's going to be a lot of de-aging going on, I honestly think this flick would've worked better as a Marty/Leo team-up, but what do I know?Charles Brandt goes on to talk about how his book was well received, and most of Frank's tales were proven true, despite common beliefs before the book was published in the early 2000's (I.E.: Crazy Joey Gallo hit). Apparently, he even became mates with the actual "Donnie Brasco", and they have worked together on other stuff.If you're interested in the real crimes of the American Mafia than "I Heard You Paint Houses" is the exact book you need to add to your reading list. Frank Sheeran interacted with everyone who was anyone during the beginning of the end of "This Thing of Ours", and all as an outsider, so it's a rare RDICT: READ

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Irishman: Originally published as I Heard You Paint Houses []  2020-1-24 20:48

    Sheerhan's recall is frightening. He remembers info that are spot on. Amazing book. Soon to be a film by Martin Scorsese and Robert e flow of this book is amazing. I was raised in Philly and this guy remembers every detail of restaurants, bars, stores, clubs....all exactly as I remembered them. Can't wait for the film!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Irishman: Originally published as I Heard You Paint Houses []  2020-1-24 20:48

    Charles Brandt the Fresh York born author has done an perfect job of telling the story of Frank "Irish" Sheran a hit man for the mob. Sheran was born in an Irish neighborhood in Philadelphia in 1920. He was tall and hefty. In Globe Battle II he served as a combat soldier for 411 horrendous days in hellholes such as Salerno and Anzio. After the battle he married and got involved with the Italian dominated Costra Nostra. He became a mate of a mob boss becoming involved in union activities as well as a lot of criminal activities. He was a hit man and killed a lot of men. He was a amazing mate of Jimmy Hoffa and tells the story of the union leader's disappearance in detail. We also learn about the Watergate scandal and how Hoffa and the mob gave cash to Nixon. The book is to be turned into a fresh movie . An interesting look at organized crime. First person quotes from Sheran are used throughout the book. He served time in prison and died in 2003. A amazing read for fans of Mafia and real crime books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Irishman: Originally published as I Heard You Paint Houses []  2020-1-24 20:48

    A ripping yarn, as they say, and if only it were real I'd have given 5 stars. But Sheeran's "confessions"--about killing Jimmy Hoffa, Crazy Joe Gallo, and others, and playing a role in the Bay of Pigs invasion, JFk's assassination, and more--are all provably, laughably false. Ask any mafia expert and they'll tell you so. So, even thought this is a amazing read, it pretends to be something that it's not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Irishman: Originally published as I Heard You Paint Houses []  2020-1-24 20:48

    Perfect book - I recommend it for some readers and with some qualifications. Two key interests a reader should have to have fun this book immensely are appreciation of history and a curiosity for criminal stories and organized crime. Amazingly, there's a amazing deal of US history here beyond Jimmy Hoffa. The central question is: did Sheeran (the main character) lie to the author? Or is it all true? There's no middle ground. If Sheeran lied on some aspects, then we should not trust any other aspects. To believe Sheeran is to believe: (i) Sheeran killed Hoffa; (ii) the mob assassinated JFK; (iii) the mob threw the 1960 election to JFK by vote fraud in Illinois; (iv) JFK's motive in Bay of Pigs was payback to organized crime to recoup lost assets in Cuba; (v) Joe Kennedy maintained his mob ties his entire life and implied to crime figures that he could "control" his sons JFK and Bobby; (vi) Jimmy Hoffa ordered a lot of violent illegal activities including murder; (vii) the mob created money bribes to John Mitchell - Nixon's attorney general; (viii) Mitchell actually accepted one such bribe at the front door of his own home. Can all of this really be true? It would be SHOCKING! So I have problem believing it. One further draw for "I Heard You Paint Houses" is that the main hero is such a sociopath. In almost all books, the reader wants to identify with the main character. I sense that the author TRIES to obtain the reader to identify with Sheeran. Perhaps the author himself bonded with Sheeran. That's bizarre - Sheeran was evil incarnate with a functional and handsome exterior.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Irishman: Originally published as I Heard You Paint Houses []  2020-1-24 20:48

    According to Charles Brandt, his book, “I Heard You Paint Houses,” closes the case on the disappearance of Jimmy Hoffa. If you take its info at face value, Jimmy Hoffa was shot and immediately cremated in secretive and rapid fashion, “getting the job done,” by Frank “The Irishman” Sheeran and associates. An eminent attorney with impeccable credentials, Brandt used his cross examination and interrogation skills in gathering a lengthy recounting of the story from a reluctant Sheeran, a long time mate and confidant of is is a complicated book because of the presence of a multitude of Italian mobsters with their convoluted names and relationships. Brandt lets Sheeran, who died in 2003, tell most of the story in his own words with lengthy quotes properly notated, with imprecise grammar intact. Brandt also interjects his own findings, complete with explanations of the legalities, to test to hold things on an even keel, but sometimes falls short of keeping the reader in the picture. It was disconcerting at times and I found myself going back to previous text to test to hold things straight. Sometimes I did and sometimes I failed. But the interest was still there, and I found the info very enlightening. I now believe I could conduct a criminal hearing into the proceedings, as long as I had an Italian interpreter and a hearty ere are a lot of elusive referrals to criminal activity because of the evasive language used by the principals to stay out of trouble. For instance, “painting a house” meant sing blood. “Giving someone a message” meant doing property hurt to something they owned or physical hurt to someone close to them so they know that they’re close to getting their own house painted. “Going to do some business” meant traveling somewhere to commit some kind of crime that had been obliquely requested. Direct orders to do something illegally were seldom given in order to maintain a façade of legality. So the book is filled with doing favors that are actually deadly in their purpose, a lot of times having fatal results.I enjoyed the book and the possibility to obtain intimately involved with criminal activity without actually pulling the trigger, so to speak. The a lot of references to Italian meal were a delightful plus. Brandt knows how to bring the reader along for risky rides and clandestine meetings. It helps to have the credibility of a Charles Brandt, because there’s not a lot of solid ground to be traveled on. Things never seem to be as they appear; statements never seem to be always forthright; activities are sometimes foggy. It’s a globe of elusion and evasiveness, an atmosphere that is always murky. But I enjoyed huyler T WallaceAuthor of TIN LIZARD TALES

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Irishman: Originally published as I Heard You Paint Houses []  2020-1-24 20:48

    It is not strictly speaking a book, not in a linear, plot kind of way. Lots of crime and names which will be recognized. The Hoffa part is certainly plausible. One problem, the author has drunk the Lin DeVecchio KoolAid and believes his stories, possibly because Pistone believes them and they're all best buddies, now. His belief of all that makes me just a small questioning of his judgement about other situations. The LCN mob killed Hoffa, much more than likely; JFK, I'm not sure of this source because of his belief in things I doubt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Irishman: Originally published as I Heard You Paint Houses []  2020-1-24 20:48

    Thank you, Mr. brandt, for solving the Hoffa disappearance. In 1975 I was a twenty-six year old man living just a small over a mile from the death house. Small did I know that as I wondered for the next forty years if there would ever be a death-bed confession that would solve the mystery. There was, and it did. One more thing off my bucket list, as I obtain closer and closer to kicking my own. Amazing book, amazing read. If this is an zone of interest to you, I have only two words: Buy it. I give it five stars, only because I'm not allowed to give it six.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Irishman: Originally published as I Heard You Paint Houses []  2020-1-24 20:48

    I struggle with how to rate this book. On the one hand, it is truly engaging and immersive. I wanted to read this before "The Irishman", the fresh film came out. Once I started, it only took a few weekday nights to [email protected]#$%!, often disappointed I could barely hold my eyes begin to finish a few more pages. Brandt's access to Frank Sheeran, the Irish mobster taken in by Russell Buffalino, a key Mafioso, who claims to have killed Jimmy Hoffa among other things, provides a semblance of credibility and believability to what is written. To someone without the deep historical knowledge and familiar with the full historical record, case files, witnesses, etc., the reality is that the most necessary thing about this book is whether it is accurate or not. Ultimately, this is what left me torn about how to rate "I Heard You Paint Houses". I subsequently read several pieces in credible outlets like the NY Review of Books by those far more familiar with the Hoffa case and there were enough questions about the veracity of Sheeran's acc and motivations that left me a bit unsure.Did I devour this book? Yes. Was it riveting? Yes. Did I believe the story when I read it? Yes. However, after reading other experts I was left with enough lingering doubts. If this were a novel, it would have been five stars. As a biography of someone with such explosive claims, the best I could do was 3 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Irishman: Originally published as I Heard You Paint Houses []  2020-1-24 20:48

    This is a fascinating story that not only encompasses the disappearance of Jimmy Hoffa but also the mob; John Kennedy, his Presidency and his assassination; Bobby Kennedy, his acts as Attorney General, and assassination; Richard Nixon and his Presidency; the Cuban Revolution and the Bay of Pigs invasion. Whew! This is the reason this book is so long...the research by the author is amazing. Frank Sheeran is a hit man for the mob and before his death wanted to "confess his sins" and from interviews over a long period of time, the author has compiled the testimonies of Sheeran into this book. A lot of mysteries are solved, if Sheeran told the truth. At times, the story rambles and repeats itself. I feel the author lost his method a bit by becoming too emotionally close to Sheeran, forgetting that he was a cold-blooded assassin who used the court system to avoid punishment method too long and even when imprisioned, the stretch served wasnt any more than a slap on the wrist. One sentence that I was astounded to read was when Sheeran faced his death by saying, "...I confessed my sins to a priest and he forgave them." Frank fully believed he and all his buddies that found religion were all heaven bound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Words: Free Word Spelling Puzzle [App]  2019-1-21 22:57

    Love the android game is very challenging. My issue is every time i test to obtain my double gift from the top hat nothing happens and my android game goes into loading. I have to uninstall then it goes back to the beginning of the android game but i have logged into my Facebook page and it still happens. I want this issue can be fixed bcus i would hate to delete the game. I gave the android game a 4 due to the problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Words: Free Word Spelling Puzzle [App]  2019-1-21 22:57

    I was enjoying playing this android game until now because it took to long for me to complete a level y'all ended my android game that's not fair the higher the harder it gets which is fine I have took longer before & yall didnt stop my android game why dose it matter how long it takes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Words: Free Word Spelling Puzzle [App]  2019-1-21 22:57

    challenging!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Words: Free Word Spelling Puzzle [App]  2019-1-21 22:57

    it is a learning android game test it everyone. Yeah!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Words: Free Word Spelling Puzzle [App]  2019-1-21 22:57

    nice android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Words: Free Word Spelling Puzzle [App]  2019-1-21 22:57

    Amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Words: Free Word Spelling Puzzle [App]  2019-1-21 22:57

    perfect android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Words: Free Word Spelling Puzzle [App]  2019-1-21 22:57

    The application hangs a lot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Words: Free Word Spelling Puzzle [App]  2019-1-21 22:57

    Addictive!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    There are so a lot of words I place in that the android game basically says "aren't words". It recognises "eat" and "eaten" just fine, but I place "ate" and it blinks red. Doesn't even obtain place in the chest of additional words. And that's just one example. You need to search a method to broaden your dictionary because it's both annoying and frustrating. Otherwise, the android game is alright.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    Learning more how various the words can be rewarded. To relax and learn like a cross word puzzle book so their is no need to have a book or pencil. This is a better wa6 to learn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    This android game was fun at first but sometimes it gets to hard so I am uninstalling This app, if it gets to where it is not fun it is not good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    One of the best puzzles I've found and that's exactly what I was looking for!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    Fun and addicting! Not hard! Play it before bed so i can tire myself out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    When I obtain to level 16 it fully locks up and won't allow me play anymore

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    Doesn't load the game! *The android game doesn't load. I see you have an update. I tried that and nothing. Only thing that shows is a screen with the logo. Nothing else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    The most amazing crossword puzzles I've ever seen. Hold up the amazing work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    Most of the true word you enter don't exist in the game, then you have words that aren't words and they are correct, the dictionary on the application need a sorting out. Otherwise it's a fun android game to pass the time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    Too a lot of popups

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    I'm giving it 0 stars i test to play but it won't even load up it goes to a black screen

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    Fun I am a lover of word android games scrabble wordsearch etc

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    Amazing word android game and challenging

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    Hard at times but fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    Same as any other word game. No better, no worse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    Some of the puzzles take some thinking to solve them but it's rewarding to level up. Well done devs for creating a android game so entertaining and addictive. Five stars from me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    This is a very entertaining and educative game. Compared to related android games this one has the best design and playability. Two thumbs up from me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find & Connect Words from Letters [App]  2020-7-21 13:28

    Having fun playing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find Words From Letters [App]  2020-4-24 21:27

    Just uninstalled. Why would anyone wish to begin all over every time the android game is opened? I reinstalled this android game and started all over again because you asked for more info, which i gave you. I thought, great, they will fix it. But no, you didn't. I played past chapter 5, had to quit a while, came back to it and once again it had restart to chapter 1, level 1. I give up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find Words From Letters [App]  2020-4-24 21:27

    Omg .had to give a review is android game is brilliant ,the graphic unbelievable ,and just everything I've been looking for in a word ease please add more levels so I can continue for a while. Just brilliant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find Words From Letters [App]  2020-4-24 21:27

    So far so good. Need more time to truly evaluate. Do not like apps that continually ask to be rated

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find Words From Letters [App]  2020-4-24 21:27

    Amazing game! I was surprised cuz there are so a lot of like it but it's good. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find Words From Letters [App]  2020-4-24 21:27

    Amazing for the brain and stimulating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find Words From Letters [App]  2020-4-24 21:27

    Amazing word android games hold up the amazing work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Word - Find Words From Letters [App]  2020-4-24 21:27

    This android game is so much fun and addictive.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386