Read world of private music reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all world of private music reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Solfeggio Frequencies 432 Hz Music [Meditation, Science]  2020-5-24 18:10
    [email protected]

    Amazing day to all! An interesting topic, although not always obvious. I think to for the experiment several subjects from this website What do you think?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


    Add your opinion on world of private music or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    I have always been interested in life behind the closed door. Behind every crisis mastered, speech given, and action taken the question I most search myself asking is "I wonder what that was really like for them?" This is especially real in politics where every word is measured and even one's wardrobe might be the topic of a focus lly I was very excited to come across this and believe the author has shed light on modern presidents and their families. However, when compared to J.B. West's work, which is of the same subject though various in time frame, one can only imagine the stories still to be told. If in fact they ever be clear THIS IS NOT A CRITIQUE OF THE AUTHOR Kate Anderson Brower. J.B. West actually worked at the white house and this I believe is crucial. It seems to me in a city where "everything leaks" the white house staff are a class of their own. I believe even the most hardened of spies would "break" faster than any on the white house ey live by an old code and honor that is rarely seen today. No matter their political views they have taken a vow of silence that I gather means more to them than any confidentiality agreement they may have signed. I applaud the author for even attempting this and telling us their e code of honor they share prevents us from really getting a satisfying look behind the curtain but maybe that is as it should be. Everyone should have a put to yell about a no amazing SOB or simply be alone with one's thoughts and not worry about it making headlines the following day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    I really enjoyed this book. It was well researched and beautifully written. It was interesting to learn what went on in the White House as well as how the various families lived there day to day. Obviously those who devoted their lives of service to the First Families did so with amazing dignity and pride.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Camp David: The Private World of the Presidential Retreat [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A fascinating and insightful first-hand look into an necessary historical put that most people have heard of, but few know much about; and an interesting look at some of our presidents while working and relaxing in the informal setting of Camp David, outside the public glare of the White House. It was also very interesting to read about the extensive preparation and work that is involved with every presidential visit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Camp David: The Private World of the Presidential Retreat [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    This is a unbelievable book because it takes you behind the scenes to a put we hear about on the news, but few of us will ever visit. Michael Georgione created what could be a dry subject exciting, interesting and a fun read. I highly recommend this book for any history buff, presidential political junkie, and frankly, for all Americans!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Camp David: The Private World of the Presidential Retreat [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Fun simple reading with a small insight into US presidents who have used Camp David. The author is very respectful of everyone who has had part of the Camp David experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Camp David: The Private World of the Presidential Retreat [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Can't tell you how much I enjoyed this book! I laughed and cringed at some of the stories told by the author. His descriptions of the woods and connections with nature were so magical...it is no wonder amazing work has been accomplished in this surrounding. Mostly...I loved the history and the method the individuals were humanized. What a remarkable experience for these Navy families...to become "Cedar Kids." WONDERFUL!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Camp David: The Private World of the Presidential Retreat [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Giorgione interesting insights and behind the scenes perspectives on this popular but small known national treasure. Based on extensive research and interviews with previous commanding officers and military and civilian help staff, the book reveals the human side of past presidents and the people who served them. Highly recommended for all history buffs and those simply interested in understanding their leaders better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    An insightful, caring and intimate examination of the workings of one of America's greatest landmarks that also serves as the home and sanctuary for the President and first family. You are given a glimpse into the demands and stress of caring for this historic treasure as well as the first family. Through interviews with long time staff and First Ladies the author paints a picture of the changing atmosphere through changing administrations, globe events, and residence of the White House. You come to realize that the staff is there to care for and protect the house and the families that call it home for a time. You come to see the impact they the residence has on their life and the pride they have in serving their country and their first families. You will laugh, cry, and gasp as you read how the residence was a backdrop and integral part of American history. A book you don't wish to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    Another "couldn't place it down" book about life behind the scenes in the White House. Notoriously private, employees share their thoughts, memories and opinions in a fair, even handed manner. We learn about the amazing and challenging sides of presidents and First Ladies. Nancy Reagan was obsessive about her Limoges figurines placed exactly as she'd arranged them (sometimes a challenge after their everyday dusting!), Bill Clinton sleeping in another room after the Lewinsky affair created headlines, the Obamas dancing in the hallways and Michelle's mother carving out her own life on the third floor of the WH and making sure her two granddaughters succeeded in their studies and displayed exquisite manners, ..... How so a lot of of the Presidents--particularly Richard Nixon--befriended the largely African American staff, inviting them to swim with him and confiding in them. I'd read another book by Chief Usher J.B. West written years ago and loved it! This is just as amazing and a worthwhile read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Camp David: The Private World of the Presidential Retreat [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    "Inside Camp David - The personal globe of the Presidential Retreat" by Rear Admiral Michael Giorgione, CEC, USN (Ret.) - a must read.Leadership strategies without the rhetoric. Beautifully written, Michael! So much info and interesting photographs. Thank you!Loved the honest impartation of what goes on at Camp David, the large responsibility and organization tale without any detailed you feel as if you have experienced the beauty and peace of the history,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    Kate Anderson Brower is a amazing storyteller. This is not downplaying her journalistic background, rather I applaud her. The stories smoothly go from one person to another. She truly lets the real residences of the White House (the workers) shine. I have also read First Women and absolutely love that book. I highly recommend this and look forward to any other work that Ms. Brower has and hopefully there will be a fresh book soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    While I enjoyed reading about the "behind the scenes" at the White House, I felt the author had clear favorites and non-favorites in First Families. Until she spent an unusual amount of time discussing it, I had not given a thought to the racial create up of the staff. At times the book seemed to jump around. I would have liked a more chronological layout for this book,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    This is such a readable book. I just bought three copies for my mom and sister and mother-in-law. The excellent Mother's Day gift. There are so a lot of awesome stories. It's not all about gossip either. There's a story about 9/11 and how there was a barbecue planned at the White House and there were so a lot of tables and chairs set out for the event. Since the White House was a target, they had to evacuate all of the staff. People were running out of the White House to safety. They were terrified, as I would be too! One of the staff members was so busy working downstairs at his job that he didn't hear the Secret Service evacuating everyone. He came upstairs and wondered where everyone had gone. Meanwhile the head chef and head usher decided to stay on the grounds of the WH and take down all of those chairs and tables because if they didn't do it no one else would. They spent all morning during 9/11 doing their duties.What's really wonderful about this book is the dedication and service these men and women have created to serving not just the first families, but the institution of the White House. There are some families who have generations of family members who have served there. One family had like 5 or 6 family members working at the White House. They all loved and honored the traditions there and they all served no matter who got other thing I loved: You don't realize it until you read just how complicated it is for the first family to move into the White House. One family moves out with moving trucks, while the fresh family moves in -- all while the inauguration is taking place. It's so cool. I love this book and recommend it to anyone who has an interest in the presidency or the institution of the WH.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    Rehashed information that is in other books; not that well written. The author tries to take an interesting twist by describing the forgotten class of people who work at the White House. What happens is that she loses focus and tells two stories. Is it about the people who work there or the people who live there?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    Imagine sitting down to a dinner in the dining room that is full of history, being served salad, vegetables, and pan-roasted rockfish on gleaming silver trays by an elegantly appointed gentleman who is very gracious and absolutely dedicated to your happiness. Who wouldn't love this!? The people who work there are heavily invested in taking care of anyone who lives there. The privacy of the first family is jealously guarded. Nothing gets out. And some of those people have been working there a long time. Some of the people that are working there now, are 3rd and 4th generation staff members. Their relatives have worked there before them and probably their kids will work there after the people that are there now have retired. And the stories that you learn about......LBJ had to have very hot water in his shower and the water coming out of the shower head had to have a lot of power behind it. He loved it. And when JFK was assassinated, every room in the White House downstairs was draped in black cloth for the duration. You learn all of these small inside stories about this house and the people who work there. It is an insider's tutorial to the most politically popular home in the world. Very interesting........Would recommend it if you love history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Camp David: The Private World of the Presidential Retreat [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Admiral Giorgione brings to life the history of Camp David as only one who experienced the website and happenings can. He provides us with the bonus of a high-road portrayal of one of our nation’s best kept and untouched secret places. Bob Bonelli, Author of "The Lubyanka Strategy"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Camp David: The Private World of the Presidential Retreat [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Mike Giorgione takes readers on a journey through the history of how "Shangri-La" evolved from a meager set of cabins into a personal retreat and America's best known platform for resolving thorny global diplomatic problems. Mike shares the stories of Camp David commanders and its Presidents through the decades, describing why this national treasure provides the Chief Executive with a secluded escape from the non-stop action of the White House. What I also found fascinating about this book is the clear struggles and lessons in leadership that all military service members must overcome, including the loneliness of leadership, the challenges and disruptions of military family life, and the pressures of striving for "perfection". The book truly shows how "Naval Help Facility Thurmond" not only impacted America's presidents, but how it shaped the careers and touched the lives of so a lot of Navy and Marine Corps leaders, enlisted, and civilians.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House [Book]  2018-2-2 18:0

    A very interesting book! Goes back to the Kennedy family, then talks about every presidential White House era since then. From the perspective of the White House employees. The information is good, although I would say that it is very factual with the writing. Written by a journalist who got very well acquainted with the current and former employees.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Camp David: The Private World of the Presidential Retreat [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Wow! If you wish a amazing read about this "Paradise in the Middle of the Forest," from a person who knows Camp David first hand, this is it!As a prior Camp David crewmember and former Command Master Chief, this book is the one book I would recommend to anyone who truly wants to understand what Camp is all about and the history which has taken put there over the past 75 years. Awesome read!Admiral Giorgione was my second Commanding Officer (CO) at Camp David during my first tour. He is the essence of professional naval officer and all around amazing man. He has taken his experiences from his time as CO and added to them by interviewing a number of other COs and Camp David crewmembers to make this awesome book about this truly wonderful place.I would highly recommend "Inside Camp David" to anyone who wants to know more about this exclusive place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Camp David: The Private World of the Presidential Retreat [Book]  2017-12-24 18:0

    Wonderfully written book of the info that only insiders obtain to experience at Camp David! A historically accurate acc penned in a genuine and simple to read style by an insider with accounts from other insiders. Easily the best book about Camp David. A must read for history buffs or those just wanting a private glimpse inside of "Shangri-La".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grace and Power: The Private World of the Kennedy White House []  2020-1-30 18:0

    I was in the sixth grade when John F. Kennedy entered the White House. As public figures, he and Jackie loomed huge for me at an impressionable age. Furthermore, I was surrounded by the mystique of "Camelot". As I aged, from time to time I wondered what the "real" story of the Kennedy White House was. A half century later, I read Sally Bedell Smith's GRACE AND POWER and I suspect she comes very close to that true ith did a lot of legwork in researching and writing the book, which was published in 2004. She interviewed 142 people who were participants and observers during the Kennedy administration and read over 100 books. The book proceeds in chronological fashion, beginning with Election Night in November 1960 and ending with the funeral services for Kennedy in November 1963. Relevant historical background is smoothly interwoven into the account. While the book covers the major political episodes of Kennedy's presidency -- for example, the Bay of Pigs fiasco, the Cuban Missile Crisis, Kennedy in Berlin, and the gradual ramping up of American involvement in Vietnam -- it is not a close examination of politics and policies. Instead, it is rather detailed acc of, as the subtitle puts it, "the personal globe of the Kennedy White House."Most of all, it provides very amazing portraits of JFK and Jackie. I can't say that my assessment of either one of them has changed much, for better or worse, but I now have a much deeper -- and, I think, clearer -- understanding of them.JFK certainly had charisma. He was very intelligent and quick, with a barbed wit. He was cunning and manipulative -- like any successful politician, and more so than most. He certainly matured over the three years of his presidency. The things in the book that most stand out about him are his health and physical issues (for which an extraordinary cocktail of drugs and were administered to him) and his constant philandering. GRACE AND POWER discusses his relationships with at least eight women, including a nineteen-year-old intern. One of his more frequent paramours told Smith, "It was a compulsion, a quirk in his personality. He was out of control." Jackie knew about it and accepted it; the press (or at least some of the press) knew about it and ignored it.JFK did not particularly care for Adlai Stevenson, the éminence grise of the Democratic Party. He also was mystified by the appeal that Stevenson had for women, including Jackie. He once cornered a newsman who worked for Stevenson at the United Nations and inquired: "Look, I may not be the best-looking guy out there, but for God's sake, Adlai's half bald, he's got a paunch, he wears his clothes in a dumpy kind of way. What's he got that I haven't got?" The newsman replied honestly and incisively: "While you both love women, Adlai also likes them, and women know the difference."Jackie receives equal attention from Smith. She too is very smart. She is tough and resilient, yet vulnerable and insecure. She is very much the groomed daughter of privilege and high society. And she often is somewhat of a petulant prima ACE AND POWER includes countless interesting anecdotes and tidbits. For people of a certain age, it is a treasure trove of cocktail party palaver. Ultimately, however, it is too gossipy for me. I was especially wearied by the descriptions of Jackie's attire at just about every public appearance she made. That the White House Kennedys took so a lot of vacations and indulged in so much partying and socialization was enlightening, but that too became tiring . . . and boring. The book includes three inserts of black-and-white photographs. In addition, there are 100 pages of source notes and a decent index.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grace and Power: The Private World of the Kennedy White House []  2020-1-30 18:0

    Loved reading the book. Very informative about President & Mrs. Kennedy. Such a glamorous but sad life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grace and Power: The Private World of the Kennedy White House []  2020-1-30 18:0

    A fascinating inside view of the personalities, stresses, and dynamics of the Kennedy White House years. Sally Bedell Smith gives us a wonderful, engaging acc of John and Jackie Kennedy, as well as the individuals who surrounded and created up their globe while in office. Although the pressures and happenings are included, the actual major political and globe happenings are not primarily focused on. It is much more about the Kennedys as people living as President and First Lady. Very well written and interesting perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grace and Power: The Private World of the Kennedy White House []  2020-1-30 18:0

    This is a unbelievable story in addition to a reference manual for who's who and what happened during the Kennedy administration. The reader gains an intimate understanding of what activities filled Jack and Jacqueline's days while at the White House. It info their trips and parties and gives a unbelievable understanding the couple's friends, family members and members of the White House staff. I want I'd read this book before William Manchester's Death of a President. This gives much detail about the different characters and events. This author well info the people and relationships. Manchester's book is needed reading for any Kennedy enthusiast, but it's pedagogic and methodical, whereas this book is relational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grace and Power: The Private World of the Kennedy White House []  2020-1-30 18:0

    The closing part of the book brought back the memories of this part of my life. It’s so well written, that I was transported back to those days and what was going on during that time. I was moved to tears in the final chapters because of my memories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grace and Power: The Private World of the Kennedy White House []  2020-1-30 18:0

    I gave up after reading half the book. Who cares how Jackie decorated the White House? More like a gossip magazine than a look into how necessary decisions were made

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grace and Power: The Private World of the Kennedy White House []  2020-1-30 18:0

    This book is a detailed walk down memory lane. Along the way, the womanizing JFK is exposed for what he was: an unrepentent user of women, including a college student young enough to be his daughter. The tomcat aspect of JFK is hard to reconcile with the man who clearly loved his kids & in his own method clearly loved his wife. Perhaps the truth is as F. Scott Fitzgerald wrote: the rich are different.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grace and Power: The Private World of the Kennedy White House []  2020-1-30 18:0

    No matter how a lot of books you've read on the Kennedy's, read this one. It's beautifully written and edited to perfection. You will learn unknown facts about Jack and Jacky Kennedy, as well as their family and friends. I appreciated the method the author gave a brief synopsis of each of the people who were involved with the couple. Her background info was helpful in it allowed the reader to explore the importance of each individual and the affect they had on the Kennedy's and vise versa. If you appreciate history, this book will hold you up nights. If you're old enough to have lived through this period if our nation's history, it will bring back a lot of memories of a very unique time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grace and Power: The Private World of the Kennedy White House []  2020-1-30 18:0

    I've recently read several books on the Kennedys, most of which were fairly good, so I read this one mostly to fill in the social aspect of their lives in the White House. I have fun Smith's writing, the tone and flow of it, and her research is rather extensive. I hesitated giving this 4 stars because my Kindle ver didn't have a image section, but I've seen so a lot of images of the Kennedys over the years that I didn't miss them much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grace and Power: The Private World of the Kennedy White House []  2020-1-30 18:0

    A detailed acc of President Kennedy’s administration and inner circle. I thought it would contain more information about their personal life & marriage.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Anthology of World Music: The Music of Afghanistan []  2020-1-18 23:18

    excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Come, Gentle Night: Music Of Shakespeare's World []  2020-2-1 23:50

    Marvelous ensemble, lovely music

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of Warning: Didgeridoo / World Music []  2020-1-23 3:44

    I purchased it to allow our boys learning the didge to listen to it to see what can be achieved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Anthology of World Music: The Music of Afghanistan []  2020-1-18 23:18

    A nice collection of "pre-troubled" Afghanistani music, recorded by the German WDR group in 1974, prior to the bulk of the political and religious upheaval that's taken put in the intervening decades. Thanks to the time frame of this recording, the traditions haven't been altered forcefully for the most part (though there are tips at Islamization of works from the Nuristani region). While the pieces hail from around the country, there is a focus on the Herat region and the region of Mazar-E-Sharif (where the works were recorded). The melody itself runs the gamut from a simple, barely accompanied shepherd paean to full, harmonium-equipped ensembles backing up trios of singers. The highlight of the disc is the bareness of the melody in a lot of cases, which allows a seemingly more heartfelt song to be sung over the accompaniment. The opening love song from Herat is a prime example, with the plaintive cries of a lover filling the room. Just watch the volume when the kid singers come on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of Warning: Didgeridoo / World Music []  2020-1-23 3:44

    I haven't quit playing this cd since it arrived two weeks ago. Adam Plack has to be the most creative sound magicians I've ever heard. The percussion, didge and keyboards are so interwoven through some of the pieces that I don't even have time to sit there and tear it apart. "Initiation" can play all day, as far as I'm concerned. But wait - I wish to hear "Underground, In the Air, On the Ground" just one more time...Now I have to obtain one for my brother. He's going to go over the moon when he listens to this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of Warning: Didgeridoo / World Music []  2020-1-23 3:44

    This is easily the absolute most rockin'est CD EVER! I work with a local enviro/social activist dance company and we have performed almost every song on this CD. We actually wore out our first copy of the CD after years of constant use, so we had to another one (because we couldn't be without it)! These guys are so awesome!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of Warning: Didgeridoo / World Music []  2020-1-23 3:44

    I love Digeridoo. Takes me back to my primal self. All I need to complete the scenario is a cave in the Outback and a hunk of bushmeat on the campfire.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Come, Gentle Night: Music Of Shakespeare's World []  2020-2-1 23:50

    This CD is a amazing method to obtain introduced to (and become a huge fan of) Elizabethan music, in general and, in the process, appreciate the accomplishments of a superb group of artists who infuse those times with life!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of Warning: Didgeridoo / World Music []  2020-1-23 3:44

    played through 5 times in a row

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of Warning: Didgeridoo / World Music []  2020-1-23 3:44

    If you like Didge and some traditional aboriginal sounding atmospheres, you will love this cd. Nice catchy rhythms and beats. The perfect and warm didge reminds me of Inlakesh. There are some (what I would describe as "African")voices singing behind the first 3 songs or so- I loved it. Very tribal and attractive sounding- nice rhythmed songs. The solo didge is totally perfect on this cd also. I'll have to practice some of this on my own didge.. One of my favorites amongst my collection now. Obtain it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Come, Gentle Night: Music Of Shakespeare's World []  2020-2-1 23:50

    I had never heard of Ensemble Galilei before stumbling across a track of this album on Classical public radio. Bought the album and now it's the go-to melody for when I write, do some serious thinking, or in general need my thoughts organized with the support of thematic melody that doesn't distract. I've listened to this particular recording some 25 times now - I set it on "Random" and go about my work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Come, Gentle Night: Music Of Shakespeare's World []  2020-2-1 23:50

    I bought this melody CD by Ensemble Gallilei for "The Asp" written and performed by Jan Hagiwara. I think the piece is one of the highlights of the CD. The melody is evocative and beautifully played, and I hope to hear more of her works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Come, Gentle Night: Music Of Shakespeare's World []  2020-2-1 23:50

    With their soulful playing and artful, sometimes even ephemeral arrangements, the six women of Ensemble Galilei convey a rare depth of emotion. In the insert notes, gamba player Carolyn Ann Surrick describes their creative process: "[In making this recording, we engaged in]...a kind of work that is so focused and intense that years can go by in one afternoon... Extraordinary music-making requires trust... [We] live for the times when the only thing that exists right then is the music--when the instruments are speaking as if we don't exist, and they are having their own conversation." Thank you, Ensemble Galilei, for allowing the rest of us the privilege of coming along for the ride! It's simply delectable. This chamber ensemble, featuring fiddle, harp, gamba, oboe, pipes and percussion, can also be heard on their other Telarc release, "From the Isles to the Courts", and "The Mystic and the Muse: Celebrating 600 Years of Women in Music", on the Dorian label.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Come, Gentle Night: Music Of Shakespeare's World []  2020-2-1 23:50

    Dont really know what to say but this album is amazing and its soothing, puts my mind in a peacful place. I listen to it almost daily and sometimes before bedtime...it helps me sleep. Thank you for having this attractive music, p.s departe departe is my favorite track.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Come, Gentle Night: Music Of Shakespeare's World []  2020-2-1 23:50

    My family love this cd. My daughter is a huge fan of all things celtic and Scottish dance. My wife loves classical music. This cd has something for both of them. Amazing selection of melody and well performed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of Warning: Didgeridoo / World Music []  2020-1-23 3:44

    I used to blast this over a 100 watt stereo in a warehouse with 15 inch woofers. The wonderful chants and "primative" melody would form standing waves in locations as I walked around designing my electrical laser supplies late at me songs would dislodge large sections of acoustic energy and make wind like effects. I often felt like beings were next to me or touching me. This is not like any melody you have ever heard, yet it fascinates everyone who is exposed to ter playing Winds of Warning for several weeks I began to feel like some of my private demons were being exorcised. They were. I quit that laser company and now have my own computer graphics studio where, yes, we still play this awesome fact, I'm here writing this for Amazon because an Intern liked the album so much she wanted to a copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Come, Gentle Night: Music Of Shakespeare's World []  2020-2-1 23:50

    I purchased this cd because I heard a piece of Carolyn Anderson Surrick's melody on my local classical radio station. I love Renaissance and Baroque melody and was astounded when the DJ said that she composed the piece. It sounded so authentic to the period. So I logged onto Amazon to see if I could search it. I chose this cd because the one that had the piece I heard on the radio appeared to be Christmas music. This is uniquely beautiful, peaceful music. I recently saw a Baroque concert featuring the hurdy gurdy, a droning instrument which is similar to bagpipes. When I first heard the piece on this cd which features the Scottish Smallpipes, I was sure there was a missing for a hurdy gurdy, but it seems that smallpipes are a bagpipe-like, not recorder-like instrument, which does have the droning sound common to bagpipes and the hurdy gurdy. If you like sixteenth and seventeenth century music, I'm sure you will have fun this cd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Come, Gentle Night: Music Of Shakespeare's World []  2020-2-1 23:50

    Received in perfect condition and love the CD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Come, Gentle Night: Music Of Shakespeare's World []  2020-2-1 23:50

    I recently had the amazing fortune to direct a performance of King Lear--the ENTIRE five acts, in a community theatre, non-profit setting. I used twenty-four fully committed non-actors, who for the love of the ideas, participated in this performance. The first and main challenge that I faced was, how do I go "behind" the words, and invoke the right emotions, etc., to give these actors the range and tools required for an effective, strong performance? Critical to this performance was the beauty and brilliance of this recording, which I used throughout the different scenes of the play. This helped the performers tremendously, creating the various tapestries in the mind of the Bard. In short, this work is true genius, that I was so satisfied that I stumbled across. I am now putting in our performance programs, along with our most heart-felt thanks to E.G., the name of the recording and I have copies from Telarc to at each performance!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of Warning: Didgeridoo / World Music []  2020-1-23 3:44

    nothing wrong with the cd, just not my sort of music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Winds of Warning: Didgeridoo / World Music []  2020-1-23 3:44

    I wish to be the only one who has it or even KNOWS about it. People will think I am a god.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Private Gardens of England []  2020-1-20 0:56

    Sumptuous and mind-boggling. I was reading it right before going to bed but it created me too excited to sleep so I had to stop. Now I look at it in the morning. NB: These are stories - often fascinating - of building a amazing garden. Not a plant book or gardening guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Private Gardens of England []  2020-1-20 0:56

    What glorious gardens! Expensive, but worth the for those who love gardens and are looking for inspiration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Private Gardens of England []  2020-1-20 0:56

    This attractive book far exceeded my highest expectations. After reading and viewing the photographs in this book, I cannot imagine anyone attempting another book on the personal gardens of England. A master work!While I enjoyed the text accompanying all the stunning photographs, I particularly enjoyed the text accompanying the photographs of Wyken. Witty, clever and engaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Execution of Private Slovik []  2020-1-26 22:18

    What a mess of a life, influenced by poor friends, petty crime landed him in jail & then a very amazing boys school, makes good, gets drafted, then at the end the entire firing team misses the mark! Even the marksman in the lineup! Chilling. Grounding. Snap you right out of some of your delusions about war, politics, love. Slovic was disabled due to poverty in his family, but recovered enough to obtain drafted, just when he fell in love & married to disabled girl... both of them worked very hard to obtain a put to live & some furniture, saw it all blown away by the draft call. His wife couldn't hold it up all by herself after he got drafted. He never believed he would be executed for trying to obtain discharged & go home to support his wife. His wife never found out about this 'til the author of the book interviewed her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of Private Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    First of all, just to impress you with how amazing this book is: This is my first review ever. After I spent several hours with it in the library, I went home to tell you how much fun I had. I just had is book is is very thorough though never is very well is very well written. I'm not a native speaker, but having a lot of experience with English texts I found this a very reasonable niveau.About the content: I wrote several theses on Kant's legal philosophy and the relation between "Rechtslehre" and "Sittenlehre", and this might well be the best overview I ever read. I had to figure this all out bit by bit, and every time Weinrib presented an argument, I was very content with what and how. Every time I formed an objection in my mind, he brought the right argument. If you're interested in legal philosophy or Kant's practical philosophy, I strongly recommend this. Weinrib's explanations are brilliant.Weinrib, his sphere and his reading of Kant is very famous with the strongly analytical trend of our Department. If you're looking for further sources in that direction, his bibliography is also a treasure last, I would like to point out that the poor reviews you can read here criticise Weinrib's book for something he can't be criticised for as he's doing it with full awareness. The person who wrote that this theory is method out of date didn't read the book properly, for then she would have understood that law can't be explained by something external to it or reduced to something else, and that therefore the argument "Newest research in law and economics shows that..." will never be a counterargument for a formalistic approach to is book is amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bank of America Private Bank [App]  2019-3-25 13:9

    Just call it US Trust. What's wrong with US Trust? Or obtain rid of this application and merge it with the BOA Mobile app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Execution of Private Slovik []  2020-1-26 22:18

    I was blown away at the perspective Huie had in 1954, being born in 1965 I thought that kind of enlightenment came later in our society. He really challenges what so a lot of Americans keep dear. But it's a very amazing very healthy challenge. Slovik should never have been executed, he should never have been drafted. He was courageous, because he followed his heart and did what he was overwhelmingly compelled to do in spite of the pressures around him. Who's to say what we can demand of our people in situations like this. I would stand and war for the ground my house stands on but drag me half method across the globe to war somebody else's battle and I really have no idea what I would do. I think the U.S. owes Slovik an apology and an honorable relocation of his grave. Thank you Bradford Huie for making this public, because if you hadn't I doubt anybody would ever know about it who wasn't there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Execution of Private Slovik []  2020-1-26 22:18

    This came quick and was a good, but distressing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of Private Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    This brilliant volume is one of the single most necessary works on legal philosophy written in latest years.A grand synthesis of Aristotle, Kant, and Hegel with undertones of Oakeshott, it's not simple to summarize. But here's a short (and inadequate) statement of Weinrib's thesis: personal law is an immanently rational process of implementing corrective justice according to internal standards that cannot be reduced to something outside of the law itself; its aim is to set right, insofar as possible, the relationship between the doer and the sufferer of a e astute reader will already have noticed that Weinrib is at odds with "law and economics" -- and, sure enough, his short critiques of that field are devastatingly on target. The reviewer below who thinks Weinrib has ignored everything since Coase must not have been reading very carefully: in one sense, at least, Weinrib is concerned precisely to _rescue_ personal law from the law-and-econ crowd, as well as from any other law-and-anything crowd who insists that law must be understood in terms of, and indeed reduced to, something else. His major claim is that it can't own view, at least, is that Weinrib is entirely right on his main point: i.e., that personal law has internal standards that can't be reduced to something external. In particular, personal law seeks corrective justice and not "economic efficiency," at least insofar as the latter is understood as the maximization of total "wealth" at the possible expense of what would ordinarily be called justice. (And it certainly has no truck with the sort of mathematically-ratified injustice known to the globe as "Kaldor-Hicks efficiency.")Weinrib's discussion of the popular Hand formula and his comparisons of U.S. with British common law on this subject are just wonderful. Between his theoretical work and Gary Schwartz's empirical analysis -- not to mention the criticisms of other writers like Richard Wright and Ronald Dworkin -- the Posner gang really should lie down and not obtain up ever, as much as my philosophical sympathies are with Weinrib, I must disagree with a point or two. I'll take his treatment of negligence in tort law as my source of examples, since I just finished rereading that chapter latest night.I am not, for example, overwhelmed by his discussion of the popular Palsgraf case. Weinrib takes J. Cardozo's side in this case and castigates J. Andrews's dissent for somehow missing the point of tort law. But even if this were real (and I don't think it is), what, exactly, would it show? That Andrews was just wrong? Or that tort law's immanent standards (on Weinrib's acc thereof) are insufficient to with some cases with which tort law really ought to deal?If we can even sensibly ask this question -- and surely we can -- then it is not enough to insist on tort law's internal standards; those standards themselves may in turn require justification in terms of whatever it is that tort law _is_ founded on. (Not "reduction to," but "justification in terms of." I am not sure Weinrib always distinguishes these as carefully as he might.) True, Weinrib does maintain that personal law is founded on the principles of corrective justice (and, by implication, that these principles are rationally apprehended). But he sometimes writes as though it just floats in a vacuum somewhere, blessedly of commerce with any other human activities at which we might otherwise have to look in to determine exactly what _is_ just under specific circumstances. (This is one of those Oakeshott-like undertones I mentioned. In my view Oakeshott, too, tended to overstate the degree to which any "mode of experience" can be isolated from the rest.)Moreover, some of Weinrib's arguments on specific points seem hard to tie in to his main thesis. For example, he opposes the use of "probabilistic causation" in tort law on the grounds that tort law only with normative harms, not with the "mere" increased risk of normative harms. But the argument is not forthcoming that placing someone at significantly increased risk is not _also_ a normative hurt in its own right.And some such argument is badly needed, since knowledge that e.g. one has been subjected to an increased risk of cancer does seem to involve positive hurt already even if one hasn't developed cancer yet. It is at least arguable that one has been harmed by one's show worry and distress (not to mention the relevant medical expenses involved in checking to create sure one _doesn't_ have cancer).If so, then Weinrib's own regime can take acc of "probabilistic causation" very easily, and indeed should do so rather than reject it outright. I agree with Weinrib (contra some other latest writers) that tort law ought not to throw out the concept of "causation" entirely; I'm just not persuaded that this point takes him as far as he seems to wish to go. It appears to me that his theoretical foundations could be invoked as easily to justify as to eliminate some of the innovations he might prefer to dispose of.What is most helpful in this volume, then, is Weinrib's careful insistence that personal law _is_ immanently rational and possesses coherent internal standards that are not reducible to something in some other field. But what seems to be missing is an acc of why personal law has just exactly those internal standards Weinrib says it has, and why it shouldn't recognize any others even if it can be shown that it can do so any rate, Weinrib's work is brilliant from beginning to end. My comparatively minor disagreements with particular points and sub-points should not obscure my major agreements with much of his overall approach.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Execution of Private Slovik []  2020-1-26 22:18

    "The Execution of Personal Slovik" tells the story of the only American soldier since the Civil Battle who was executed by firing team for desertion. Eddie Slovik was one of literally thousands of documented deserters during WWII who were court-martialled. Of these thousands, forty-nine were sentenced to death, but only Slovik's sentence was carried out. So the author's central question is, why was Slovik the ONLY one?We see Eddie Slovik as a youth who, in the modern vernacular, was "at risk" due to some minor scrapes with the law as a teenager. We then see him as a somewhat self-absorbed adult who never thought he would be caught up in the wartime draft and was resentful that he was forced to leave his fresh wife and fresh furniture. Once shipped overseas and assigned to a unit, Slovik apparantly intentionally deserts, calculating that he would be thrown into the stockade only for a few years and eventually set during the euphoria brought on by the war's end. A large miscalculation. The author makes a compelling argument that the wartime Army's senior leaders found it easier to execute a deserter "with a civilian record", even though such info was not supposed to be material to court-martial sentences, and the "record" amounted to nothing more than some petty crime when Slovik was a minor. This book was written in 1954, when it could not have been fashionable to write an investigative piece portraying then-President Eisenhower in a somewhat less-than-flattering light (Eisenhower, as Supreme Allied Commander, ORDERED Slovik shot--very various from declining to intervene). Huie is to be commended for this courageous and thoughtfully-written book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of Private Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    I am no fan of legal formalism as such. Nevertheless, I think this book is the most sophisticated acc of legal formalism in the twentieth century. Weinrib's synthesis of Aristotle, Aquinas, Kant and Hegel is brilliant. A very exciting and provocative work of original scholarship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bank of America Private Bank [App]  2019-3-25 13:9

    lmao hello bofa it department

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Execution of Private Slovik []  2020-1-26 22:18

    This is the best book that I have read in some time. The author was thorough and although sympathetic to Slovik, was objective and captured the complexity of the subject. I am a combat veteran and thought this book was so necessary that I recommended it to a mentee before finishing. While I think this book is instructive for military and civilians at all levels, military leaders at the promotable O6 level can appreciate their potential decisions and gain more appreciation for those of their subordinates. I became aware of this book when mentioned in connection with the Bergdahl case. It should be noted that no soldiers were killed while searching for Slovik. The need for "order and discipline" is frequently mentioned and far less frequently understood, particularly by civilians with no military service, and this book helps to illuminate the complexity of the problem and promote the type of serious, transparent reflection the topic deserves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Execution of Private Slovik []  2020-1-26 22:18

    The problem here was simple: the bloody Note! The guy wrote a note making it perfectly clear that he would run away if the comander did not transfer him to a rear área. And this coming from a replacement, who could not even claim to be shellshocked or war fatigued. How could any comander let such scheme to suceed?! And, by the way, the letters to his wife are really annoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of Private Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    Weinrib gives an elegant model for corrective justice in tort--a tight, orthodox respond to the pesky posnerists. I suggest you read it with Kant's "philosophy of right" and a nice cup of hot chocolate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bank of America Private Bank [App]  2019-3-25 13:9

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Execution of Private Slovik []  2020-1-26 22:18

    The book recounts a series of happenings during WW2 wherein a guiless and easy soldier finds himself in front of a firing team for desertion. The book reads like a sociology paper and has no interviews with the topic as he was long dead. However, you do read his letters to his wife - the only person he corresponded with - and obtain a beautiful amazing impression of his character. To me, the operative word would be "childlike."Rejected on his military physical exam, he was later called up when reinforcements were desperately needed. What is known is that he was a nice, helpful person according to those he trained with, without vices, a lousy shot, borderline physical stamina. He was not a troublemaker and not insubordinate. His correspondence reveals the one lucky break in his life - meeting his sick, crippled wife and having a home life for the first time. She was his one human connection and was the sun in his universe.He spoke no word on his own behalf at his and it's certain he didn't understand the deadly repercussions of his insistence to serve in a non-combat position. He was under the mistaken impression that he'd go to jail for a few years and go home with a dishonorable discharge. He faced a firing team instead. He was created an example of. Unlike Robert Morgenthau's son - (and other "Fortunate Sons") -who had a nice, non-combat position because his father was who he was, Slovik was completely without any helpful connections. His was not Abbie-Hoffman-like rebellion; Slovik was unsophisticated, unlearned, and just had a laser-focus to obtain back to his ailing wife.Duty calls and soldiers must serve and God Bless the Greatest Generation who served heroically. But this punishment did not fit this "crime." If he couldn't be reassigned to noncombat status due to his original 4F status, then jail - yes. Dishonorable discharge, certainly. But not the firing squad. Not while some of the privileged sons drank martinis and stayed in luxury hotels for the duration. It's only a ripple in the tsunami that was the Second Globe Battle but even the little calamities deserve to be told. RIP Pvt. Slovik.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Execution of Private Slovik []  2020-1-26 22:18

    Unbelievable book. The film is amazing too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Execution of Private Slovik []  2020-1-26 22:18

    A do- over order. I erroneously ordered the book, intended to obtain the DVD movie. which I saw as a kid, and the conclusion moved me to tears.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Execution of Private Slovik []  2020-1-26 22:18

    This book does a amazing job of describing how the Troops handled the Slovik case. It never says it, but this must be the beginning of what we now know as conscientious objectors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Idea of Private Law []  2020-2-7 20:37

    This book gathers a amazing amount of scholarship to purport the idea that the governing principles underlying personal law doctrines are still the old principles of Aristotelian commutative and corrective justice. In so doing the author does not take into proper acc the teachings of the latest 40 years studies in Law and Economics showing how the problem of distributing a personal cost cannot be handled in terms of the old corrective justice. Thus the book provides a foundation for personal law which to-day is peculiarly outdated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World Library Of Folk & Primitive Music, Vol. 1: England []  2020-1-16 22:38

    I love this CD. It has a unbelievable collection of classics, sung by special voices never to be heard from again. Have a few beers and sing along.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World Library Of Folk & Primitive Music, Vol. 1: England []  2020-1-16 22:38

    Amazing CD. I would obtain this 33.3 record from the library in the 1950's, and was so thrilled to see it on CD. After ordering it online with Amazon, it arrived within a few days. Amazing! Very pleased.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World Library Of Folk & Primitive Music, Vol. 1: England []  2020-1-16 22:38

    While I appreciate what Lomax has done to preserve the melody that would have been lost, I was a small disappointed that there weren't more instrumentals in this compilation. It only has a few, and one of them is created up of two crudely spliced together. Apparently Lomax was more interested in vocal melody (or else that's what he encountered more of, I'm not sure). They should have either included a few more instrumentals or just omit them all and call it 'English Vocal music' and create another album of instrumentals. Surely there was a lot more of each recorded, but I have seen no others for sale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Anthology Of World Music: The Music Of Islam And Sufism In Morocco []  2020-5-3 19:0

    This is a very amazing CD. for anyone studying Islam and wish to learn more. the Call to Prayer on this Cd. is beautiful. very relaxing to listen to. I study globe religions and this adds to my collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Anthology Of World Music: The Music Of Islam And Sufism In Morocco []  2020-5-3 19:0

    Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Network Security: Private Communication in a Public World (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:25

    Amazing book, but create sure you the correct edition. This is the first edition and is quite outdated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Network Security: Private Communication in a Public World (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:25

    simple to understand and goes in depth with the online chapters

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Network Security: Private Communication in a Public World (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:25

    I purchased this for a Network Security Class. It was a nice hard cover book with simple to read text. I would only suggest you this book if it's needed for a class (make sure you are getting the correct edition)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Network Security: Private Communication in a Public World (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:25

    Had to obtain it for a class. Decent! As far as textbooks go, this one is not horrible. That beautiful much gets five stars - low bar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Network Security: Private Communication in a Public World (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:25

    Too poor it's a bit outdated. You'll have to dance a bit on some of the specifics and use google for the updated info. It's still somewhat useful though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Network Security: Private Communication in a Public World (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:25

    Amazing book, just as described. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Network Security: Private Communication in a Public World (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:25

    The content of the book is amazing in terms of the locations covered however how they cover those locations is very poor. The authors have a penchant for putting in subtext in an attempt to be funny, which instead throws off the reading of the materials and causes you to drop out of the "comprehension groove". The authors also choose to use non-standard (even for when the book was written) terms and alter the meaning of other terms, which they criticize other authors in this field of also doing.I would highly recommend avoiding this book and looking elsewhere unless it is needed class material in which case you should do your best without it anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Network Security: Private Communication in a Public World (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:25

    Amazing aspects revolving security, but method too much math introduced for easy prevention guidelines. Other than that, amazing method of knowing how encryption works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Network Security: Private Communication in a Public World (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:25

    This book is very comprehensive in terms of theories and practical examples. It has all theories needed in understanding cryptography and cryptanalysis. It also has every knowledge to work on nowadays security ever, if you wish further understanding on SIEM and Artificial Intelligence app on security detection, you have to read others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Network Security: Private Communication in a Public World (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-23 2:25

    An old publication but still amazing info

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Private Gardens of the Bay Area []  2020-1-18 22:0

    Was a small pricey but a nice addition to my collection

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Private Gardens of the Bay Area []  2020-1-18 22:0

    California's picturesque terrain and light permeate this stunning inside look of Personal Gardens, that are as grand and eclectic as the Bay Zone itself... I bought as Christmas bonuses for mates with ties to California, as well as those that just love attractive things and places!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Private Lives of the Impressionists []  2020-2-7 19:33

    It must have been a monumental undertaking to write a group biography of these incredibly engaging artists ( Manet, Renoir, @#$%arro, Monet, Degas, Cezanne, Morisot ) and to be able to distill the essential characters of all of them in a single volume. That is the strength of this book. Sue Roe not only provides just the right amount of detail about each of the artists that comprised the original group of Impressionists individually but is able to synthesize their stories so that a complete photo of how they influenced one another and similar to each other emerges in these e private family lives, financial woes and interpersonal conflicts and alliances are well told and the reader is brought into the globe in which these artists first emerged and worked in an incredibly vivid ere are of course the paintings themselves and a book that would do justice to the entire catalogue that these prolific painters produced would by necessity be volumes long. Here I believe the author created sacrifices to ensure the narrative of the group biography remained readable and accessible. In my opinion she succeeded brilliantly. I thoroughly enjoyed this and found it quite enlightening in a lot of respects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Private Lives of the Impressionists []  2020-2-7 19:33

    Well researched and enjoyable- but one little detail bothered me: the author has a tendency to call male painters by their latest names (Monet, @#$%arro, etc), but female painters by their first names (Berthe, Mary, etc). I doubt it was intentionally dismissive, but it was grating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Reactions: The private life of atoms []  2020-5-19 18:12

    The author has tried to show some fundamental chemical reaction mechanismswhile avoiding most chemical formulas and equations, choosing instead to describemolecules bouncing around and electrons being sucked in and out. The descriptions aresupplemented by pictures of space-filling models of the reactants, and groups of othermolecular diagrams representing solvents interacting with the molecules. These latter I e approach works well for the simpler reactions : salt dissolving, precipitate forming,acids and bases reacting etc. For more complex reactions, the descriptions are confusing. There was one description I found very confusing. It purported to present how two SN2 reactions could occur sequentially on the same molecule with two umbrella inversions at the substituted ting with an alkyl chloride and a "longish carbon chain" . The diagram seemed to present a shortchain. The second reaction in the sequence apparently involved an -OH group on this "longish chain" which hadn't been mentioned before and didn't present in the e synthesis of quinine was hard to follow, and the diagrams little and confusing.Another thing I noticed which is no huge - the name of the co-discoverer of the electrochemical production of aluminum(or aluminium) is misspelled in the text and the index.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Private Gardens of the Bay Area []  2020-1-18 22:0

    Very huge book. Perfect gardens chosen. Attractive photography. A lot of are huge estates but all have amazing ideas for any gardener. A "Coffee Table" book for sure, but deserve intense scrutiny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Private Gardens of the Bay Area []  2020-1-18 22:0

    This is a fine addition to Lowry and Berner's growing collection of well written and beautifully photographed books on gardens in Fresh York City, Fresh Jersey, and the Hudson Valley (all worth adding to your library!). The gardens featured are unusual, inventive, and exquisite, and the text that accompanies them incisively explains the a lot of environmental challenges facing California gardeners. A amazing bonus for anyone who gardens, or just enjoys armchair travel to attractive places.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Private Gardens of the Bay Area []  2020-1-18 22:0

    A excellent book -- engaging text and unbelievable images!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Private Lives of the Impressionists []  2020-2-7 19:33

    Wife loves this book! The author goes beyond the paintings & the names of the painters, and looks at - as the title so aptly defines - 'the personal lives of the impressionists', and how that played out when they painted. Not a book for those just wanting the same ol beautiful paintings, but one that will enrich one's understanding of Impressionism, and provide insight into why the painter did what they did. . .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Private Lives of the Impressionists []  2020-2-7 19:33

    It is to Sue Roe's that THE PRIVATE LIVES OF THE IMPRESSIONISTS is not a fun or funny Roe is a serious scholar and she has written a serious work.Writing a definitive biography of even just one person is a large and somber undertaking...writing an anthology about an entire discrete group is almost too large to t because PRIVATE LIVES is not fun in no method negates its e Roe has assembled the ultimate work on those artists who coalesced to form the movement now well-loved as "Impressionism."She explains the history of the movement, and how reviled it had been by the establishment. In the process of this explication, she also tells a amazing about the moment in which this movement came to life, at the precise time of the transformation of Paris from a patchwork of farming communities to a cosmopolitan e does as amazing a job of detailing the Franco-Prussian Battle and the Commune as I have read e has done enormous research on the private lives of the most necessary of the artists, and of their joint struggle to be accepted for the type of imagery they were trying to was startling to read that the amazing names of Impressionism considered themselves to be cohorts and supporters of one another.I didn't have fun reading THE PRIVATE LIVES OF THE IMPRESSIONISTS, but the time spent was worthwhile. The book was everything that I hoped it would be: A real learning experience.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386