Read working girl blues reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all working girl blues reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Good Girl Blues []  2020-7-26 22:41

    LOVE this guy! This is a amazing album with lots of amazing stuff. It won't disappoint. '60s soul is alive and well!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Good Girl Blues []  2020-7-26 22:41

    I enjoyed the melody and would recommend it for some one looking for a light bluesy feel of music. Would buy other titles from this artist based on this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Good Girl Blues []  2020-7-26 22:41

    This CD is just what I like in a blues recording. A small edge with beat and lyrics to match. Just listening to track 7 'Slipin' and Slidin', takes you to a swamp in the backwoods of Lousianna or a spaceship in David Bowie land... Take your pick. The Hole, the short or long ver is the method to begin and end this collection of blues with a funky edge. Buy it, you will not be disappointed.

    0  


    Add your opinion on working girl blues or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Good Girl Blues []  2020-7-26 22:41

    Love this guy, his voice and his music... everything ... so glad a mate turned me on to his music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Good Girl Blues []  2020-7-26 22:41

    Nothin to complain about

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Good Girl Blues []  2020-7-26 22:41

    I purchased this item from Amazon's SACD section and when it arrived as a regular cd I was more than a small disappointed. Than I played it and it had even more of what hooked me when I sampled the disc on Amazons website. But, and this is a huge but, the samples as heard on my laptop don't prepare you for the overbearing, plodding, and wholly artificial bass on this disc. I like huge rich bass in my blues/jazz just as much (if not maybe even a small more) than the next person, but the bass on this disc sounds so fake and at the same time so overbearing as to ruin an otherwise unbelievable moody mix. I sure would like to hear a remastered SACD without the amateurish syntheticly enhanced bassline. The melody is quite enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Good Girl Blues []  2020-7-26 22:41

    ... and that's a amazing thang. i don't buy blues albums very often anymore, in fact almost never. this cd has much more in common with the 1st soul of john black cd than it does blues in general -- and thankfully so. in fact the only songs on the album that can be called blues in the structural sense are 'the moon blues' and 'deez blues'. my fave: feelinsnot quite as funky as the original, which is still the gold standard for these guys.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Good Girl Blues []  2020-7-26 22:41

    This CD is awesome!!!! I heard track 1(The Hole) on a local blues radio stationhere in the DMV (DC,MD,VA)area and justhad to hear what this artist was about.I must say that I was completelyoverwhelmed. WoW!!!!!Get this cd andyou will not be dissapointed. Theindustry is so watered down, rarelywill you search a CD with track aftertrack of amazing music. If Miles likedthis guy (John Bigham) you know thatswhats up.........

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Good Girl Blues []  2020-7-26 22:41

    Yes, Fishbone's John Bigham decided to create a blues record. His previous album as "The Soul of John Black" was more of a straight-forward soul album with his always tasteful guitar work. This one is different. Of course, the idea of mixing funk and blues is nothing new. Anybody who remembers the first few Funkadelic albums knows that funk started out much closer to the blues anyway. Really, Bigham is just trying to remind the blues of one of its offspring. The album is generally quite successful, and as one would expect from the Fishbone guitarists, Bigham always has a few surprises. What is most interesting here is his use of an acoustic guitar in a setting in which one would expect electric. I am reminded a bit of some of Chris Thomas King's efforts in a related vein, but Bigham brings more straight funk into the mix, whereas CTK tried, with varying degrees of success, to incorporate hip hop. I never liked hip hop, but I love funk, so this album works for me more than CTKs, but anyone with adventerous taste in blues should check this one out. As a warning to Fishbone fans, though, if you are expected the funk/ska/punk/rock of Angelo Moore and company, this isn't it. This is a blues album with massive strains of of this one should also check out Mofro (particularly, the Lochloosa album), Ash Grunwald's "Give Signs", Eric Lindell, Scrapomatic, the John Butler Trio, John Mooney, and maybe Snooks Eaglin for some old-school Fresh Orleans funk-blues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girl Blues (Magnolia Sisters Book 2) []  2021-4-6 22:39

    This 2 characters drove me crazy w/this up n down n back n forth !!!I absolutely loved the secrets that I never imagined .... my mind kept trying 2 figure it out but nope ...I love how a reminder of God's love showed up constantly and our past is just eat read !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girl Blues (Magnolia Sisters Book 2) []  2021-4-6 22:39

    I chose this rating, because the book held me captive until the end. I liked that the author wrote about daily situations. I disliked the method Brigid found about who her father was. I will recommend this series to my book club.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girl Blues (Magnolia Sisters Book 2) []  2021-4-6 22:39

    I was disappointed at the beginning of the book because I didn't wish her to give in to her manipulated mother but in the end she stood her ground and trust God to create a change in her life and He came through Right On Time!!!!!!! Wish He Do It!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girl Blues (Magnolia Sisters Book 2) []  2021-4-6 22:39

    Another amazing Magnolia Sisters story. I've read all of the sister's stories except. Hazel's. I am confident I will have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girl Blues (Magnolia Sisters Book 2) []  2021-4-6 22:39

    This had a really amazing storyline. I continue to have fun books by Ms. Barrett. This book was written very tastefully!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girl Blues (Magnolia Sisters Book 2) []  2021-4-6 22:39

    I gave this book 5 stars because I loved the author showed how every decision has a consequence amazing or bad. And . Some can be with you for a lifetime.I read book one and immediately brought book two to read about is book definitely showed that God is a God of second chances and love triumphs when we allow God take the lead.If you have not read book one please do so immediately, I am going to obtain book 3 after I finish writing this reviewBrenda Barrett is a amazing storyteller and her stories are eck her out you won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girl Blues (Magnolia Sisters Book 2) []  2021-4-6 22:39

    This series is getting better and better. God is in control and Brigid learned that she could not direct her path without God's assistance. Sonja was a not good mother and she wanted to use Brigid. Nick knew Brigid was his soulmate and refused to allow Thomas win. I'm looking forward to book #3. Another amazing book by Mrs. Barrett.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girl Blues (Magnolia Sisters Book 2) []  2021-4-6 22:39

    I love the Magnolia series. Caitlyn's story was very interesting. It sometimes seems a small supernatural but it all fits together. You feel for the characters and you wish everything to be alright. Brenda Barrett is a unbelievable story teller and her delivery is always full of surprises. You will have fun this series and I can't wait to see how Hazel's story turns out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girl Blues (Magnolia Sisters Book 2) []  2021-4-6 22:39

    Brigid wanted to attend medical school but she could not afford it. Brigid was united with her mother, a hot mess. Brigid’s mom wanted her to become one of her escorts at her escort business. Brigid was confused and did not know what to do. We need to know that God may not come when we wish him to, but HE is an on time God….

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bad Girl Blues (Magnolia Sisters Book 2) []  2021-4-6 22:39

    Brenda does a amazing job of allowing and showing the readers of how the characters evolve. I truly appreciate that she also keeps the integrity of God intact throughout her stories. There is no compromising. Thank you Brenda because it seems to becoming rare today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Delta Blues (Mojo Working': Blues For The Next Generation) []  2020-1-23 2:49

    The songs on this CD are 11 of Son House's best. They are a very amazing representation of his brand of Original Mississippi Delta Acoustic Blues. What makes this CD various than "A Proper Introduction to Son House" CD, is that the original Son House Songs on "A Proper Intro..." were recorded back in 1941 & 1942 by Alan Lomax (for the Library of Congress), on a portable recording machine, on website in the Mississippi Delta. Son House moved from Mississippi to Rochester, NY in 1942, and became somewhat "retired" from the Blues. However, during the Blues Revival of the 1960's Son House was "re-discovered", and he returned to performing & recording, and the songs on this CD are songs that were recorded in a "real" recording studio back in 1965, in Fresh York City. So, the quality of these recordings are much better than his original ones recorded back in 1941 & n House was a "Southern Legend" and also an "American Melody Legend". He walked a thin line between being a Baptist Preacher, and a "Juke Joint" Bluesman. His spiritual side really shows in the song "John the Revelator". As a lot of other reviewers pointed out, Son House was very influentual to a lot of other Blues Artists, especally Robert I became aware of Son House, is from the Lynyrd Skynyrd Song "Swamp Music", written by the late/great Ronnie Van Zant. In the song, it states:..."I'm going down to the swamp, gonna watch my hound dogs catch that coon...When the Hound Dogs begin barking, they sound like "...Son House singing the Blues..." I did some research and found out that Ronnie Van Zant & Lynyrd Skynyrd were very influenced by Son House, and they really admired his is particular CD includes 11 of Son House's Songs at their VERY BEST!!! I highly recommend this particular CD. Thanks and I hope this review has been helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Delta Blues (Mojo Working': Blues For The Next Generation) []  2020-1-23 2:49

    An original amazing early blues. This is how rock came to be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Delta Blues (Mojo Working': Blues For The Next Generation) []  2020-1-23 2:49

    A lot of blues has more than a bit of braggadocio to it, but not Son House. It's the REAL true thing. If you can obtain through the end of his1965 ver of "Death Letter Blues" without shedding a tear, check your pulse. You are probably dead too. Same goes for the rest of all Son House's later musicThere is no Howlin' Wolf belting out a tune or John Lee Hooker celebrating his anger (don't obtain me wrong; I love all of them). There is just The Blues. One of the greatest musical artists of all time period (and quite a amazing person)Get the complete 1965 sessions on Columbia Legacy here if shelf put permits it. It has plenty of outtakes that you won't wish to be without. The entire 1965 session I do believe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Delta Blues (Mojo Working': Blues For The Next Generation) []  2020-1-23 2:49

    I've been a lifetime (nearly 40 years) melody lover. I've only had a mild flirtation with the blues, and mostly Chicago blues at that. I decided to check out House after hearing Jack White speak of him as an influence. Bought this collection as it seemed to cover the essential works of this blues legend. The experience I've had can be called nothing short of a complete revelation. While House's guitar work is simply awesome it's his vocal performances that set him apart. Few can begin their soul and pour it out through their art like this man could. I do not exaggerate when I say this items hit me like a sledge hammer. The passion coming through in House's playing and singing I have rarely experienced. If you are a blues fan and don't know this guy you've got to check him out. If you are exploring the blues he may create everyone else seem obsolete

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Delta Blues (Mojo Working': Blues For The Next Generation) []  2020-1-23 2:49

    After all these years what can possibly be said about Son House ? One of the founders, inventors and practitioners ofAmerican blues.Going backward sometimes feels really good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Delta Blues (Mojo Working': Blues For The Next Generation) []  2020-1-23 2:49

    Son House one of the all time greats.An album so well recorded it sounds like he's right there with you singing and playing.Every song is a must can you go wrong.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Delta Blues (Mojo Working': Blues For The Next Generation) []  2020-1-23 2:49

    I have Son House's Smithsonian recordings, laid down when he was well up in years. This album showcases a younger, fresher Son House. I prefer this one, although both are is awkward to review such idiosyncratic music. If you don't like it, you'll hate it. If you're a fan of roots blues, this album features a master of the genre at what I consider to be his peak. Listen to the snippets of this album on Amazon MP3 - if you like what you hear there you'll like all of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Delta Blues (Mojo Working': Blues For The Next Generation) []  2020-1-23 2:49

    Melody that reaches your soul, it's deep !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Delta Blues (Mojo Working': Blues For The Next Generation) []  2020-1-23 2:49

    Lots of Son with amazing recording quality. His style didn't vary much, so by the end of this long CD I got a bit tired of it, but you don't have to listen to the whole thing at one setting. Source of a lot of classic blues licks and phrases used by others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Original Delta Blues (Mojo Working': Blues For The Next Generation) []  2020-1-23 2:49

    Feel of the Blues you'll love this CD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    This had got to be one of my favorite books of all time. Written as if it could also be read to a child, I hope to one day read this to my children. Amazing story, amazing recipes. A amazing method to present the seasons. I cant say enough amazing things about this classic. Buy this if your a fisherman, interested in the sea, fish, or seafood. Amazing book for a young kid as well as an adult.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Give as a bonus to all my fishing friends. Simply outstanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    quite a various fishing book. well done with a host of truths applicable to todays current fishing issues. Respect the resource, which we do not do, learning and respecting a bit about the eco system of our waters, this conversation is interesting. Subtle tips of the migration of Blues ( which he loves and i do not blame him ) and i enjoyed the recipes at the conclusion of each chapter. If all you wish to do is look for techniques on catching, this is not your book. But, if you wish a lifetime of experience explained in a comfortable conversation between two smart human beings, than have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Perfect read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Hersey is a great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    A second read thirty years later. Fisherman, even degree ones, don't talk like this guy who seems more a professorial lecturer than a weather beaten fisher of fish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    If you fish for bluefish this is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Truly a classic. Amazing recipes too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Magnificent book on fishing for bluefish, extraordinary facts about blues, well written, Just a joy to a fisherman like me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Amazing book for fishermen

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    what happens when a girl takes [EActuAme]  2021-3-6 11:41
    [email protected]

    versus versus levitra better how to calibrate omron blood pressure monitor is kamagra and the same price - refractory period men - unprescribed nsaid side effects dysfunction

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working []  2020-1-18 20:20

    Then read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working []  2020-1-18 20:20

    “Working” is part memoir and part master class by noted historian Robert Caro. Caro is a meticulous researcher, an empathetic observer and a gifted writer. When coupled with a dogged determination to tell a story, there are few equals. Having read Caro’s first 4 volumes on Lyndon Johnson, more than four thousand pages in all, and expectantly waiting for his final volume on Johnson, I was interested to read “Working.”This short volume gives one insight into the writing process, a process that is special to Caro. Moving at the speed of a glacier, Caro methodically reads books, articles, newspapers, magazines, telegrams—anything in print—to gain a deeper understanding of his subject. Caro then proceeds to review original sources (this process alone can take a lot of years). And then Caro conducts interviews, hundreds of interviews, thousands is necessary. Next, the is book provides an opaque view of Caro’s writing process. This book could be vastly improved if Caro were to be more forthcoming. Instead, the vast majority of this book recounts crucial interviews, interview techniques and a dozens of stories collected over decades of writing. To best appreciate this book, I would recommend reading one of the 4 Johnson volumes. Reading Caro’s work will give you context to really appreciate this book. For myself, I now plan to read “The Power Broker”, Caro’s first book. Satisfied reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working []  2020-1-18 20:20

    Robert Caro possesses phenomenal stamina. Perseverance. And -- perhaps most startling -- astounding patience. His notice in this book: If you wish to write something worthwhile, something that will latest through the ages, something that will have impact, then don't hurry the process.He devotes years to researching a volume, and even then, after all the traveling and interviewing and staying in nasty hotels and eating street meal is all done, even then he remains a patient man. Before he starts to write, he creates three or so paragraphs that provide the foundation for the volume. These careful, succinct 'graphs include the entire focus of a book that may end up being 700, 800 pages long. And yet the 'graphs must be tight and well thought out. He writes these words over and over and over again until he is satisfied, a process which requires weeks and maybe even months of y then is he ready to test to start to produce the book st volumes in the how-to-write genre are beautiful useless. This one has the potential to change your writing life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working []  2020-1-18 20:20

    Although much of this is not new, it is at least something to savor while waiting for the final volume of LBJ. A series of interviews and articles from Caro about his thoughts and processes, this book provides extra insight and understanding of how Caro has made his masterpieces and why they take so long to produce.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working []  2020-1-18 20:20

    I am a longtime Caro fan, having devoured all of his books; I wait hopefully for his final volume on Johnson. In the meantime, "Working" is a amazing read, giving insight into how he meticulously goes about the business of amazing writing. You also obtain a glimmer of who Caro himself is, while we await his full autobiography. The book is written in an informal, conversational way, giving the reader the feeling he sitting in the living room with Mr. Caro, the master storyteller, and listening raptly much as Caro himself listened to Robert Moses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working []  2020-1-18 20:20

    "Truth takes time." – a memorable line from WORKING – the memoir of Robert A. Caro who has two Pulitzer under his belt, including one for his work on THE YEARS OF LYNDON JOHNSON. Caro shares his methods of researching, interviewing, and his writing methods that aim to achieve a "sense of place." The memoir goes behind the scenes of some of his most memorable interviews. His interview with Lyndon Johnson's brother Sam Houston Johnson – alone with him at suppertime in the Boyhood Home in Johnson Town after the staff had closed this tourist website and gone home for the day (a put where I once worked), with Caro sitting behind Sam at the dining table taking notes and almost hypnotically leading Sam back in time to relive painful family discussions is bone chilling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working []  2020-1-18 20:20

    So a lot of historians simply regurgitate the facts they have learned in their research and call it good. Perhaps that’s one of the reasons people search history boring. It’s unfortunate, really, because history is the largest soap opera of all Caro understands that history is not just facts thrown on a page: “Rhythm matters. Mood matters. Sense of put matters. All these things we talk about with novels, yet I feel that for history and biography to accomplish what they should accomplish, they have to pay as much attention to these devices as novels do.“I’ve not yet read any of Caro’s biographies, but Working has given me a fresh appreciation for his writing process. Working gives me a greater appreciation for his books, which I will read in the very near future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working []  2020-1-18 20:20

    Whether we are using our computer, typewriter or a pencil to write, the process of writing matters. I'm not a biographer and I'm not a full time writer. If you are like me, you can still learn a lot on the process of writing from Caro's fresh his fresh book "Working," Caro shares his experience and wisdom on "Researching", "Interviewing" and "Writing".There might be some repetitions as he has included some previously published materials. For example, some chapters in the book came from his earlier interviews with the Harper's Magazine and Paris Review. There are also fresh materials on how he interviews witnesses and how he does research so he can connect the dots.Unlike his other books which are over 1000 pages, this book is only about 200 pages. It didn't take long to finish reading his fresh book. Here is a fast summary of what I have learned from reading his fresh book.* Becoming a full time writer is not for the faint of heart. Having a supportive spouse makes a huge difference.* Writing is not about speed. Research takes time.* Being a part of the community of writers can be a huge help.* What they teach you at school? How to conduct interviews? "Turn every page"* Captivate your readers with rhythm, mood and sense of place.* Have a android game plan. Make an outline before starts writing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working []  2020-1-18 20:20

    Robert Caro might well go down in history as the greatest American biographer of all time. Through two monumental biographies, one of Robert Moses – perhaps the most strong man in Fresh York City’s history – and the other an epic multivolume treatment of the life and times of Lyndon Johnson – perhaps the president who wielded the greatest political power of any in American history – Caro has illuminated what power and especially political power is all about, and the lengths men will go to acquire and keep on to it. Part deep psychological profiles, part grand portraits of their times, Caro has created the men and the locations and times indelible. His treatment of individuals, while as complete as any that can be found, is in some sense only a lens through which one understands the globe at large, but because he is such an uncontested master of his trade, he makes the man indistinguishable from the time and place, so that understanding Robert Moses through “The Power Broker” effectively means understanding Fresh York Town in the first half of the 20th century, and understanding Lyndon Johnson through “The Years of Lyndon Johnson” effectively means understanding America in the mid 20th drawing up this grand landscape, Caro has become one of the most obsessive and exhaustive non-fiction writers of all time, going to amazing lengths to acquire the most min info about his subject, whether it’s tracking down every individual connected with a specific subject or interviewing them or spending six days a week in the archives. He worked for seven years on the Moses biography, and has worked an wonderful forty-five years on the years of Lyndon Johnson. At 83 his fans are worried, and they are imploring him to finish the fifth and latest volume as soon as possible. But Caro shows no sign of slowing “Working”, Caro takes the reader behind the scenes of some of his most necessary research, but this is not an autobiography – he helpfully informs us that that long book is coming soon (and anyone who has read Caro would know just how long it will be). He describes being overwhelmed by the 45 million doents in the LBJ library and the almost equal number in the Fresh York Public Library, and obsessively combing through them every day from 9 AM to 6 PM cross-referencing memos, letters, government reports, phone call transcripts, the dreariest and most exciting written material and every kind of formal and informal piece of papers with individuals who he would then call or visit to interview.But he also talks about the sheer excitement and pleasure he encountered, thinking of the countless mysteries hidden in the LBJ archive, or using the Allen Room at the NYPL for his research. Anyone who has done any kind of archival research will know the feeling of approaching old doents with a feeling of mystery and excitement and amazing expectations about what one would search in them. The ar of strength standing beside Caro has been his wife Ina, and she has accompanied him to the archives, hunted down doents, and softened up the women of the Texas Hill Country for her husband to interview. She may not have co-written his books, but she is in every method his co-researcher. Robert and Ina mortgaged their house to pay for the research for the Moses biography, and he tells us how, after the biography was finally published, Ina told him that they could finally afford to do dry cleaning again. This is a man who has turned the process of research and writing into a world-class ultra-marathon unlike any e scope emerging from all that research is stunning – Caro interviewed 522 people for the Moses biography and thousands for the LBJ books. A lot of of these individuals were very reluctant to talk and had to be cajoled through a lot of visits, some like Lady Bird Johnson abruptly stopped talking to him, and others like LBJ’s press secretary Bill Moyers have never agreed to talk to him. Along the method he offers some clever tip for interviewing; for instance he attests to how necessary the art of listening and letting the other person speak is, and says that the George Smiley hero from John Le Carre’s books used a technique in which he would polish his glasses with his necktie to fill pauses and silences during his interviews; Caro’s strategy is to look down at his notepad and write “SU” for “Shut Up” until the other person is quality was tested well when he interviewed Lady Bird Johnson and she suddenly launched into a surprisingly candid narrative on one of LBJ’s mistresses. And it was tested when he interviewed Margaret and Robert Brown who were bullied and threatened with death when trying to register as African-American voters in Eufala, Alabama in the early 60s. A lot of of these interviews will be familiar to those who have read Caro’s works, because they form the basis of some of the most riveting stories in his narratives. The writing itself is, if not exactly a breeze, an simple affair after all that painstaking, exhausting research, and Caro still does all of his on a Smith Corona Electra 2010 after making drafts in longhand on paper. He has fourteen of them just to create sure he has enough, and worries that three of them are breaking down; he orders cotton spools from a Pittsburgh specialty and types “black and rhaps the most poignant acc of an interview in the book is when he spoke to Sam Houston, LBJ’s brother, about the not good arguments and shouting matches LBJ and his father Sam Ealy Johnson used to have at the dinner table when the boys were young. Sam Johnson had been a proud state senator who knew everyone in town, but he lost most of his cash through a foolish decision to pay an extravagant amount of cash to buy back the Johnson family ranch, cash he could never recover because of poor investing decisions. After that Sam Johnson became an object of mockery and pity, and Lyndon couldn’t stand that; all through his life he was haunted by not wanting to be not good and not wanting to be an object of mockery, and these feelings go a long method in explaining his obsessive need to gain power and to dominate other men. Caro wanted to capture exactly what those arguments between Lyndon and his father were like down to the latest detail, and for this he decided to secure permission from the National Park Service to sit with Sam inside a replica of the Johnson family living room in Johnson City, Texas. After disappearing in the background, he waited and watched as Sam Houston lost himself in the grip of memory: “I can still see the stage – see the little, stunted, crippled man sitting at that long plank table, see the shadows in the room, see myself, not wanting to move lest I break the spell, sitting there with my notebook versus the wall saying, “Tell me those unbelievable stories again.”His obsession with detail was legendary. He woke up at 5 AM for a few days and trotted out to Capitol Hill in Washington to obtain a sense of how hopeful Johnson must have felt when treading the same path while starting his political career in 1932 and working 18 hours a day to create his name known. And he talks about deciding to actually live in the Hill Country of Texas where Johnson grew up to obtain people there who knew Johnson to begin up to him; he and Ina lived there for the most part of three years. He slept in a sleeping bag in the rural Hill Country to obtain a sense of how lonely and scared LBJ’s mother must have felt at night, with the lights out, when Johnson Sr. was away on legislative business. And, encouraged by an old woman in the Hill Country who asked him whether he, a town boy, knew anything about how hard life in her young days was, he performed the backbreaking work of drawing massive buckets of water from wells, washing clothes in vats and moving them from one vat to another himself to obtain an idea of how arduous life in the then unelectrified Texas Hill Country was in the 1930s, and how indebted the residents were when Congressman Lyndon Johnson brought them the bonus of electricity. After speaking with the Hill Country’s old women about the trials and tribulations of childbirth and that backbreaking domestic work, Ina was just furious with all those John Wayne Westerns which portrayed the frontier as belonging to gun slinging cowboys, with the women as props in the background; in truth the frontier belonged as much to the women she spoke to, the ones who suffered perineal tears during childbirth and had to haul buckets of waters up the hill and cook and clean with primitive implements. And just as the middle class-bred Caro was shocked by the tales of poverty in the Hill Country, so does he recount being shocked by the poverty and filth in Fresh York Town tenements whose residents Robert Moses relocated cruelly for his grand engineering projects to transform the Fresh York Town skyline. Or by the farmer whose field could have been saved had Moses moved a planned expressway by about 400 feet.A man with boundless energy and passion, Robert Caro will not stop until he drops. At 83 he says he has the same energy that he had twenty years ago, and still spends five days a week from 9 AM to 5 AM in the Austin archives and in his Fresh York office. Every day he wears a suit and tie and walks to his office in Columbus Circle; the suit and tie impose a sense of discipline on him that he has maintained without flagging for more than forty-five years. Because he is a rather personal man who prefers working and writing to talking, this book is as close as we can obtain to understanding his work ethic, his research philosophy and his thought process. That is, until we obtain to read his thousand-plus page autobiography, and hear those unbelievable stories again. Carry on, Mr. Caro.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working []  2020-1-18 20:20

    In the field of presidential biographies, there are a few titans who turret above the rest for their in-depth research and expansive writing. Dumas Malone published a six-volume biography of Thomas Jefferson and earlier this decade Edmund Morris finished a three-volume series on Theodore Roosevelt. Robert Caro rounds out the trilogy of what I consider to be a model biographer of the chief executive with his series The Years of Lyndon Johnson. Since 1982, Caro has published four volumes on the thirty-sixth president of the United States and will publish (hopefully) the final volume in the next few years. He is noted for his sterling prose, uncanny ability to pry info from hesitant interview subjects, and prolonged intermissions between books. Caro is also eighty-three years old, so I wasn’t particularly satisfied when I first heard he was coming out with a memoir, Working, instead of finishing the Johnson book. It turns out, however, to be an illuminating, short read mostly compiled from previously published material that describes his process of crafting o acknowledges that one of the questions he most hates to be asked is when his next book is coming out. He has a compulsion, which first blossomed during his journalism days, to know everything possible about a topic and respond every lingering question. In the case of his first biography, The Power Broker, Caro took nearly eight years to research and chronicle the life of Robert Moses. Moses is a figure relatively unknown today and was even less familiar to readers forty year ago. Moses was one of the key builders in mid-century America. He held nearly two dozen offices in Fresh York, including parks commissioner, but he never was elected to any of them by the public. Despite this lack of ballot-box legitimacy, he acquired more power than any alderman, mayor, or governor, and he used it. As Caro tallies, “He made – or re-created, shaping to his philosophy of recreation – every park in the city, adding twenty thousand acres of parkland (and 658 playgrounds) in a town that had been starved for parks and playgrounds; … And for the use of the city’s residents he created, outside the city’s borders, on Long Island, another forty thousand acres of parks… And bridges, road, parks, and beaches are only a part of the tag that Robert Moses left on Fresh York. During the time in which he controlled – controlled absolutely – the Fresh York Town Housing Authority, the authority built 1,082 apartment houses, containing 148,000 apartments which housed 555,000 people…” The list of projects goes on. All of this urban renewal came at a cost, however. The freed-up land already had people living on it, and Caro describes the despair of the not good farmers or apartment tenants cast out of their homes because they literally stood in the method of Moses’ ses at first cooperated with Caro, but once Caro discovered proof of a crooked deal involving some robber barons in Long Island, the autocrat of public works stopped returning his calls. Around the same time, Moses’ reign was coming to an end when Nelson Rockefeller tricked him into accepting a fresh position that was toothless. When the book finally came out, Moses published a lengthy rebuttal, but a single sentence summarized his stance: “The author and publisher do not comprehend the obligations of leadership.”Caro continued to dwell on the workings of power and next tackled Lyndon Baines Johnson. He discovered the Horatio Alger story of a Texas hill country boy loved by all who scraped his method up to the highest office in the land was a canard. Johnson was from his earliest days an egotistical, power-hungry s.o.b. He also did a lot of amazing for civil rights and the poor. This is the central contradiction of LBJ. How could a man who seemed driven purely by his id and raised in the Deep South become the greatest parliamentarian to ever grace the United States Senate and pursue such a progressive vision of the future?Caro only briefly met Johnson once, and by the time his project began in 1976, the former president was dead. Most of his associates were still living, though. They were loyal to their patron and friend, but Caro managed to beguile some into candor. One of his largest scoops concerned the long-standing rumors of voter fraud in the 1948 Senate election. Johnson won it by less than one hundred votes and Caro found a precinct judge willing to go on the record. Before him, no one had ever discovered proof of theft. The man admitted to altering the vote tally in Johnson’s favor and then lying about it in federal court. Without that election, it is hard to imagine LBJ making it to the White o also describes his interactions with Johnson’s relatives. At first he dismissed LBJ’s brother, Sam Houston Johnson, as a loudmouthed alcoholic who provided nothing but fabricated stories. After Sam got cancer, however, Caro found a humbled man who finally explained LBJ’s relationship with his father. In one of the most interesting stories in the memoir, Caro visits Lady Bird, LBJ’s widow, and hears her describe the grace and beauty of Johnson’s mistress without a tip of jealousy in her voice. Caro does not dwell much on his research of the latter years of Johnson’s presidency: the years Vietnam consumed all of LBJ’s energy and threatened to destroy his Amazing Society programs. Perhaps it is because Caro doesn’t wish to present his hand or hasn’t fully decided how to frame it. I know, however, that Caro will have to end his chronicle with the death of a broken man who gave such momentous bonuses to the country, only to see America spit in his o’s willingness to immerse himself in every detail of his subjects’ lives by reviewing their files, living among their peers, and interviewing the same people tons of times means that no one will ever match his work. A lot of of Caro’s interview topics are now deceased, so if Caro doesn’t transcribe their stories, no one will. Although I desperately wish Caro to finish his final volume on LBJ, Working lets me know it will be worth the wait. His corpus shows the value of patience and a willingness to turn every page during research. With this fresh book, Caro gives future biographers a valuable tutorial on the right method to pursue their craft.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Fireplace: Memoirs of a girl working in the Dutch Resistance []  2020-12-10 18:49

    The Dutch girl, as she grew in her teen years, and her family, took amazing risks and suffered deprivation to protect and hide Jews and resistance members during the Nazi occupation. While the people that the family protected felt the trauma of living secretly in a hidden attic, this book provides insights into the Dutch family's trauma in continually striving to get additional meal rations and other dangerous endeavors (including other activities in supporting the resistance). Private conflicts within the household were bound to arise in such cirtances. The daughter's and family's contributions were finally recognized after a lot of years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Fireplace: Memoirs of a girl working in the Dutch Resistance []  2020-12-10 18:49

    'Behind the Fireplace' is a story of courage, ingenuity and consistency in resistance during the long dark Nazi occupation of Holland during Globe Battle 2. It speaks of a young woman and her family's heroism.  I was impressed by their clear-headedness in how they hid and protected the Jews in their care and together endured the long occupation's fears and privations.  The cross-country bicycle mission towards the end of the battle that Kieke took was heart-wrenching, and makes me think how unique a person she must have been to survive. The aftermath of post traumatic stress of both Kieke and the people whom she and her family sheltered that ensued after liberation also unfortunately rang all too true, but it did seem that Kieke felt redeemed at long latest when she was recognised internationally for her valour.  Thank-you for this book which resonates with such authentic details, that I could see and feel the events, and was in tears throughout my reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Fireplace: Memoirs of a girl working in the Dutch Resistance []  2020-12-10 18:49

    What a brave group of people in this book. Hard to believe the courage it must have taken to support other Jews during the Nazi Occupation. Even though it's so sad, I love to read about people sacrificing themselves for the amazing of others. Helps to build up my faith in people. I know that such people did exist and, I believe, still do exist. Every story I've read about the Resistance has been so full of examples of people like these. Sitting where we are right now in the 2000s, can we even start to imagine what we'd do in their shoes? Sometimes I feel we don't, yet at other times, I think there would be as a lot of courageous people today if the need was there. Strange method to think as it is so hard for us to really imagine the situations if they were real today. Loved all the characters and especially, of course, the young Dutch girl. A well written story that sure kept my interest and was able to [email protected]#$%! in two days. The zone behind the fireplace was very interesting and I've read related things in my past readings. Interesting locations but can hardly imagine living in these spaces. I'd highly recommend this book to anyone.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Fireplace: Memoirs of a girl working in the Dutch Resistance []  2020-12-10 18:49

    Even though the writing was uneven, repetitive in some places, and not written by an English-speaking literary maven, the story was riveting! The tension and miasma of terror overrode everything. The story was 'real' and that counts for a lot! This is a amazing book for people who think that the Nazis had it all their way. The Resistance and the occupied population fought back with what weapons were left to them. Their story is an necessary addition to the body of work about WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Fireplace: Memoirs of a girl working in the Dutch Resistance []  2020-12-10 18:49

    As a devotee of bottom-up history, especially that of WW2, I found Behind the Fireplace to be an intriguingly new perspective of the brave resistance workers, with peeks into the perspective of those they rescued. It could be compared to reading the acc of those who hid Anne Frank and her family, and reflects a new Dutch voice added to the acc of Corrie ten Boom's The Hiding Place. Every survivor's story is unique, and I never tire of them. The story of Kiek's engrossing and increasing involvement, her need to do something, anything to thwart the Nazi atrocities is convicting and impressive. She created a large difference, and the cost was high. The post-war grief, confusion, pride and shame are quite shocking in how real they still ring today. with our newly increased recognition of post-traumatic stress. Kiek's post-war nightmares could be descriptions of my own husband's after repeatedly flying helicopters into opponent fire to rescue ambushed soldiers in Vietnam. We as a culture now look squarely at PTSD in modern soldiers, and remember it being called "shell shock" after the Globe Wars, but to look at it here as it affects a woman of WWII is a special perspective, one long overdue. Behind the Fireplace fills a void on the shelves of Globe Battle II memoirs and biographies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Fireplace: Memoirs of a girl working in the Dutch Resistance []  2020-12-10 18:49

    This is an awesome story and is very authentic. It reveals a lot of of the issues experienced by both the people hiding and the people hiding them and their feelings. It was hard on everyone. Also, reveals some of their feelings about how things were before and are now since all were living as families in their separate homes with their separate lives and now families are stuck together for years with very various lives. Kieks is continually trying to search the best method she can support in the war versus the Nazis. Her family members are doing the same. It also reveals some of the everyday things that happen in their house and the interactions of the people and reactions when the SS or people other than the family come to visit. I hope you will take the time to read this. I've read a lot of books about this time and this is one of the best..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cost of Being a Girl: Working Teens and the Origins of the Gender Wage Gap []  2020-1-29 1:1

    Amazing book, very imformative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Fireplace: Memoirs of a girl working in the Dutch Resistance []  2020-12-10 18:49

    A young persons self sacrifice to save the lives on Jews hiding in her home and with the entire family therefore facing death if they were ey increasingly hid more and more people and had to search the means, at amazing risk to feed and sustain them. This young woman had to endure degradation to save herself from execution when, while sourcing food, she happened upon a Nazi transport convoy of a secret missile. The other civilians who were caught up in the same net were machine gunned by the Nazi's while she lay hidden in the snow. Having endured these horrors society treated her with contempt for her actions in saving her own life. Not only was she wrongfully judged by her psychiatrist and husband she had to endure encountering her abuser while on holiday with her family after the battle and thwart his attempts to create contact with her. She suffered not only during the battle but paid a tragic price for her efforts for the rest of her life. Her redemption and recognition by the State of Israel were a salve that should have came earlier and hopefully have saved her some of her torment

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Fireplace: Memoirs of a girl working in the Dutch Resistance []  2020-12-10 18:49

    What Kieks and her family did, day in, day out, to save the lives of the Jew's they hid during the war, is humbling. The natural tensions that arise when you have a lot of people in one household, and the strain of trying to survive and support the Jew's they hid, comes through so strongly in this manuscript. I cannot imagine the strength and fortitude Kieks and her family required to do what they did. I feel so sorry for Kieks, Kees and the a lot of others who found their hard work during battle time questioned and denigrated, and haunting them for so a lot of years after the war. Now the globe knows their story, and can honour them for it. A attractive method to honour a mother who lived an extraordinary life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Fireplace: Memoirs of a girl working in the Dutch Resistance []  2020-12-10 18:49

    This book is a autobiographical look at a young girls' experiences surviving the German Invasion and subsequent occupation of Holland during WWII. The writer is perfect in her description of the time, the political and social climate as well as her feelings during this difficult time for her and her family. She also does a amazing job describing her experiences in the Dutch Underground Resistance and proves to be tough, powerful in hero and resolve. I read this book very quickly as it was hard to stop reading, it was engrossing. The book was interesting, including a lot of facts and aspects of occupation that I wasn't aware of. I have read other Holocaust survivors books by those who originated in Holland, this was a amazing book to contain in that selection. There are a lot of aspects of this book that are very moving, including her family assisting other Jewish Holocaust survivors, escapes, struggles for food, and ultimately the decision to write this history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Fireplace: Memoirs of a girl working in the Dutch Resistance []  2020-12-10 18:49

    This is a real story of courage and fortitude expressed on a everyday basis in the plans and actions of a woman and her companions and mates as they carried out secret, risky missions in their Dutch Resistance organization during the Nazi occupation of Holland.I was inspired by their resilience and determination in the face of continual threats of torture and death by the Nazis. It is like an historical thriller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micronesian Blues []  2020-1-16 13:15

    Other than being able to point to it on a map, I knew almost nothing about Micronesia when I started this book, and I enjoyed learning about the culture there, as well as the specific challenges that came with doing police work in a foreign country. The police work added an extra interesting aspect that you don’t search in most travelogues. Some of Bryan’s stories are hilarious, some are suspenseful, and some are touching. I had a hard time putting this book down!Bryan has a amazing attitude and the conversational style of this book was a delight to read. It is also worth mentioning that Bryan is nothing but respectful for the local cultures he worked with. Everyone traveling, living, and working in foreign countries should aspire to “build bridges that go both ways”.I really hope that there might be another volume of stories someday...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micronesian Blues []  2020-1-16 13:15

    I read this book for a "post-conflict" college course and I was pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed reading it. It was a very simple and smooth read that kept me interested in the Bryan's learned lessons about developing a diverse country's police force. Even beyond the educational aspect of the book, I would suggest this book to anyone interested in an adventure book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transcendental Blues []  2020-1-16 23:19

    To follow up the superb songwriting and rough polish of Steve Earle's latest gem, "The Mountain", was no simple task. With his newest CD, "Transcendental Blues" it's clear that Steve Earle has decidedly left the likes of buttoned up bluegrass set behind.I got my first listen when Steve appeared on Letterman in May -- (look for another appearance in early July). The newly transcended Steve looks an poor lot like the pre-Mountain Steve, and sounds a lot like him too. For the Letterman spot, Steve performed the title track, "Transcendental Blues", and I must say I was a small worried I found the song monotonous and boring (is it just one chord?).When the CD arrived in the mail I tore it begin and popped it in the CD player. Although the first few tracks *are* very monotonous, "Transcendental Blues" proves a very rich and diverse CD. This release has something unique for every Steve Earle fan."Transcendental Blues" is a folk-bluegrass-country-rock fusion collaboration packed with 14 songs, and most of them land in familiar Earle territory. Steve has reportedly spent a lot of time in Ireland lately, and it comes through on every song. It's a true treat to pick out all the various instruments -- accordion, bagpipes, triangle(!), mandolin, harmonica, tin whistle, to name a few. But don't obtain me wrong, this CD has a decidedly ROCK cluded is one official bluegrass tune -- along with a sarcastic afterthought seemingly vented at bluegrass legend and former "Mountain" contributor Del McCoury - rumored to have a rift with Steve over his use of foul language. It would be hard to iron the "vulgarity" out of Steve, even when you trade his t-shirt and cigarette for a suit and l in all, "Transcendental Blues" won't move heaven or earth, but it is a must have for all Steve fans. Rough and Tough Steve is back, with a familiar if not "transcendental" sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transcendental Blues []  2020-1-16 23:19

    I wrote a review soon after gettig this cd when it first came out.....I was not that satisfied with it at the time. Well, after listening to it for a spell, I've come to the point where I must eat my words....it's a amazing album-it's Steve and you can't support but love it. There's NOBODY better- either as a composer or an artist. I still like some of the earlier (rowdier) albums better, and The Mountain for it's sheer beauty is wonderful, but this is great, too. Thanks, Steve and hold sharing your talent with us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues Alive []  2020-1-17 2:29

    Well recorded live album from one of the greatest blues guitarists e energy and passion he place into his melody is clearly evident in this performance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues Island []  2020-1-17 5:17

    Worthwhile bit o Blues !!!Heard a track on pandora, had to check em out !Great Blues Guitar work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    Always a pleasure to listen to Mr. Earl but you can definitely hear the difference in this recording and the later ones. Recording/sound qualities have improved over the years and, this cd is more lively--not cool and smooth like the later recordings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    One of his best !!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    LA Blues []  2020-1-17 5:22

    I saw her at the Carolina Beach Seafood And Blues Festival. She is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Helplessness Blues []  2020-1-11 20:24

    It's a two disc vinyl set of the Helplessness blues. The album is debatable whether it's a classic worth purchasing on vinyl or not, but it doesn't throw out a poor tune. Plus, if I recollect correctly, you obtain a digital copy of the album too, double whammy!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Helplessness Blues []  2020-1-11 20:24

    "...why should I wait for anyone else?And I know, I know you will hold me on the shelf.I'll come back to you someday soon myself."Well this CD doesn't stay on my self. It spins in the player since it arrived in the mail the other day. A few plays on the ol' iPod as well. Fleet Foxes have a wonderfully special sound all their own and this release stays real to that same symphony of sound. Pitch excellent with harmonies that probably create Phil and Don Everly bow their heads in shame. I personally find Helplessness Blues every bit as amazing as Sun Giant EP and the stellar debut Fleet Foxes. I look very much forward to see what the future holds for the Fleet Foxes. As long as they hold makin' melody I'll be buyin'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BLUES TRACKS []  2020-1-11 20:26

    If you like power blues (a blend of blues and massive metal), this album is absolutely for you! Pat Travers has chosen amazing songs to cover and it is full speed ahead all the method through this album. Even if Travers doesn't sing as amazing as Glenn Hughes, David Coverdale or Paul Rodgers, it's certainly suitable for this approach. For fans of Rick Derringer's more latest stuff, this is without doubt a treat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    My daughter was in a huge reading mood and stuck on a series. Thank you for having this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Item as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adderall Blues []  2020-1-15 22:39

    Brilliant study into the mind of a young Man diagnosed with ADHD, detailing triumphs and tribulations of his life beginning with his earliest memories. Couldn't place it down. Should be needed reading for parents and educators alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Blues []  2020-1-18 22:33

    Lightnin Hopkins always great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues & Ragtime []  2020-1-18 22:33

    these are the classics that so a lot of people played since hearing the Reverend play hisoriginals. Hesitations Blues is my favorite and here he plays his long ver with manyfunny vs I never heard before. What a truly great, amazing guitarist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues & Ragtime []  2020-1-18 22:33

    .As a guitar player I'm a large fan of Reverand Gary Davis's special guitar talents. However, I search most of the collections have emphasis on gospel and religious tunes, and for that reason most of his recordings are primarily of historical and instructional interest to me rather than actual "entertainment" value.I bought this CD to obtain greater exposure to the Rev. playing ragtime. This very listenable CD truly is entertaining on a level where it can be enjoyed by guitarists as well as casual listeners. This is a amazing put to begin for someone who wants to better understand all the excitement about Rev Davis as a guitarist - what a master virtuoso! Sounds almost like Scott Joplin melody being played flawlessly on a guitar - with all of the amazing time feel!Major Pleasant Surprise (for a guitar player) - The booklet that comes with the CD has tablature for 5 of the songs: "Walkin' Dog Blues", "Buck Rag", "Cocaine Blues", "Hesitation Blues" and "Baby Allow Me Lay It on You" - so if your chops are up to it you can play along with the Rev!!!A amazing well recorded collection of the Rev playing Ragime and Uptempo Blues at what sounds to me like different live shows. (Ok - at 11 mins Hesitation Blues is a LITTLE long - but where else will you hear the Rev borrow and refine verses from Bo Carter's baudy masterpiece "All Around Man" and contain those lyrics into one of his own performances??)The gift inclusion of the tablature makes this CD a true treat!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dublin Blues []  2020-1-18 22:36

    The Greatest Songwriter of our time! Guy could turn a phrase like no other. His songs are like paintings, with such beautiful, vivid and correct imagery. If you are unfamiliar with Guy Clark, and you have fun amazing singer/songwriters, I'm telling you, buy everything he ever wrote, you will not be disappointed. He will be greatly missed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dublin Blues []  2020-1-18 22:36

    It's the quintessential Guy Clark. I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Someday Blues []  2020-1-18 22:57

    I bought this CD after hearing Robin's ver of Crossroads. As a long time fan of his, I'm somewhat biased but I suppose anyone reading this is also a fan. Its a amazing listen with signature sounds from Robin Trower meshed with blues. Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Someday Blues []  2020-1-18 22:57

    If you are a Trower fan ------ This is a must have album. He does the vocals on this album. His main body of work always had another singer. "Someday Blues" is a classic!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Survivor Blues []  2020-1-10 19:56

    What can I say? It is Walter Trout, that by itself it should be enough for anyone who knows about the blues with a twist of me, the best blues/Rock guitarist ever!And apiary from being an perfect musician, he is also a kind artist that I had the privilege to meet & work with in the late 80’s & early omThe very first time I knew I was watching a legend in the making.I was right! He is a living it! You won’t regret it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prime Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    Jim Allchin - Prime BluesEnjoyable blues disc here by the guitarist Allchin. 14 tracks and some amazing dozens of tempo and styles. I like his guitar playing and after a feeling that his vocals sounded familiar I finally pegged it - he sounds very much like Steve Miller which is beautiful unusual. Overall, this is a amazing disc of electric blues guitar melody played with style and minus the shredding sometimes heard these days. Recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yemen Blues []  2019-12-8 19:14

    Heard these guys live at the 2013 Reno ArtTown and had to obtain a disc, wow! Various and beautiful, highly recommended to all who like to step outside the realm of what is conventional these days. Mesmerizing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harmonica Blues []  2020-1-23 2:47

    Too Much other instruments and too small harmonica!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chess Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    Anybody who is a true blues fan will already own the huge hits in this set - the true reason to have it (besides having those hits in a single package) is for the lesser known artists, which create up over a third of the collection. There were a lot of other labels putting out this type of music, but none compares to Chess. Nuff said.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chess Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    Love the raw real melody as it should be done and was done. Classic!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lina's Blues []  2020-1-22 2:7

    Smoking Time Jazz Club is hot--it's a smokin' group. When you're in Fresh Orleans create a point to see them!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychedelic Blues []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Poncho has consistently carried the banner of Cal Tjader, evolving into a nice compact sound, despite the change of personnel. His pianist/arranger, David Torres,is his secret weapon; much as was Charlie Otwell in his early years. Of course, we all know that Clare"Clavo"Fischer was instrumental in keeping Poncho on the Tjader track from the outset. This is new and terrific latin-jazz.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychedelic Blues []  2020-1-22 2:10

    love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deja-Blues []  2020-1-22 2:16

    I used to live in San Anselmo (Sleepy Hollow), California, near Steve Halpern. Small did I realize all those years, just how talented Steve is. I bought Deja-Blues after my divorce (and after moving from San Anselmo), and to this day I search it one of a literal handful of CDs that I consider the "best" melody that I have.Karma (did I spell this correctly?) isn't something I often think about, but I am blessed to have found Deja-Blues, no matter the yond these words, I can't equal the perfect reviews that were written before this, regarding this CD. It's beyond any doubt, a "must have"...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deja-Blues []  2020-1-22 2:16

    It works wonderfully when used with Reiki and Massage Therapy. I recommend it for all healers. It is very relaxing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pastel Blues []  2020-6-12 19:5

    Nice hearing the very talented Nina Simone. Actually, she is a singer my parent's listen toand I wanted to know more about her. I found the cd simple to listen to and I'll probably buy more ofher work. Pastel Blues is an perfect example of Ms. Simone's very earthy work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pastel Blues []  2020-6-12 19:5

    Nina at her best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues Gold []  2020-6-12 19:9

    Very amazing CD. I would certainly recommend this CD to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues Deluxe []  2020-8-22 19:46

    To say I had not heard of Joe Bonamassa, shame on me. I saw him on TV and was taken right away. Went straight to the computer and ordered his CD. I listen to it on the method to work, coming home. I would like to know if their is one that is more bluesy. I even shared it w/ a co-worker who shared it w/ her grandson. He makes the guitar talk, sing and makes you wish to listen, Beyound amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    HAVANA BLUES []  2020-9-20 20:11

    Perfect huge band jazz played in a latin flavor. Well arranged and perfectly played by an amazingly talented orchestra. I have never heard of Armando Rodriguez or Victor Rendon, but I will be on the lookout for more releases from this unbelievable band.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    I'm not a huge blues fan so I didn't like this as much as the pop, rock, or even country ones. But it's always fun to obtain a fresh album from Mr. Shatner.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386